127 Pages « < 110 111 112 113 114 > » Bottom

Public Mutual v3, Public/PB series funds

Violet Ling
post Jun 11 2012, 11:40 AM

177 posts

QUOTE(jonproperty @ Jun 10 2012, 11:59 PM)
I m investor in UT myself, and that 3% across 8-10 years, how much is it per year, vs what u will gain (8-25% + compounding interest)?
If anyone have that mindset of losing 3-5% when investing in equity fund, UT is not for you. Buy share.

Like i said before, i will not share it here. There are many competitors, will u share ur secret with competitor?  laugh.gif
If i can prove that to you when meet up, prepare to do DDI will ya?  biggrin.gif
seems to me you are talking about endowment plan..
where got UT, DDI certain amount for xx years, then got certain amounts back for xx years..that is endowment rite?
wongmunkeong
post Jun 11 2012, 12:35 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(TakoC @ Jun 11 2012, 11:39 AM)
Since we're on the topic of return, I would like to ask let's say I have Fund A & B. A yields 5% return, B yields 7%

So to calculate total investment earnings, is it just to add both % together? Or it's calculated differently? Just a sudden thought.
Hi TakoC,

Simple answer: No

Answer via one of Excel's function (XIRR)
U need to take into account of the purchase date, cost and the current date & combined value of each transaction.

eg. your Excel colums will look like this (with ; as column delimiter/separator)
Date (purchased, received cash, now at the end); Cost and/or $ out; Value Now and/or $ received

TakoC
post Jun 11 2012, 02:22 PM

2,081 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Jun 11 2012, 12:35 PM)
Hi TakoC,

Simple answer: No

Answer via one of Excel's function (XIRR)
U need to take into account of the purchase date, cost and the current date & combined value of each transaction.

eg. your Excel colums will look like this (with ; as column delimiter/separator)
Date (purchased, received cash, now at the end); Cost and/or $ out; Value Now and/or $ received
Totally my fault. Sorry!

What I meant was after calculating using Excel. The return %

Excel looks something like (with ; as seperator)

Date (Investment value; service charges; investment value after charges; unit price; total unit purchased) and deduct against [(most recent unit price x total units) - exit fee)]

That profit return % - Do I just add them up together? biggrin.gif
kparam77
post Jun 11 2012, 02:44 PM

952 posts

QUOTE(TakoC @ Jun 11 2012, 02:22 PM)
Totally my fault. Sorry!

Date (Investment value; service charges; investment value after charges; unit price; total unit purchased) and deduct against [(most recent unit price x total units) - exit fee)]

simple calculation: assume both start at same date.
5% + 7% / 2 = average 6% maybe. ah wong correct me if i wrong.
wongmunkeong
post Jun 11 2012, 04:42 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(kparam77 @ Jun 11 2012, 02:44 PM)
simple calculation: assume both start at same date.
5% + 7% / 2 = average 6% maybe. ah wong correct me if i wrong.
yup, if transaction = lump sum AND same date lar.. hardly got so ngam ngam one leh heheh

Added on June 11, 2012, 4:44 pm
Totally my fault. Sorry!

TakoC, er.. the simple answer is still "No - U can't just add the 2 % together to get a total investments return" hehe
Check back here - this post # later, i'll upload a ZIP file with Excel for U to use.
Just fill in the blanks (instructions will be on the worksheet itself)

Here ya go
Attached File  XIRR_returns_total_investments.zip ( 26.79k ) Number of downloads: 37

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Jun 11 2012, 05:06 PM
j.passing.by
post Jun 11 2012, 04:46 PM

1,639 posts

Totally my fault. Sorry!

1. To make it simpler, consider service charge as part of investment; add them and use only 1 figure.
2. Also add in the exit fee (if any) into the current unit price.
3. There, you already have 2 columns reduced...
4. One line for each purchase or fund. Put totals at the bottom of the appropriate columns, and average out the returns. Average them; adding up the return% is meaningless.

Below is what I wrote in a previous post...

If making a spreadsheet on the figures, the columns would be:
A) fund name (and distribution date/year end date)
B) date purchase
C) account number
D) total amount paid (including service charge).
E) number of units (update the number of units whenever there is any distribution or unit split).
F) current unit price
G) Net asset value (NAV). E x F.
H) Lost/Gain. G - D
I) Percentage. H / D %
J) Percentage per Annum. I / (Today's date - B)/365

------------------------

"2. Also add in the exit fee (if any) into the current unit price."
It should be clarified that it is not a 'simple addition', just plain english... meaning if the exit fee is 1% of the unit price, then multiply the unit price by 99%. Confuse? smile.gif Maybe put in 2 more columns and work it out...

This post has been edited by j.passing.by: Jun 11 2012, 04:53 PM
alexkos
post Jun 16 2012, 02:59 PM

2,275 posts

dear all, I am newbie to investment. May I know the average ROI for public mutual?

and what's the recommended ratio for equity/bond/money market for an investor who doesn't want to have to regularly monitor fund performance?

i'm aiming around 8%. don't flame me...I learnt all these from books.
j.passing.by
post Jun 16 2012, 04:29 PM

1,639 posts

QUOTE(alexkos @ Jun 16 2012, 02:59 PM)
dear all, I am newbie to investment. May I know the average ROI for public mutual?

and what's the recommended ratio for equity/bond/money market for an investor who doesn't want to have to regularly monitor fund performance?

You could start your research by filtering out my previous posts... there are some tips and links to the annual financial statements found in the Public Mutual website in the previous posts.

PM has many funds (maybe too many); no point in knowing the average ROI for all the funds as you're not likely to invest in each and every one of them.

Ratio among the type of funds is normally tied to age of the investor; and also depends on your risk appetite. If a fund goes south when you're young, there's still time to hold and wait for it to recover. If you're in the retirement age group, you don't have that luxury any more; so more bonds, and funds that give annual dividends in the portfolio of funds.

But I don't think linking the ratio to age holds anymore, it is better to balance the portfolio to the financial temperature at all times.

Just my 2 cents.

alexkos
post Jun 16 2012, 06:30 PM

2,275 posts

great... thank you very much.
kparam77
post Jun 16 2012, 10:43 PM

952 posts

QUOTE(alexkos @ Jun 16 2012, 02:59 PM)

u can consider moderate funds.
http://www.publicmutual.com.my/LinkClick.a...W8%3d&tabid=248
alexkos
post Jun 16 2012, 10:54 PM

2,275 posts

thank you, that's more like it!

i scanned through the attachment you gave. What is your suggestion if I would approach a fund manager or unit trust agent for my investment profile? smile.gif

This post has been edited by alexkos: Jun 16 2012, 11:02 PM
jonproperty
post Jun 16 2012, 11:57 PM

319 posts

yes u need to approach an agent, or go to any public mutual branch.
they have full time agent there.

tell the agent what u want in next 10-20 years.
and when the agent tell u to invest in certain fund, make sure u study the historical record of the fund itself. if u r not aggressive investor, moderate fund is the way to go. choose those funds which already mature (10 or more years), they are more steady (safe) in most cases.

alexkos
post Jun 17 2012, 07:49 AM

2,275 posts

thank you. If im seeking some forms of capital gain in, say, 5 years, is UT feasible for me?

I'm actually planning for equity/bond/money market mix, just that i don't know how to actually put it...
debbieyss
post Jun 17 2012, 08:17 AM

Look at all my stars! I want to be a SUPERSTAR!
4,458 posts

Hi, I have 1 question:

I'm currently holding Public Saving Fund. May I know if I can cancel PSF and switch all the money to Public Regular Saving Fund instead?

If I am to cancel PSF, I need to first sell off all the units under PSF then only and buy PRSF, right?

This post has been edited by debbieyss: Jun 17 2012, 08:18 AM
wongmunkeong
post Jun 17 2012, 10:04 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(debbieyss @ Jun 17 2012, 08:17 AM)
Hi, I have 1 question:

I'm currently holding Public Saving Fund. May I know if I can cancel PSF and switch all the money to Public Regular Saving Fund instead?

If I am to cancel PSF, I need to first sell off all the units under PSF then only and buy PRSF, right?
Hi DebbieYSS,

U can just switch your existing units, from PSF to PRSF.
DIY online pun boleh

Cancel apa? The standing instruction / DDI?
If U have a standing instruction / DDI, yup - U need to cancel it if U wish to stop pumping $ into PSF.
If i'm not mistaken, can also be done online (cancel or new DDI).
kparam77
post Jun 17 2012, 10:34 AM

952 posts

QUOTE(alexkos @ Jun 16 2012, 10:54 PM)
thank you, that's more like it!

i scanned through the attachment you gave. What is your suggestion if I would approach a fund manager or unit trust agent for my investment profile? smile.gif
since u r new, get a agent to guide u and plan for u with ur risk tolerance.

need some info from u to get better plan.

ur age?
ur risk tolerance? i think u r convervative to moderate?
lump sum?how much? or regular investment?how much?
retirment plan or others?
ur expecting around 8%? are u ok if arougn 5% to 8%?
time duration? 10 yrs or more?
and ur target amount or future value o achieve?
kparam77
post Jun 17 2012, 10:39 AM

952 posts

QUOTE(alexkos @ Jun 17 2012, 07:49 AM)
thank you. If im seeking some forms of capital gain in, say, 5 years, is UT feasible for me?

I'm actually planning for equity/bond/money market mix, just that i don't know how to actually put it...
waht is ur expectaion capital gain?
u r interested in mix asset/balance funds. cannot guarantee for high capital gain in 5 yrs for current market situation.

timing must be faverable for u in any funds except bond and MM to achieve ur targets.
kparam77
post Jun 17 2012, 10:42 AM

952 posts

QUOTE(debbieyss @ Jun 17 2012, 08:17 AM)
Hi, I have 1 question:

1.u want to cancel all ur PSF and buy PRSF?

2.or, switch all units frm PSF to PRSF?

which one? the better is 2 to avoid another SC.

why u want to do that?
kparam77
post Jun 17 2012, 10:44 AM

952 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Jun 17 2012, 10:04 AM)
Hi DebbieYSS,

U can just switch your existing units, from PSF to PRSF.
DIY online pun boleh

Cancel apa? The standing instruction / DDI?
If U have a standing instruction / DDI, yup - U need to cancel it if U wish to stop pumping $ into PSF.
If i'm not mistaken, can also be done online (cancel or new DDI).
the current DDI will cancell auto if switch all the units to another fund and apply new DDI for the new fund.
JinXXX
post Jun 17 2012, 11:30 AM

2,516 posts

anybody know which fund has the largest subscriber base ah ?

i see the PFETIF only got 7.8k unit holders so little ppl meh ?

127 Pages « < 110 111 112 113 114 > » Top

0.0317sec    0.88    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 11:05 AM