best local currency FD -UOB & RHB
Best foreign currency FD rate is Australia dollar but the exchange rate is high. The gain in FD rate will be off set by exchange rate
FD rates in Malaysia, Which bank offer the highest FD rates?
May 11 2011, 11:54 AM
1,624 posts Joined: Apr 2011 |
best local currency FD -UOB & RHB
Best foreign currency FD rate is Australia dollar but the exchange rate is high. The gain in FD rate will be off set by exchange rate |
May 18 2011, 12:03 PM
QUOTE(stanny @ May 17 2011, 08:44 PM) My public bank FD is set for auto renew every month, but when it's renew today, it's still at 2.75%. Any idea? Dependent on when Public bank changes its new fixed deposit rate. If you renew today but your FD was due say last week then the Bank will follow the FD rate at that time of your FD due dateAdded on May 18, 2011, 12:12 pmUOB - min RM25K, offer end June 3mth -3.2%, subsequent 3 mth - 3.5% (need total 6 mths) 12 mth -3.6% RHB rate changed by quarter, rate is slightly better, but you hv to put in RM5k in saving account for three months This post has been edited by gsc: May 18 2011, 12:12 PM |
Jun 8 2011, 02:56 PM
Jun 18 2011, 10:46 AM
QUOTE(penangmee @ Jun 17 2011, 11:53 PM) hahaha better enjoy red prawn durian before your beneficiaries enjoy..........insurance and FD are two different products but some banks 'combined' them. Am Bank provides personal life coverage on FD, but you have to be over 50 to open Am-plus FD . There is a maximum age limit, think it is 70 or 75. Added on June 18, 2011, 10:57 am QUOTE(gerrardling @ Jun 17 2011, 02:55 PM) IRR is taking into account the purchasing power of the real money by discounting the future value. Based on inflation rate and continue rising trend in Malaysia, IRR or ROI on FD is bad.Bank gives 3% per year and if inflation rate is also 3%, the net purchasing power of money in FD remain unchanged after a year. On the hand if you have invested on property instead of FD, the gain in property value is much much better than FD. The rental collected will be equivalent to the interest you earn in FD Choosing FD or insurance depending on what is your personal needs. If you have family and young children then you may consider education type of insurance, some financial protection in case you lost the earning power, This post has been edited by gsc: Jun 18 2011, 10:57 AM |
Jun 19 2011, 11:10 AM
QUOTE(solstice818 @ Jun 19 2011, 04:36 AM) I actually heard of interest higher than bank from Insurance policies. That's is saving policy lar. Not those health insurance you guys buying. Rate around 8%+ , depending on company performance. UOB -3.45Not too sure on the details though. Anyway, was wondering if there's any bank offering good interest rate for 3 months FD? |
Jun 20 2011, 12:21 PM
QUOTE(solstice818 @ Jun 19 2011, 02:32 PM) Sorry but what's UOB? United Overseas Bank?Because from what I see from their website, 3 months is only 2.9% most Banks wont update their website when the special promotion offers only in short period. Call UOB and they will tell you. Offer end this month. 12 mths 3.7%http://www1.uob.com.my/jsp/finance/fin_fd....0/#passfuncoins Added on June 20, 2011, 12:43 pm QUOTE(gerrardling @ Jun 20 2011, 09:35 AM) currently, only BSN is the highest at 4% unless if u are the premier banking customer with certain bank like bro gen-x. they can offer u up to 5% p.a BSN does not give interest rate. correctly me if I am wrong, thought they give dividend but no guarantee. This post has been edited by gsc: Jun 20 2011, 12:43 PM |
Jun 21 2011, 11:58 AM
QUOTE(gerrardling @ Jun 20 2011, 01:29 PM) Thanks. That is 4 % for 60 months. 5 years from now, rate will be higher than 4%.Added on June 21, 2011, 12:04 pm QUOTE(jack2 @ Jun 20 2011, 03:27 PM) I will do detailed calculation when I obtain the table from them. The interest is credited to my Am Saving account monthlyYes, the AMBANK top rated FD is paying interest quarterly. However, the recent FD I placed with them is no longer quarterly. It is stated as 6 monthly. I believe you got the same as me? This post has been edited by gsc: Jun 21 2011, 12:04 PM |
Jun 22 2011, 12:26 AM
Jun 22 2011, 04:00 PM
Jun 28 2011, 10:51 AM
QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jun 27 2011, 06:11 PM) Bro, I still waiting for the post. Or did you post and I missed it? 3.7% for 12 mths end june 2011. But seems some members here said Eon betterI was at OCBC today to pay my CC bill, so I asked any FD promo and the girl said until end of this month 3.55% for 12 months, minimum RM10K fresh funds. Now not sure if I heard wrongly as my ears was kind of "blocked" at that time as I not feeling well. |
Jul 3 2011, 01:41 PM
QUOTE(steason @ Jul 3 2011, 12:23 PM) yes, just like local currency, can have interest add on and auto renew.foreign currency FD is good if you do not need the cash. Open FD when exchange rate is favourable, example when Aus$ is less than RM3 ringgit a couple years back, with the gain in exchange rate now, you earn both interest + exchange rate. See below on FD rate http://www.pbebank.com/en/en_content/perso.../fcfdrates.html This post has been edited by gsc: Jul 3 2011, 01:41 PM |
Jul 5 2011, 06:26 PM
Jul 13 2011, 11:43 AM
QUOTE(Xforged @ Jul 12 2011, 09:05 PM) Sidetrack a bit. I was browsing the papers today & saw maybank is offering a promo in foreign currency account for AUD & CNY. Does it work like FD? same calculation? same calculation as FD. But you will loose/gain depending on exchange rate. AUS exchange rate is high now to go in. Foreign currency FD is good when you have spare cash. Convert back to RM when the exchange rate is favourable,Any such limitation if I were to dump bullets in this fund? Should it be based on the same calc as FD, the return upon maturity is obviously higher - looking at the rates for AUD, its 6% over 3 mths. Anyone know any bank allow to withdraw as foreign currency without converting into RM? |
Jul 16 2011, 02:10 PM
QUOTE(tekwei98 @ Jul 15 2011, 11:06 PM) thanks for the link.. i guess im not interested with this.. so, my quest now goes back to square one.. which bank offers the highest FD rates ? UOB 3 mths 3.45%, 9 mth 3.6%. Min RM25k. Promotion end of Aug.any comment on maybank's AUD and CNY foreign currency acc promo? thanks. AUD exchange rate is high now, not advice to go in. Added on July 16, 2011, 2:19 pm QUOTE(tekwei98 @ Jul 15 2011, 11:06 PM) thanks for the link.. i guess im not interested with this.. so, my quest now goes back to square one.. which bank offers the highest FD rates ? Public bank offer.......any comment on maybank's AUD and CNY foreign currency acc promo? thanks. https://www.pbebank.com/en/en_content/perso...tions/fcfd.html Note the warning end of Public bank page WARNING THERE IS AN INHERENT EXCHANGE RATE RISK IN FOREIGN CURRENCY DEPOSITS DUE TO THE FLUCTUATION OF THE FOREIGN CURRENCY EXCHANGE RATE AGAINST RINGGIT MALAYSIA. Below is the exchange rate https://www.pbebank.com/en/en_content/perso...ates/index.html Take AUS dollar as an example, selling 3.258 and buying at 3.174, assuming you buy now and sell immediately and the exchange rate didnt change at that instant, you already loose out 3.258-3.174=0.084 0.084/3.258--or 2.58% FD rate 6.7% - 2.5% = 4.2% net interest you get assuming no change in exchange rate This post has been edited by gsc: Jul 16 2011, 02:19 PM |
Jul 18 2011, 12:38 PM
Jul 19 2011, 12:06 AM
QUOTE(cheong3033 @ Jul 18 2011, 04:13 PM) hmm. i have much better suggestion. If you buy this share KM Loong thanks, any more recommendation?i think this share given back much higher... yearly your gain interest around 5 % . If it's grow up, somemore u can earn more Added on July 19, 2011, 12:07 am QUOTE(cheong3033 @ Jul 18 2011, 04:13 PM) hmm. i have much better suggestion. If you buy this share KM Loong thanks, any more recommendation?i think this share given back much higher... yearly your gain interest around 5 % . If it's grow up, somemore u can earn more This post has been edited by gsc: Jul 19 2011, 12:07 AM |
Jul 19 2011, 10:03 AM
QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jul 19 2011, 07:25 AM) Yes, you are right. I was at AFFIN two weeks back and the Exec told me that she can request from HQ higher interest rate if I were to deposit RM1M minimum. Actually, HLB also same, the branch manager can check with HQ to see if they want to match their competitors' rate for significant amount of deposit. OCBC also can talk. Correct me if I am wrong, only big amount like 1 million can nego for better rate? Anybody have tried successfully on lesser amount?" Come to think of it, last year my RHB branch Premier Banking Manager did request for higher interest from HQ for my minimum amount to be eligible for PB and got extra 0.05%. |
Jul 20 2011, 12:14 PM
QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Jul 19 2011, 11:32 PM) Few years ago you can do that, now you can't even buy a corner house with 1m. better keep the money in FD and wait for the property bubble to burst. Land, building material and labour costs are going up not because of speculation. Property cost will go up 15-20% due to these factors. With US economy not doing well, Europe-Greece, Ireland debt, Malaysia own debt is climbing at alarming rate, inflation rate more than 4.5%, RM purchasing power is diminishing every year, I doubt property bubble will burst. The most some downward adjustment in those speculated area |
Jul 24 2011, 04:14 PM
QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jul 22 2011, 03:41 PM) 0.05-0.1% sounds like the norm. Hard for most banks to beat Affin rate of 3.6%. thanks for sharing. OCBC has also advertised in the newspaper.Melody90 never came back and reply my question. I hate it when people post half story here. And best of al she WAS working at OCBC and ask people to PM her for next week offer Anyway guys, I dropped by OCBC and was informed promo next week with minimum RM10K fresh fund: 3 months - 3.45% 6 months - 3.5% 12 months - 3.6% UOB 3 mths - 3.45% 9 mths - 3.6 % min RM25k, promote end 31 Aug |
Jul 25 2011, 12:30 PM
QUOTE(MNet @ Jul 24 2011, 07:34 PM) OCBC 10kUOB 25k Added on July 25, 2011, 12:32 pm QUOTE(bearbear @ Jul 24 2011, 11:06 PM) public bank step up interest rate, I think there is a catch, if you done keep for min 6 mths, there will a penaltyThis post has been edited by gsc: Jul 25 2011, 12:32 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0464sec
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 03:40 PM |