REIT V3, Real Estate Investment Trust

Jordy
post Mar 19 2012, 09:39 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Mar 19 2012, 09:03 PM)
@skid
@cherroy
@Ronnie
@bryan5073
@jordy
@xuzen

Thank you very much for your inputs.

Hello Jordy! Long time no see!

So you are not Robert Kiyosaki follower tongue.gif they love debts. The more the happier. laugh.gif
Yes Pana-jie, reallyyyyyyyyyyy long time no see eh. Been working whole day and night until I have no time to come and post here. Well, I am not exactly RK's follower, just "borrowing" his ESBI quadrants because I have to keep reminding myself that I have to walk that dreaded journey to be rich smile.gif

I am actually WB's follower, where I only buy if the shares get within my risk tolerance. That is why I don't get into any debts.

How has your portfolio been doing? Still holding on to your AXREIT?
jasontoh
post Mar 19 2012, 09:57 PM

8,447 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Mar 19 2012, 03:36 PM)
Currently there are 15 Reits in KLSE

Just a funny thought, is there anyone here buy all the 15 Reits?

I did a quick calculation, it needs less than RM20k to have all (assuming you buy 1,000 shares each).

Which is better?

A) Buy all 15 M-Reits at 1,000 shares each, or,

B) Choose 3 Reits (could be more, or less) & focus on buying more later.
I only choose top 3 with the highest yielding. biggrin.gif
panasonic88
post Mar 19 2012, 10:15 PM

37,028 posts

@Jordy
Glad that you are so occupied. We need to produce enough of active income before we get money rolls money to generate more passive income biggrin.gif

I don't have any Reits atm. More on buying "expensive" brandrd stock nowadays. Lol. How about you? Mind me taking a peep at your golden eggs basket? tongue.gif
Jordy
post Mar 19 2012, 10:46 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Mar 19 2012, 10:15 PM)
@Jordy
Glad that you are so occupied. We need to produce enough of active income before we get money rolls money to generate more passive income biggrin.gif

I don't have any Reits atm. More on buying "expensive" brandrd stock nowadays. Lol. How about you? Mind me taking a peep at your golden eggs basket? tongue.gif
Pana-jie,

I thought you had AXREIT before? Or did I remember wrongly? So are you buying into bluechips now?

In my basket, I still have my AXREIT and ATRIUM. I have added AMFIRST recently. Both have been doing very well, but AMFIRST still needs some time to pick up. Well, I still have time to wait for AMFIRST to grow as there is still some potential.
yok70
post Mar 20 2012, 12:15 AM

12,698 posts

QUOTE(Jordy @ Mar 19 2012, 08:49 PM)
It is not a good idea to buy REITs in the industry you already own. You should not diversify the companies, but diversify the industry.
Same strategy I'm into, to diversify the industry instead of a particular reit.
I have 4 reits now. Axreit (warehouse+office), cmmt and sunreit (shopping malls), alaqar(hospital). I recently sold boustead reit (plantation) and pavreit (shopping malls) while their price moved high, however I'm ready to re-enter both of them if price moves down to my target. I am also monitoring Starreit (hotel) now, waiting for a cheaper entry price. biggrin.gif

davidcch07
post Mar 20 2012, 12:33 AM

3,109 posts

QUOTE(yok70 @ Mar 20 2012, 01:15 AM)
I have 4 reits now. Axreit (warehouse+office), cmmt and sunreit (shopping malls), alaqar(hospital). I recently sold boustead reit (plantation) and pavreit (shopping malls) while their price moved high, however I'm ready to re-enter both of them if price moves down to my target. I am also monitoring Starreit (hotel) now, waiting for a cheaper entry price.  biggrin.gif
Yok Sifu,
Starreit price i also monitoring quite sometimes... price strong wont more a lot ... drop /up too...
the price also nice to in ? need ur advice... i plan to in ... 0.91 cool2.gif
cwhong
post Mar 20 2012, 02:55 AM

Growth company seeker ..... :)
4,342 posts

QUOTE(skiddtrader @ Mar 19 2012, 12:52 PM)
Hard to compare, as not same fruit, not even same type of food.

Rental income only valid for condos in city as landed properties every where else, rental yields cannot compare after the spike in property prices.

But in terms of liquidity, REITs is much better. Less headache in terms of maintenance. No need to worry much about tenants complaints. Aka a managed property.

Plus buying an actual property is serious commitment and maintenance. Properties might have a better yield calculation wise, but too many uncertainties in tenants and risks. This you managed yourself, if you actually hired a property manager, the yields itself might not be as attractive unless you already own a previously paid off property.

Like I said, it's 2 different type of investments as the risks, liquidity, personal time investments, etc. Not same type of fruit.
buying properties with 10% yields is not impossible but for owners buying before 2009, but the only headache is the maintenace and rental collections. Agree on that red parts. nod.gif
yok70
post Mar 20 2012, 03:31 AM

12,698 posts

QUOTE(davidcch07 @ Mar 20 2012, 12:33 AM)
Yok Sifu,
Starreit price i also monitoring quite sometimes... price strong wont more a lot ... drop /up too...
the price also nice to in ? need ur advice... i plan to in ... 0.91 cool2.gif
No sifu, newbie onli. tongue.gif
I think hotel business is more attached to economy condition. So if you are optimistic on world economy recovery (i do, but please judge your own), then it should be ok. Besides, if inflation moves up nicely on par with salary (if, really happened), i'm seeing hotel room charges will move up as well.
Starreit is trading at around 8.5% yield at current price, and way below NAV.
I wish I could enter at 0.88-0.90. icon_rolleyes.gif
panasonic88
post Mar 20 2012, 09:19 AM

37,028 posts

QUOTE(Jordy @ Mar 19 2012, 10:46 PM)
Pana-jie,

I thought you had AXREIT before? Or did I remember wrongly? So are you buying into bluechips now?

In my basket, I still have my AXREIT and ATRIUM. I have added AMFIRST recently. Both have been doing very well, but AMFIRST still needs some time to pick up. Well, I still have time to wait for AMFIRST to grow as there is still some potential.
Your memory is right, but it stops back in 2008 tongue.gif

Used to own Axreit, Arreit, Qcap, sold everything because fail to see its beauty. I know I need a thick glasses tongue.gif

QUOTE(yok70 @ Mar 20 2012, 12:15 AM)
I have 4 reits now. Axreit (warehouse+office), cmmt and sunreit (shopping malls), alaqar(hospital). I recently sold boustead reit (plantation) and pavreit (shopping malls) while their price moved high, however I'm ready to re-enter both of them if price moves down to my target. I am also monitoring Starreit (hotel) now, waiting for a cheaper entry price.  biggrin.gif
thumbup.gif Thank you for sharing your Reits picks.

You have covered all sectors, can become Reits tycoon liao biggrin.gif
cherroy
post Mar 20 2012, 10:05 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(yok70 @ Mar 20 2012, 03:31 AM)
No sifu, newbie onli.  tongue.gif
I think hotel business is more attached to economy condition. So if you are optimistic on world economy recovery (i do, but please judge your own), then it should be ok. Besides, if inflation moves up nicely on par with salary (if, really happened), i'm seeing hotel room charges will move up as well.
Starreit is trading at around 8.5% yield at current price, and way below NAV.
I wish I could enter at 0.88-0.90.  icon_rolleyes.gif
At 0.93 today price with projected DPU 6.9 cents

6.9/0.93 = 7.4%
Net yield (after witholding tax) = 6.66%

But one thing good about Stareit that is it has very low gearing or if not mistaken is the lowest among all the reit.

Smurfs
post Mar 20 2012, 10:11 AM

1,061 posts

1 more advantage of STAREIT is almost all hotels are in long term lease already.

panasonic88
post Mar 20 2012, 10:13 AM

37,028 posts

Cherroy is right. Starreit gearing is the lowest among them all.

Attached is the M-Reits "bible", which compiled with comprehensive details. Thanks to Mospter tongue.gif

Attached File(s)
Attached File  2012_REIT_sector_20120106_MIB_1275.pdf ( 582.01k ) Number of downloads: 107
cherroy
post Mar 20 2012, 10:29 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Smurfs @ Mar 20 2012, 10:11 AM)
1 more advantage of STAREIT is almost all hotels are in long term lease already.
It can be advantage and disadvantage as well.
Advantage, already said.
Disadvantage, if rental market exploding to upside, you don't get the increment of income like those shorter lease one especially for the like mall or office type.

To me if I want to opt for a stable fixed income, Stareit is one of good choice, aka don't mind getting 6.6% yield with little capital appreciation/depreciation issue.

Little worry on tenant issue, as already under long term lease, apart from tenants close shop (which is another story)
Little worry on financial market credit freeze (like 2008) that can affect the refinance cost and ability due to low gearing.

But, upwards potential is capped (so does for most reit), due to fixed lease rate while there is only 5% increment of lease rate for every 5 years.

panasonic88
post Mar 20 2012, 10:34 AM

37,028 posts

@Cherroy

I read from your post from other section, I assume you were once a landlard who collecting rentals from your (fussy) tenants, too.

Learnt that you prefer Reits, which is less hassle & prompt payment.

Just curious, are you still a landlord now? Penang properties are blooming as rapid as Damansara area isn't. hmm.gif
cherroy
post Mar 20 2012, 10:41 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Mar 20 2012, 10:34 AM)
@Cherroy

I read from your post from other section, I assume you were once a landlard who collecting rentals from your (fussy) tenants, too.

Learnt that you prefer Reits, which is less hassle & prompt payment.

Just curious, are you still a landlord now? Penang properties are blooming as rapid as Damansara area isn't. hmm.gif
No.
Me never a landlord before, but parent did (the experience come from their house).

Penang properties is blooming for the last 5 years or so already.
Landed house in the island prime area, most at least 750K and above.
Some previously landed house that was sold at 1.x million years back, people complained expensive, now selling 2.x million. shocking.gif
Middle/lower upper class condo around city, at least RM400-550 per sqft.
There are high end condo with size 3000-4000 sqft as well, so you do the math, how much those condo cost.

panasonic88
post Mar 20 2012, 10:47 AM

37,028 posts

Haha now ppl buy property is talking about "M" (million),

"your house how many M har?"

Sigh how are we youngster going to afford it without parents support. yawn.gif

Thanks for your info.
Desvaro
post Mar 20 2012, 11:21 AM

639 posts

Cheeroy, may I know how this website reached a figure of 8% yield on STARREIT?

http://mreit.reitdata.com/

panasonic88
post Mar 20 2012, 11:40 AM

37,028 posts

QUOTE(Desvaro @ Mar 20 2012, 11:21 AM)

My guess

Starreit twice distribution per year
4.0112 x 2 = 8.0224

Divide by current price
8.0224 / 0.930 = 8.626%

8.626% DPU has not include 10% tax yet.

This post has been edited by panasonic88: Mar 20 2012, 11:41 AM
Jordy
post Mar 20 2012, 12:29 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Mar 20 2012, 10:47 AM)
Haha now ppl buy property is talking about "M" (million),

"your house how many M har?"

Sigh how are we youngster going to afford it without parents support. yawn.gif

Thanks for your info.
Pana-jie,

Easy, just get a rich husband. Then you can have few houses already tongue.gif

OT: By the way, I noticed you are no longer a mod. Why la? More commitments now?
bryan5073
post Mar 20 2012, 01:00 PM

229 posts

QUOTE(Desvaro @ Mar 20 2012, 11:21 AM)

So the data in this website is not accurate?

124 Pages « < 59 60 61 62 63 > » Top

0.0256sec    0.25    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 03:59 AM