127 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Bottom

❤ LYN Proton INSPIRA: Owners/Fan Thread V8 ❤, , SMART GUYS GET IT! | Got yours yet?

SnoWFisH
post Jul 31 2011, 11:31 PM

2,250 posts

QUOTE(Poadster @ Jul 31 2011, 11:20 PM)
And pls show us the academic qualification of your colleague, or tell us he works in Clarion, AND that he actually owns an Inspira.... else he is yet another hear-say expert....

The volume issue is due to the single chip tuner solution, and these digital tuners will reduce volume when they detect static... Even Pioneer's Digital Tuner III (the one I am using in my old junk) does it... but not as drastic as Clarion, which i think had applied noise reduction way too much...

Also, XCInspire have gone to Clarion and changed THREE digital tuner chips... and in one chip, the volume dont drastically decrease, but the static is increased.... in the end, he reverted to the original chip as decreased volume is better than increased static...

So I rather believe an owner that HAVE changed chip and been serviced by Clarion, rather than your "qualified" friend...

The above is directed NOT to offend you Mr Munky... only to your learned friend... from Mr BLUNT himself...
It could be that their DSP filtering is not optimized, where the signal in the pass band got attenuated too much. If its a software issue, then its possible for Clarion to fix it in the future (if they are willing to do so). Otherwise someone will have to do some hacking. So far, I don't face this problem with my tuner yet...
nzh0920
post Jul 31 2011, 11:39 PM

83 posts

wa, long time no free surf web, now already v8 and page 10....

just now my family go kuala selangor by new highway, suddenly 1 new altis 1.8 150 like pass my dad, then my dad like on fire , accelerate till 190, thn all the way cruise at 160 , quite straight that new highway road like wave a bit. but save around 30 min from rawang to kuala selangor.

bro XC, so how your HU going? problem solved after so many change?
Poadster
post Jul 31 2011, 11:59 PM

inspiRED: Fast and Furious
647 posts

QUOTE(SnoWFisH @ Jul 31 2011, 11:31 PM)
It could be that their DSP filtering is not optimized, where the signal in the pass band got attenuated too much. If its a software issue, then its possible for Clarion to fix it in the future (if they are willing to do so). Otherwise someone will have to do some hacking. So far, I don't face this problem with my tuner yet...
They are willing, as XCInspire can be witness to.... its not the DSP issue, its mainly the tuner chip problem.... donno what setting they use... and i still think their noise reduction filter is too high, and this could have been set in the chip, thus the reason they tried diff tuner chips for XCInspire...

You will not have much of this volume issue if you drive in open spaces like arnd PG, you will encounter this in places with lots of high rise and in long highway drives, where there is plenty of signal loss due to deflection and blind spots...

Added on August 1, 2011, 12:02 am
QUOTE(PrinceCaspien @ Jul 31 2011, 05:54 PM)
does inspira have diming room light as standard like avanza?
Yes it does...

It dims on when you unlock, and brights when you open the door... and dims off when you drive start your car...

It also dims on when you remove your keys, brights when you open the door... and dims off when you lock the door...

This post has been edited by Poadster: Aug 1 2011, 12:02 AM
nzh0920
post Aug 1 2011, 12:07 AM

83 posts

i think this feature is normal, as my fren fiesta 1.4 radio also like this one will lower volume itself, but fiesta one worse, cause will lag some time, i also don know why, cause i hearing fm only not disc, but also will lag.
SnoWFisH
post Aug 1 2011, 12:15 AM

2,250 posts

In that case probably is the filter design in the tuner is non-ideal. Can't really comment unless we see the frequency response of the filter.

The tuner chip, we must use the same one manufactured by Clarion or there are alternatives? Anyway we can use back the dual-tuner chips?
munky
post Aug 1 2011, 12:44 AM

1,971 posts

Ok chillex.

My colleague is an engineer in the engineering design department handling the electronics stuff in the car including the radio.

and yes the chip is the cause of this.

R u satisfied?
Poadster
post Aug 1 2011, 12:48 AM

inspiRED: Fast and Furious
647 posts

QUOTE(SnoWFisH @ Aug 1 2011, 12:15 AM)
In that case probably is the filter design in the tuner is non-ideal. Can't really comment unless we see the frequency response of the filter.

The tuner chip, we must use the same one manufactured by Clarion or there are alternatives? Anyway we can use back the dual-tuner chips?
That i leave to you to find out... u seem way more qualified than me in this area.... me kaypoh king.... brows.gif brows.gif

Added on August 1, 2011, 12:57 am
QUOTE(munky @ Aug 1 2011, 12:44 AM)
Ok chillex.

My colleague is an engineer in the engineering design department handling the electronics stuff in the car including the radio.

and yes the chip is the cause of this.

R u satisfied?
Then he is qualified to say it...

But if he is in that field, obviously he knows that single chip tuners does have noise reduction when it detects noise, and for him to say that volume reduction when there is static = BS, almost equates him to telling us that what we are hearing every day and time when we drive our car is all in our head and its not true...

At least your qualified friend have admitted its the chip as the root cause... to which we, and even Clarion, have admitted as much... we have never said this is a Clarion "feature" but have always maintained its is a Clarion HU problem...

guys, about the volume reducing issue whenever there is noise, that one is BS la. My colleague told me its a problem with clarion's HU itself.
So what your qualified friend say in the chip causes the volume reduction..?? Or is he maintaining that the volume reduction is BS..??

This post has been edited by Poadster: Aug 1 2011, 12:57 AM
SnoWFisH
post Aug 1 2011, 01:26 AM

2,250 posts

QUOTE(Poadster @ Aug 1 2011, 12:48 AM)
That i leave to you to find out... u seem way more qualified than me in this area.... me kaypoh king....  brows.gif  brows.gif

Added on August 1, 2011, 12:57 am
Then he is qualified to say it...

But if he is in that field, obviously he knows that single chip tuners does have noise reduction when it detects noise, and for him to say that volume reduction when there is static = BS, almost equates him to telling us that what we are hearing every day and time when we drive our car is all in our head and its not true...

At least your qualified friend have admitted its the chip as the root cause... to which we, and even Clarion, have admitted as much... we have never said this is a Clarion "feature" but have always maintained its is a Clarion HU problem...
So what your qualified friend say in the chip causes the volume reduction..?? Or is he maintaining that the volume reduction is BS..??
IMHO, its more like the filter they used is not the appropriate filter. I think they used a normal band-pass filter with a pretty big attenuation factor. Would have been better if they could use a weighting filter instead (where the pass-band gets amplified). I'm not very sure what is the constraint on their side, but i am pretty sure they would have taken this into consideration as weighting filter is a very important type of filter in audio regardless analog or digital.

Haha i'm not going to open up my clarion unit to experiment. If anyone want to donate to me, I will more than happy to dissect it and depending on the DSP chip and IF I could get their code...I might be able to do something. No way I'm going to reverse engineer it, its even harder to do that compared to reversing x86 codes....

Clarion probably intended this noise reduction to be a feature, but it did not function as properly as it should and in the end....it become a half-baked feature in the end.

This post has been edited by SnoWFisH: Aug 1 2011, 01:26 AM
1makumbo
post Aug 1 2011, 01:41 AM

QUOTE(Rubz77 @ Jul 31 2011, 12:25 AM)
Anyone knows a good tyre alignment shop in PJ / KL area ?
There is this shop in Paramount, opposite Giant, beside a corner lot coffeeshop.

Proprietor is Mr. Sunny, I am very happy with their service thus far.
chyapp
post Aug 1 2011, 01:58 AM

QUOTE(nzh0920 @ Jul 31 2011, 11:39 PM)

just now my family go kuala selangor by new highway, suddenly 1 new altis 1.8 150 like pass my dad, then my dad like on fire , accelerate till 190, thn all the way cruise at 160 , quite straight that new highway road like wave a bit. but save around 30 min from rawang to kuala selangor.

why on fire?? tak suka altis pass through inspira? cannot like that one... family come 1st.. bring u all at risk...
pity you... sweat.gif
nzh0920
post Aug 1 2011, 07:14 AM

83 posts

haha, no la , my dad just try what this car capable of only, and my dad not some drive very slow uncle, few years ago , when we go thailand travel, 2.00am like that i saw he doing 195km/h on waja.

This post has been edited by nzh0920: Aug 1 2011, 07:15 AM
nzh0920
post Aug 1 2011, 07:48 AM

83 posts

btw, here the thing i recently add to my inspira. smile.gif
munky
post Aug 1 2011, 08:38 AM

1,971 posts

I dont know the details of that said chip actually

about the volume reducing thingy, maybe i used the wrong words lol. its not BS. I mean the radio should not have this issue in d first place so the volume wont reduce suddenly everytime there is noise
XCInspire
post Aug 1 2011, 08:59 AM

QUOTE(ejan_ @ Jul 30 2011, 09:07 PM)
did a mistake today.. try to do carbon sticker for trunk.. not  an easy job..

finally completed after 3 hours.. not really nice result.. arghh... anybody know where to do CF spray?
Picture pls...

Pip_X
post Aug 1 2011, 09:05 AM

Got miao miao jor.
2,465 posts

QUOTE(nzh0920 @ Aug 1 2011, 07:48 AM)
btw, here the thing i recently add to my inspira.  smile.gif
Nice stuff dude!!!
XCInspire
post Aug 1 2011, 09:07 AM

QUOTE(nzh0920 @ Jul 31 2011, 11:39 PM)

Wah, you dad can join daredevil club di.. haha...

HU problem no solution yet. I revert back to the first/ori version as the other "fixed" units do not offer proper fixes (in the end the noise level is more unbearable than the fading volume) due to the board design and single chip tech. Proton and MMC (yes MMC cause they have to certify what is put into their CAN-BUS circuitary) "ok-ed" this design, so they cannot change the board design as it involves cost and unless more ppl complain to Clarion or Proton, they cannot justify the need pay to change the design. However I have pushed Clarion to try to proceed to 'jaga' their reputation... lets see if any updates but this will be months... sad.gif What I do like is Clarion did listen and reacted to customer's complains.

On why they use this single chip design is due to cost and its more accurate, most brands have moved to this tech. Maybe Munky's fren can shed more info to this.

To those having this problem, pls go to Clarion Msia website, click on Contact, email to their customer service to file a complain for this issue. Only then they can get the statistics of how many really have this problem. You can complain to Proton too (to get them to write in their buku 555) but the complain usually does not get escalated.

Added on August 1, 2011, 9:10 am
QUOTE(nzh0920 @ Aug 1 2011, 07:48 AM)
btw, here the thing i recently add to my inspira.  smile.gif
Where you did this? How much? Got light? Its nice but looks a little small for our large doors.

This post has been edited by XCInspire: Aug 1 2011, 09:47 AM
nzh0920
post Aug 1 2011, 09:52 AM

83 posts

@pip_x, thank you

@XCInspire, i get it at Brothers kelana jaya, rm78 ( stick it yourself price), if you ask him to stick need add labour charge.
indeed it small a bit but you stick it to most outside(like me) still can prevent scratch directly to our paint.
its a non led version, i dont like led version.
SnoWFisH
post Aug 1 2011, 10:00 AM

2,250 posts

I have yet to face this problem, maybe one day I need to make a trip to KL to see if i face this HU problem.

Bad news for ppl's who's waiting for the Merdeka promo. I asked my SA's big boss, he told me that the promo is not as good as July's one. RM3500 discount + 2years free service + 3 years warranty.
Rubz77
post Aug 1 2011, 10:07 AM

19 posts

QUOTE(1makumbo @ Aug 1 2011, 01:41 AM)
There is this shop in Paramount, opposite Giant, beside a corner lot coffeeshop.

Proprietor is Mr. Sunny, I am very happy with their service thus far.
Is this the corner coffeeshop opposite the post office ? They serve good claypot chicken rice...cooked over charcoal fire thumbup.gif

Anyways, will check out the alignment place. Thanks.
XCInspire
post Aug 1 2011, 10:09 AM

QUOTE(SnoWFisH @ Aug 1 2011, 10:00 AM)
I have yet to face this problem, maybe one day I need to make a trip to KL to see if i face this HU problem.

Bad news for ppl's who's waiting for the Merdeka promo. I asked my SA's big boss, he told me that the promo is not as good as July's one. RM3500 discount + 2years free service + 3 years warranty.
You will only have issues when radio reception is not good. The Bukit Bendera very high, perhaps the radio towers boardcast very strong signals.. haha... In KL, too many tall buildings and electrical interference... I also have no fading issues when I travel on the highways... In one recent trip to Sekinchan, no issues encountered, happy until reached Bdr Sri D'sara... then fading came back sad.gif

Added on August 1, 2011, 10:10 am
QUOTE(Rubz77 @ Aug 1 2011, 10:07 AM)
Is this the corner coffeeshop opposite the post office ? They serve good claypot chicken rice...cooked over charcoal fire  thumbup.gif

Anyways, will check out the alignment place. Thanks.
You will not eat there if I tell you what I saw in one isolated (or not) case...

This post has been edited by XCInspire: Aug 1 2011, 10:10 AM

127 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top

0.0216sec    0.42    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 12:27 PM