i have improved the Edu/Retirement spreadsheet with
a) 2nd child education
b) yearly savings
Public Mutual v3, Public/PB series funds
Sep 22 2011, 08:19 AM
12,275 posts Joined: Oct 2010 |
Wong
i have improved the Edu/Retirement spreadsheet with a) 2nd child education b) yearly savings |
Sep 22 2011, 08:33 AM
5,608 posts Joined: May 2011 From: Here, There, Everywhere |
Sep 22 2011, 08:34 AM
Sep 22 2011, 08:39 AM
Sep 22 2011, 09:04 AM
Lets see
Try and see whether its ok........ Attached File(s)
Children_s_Education___Self_Retirement888.zip ( 8.53k )
Number of downloads: 58 |
Sep 22 2011, 11:19 AM
183 posts Joined: Jan 2009 |
how much money shud put in when do DDI? someone told me tat DDI rm100 hardly see the result but at least RM300.
Sep 22 2011, 12:00 PM
11,954 posts Joined: May 2007 |
DDI frm PB bank it self need pay monthly fee?
Sep 22 2011, 12:00 PM
145 posts Joined: Nov 2007 |
QUOTE(kent05 @ Sep 22 2011, 11:19 AM) how much money shud put in when do DDI? someone told me tat DDI rm100 hardly see the result but at least RM300. depend...if invest 1k, DDI 100 then ok, cos is about 10% of ur investment... but if ur investment is 5k, DDI RM100 will not affect much... and also, if u got 3 a/c, each DDI RM100, each month aldy RM300... DDI based on that investor cashflow...if got extra free cash flow, the js top up some... what i practice is,i will submit 2 DDI for 1 a/c, which is 8 & 18 of the month... |
Sep 22 2011, 12:03 PM
1,142 posts Joined: Sep 2004 From: Puchong |
QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Sep 22 2011, 07:59 AM) BlueSilver - i'm sorry i dont have a black/white solution for U. I'm not U and in your specific situation. Hi Mr. Wong, thanks for the long explanation. I will definitely sit down and study all this before proceeding any further. However, having said that, U may want to switch your equity funds (or at least 50%) back to bond funds WHILE U learn/plan ahead. IMHO being in equities when one doesnt really know what's happening is akin to driving a car (people usually take classes to handle the power) VS being in bonds is like running (more dangerous than walking as U are going faster and need to be more alert) VS being in FD is like walking (er... really basic basics) Just to share what i did when i found myself "lost" donkey years ago (things relating to mutual funds only, stocks/REITs are another story heheh): a. I SWITCHED ALL my funds back to Bond Funds b. While i went back back to basics to learning, testing, tracking + $ mgt & risk mgt: these 2 are the biggest impact that shaped my approach now). BTW, U cant manage what U dont track & dont have plans/goals for + Asset Allocation: some major stats/research points to Asset Allocation being the biggest impact to a total portfolio, not stock picking or funds picking. Looks to me holistic planning, tracking & managing is the way to go. 2nd biggest impact to my approach now. +Methodologies / Entry & Exit rules c. Built my goals/plans +knowing how much i want/need for my goals +Asset Allocation + selection of vehicles based on average expected returns pa to reach my goals +Methodologies / Entry & Exit plans to execute the above Value investing & programmatic investing Based on the methodologies i've put $ in to test (only about 2 to 3 years, not 10 yar Value - coz i love bargains and there's less probability for much % drop Programmatic - coz i needed something else than Value, which has a human-trigger, thus emotions like fear & greed can cloud judgement Your mileage may vary BTW, dont worry about "missing the boat" Prices/NAV go up slow but falls fast (think gravity) Think 1998 sloooooow climb up after ASIAN Currency Crisis then buta kena whacked by US DOT COM bust sharp down 2001 then slow climb up to 2006/2007 then sharp whack down by Credit Crunch Crisis & US Property Bubble 2008 then slow climb back to end 2010 then sharp whack down mid 2011 phew.. just trying to make a point going down = fast, going up = slow Added on September 22, 2011, 8:05 am Jutamind, looks good - holistic enough as long as U couple that approach to a fund house that has "good enough" equity and bond funds Just a thought: IF the market trends up for 8 years SLOWLY after a crash (eg. end 1998 to 2006) , the NAV will not go down, thus U dont participate/buy in (yr current methodology averages down only when 8%-10% down from your TOTAL AVERAGE PURCHASED PRICE) U may miss a MAJOR part of gains and time lost. No righter-right or wronger wrong ar. Best methodologies are those that fits one's personality, attitude and time/effort to be spent on donkey things like investing |
Sep 22 2011, 01:43 PM
QUOTE(BlueSilver @ Sep 22 2011, 12:03 PM) Hi Mr. Wong, thanks for the long explanation. I will definitely sit down and study all this before proceeding any further. whoa.. pls no MR mr here. Mr Wong's my daddy er.. my apologies for the long winded post yar - i couldnt really think of a way to simplify for absorption yet summarize |
Sep 22 2011, 01:49 PM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
52,874 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Sep 22 2011, 04:17 PM
2,429 posts Joined: Jul 2007 |
QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Sep 22 2011, 07:59 AM) Just a thought: Hmm, havent thot of what is the appropriate way of investing for long period of slow climb up. so far, havent invested in my Public funds since '08 until last month. Was taking profit along the way before this....IF the market trends up for 8 years SLOWLY after a crash (eg. end 1998 to 2006) , the NAV will not go down, thus U dont participate/buy in (yr current methodology averages down only when 8%-10% down from your TOTAL AVERAGE PURCHASED PRICE) U may miss a MAJOR part of gains and time lost. No righter-right or wronger wrong ar. Best methodologies are those that fits one's personality, attitude and time/effort to be spent on donkey things like investing |
Sep 22 2011, 05:19 PM
978 posts Joined: Dec 2008 |
hi sifus,
i invested in PAUEF 2 years ago and i recently received a "Summary of Final Distribution for Finanial Year Ended 2011" Attached with it is a voucher and it says... The Malaysian Income Tax deducted as above has been or will be accounted for by us to the Director-General of Inland Revenue Malaysia. Please retain this voucher for submission to the tax authorities. Can anyone explain to me more about this voucher? Thank you all in advance. |
Sep 22 2011, 10:23 PM
2,293 posts Joined: Mar 2008 |
If use other bank to REINVESTMENT for Public Mutual, (eg. CIMB), how much is the charges ?
Sep 22 2011, 10:25 PM
828 posts Joined: Dec 2009 |
I've a question here, hope sifu and sijie can assist...
let's say there's one retiree who wants to invest using EPF. Can he withdraw any amount of $ and only being charge for the 3% service charge to invest in Mutual Fund? |
Sep 22 2011, 10:36 PM
4,458 posts Joined: Nov 2008 From: Kuala Lumpur |
Sep 22 2011, 11:01 PM
952 posts Joined: Feb 2011 |
QUOTE(teng_08 @ Sep 22 2011, 05:19 PM) hi sifus, ur distribution after the tax deduction. u not need to pay any tax for capital gain/dividedns from UT. but u still need to declare the dividedns.i invested in PAUEF 2 years ago and i recently received a "Summary of Final Distribution for Finanial Year Ended 2011" Attached with it is a voucher and it says... The Malaysian Income Tax deducted as above has been or will be accounted for by us to the Director-General of Inland Revenue Malaysia. Please retain this voucher for submission to the tax authorities. Can anyone explain to me more about this voucher? Thank you all in advance. |
Sep 22 2011, 11:07 PM
952 posts Joined: Feb 2011 |
QUOTE(thugs @ Sep 22 2011, 10:25 PM) I've a question here, hope sifu and sijie can assist... i think, if retiree after 55 yrs old. EPF cannot hold their money, retiree can withdraw how much they want and the sservice charge shouldn't be 3%. it should be 5.5%. concider cash investment. EPF scheme only up to 55 yrs old.let's say there's one retiree who wants to invest using EPF. Can he withdraw any amount of $ and only being charge for the 3% service charge to invest in Mutual Fund? |
Sep 23 2011, 12:03 AM
2,050 posts Joined: Dec 2009 From: DC |
Sep 23 2011, 09:31 AM
804 posts Joined: Dec 2004 From: Kuching, Sarawak |
If I'm using PBE online transaction to PM Fund (instead of using PMO), I just need to key in my PM fund a/c nos and amount only, rite? This will be consider as Additional Investment (AI), rite? How long does the transaction take to be shown in my PMO a/c?
| Change to: | 0.0187sec
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 06:40 AM |