Public Mutual v3, Public/PB series funds

wongmunkeong
post Sep 22 2011, 07:59 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(BlueSilver @ Sep 21 2011, 09:59 PM)
I don't mind going back to basics. Does that mean I should sell all my units and only invest after studying?
BlueSilver - i'm sorry i dont have a black/white solution for U. I'm not U and in your specific situation.

However, having said that, U may want to switch your equity funds (or at least 50%) back to bond funds WHILE U learn/plan ahead.
IMHO being in equities when one doesnt really know what's happening is akin to driving a car (people usually take classes to handle the power)
VS being in bonds is like running (more dangerous than walking as U are going faster and need to be more alert)
VS being in FD is like walking (er... really basic basics)

Just to share what i did when i found myself "lost" donkey years ago (things relating to mutual funds only, stocks/REITs are another story heheh):
a. I SWITCHED ALL my funds back to Bond Funds
b. While i went back back to basics to learning, testing, tracking
+ $ mgt & risk mgt: these 2 are the biggest impact that shaped my approach now). BTW, U cant manage what U dont track & dont have plans/goals for tongue.gif

+ Asset Allocation: some major stats/research points to Asset Allocation being the biggest impact to a total portfolio, not stock picking or funds picking. Looks to me holistic planning, tracking & managing is the way to go. 2nd biggest impact to my approach now.

+Methodologies / Entry & Exit rules

c. Built my goals/plans
+knowing how much i want/need for my goals
+Asset Allocation + selection of vehicles based on average expected returns pa to reach my goals
+Methodologies / Entry & Exit plans to execute the above
Value investing & programmatic investing
Based on the methodologies i've put $ in to test (only about 2 to 3 years, not 10 yar tongue.gif) + simulated via Excel's random numbers for pricing, these 2 fits my personality (chicken + simpleton).
Value - coz i love bargains and there's less probability for much % drop
Programmatic - coz i needed something else than Value, which has a human-trigger, thus emotions like fear & greed can cloud judgement

Your mileage may vary notworthy.gif

BTW, dont worry about "missing the boat"
Prices/NAV go up slow but falls fast (think gravity)
Think 1998 sloooooow climb up after ASIAN Currency Crisis
then buta kena whacked by US DOT COM bust sharp down 2001
then slow climb up to 2006/2007
then sharp whack down by Credit Crunch Crisis & US Property Bubble 2008
then slow climb back to end 2010
then sharp whack down mid 2011
phew.. just trying to make a point going down = fast, going up = slow

Added on September 22, 2011, 8:05 am
QUOTE(jutamind @ Sep 21 2011, 09:35 PM)
this is my investment strategy for my Public funds:

When the market is up: If the value of my fund is 15% > my investment cost, take profit and switch to bond funds. Will take profit every 15% on the way up.

When the market is down: Will invest more if the NAV is 8 - 10% down from the avg purchase price. Will top up every 8 - 10% on the way down.

Side way market: Just let the fund on auto cruise.

Is this strategy workable? Been using this method since '07.
Jutamind, looks good - holistic enough as long as U couple that approach to a fund house that has "good enough" equity and bond funds rclxms.gif

Just a thought:
IF the market trends up for 8 years SLOWLY after a crash (eg. end 1998 to 2006) ,
the NAV will not go down,
thus U dont participate/buy in (yr current methodology averages down only when 8%-10% down from your TOTAL AVERAGE PURCHASED PRICE)
U may miss a MAJOR part of gains and time lost.

No righter-right or wronger wrong ar. Best methodologies are those that fits one's personality, attitude and time/effort to be spent on donkey things like investing notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Sep 22 2011, 08:12 AM
prophetjul
post Sep 22 2011, 08:19 AM

12,268 posts

Wong

i have improved the Edu/Retirement spreadsheet with

a) 2nd child education
b) yearly savings

wongmunkeong
post Sep 22 2011, 08:33 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Sep 22 2011, 08:19 AM)
Wong

i have improved the Edu/Retirement spreadsheet with

a) 2nd child education
b) yearly savings

Gold sifu Phophetjul, share share lar yr modded worksheet
prophetjul
post Sep 22 2011, 08:34 AM

12,268 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Sep 22 2011, 08:33 AM)
Gold sifu Phophetjul, share share lar yr modded worksheet
How you attach ar? biggrin.gif
wongmunkeong
post Sep 22 2011, 08:39 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Sep 22 2011, 08:34 AM)
How you attach ar?  biggrin.gif
Zip the Excel first
Then under the posting , there's a File Attachment area.
Click on Browse, select zip file
Then click on Add This File
All above Add Reply button
prophetjul
post Sep 22 2011, 09:04 AM

12,268 posts

Lets see

Try and see whether its ok........ biggrin.gif

Attached File(s)
Attached File  Children_s_Education___Self_Retirement888.zip ( 8.53k ) Number of downloads: 58
kent05
post Sep 22 2011, 11:19 AM

183 posts

how much money shud put in when do DDI? someone told me tat DDI rm100 hardly see the result but at least RM300.
SUSMNet
post Sep 22 2011, 12:00 PM

11,954 posts

DDI frm PB bank it self need pay monthly fee?
rkg38
post Sep 22 2011, 12:00 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(kent05 @ Sep 22 2011, 11:19 AM)
how much money shud put in when do DDI? someone told me tat DDI rm100 hardly see the result but at least RM300.
depend...
if invest 1k, DDI 100 then ok, cos is about 10% of ur investment...
but if ur investment is 5k, DDI RM100 will not affect much...
and also, if u got 3 a/c, each DDI RM100, each month aldy RM300...

DDI based on that investor cashflow...if got extra free cash flow, the js top up some...

what i practice is,i will submit 2 DDI for 1 a/c, which is 8 & 18 of the month...
BlueSilver
post Sep 22 2011, 12:03 PM

1,142 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Sep 22 2011, 07:59 AM)
BlueSilver - i'm sorry i dont have a black/white solution for U. I'm not U and in your specific situation.

However, having said that, U may want to switch your equity funds (or at least 50%) back to bond funds WHILE U learn/plan ahead.
IMHO being in equities when one doesnt really know what's happening is akin to driving a car (people usually take classes to handle the power)
VS being in bonds is like running (more dangerous than walking as U are going faster and need to be more alert)
VS being in FD is like walking (er... really basic basics)

Just to share what i did when i found myself "lost" donkey years ago (things relating to mutual funds only, stocks/REITs are another story heheh):
a. I SWITCHED ALL my funds back to Bond Funds
b. While i went back back to basics to learning, testing, tracking
+ $ mgt & risk mgt: these 2 are the biggest impact that shaped my approach now). BTW, U cant manage what U dont track & dont have plans/goals for tongue.gif

+ Asset Allocation: some major stats/research points to Asset Allocation being the biggest impact to a total portfolio, not stock picking or funds picking. Looks to me holistic planning, tracking & managing is the way to go. 2nd biggest impact to my approach now.

+Methodologies / Entry & Exit rules

c. Built my goals/plans
+knowing how much i want/need for my goals
+Asset Allocation + selection of vehicles based on average expected returns pa to reach my goals
+Methodologies / Entry & Exit plans to execute the above
Value investing & programmatic investing
Based on the methodologies i've put $ in to test (only about 2 to 3 years, not 10 yar tongue.gif) + simulated via Excel's random numbers for pricing, these 2 fits my personality (chicken + simpleton).
Value - coz i love bargains and there's less probability for much % drop
Programmatic - coz i needed something else than Value, which has a human-trigger, thus emotions like fear & greed can cloud judgement

Your mileage may vary  notworthy.gif

BTW, dont worry about "missing the boat"
Prices/NAV go up slow but falls fast (think gravity)
Think 1998 sloooooow climb up after ASIAN Currency Crisis
then buta kena whacked by US DOT COM bust sharp down 2001
then slow climb up to 2006/2007
then sharp whack down by Credit Crunch Crisis & US Property Bubble 2008
then slow climb back to end 2010
then sharp whack down mid 2011
phew.. just trying to make a point going down = fast, going up = slow

Added on September 22, 2011, 8:05 am
Jutamind, looks good - holistic enough as long as U couple that approach to a fund house that has "good enough" equity and bond funds rclxms.gif 

Just a thought:
IF the market trends up for 8 years SLOWLY after a crash (eg. end 1998 to 2006) ,
thus U dont participate/buy in (yr current methodology averages down only when 8%-10% down from your TOTAL AVERAGE PURCHASED PRICE)

No righter-right or wronger wrong ar. Best methodologies are those that fits one's personality, attitude and time/effort to be spent on donkey things like investing  notworthy.gif
Hi Mr. Wong, thanks for the long explanation. I will definitely sit down and study all this before proceeding any further. thumbup.gif
wongmunkeong
post Sep 22 2011, 01:43 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(BlueSilver @ Sep 22 2011, 12:03 PM)
Hi Mr. Wong, thanks for the long explanation. I will definitely sit down and study all this before proceeding any further.  thumbup.gif
whoa.. pls no MR mr here. Mr Wong's my daddy tongue.gif
er.. my apologies for the long winded post yar - i couldnt really think of a way to simplify for absorption yet summarize
SUSDavid83
post Sep 22 2011, 01:49 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ Sep 22 2011, 12:00 PM)
DDI frm PB bank it self need pay monthly fee?
No fee
jutamind
post Sep 22 2011, 04:17 PM

2,429 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Sep 22 2011, 07:59 AM)
Just a thought:

No righter-right or wronger wrong ar. Best methodologies are those that fits one's personality, attitude and time/effort to be spent on donkey things like investing  notworthy.gif
Hmm, havent thot of what is the appropriate way of investing for long period of slow climb up. so far, havent invested in my Public funds since '08 until last month. Was taking profit along the way before this....

teng_08
post Sep 22 2011, 05:19 PM

978 posts

hi sifus,

i invested in PAUEF 2 years ago and i recently received a "Summary of Final Distribution for Finanial Year Ended 2011"
Attached with it is a voucher and it says...
The Malaysian Income Tax deducted as above has been or will be accounted for by us to the Director-General of Inland Revenue Malaysia. Please retain this voucher for submission to the tax authorities.

Can anyone explain to me more about this voucher?

Thank you all in advance.
moon yuen
post Sep 22 2011, 10:23 PM

2,293 posts

If use other bank to REINVESTMENT for Public Mutual, (eg. CIMB), how much is the charges ?
thugs
post Sep 22 2011, 10:25 PM

Tun Tan Sri Datuk Dr. Thug
828 posts

I've a question here, hope sifu and sijie can assist...

let's say there's one retiree who wants to invest using EPF. Can he withdraw any amount of $ and only being charge for the 3% service charge to invest in Mutual Fund?
debbieyss
post Sep 22 2011, 10:36 PM

Look at all my stars! I want to be a SUPERSTAR!
4,458 posts

QUOTE(moon yuen @ Sep 22 2011, 10:23 PM)
If use other bank to REINVESTMENT for Public Mutual, (eg. CIMB), how much is the charges ?
What do you mean?
Are you asking for Direct Debit Instruction or?
kparam77
post Sep 22 2011, 11:01 PM

952 posts

QUOTE(teng_08 @ Sep 22 2011, 05:19 PM)
hi sifus,

i invested in PAUEF 2 years ago and i recently received a "Summary of Final Distribution for Finanial Year Ended 2011"
Attached with it is a voucher and it says...
The Malaysian Income Tax deducted as above has been or will be accounted for by us to the Director-General of Inland Revenue Malaysia. Please retain this voucher for submission to the tax authorities.

Can anyone explain to me more about this voucher?

Thank you all in advance.
ur distribution after the tax deduction. u not need to pay any tax for capital gain/dividedns from UT. but u still need to declare the dividedns.
kparam77
post Sep 22 2011, 11:07 PM

952 posts

QUOTE(thugs @ Sep 22 2011, 10:25 PM)
I've a question here, hope sifu and sijie can assist...

let's say there's one retiree who wants to invest using EPF. Can he withdraw any amount of $ and only being charge for the 3% service charge to invest in Mutual Fund?
i think, if retiree after 55 yrs old. EPF cannot hold their money, retiree can withdraw how much they want and the sservice charge shouldn't be 3%. it should be 5.5%. concider cash investment. EPF scheme only up to 55 yrs old.
koinibler
post Sep 23 2011, 12:03 AM

2,050 posts

QUOTE(moon yuen @ Sep 22 2011, 10:23 PM)
I know Maybank charge RM1 for every DDI, maybe CIMB is also the same.

127 Pages « < 22 23 24 25 26 > » Top

0.0258sec    0.77    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 11:56 PM