124 Pages « < 104 105 106 107 108 > » Bottom

FD rates in Malaysia, Which bank offer the highest FD rates?

MilesAndMore
post Aug 18 2011, 12:31 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(anvil88 @ Aug 17 2011, 09:13 PM)
how about ambank FD?
AmQuantom and InterestPlus do offers higher interest rates, izzit??
There's a catch. Read the T&C in their website.

trillionfx
post Aug 20 2011, 02:23 PM

18 posts

hi all..... i would like to ask, which bank currently offers the highest interest rate for senior citizen fixed deposits? thx
gchowyh
post Aug 20 2011, 11:01 PM

860 posts

Affin bank at 3.6% for 12 months

Hong Leong FD promotion at 3.8% for 12 months at the moment should be about the highest.
mtsen
post Aug 21 2011, 12:49 AM

1,473 posts

Affin bank has been offering highest interest rate for a while now .... but it is true that from time to time other banks would come up with short term better offers ...
insaint708
post Aug 22 2011, 01:01 PM

167 posts

Anyone know what is HLB Flexi FD?
gsc
post Aug 23 2011, 11:54 AM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(gchowyh @ Aug 20 2011, 11:01 PM)
Affin bank at 3.6% for 12 months

Hong Leong FD promotion at 3.8% for 12 months at the moment should be about the highest.

open a junior flexi FD yesterday. Very bad and slow service. Waited for half hour and another half hour opening account. Why cant they let the customer service counter help to process the application of account to shorten the queuing time. Very unproductive way of work processing. Logical work scheduling is parallel processing or divide up the processing jobs to free up counter staff work load.

Another bad point is HL bank staff does not know their own products well. One said need the junior to be around to open junior FD, one said 55 yrs old or above for senior flexi FD, the fact is no need presence of junior and 50 yrs old can open senior account.

Senior flexi FD is 3.8% per year but you must open a current account

gchowyh
post Aug 23 2011, 03:58 PM

860 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ Aug 23 2011, 11:54 AM)
open a junior flexi FD yesterday. Very bad and slow service. Waited for half hour and another half hour opening account. Why cant they let the customer service counter help to process the application of account to shorten the queuing time. Very unproductive way of work processing. Logical work scheduling is parallel processing or divide up the processing jobs to free up counter staff work load.

Another bad point is HL bank staff does not know their own products well. One said need the junior to be around to open junior FD, one said 55 yrs old or above for senior flexi FD, the fact is no need presence of junior and 50 yrs old can open senior account.

Affin Bank is better then. I opened at Sea Park branch & max it took was 5 minutes as no one in queue.
Do not even need to open any other account, just the FD.
insaint708
post Aug 23 2011, 06:45 PM

167 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ Aug 23 2011, 11:54 AM)

Sigh~ need to open current account to enjoy Flexi FD interest..
SUSMNet
post Aug 23 2011, 10:02 PM

11,954 posts

How u put FD if u hv 10006 ?

10006 1 shot ?

rate
3/100 x 30 / 365

Do put 5003 so u get interest 12.34/month

if u put 10006 u only get 24.67/month

that is 5k

u will see the significant amount if u repeat it.

insaint708
post Aug 23 2011, 10:28 PM

167 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ Aug 23 2011, 10:02 PM)

10006 1 shot ?

rate
3/100 x 30 / 365

that is 5k

What do you mean?
jack2
post Aug 24 2011, 12:51 AM

Mr
15,192 posts

10006 1 shot ?

rate
3/100 x 30 / 365

that is 5k

I suggest you to go back and read your primary or secondary maths first before saying that 5k and 10k has significant difference in its interest. doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif Shame on you.
gsc
post Aug 24 2011, 11:22 AM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(gchowyh @ Aug 23 2011, 03:58 PM)
Affin Bank is better then. I opened at Sea Park branch & max it took was 5 minutes as no one in queue.
Do not even need to open any other account, just the FD.
what is the interest rate?

Added on August 24, 2011, 11:25 am

10006 1 shot ?

rate
3/100 x 30 / 365

that is 5k

why 10006 and 5003, you can use also 10008 and 5004, or straight use 10k and 5k.

I think your point is you will see the significance once they are compounded over long terms said 20 years

This post has been edited by gsc: Aug 24 2011, 11:25 AM
aeiou228
post Aug 24 2011, 12:19 PM

5,867 posts

10006 1 shot ?

rate
3/100 x 30 / 365

that is 5k

Untung 1sen if split to 2 FD receipts ? So your executive time is worth less than 1 sen for the extra time you spent in the bank waiting for the teller to prepare the extra FD receipt ? shocking.gif
Again you said "that is only 5K", Do you mean to say if you have RM1million and you place it in 200 FD receipts of 5k each and you untung extra RM1 interest ? Gee....! sweat.gif
Also more trees will have to chopped down just for you.

This post has been edited by aeiou228: Aug 24 2011, 12:37 PM
jack2
post Aug 24 2011, 01:32 PM

Mr
15,192 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Aug 24 2011, 12:19 PM)
Untung 1sen if split to 2 FD receipts ? So your executive time is worth less than 1 sen for the extra time you spent in the bank waiting for the teller to prepare the extra FD receipt ?  shocking.gif
Again you said "that is only 5K", Do you mean to say if you have RM1million and you place it in 200 FD receipts of 5k each and you untung extra RM1 interest ?  Gee....!  sweat.gif
She just be here for nothing but just wasted here.
cherroy
post Aug 24 2011, 04:09 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ Aug 24 2011, 11:22 AM)
what is the interest rate?

Added on August 24, 2011, 11:25 am
why 10006 and 5003, you can use also 10008 and 5004, or straight use 10k and 5k.

I think your point is you will see the significance once they are compounded over long terms said 20 years
Even after 20 years compounded on 1 cent, it is not even enough to pay extra-parking fee due to longer wait in the bank...
wongmunkeong
post Aug 24 2011, 04:12 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Aug 24 2011, 04:09 PM)
Even after 20 years compounded on 1 cent, it is not even enough to pay extra-parking fee due to longer wait in the bank...
Maybe the fellow is laddering / staggering his FDs for emergency funds storage, thus having $5K mature every week / 2-weeks / month, thus do not compromise the whole lump sum's % if forced to take out some $ from FD during an emergency biggrin.gif
OR
he's just being sarcastic brows.gif

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Aug 24 2011, 04:14 PM
cherroy
post Aug 24 2011, 04:15 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Aug 24 2011, 12:19 PM)
Untung 1sen if split to 2 FD receipts ? So your executive time is worth less than 1 sen for the extra time you spent in the bank waiting for the teller to prepare the extra FD receipt ?   shocking.gif
Again you said "that is only 5K", Do you mean to say if you have RM1million and you place it in 200 FD receipts of 5k each and you untung extra RM1 interest ?  Gee....!  sweat.gif
For a person that has 1 million, and intention to do 200x FD, to earn Rm1.00......

Doing 200x FD can mean consume at least half a day on the teller/cashier/officer.
Rm1.00 can pay parking fee for half day? whistling.gif

Keep 200x FD receipt, easy to manage?

Added on August 24, 2011, 4:17 pm
QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Aug 24 2011, 04:12 PM)
Maybe the fellow is laddering / staggering his FDs for emergency funds storage, thus having $5K mature every week / 2-weeks / month, thus do not compromise the whole lump sum's % if forced to take out some $ from FD during an emergency biggrin.gif
OR
he's just being sarcastic  brows.gif
This is quite normal for people to split FD for emergency withdraw so that do not compromise or lose of interest on whole lump sum due to premature withdrawal, but Rm1 million for 200x Rm5k FD transaction, is overly.

This post has been edited by cherroy: Aug 24 2011, 04:17 PM
wongmunkeong
post Aug 24 2011, 04:35 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Aug 24 2011, 04:15 PM)

Added on August 24, 2011, 4:17 pm

This is quite normal for people to split FD for emergency withdraw so that do not compromise or lose of interest on whole lump sum due to premature withdrawal, but Rm1 million for 200x Rm5k FD transaction, is overly.
Maybe island mentality (kiasu & kiasi) lor.
Mana cukup, 200 days only. 1 year have 364.25 days wor and want to cover any day can cough up $5K emergency fund leh brows.gif

For a person to put $1M into FD, he must be a multi-millionaire

Mind U, i'm no multi-millionaire, thus dunno what some multi-millionaire thinks blush.gif

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Aug 24 2011, 04:36 PM
zenwell
post Aug 25 2011, 12:54 PM

1,749 posts

for foreign currency FD, is there a risk? our capital is protected? what about the interest rates? it fluctuates according to the currency rate? we follow the rate stated at the point of fd maturity date right? eg: affin bank says 3.8% but at the end of the tenure not really 3.8% right? currently I'm also looking at public bank AUD fd 5.45% for 12 mths.

or any other suggestion from sifus here? notworthy.gif

note: i have about rm10k to put in.
SUSbuysell
post Aug 25 2011, 01:09 PM

592 posts

QUOTE(zenwell @ Aug 25 2011, 12:54 PM)
for foreign currency FD, is there a risk? our capital is protected? what about the interest rates? it fluctuates according to the currency rate? we follow the rate stated at the point of fd maturity date right? eg: affin bank says 3.8% but at the end of the tenure not really 3.8% right? currently I'm also looking at public bank AUD fd 5.45% for 12 mths.

or any other suggestion from sifus here?  notworthy.gif

note: i have about rm10k to put in.
10K only. Use your smart brain to get some products and sell it ovee the internet, the return rates will be surely higher than FD.

124 Pages « < 104 105 106 107 108 > » Top

0.0318sec    0.27    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 06:50 AM