Public Mutual v3, Public/PB series funds

SUSPink Spider
post Jul 4 2012, 08:31 PM

Formerly known as Prince_Hamsap
16,872 posts

QUOTE(Drian @ Jul 4 2012, 08:24 PM)
Actually I think if they cannot understand the simple concept of dilutiion due to dividen distribution, they should continue investing in unit trust instead of doing their own investing.
Bro, we ARE talking about dividends in unit trusts...that ABC Berhad example is just an illustration of the very concept that u just mentioned. doh.gif

And the dilution happens in BOTH direct equity investments and unit trust investments.
kparam77
post Jul 4 2012, 09:45 PM

952 posts

QUOTE(kueyteowlou @ Jul 4 2012, 06:32 PM)
sorry for the noob questions..

I didn't see any holding details on the report...

mind to enlighten me which session should I browse through ?
rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
fund financial statement... http://www.publicmutual.com.my/OurProducts...tatementFS.aspx
debbieyss
post Jul 4 2012, 10:40 PM

Look at all my stars! I want to be a SUPERSTAR!
4,458 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Jul 4 2012, 07:22 PM)
1. If client's portfolio is not performing, agent's commission will be lesser when the client sells the fund.
I assume U mean the "career benefit" or "trailer benefit", where agents get 0.2%pa of the value of loaded funds (or was it just equity funds? tongue.gif)?

2. Since dividend fund is not something profitable then why would the agents introducing these funds to clients?
Based on (1.) and assuming U mean "dividend paying fund" as per Pink's clarification, the simplest answer and logic would be...
a. the agents doesn't CARE about the long term as they have the service charges up front already
er.. say 2.75% * $150K lump sum - this was what my friend's spouse nearly got conned into, PCSF summore + lump sum!  shocking.gif

OR

b. the agents know nuts
Plenty of these too

U should see most of some of these agents eyes widen when i was playing with my Excel sheets, doing value averaging or TwinVest, versus their recommended DCA.  laugh.gif
and this was during a class break for non-newbie agents!
By the way, how did you know so much of investing methods such as dollar cost averaging and twinvest and value averaging?? Where to get to know all these? My agent only asks me to do DDI. I must know and understand ALL the options then only I'm able to choose the most suitable one right? wasted time and money now...

This post has been edited by debbieyss: Jul 4 2012, 11:03 PM
wongmunkeong
post Jul 5 2012, 08:39 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(debbieyss @ Jul 4 2012, 10:40 PM)
By the way, how did you know so much of investing methods such as dollar cost averaging and twinvest and value averaging?? Where to get to know all these? My agent only asks me to do DDI. I must know and understand ALL the options then only I'm able to choose the most suitable one right? wasted time and money now...
Debbie, U "see me too high" (Kanto-knees literal translation) sweat.gif
Like U, i wasn't born with these data/info in my head.
I did like U until 20+, got fed up with being conned/suckered/blind-leading-blind and results couldn't be repeated.
Hunger to learn and do better for myself and family (now charities) forced me to learn from $ mgt, insurance, investing to estate planning.
Still i know that i don't know much tongue.gif

Thus, bottom line, U shouldn't regret.
At least U started investing + it's not wasted time & money - hell, i lost about $100K in investments + another er.. bigger chunk in investing in the wrong partner.
Learn from your experience AND learn from books and others (forums are a good place - please use you logic & brain to filter BS yar).

Don't blame the agents - they are where they are, coz of what they are and where they choose to be.
Same with us - we are where we are, coz what we are and where we choose to be. Change wanted? Make changes lar notworthy.gif
kent05
post Jul 5 2012, 08:35 PM

183 posts

any1 here knows how to use EMA 3,5,10 for entry / stay / exit plan? i read it in cari forum but i cant understand the concept?
wongmunkeong
post Jul 5 2012, 09:15 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(kent05 @ Jul 5 2012, 08:35 PM)
any1 here knows how to use EMA 3,5,10 for entry / stay / exit plan? i read it in cari forum but i cant understand the concept?
EMA as in Exponential Moving Average? 3,5 10 of EMA?
bro - are U lost or something? That's usually for ForEx and other trading vehichles wor.
U want to TRADE mutual funds? With the crazy entry charges (compared to stocks, options, ForEx and futures)? shocking.gif
This i gotta see... notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Jul 5 2012, 09:16 PM
kent05
post Jul 5 2012, 09:33 PM

183 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Jul 5 2012, 09:15 PM)
EMA as in Exponential Moving Average? 3,5 10 of EMA?
bro - are U lost or something? That's usually for ForEx and other trading vehichles wor.
U want to TRADE mutual funds? With the crazy entry charges (compared to stocks, options, ForEx and futures)?  shocking.gif
This i gotta see...  notworthy.gif
y say crazy? cos read in a chinese forum got ppl really trade mutual fund use Exponential Moving Average rclxub.gif cos i dunno when i shud lock my profit & park my fund to bond fund..den when shud i go in again when market going down...

This post has been edited by kent05: Jul 5 2012, 09:36 PM
wongmunkeong
post Jul 5 2012, 09:35 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(kent05 @ Jul 5 2012, 09:33 PM)
y say crazy? cos read in a chinese forum got ppl really trade mutual fund use Exponential Moving Average rclxub.gif
Local mutual funds sold in Malaysia?
OR
Overseas?

Local service charges are comparatively high leh
+
mutual funds aren't made for in/out within days/weeks/months

But then again, what do i know - there are lots of possibilities that i'm unaware about notworthy.gif
Share the website pls

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Jul 5 2012, 09:36 PM
kent05
post Jul 5 2012, 09:40 PM

183 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Jul 5 2012, 09:35 PM)
Local mutual funds sold in Malaysia?
OR
Overseas?

Local service charges are comparatively high leh
+
mutual funds aren't made for in/out within days/weeks/months

But then again, what do i know - there are lots of possibilities that i'm unaware about  notworthy.gif
Share the website pls
bro, is public mutual fund....i got funds that reached profit btw 9-11% so far....
http://cforum.cari.com.my/viewthread.php?t...4&extra=&page=1
http://cforum.cari.com.my/viewthread.php?t...2&extra=&page=1

wongmunkeong
post Jul 5 2012, 11:09 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(kent05 @ Jul 5 2012, 09:40 PM)
bro, is public mutual fund....i got funds that reached profit btw 9-11% so far....
wow.. 9-11% within 1 day, 5 days, 1 month, 6 months, 1 year, 2 years, 3 years, 5 years or more?

BTW, U using
bought NAV / by current NAV
OR
Total Cost / Value held now
as your %?

Thanks for the links notworthy.gif
Now i need to Google Translate them heheh - danke danke

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Jul 5 2012, 11:13 PM
kent05
post Jul 5 2012, 11:27 PM

183 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Jul 5 2012, 11:09 PM)
wow.. 9-11% within 1 day, 5 days, 1 month, 6 months, 1 year,  2 years, 3 years, 5 years or more?

BTW, U using
bought NAV / by current NAV
OR
Total Cost / Value held now
as your %?

Thanks for the links  notworthy.gif
Now i need to Google Translate them heheh - danke danke
less than 2 yrs...overall i still loss cos back then i switch so often due to fear during 2008....
i guess im using bought NAV / by current NAV as my %....

the links got quite a pages
wongmunkeong
post Jul 5 2012, 11:43 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(kent05 @ Jul 5 2012, 11:27 PM)
less than 2 yrs...overall i still loss cos back then i switch so often due to fear during 2008....
i guess im using bought NAV / by current NAV as my %....

the links got quite a pages
bro - just a bit of sharing ar.. hope U dont think me bad.
a. IF 9%-11% over 2 years.. that's not good leh
Average CAGR or compounded returns pa% for average to good funds is about 6%pa to 9%pa +/- based on the stats i saw
FYI - the Eastspring SmallCap (last time called PRU SmallCap) i held since donkeys of years ago till now - 3 purchases, all 3 transactions are hitting 10%pa compounded / CAGR. NOTE - these 3 transactions of mine was "buy and forget" method hheheh.

b. Shdnt be using "bought NAV" / "current NAV" to calculate your profit/loss %
reason:
"bought NAV" doesnt include costs like service charge of 3% (EPF equity funds), 5.5% (cash bought equity funds) or even 0.25% (bond funds)
that itself has a big impact on trading profitability

In addition, if I read properly the google translated pages, the guru/sifu there also stated beware of SWITCHING costs.
Thus, your "trades" should be only worthwhile if $50K or more.

Will share more once i read/translate more of those 2 links biggrin.gif
Dang hard trying to understand google translated Ying-Glish tongue.gif - sorry yar, bananaman here - only Chinese words known to me are mahjong tiles + own name + daughter's name sweat.gif

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Jul 6 2012, 07:10 PM
kparam77
post Jul 6 2012, 11:57 AM

952 posts

QUOTE(kent05 @ Jul 5 2012, 09:40 PM)
i regret not going for mandarin class rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
hrevijay
post Jul 6 2012, 03:50 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(kparam77 @ Jul 6 2012, 11:57 AM)
i regret not going for mandarin class rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
Yeah me too. My parents put me in when I was really young. Didn't see the benefit in it at that time.
kent05
post Jul 6 2012, 08:39 PM

183 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Jul 5 2012, 11:43 PM)
bro - just a bit of sharing ar.. hope U dont think me bad.
a. IF 9%-11% over 2 years.. that's not good leh
Average CAGR or compounded returns pa% for average to good funds is about 6%pa to 9%pa +/- based on the stats i saw
FYI - the Eastspring SmallCap (last time called PRU SmallCap) i held since donkeys of years ago till now - 3 purchases, all 3 transactions are hitting 10%pa compounded / CAGR. NOTE - these 3 transactions of mine was "buy and forget" method hheheh.

b. Shdnt be using "bought NAV" / "current NAV" to calculate your profit/loss %
reason:
"bought NAV" doesnt include costs like service charge of 3% (EPF equity funds), 5.5% (cash bought equity funds) or even 0.25% (bond funds)
that itself has a big impact on trading profitability

In addition, if I read properly the google translated pages, the guru/sifu there also stated beware of SWITCHING costs.
Thus, your "trades" should be only worthwhile if $50K or more.

Will share more once i read/translate more of those 2 links biggrin.gif
Dang hard trying to understand google translated Ying-Glish tongue.gif - sorry yar, bananaman here - only Chinese words known to me are mahjong tiles + own name + daughter's name  sweat.gif
Bro MK, thanks for sharing. I'm pleased if you can pointing out my mistake.

a. to be exact, my PFSF (using EPF) since 02/2011 till to-date is 8% return (mistakenly calculated as 9%), PSEASF since 11/2011 till to-date is 11% (switched from money market, loaded units). so consider good return or not?

b. my formula to obtain P & L in % is [ (NAV x units accumulated) - Actual Amount invested ] / 100%. Is it fall into "bought NAV" / "current NAV" category?

as I read thru the forum, got ppl mentioned not necessary with $50k only can apply the technique. however i do feel it is quite hard to apply the techniques in public mutual funds because of switching. I wish i can use the technique to determine entry point after I have switched out to money market / bond funds, also to determine when to lock the profit to achieve optimum profit.

PS. The links for files they have upload already invalid. i need to dig out those files i have dl before.
SUSDavid83
post Jul 7 2012, 10:24 AM

52,874 posts

Dear Unitholder, We are pleased to attach the market wrap and bond market review for the week/fortnight ended 29 June 2012 for your information. Regards Customer Service e-mail proclaimer This e-mail and any attachment is intended for the addressee(s) only and may contain information that is legally privileged and confidential. If you are not the intended recipient, you are hereby notified that any dissemination, distribution or copying of this communication and its contents is strictly prohibited. If you have received this email in error, please notify us immediately by return email or our hotline 036207 5000 and delete the document. This communication has not been transmitted via a private or secure link or in encrypted form and is therefore subject to the usual hazards of Internet communications, nor can it be guaranteed that this communication has not been the subject of unauthorised interception or modification.
momobear
post Jul 9 2012, 09:29 PM

for PB series fund, any recommendation for bond fund or money market in term of dividend that might be comparable to PSF or PRSF? seems unlikely though...or at list good to look into?

just realized that i can not switch my PBINDOBF to PSF & PRSF..sob sob....sad.gif
peachmonkey
post Jul 10 2012, 08:19 PM

282 posts

Hi sifus.

I'm planning to invest my EPF savings in Public Mutual funds. Is it true not all funds can be invested in EPF? Any funds that I should pay attention in particular.
kparam77
post Jul 10 2012, 10:22 PM

952 posts

QUOTE(peachmonkey @ Jul 10 2012, 08:19 PM)
Hi sifus.

I'm planning to invest my EPF savings in Public Mutual funds. Is it true not all funds can be invested in EPF? Any funds that I should pay attention in particular.
go to epf scheme in my signature.
desertkids
post Jul 11 2012, 12:13 AM

107 posts

QUOTE(momobear @ Jul 9 2012, 09:29 PM)
for PB series fund, any recommendation for bond fund or money market in term of dividend that might be comparable to PSF or PRSF? seems unlikely though...or at list good to look into?

just realized that i can not switch my PBINDOBF to PSF & PRSF..sob sob....sad.gif
normally bond/money market fund return will be less than equity fund because less risky, and please look at annual return than dividend given for the fund. dividend just take your left pocket money put into your right pocket.

and if your switch from bond fund to equity fund, u will get charge another 5.5% service charge..

but PBINDOBF is balanced fund so no extra service charge if switch to equity fund. biggrin.gif

0.0239sec    0.28    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 05:20 AM