125 Pages « < 41 42 43 44 45 > » Bottom

SAMSUNG GALAXY S II Official thread V10, Be a SMART user - Pls read Page 1 first

post Aug 1 2011, 10:14 PM

4,228 posts

Hi All, I plan to get this phone (ori n new). What's the best deal? I seldom use for calling but mostly sms or downloading software. Which is the better data plan? Please advise/comment.

LuffyPSP
post Aug 1 2011, 10:18 PM

Droid, droid droid droid!
3,771 posts

i wish i can update my fb status with "via Facebook for Samsung Galaxy S2"
or something like that. haha~~
aeronic
post Aug 1 2011, 10:20 PM

karma is a funny thing
846 posts

QUOTE(LuffyPSP @ Aug 1 2011, 10:18 PM)
i wish i can update my fb status with "via Facebook for Samsung Galaxy S2"
or something like that. haha~~
those are for posers with inferior phones like iphones
real powerful deviced don't need that
people can tell by your multitasking abilities.
that's brand recogniton LOL LOL

Added on August 1, 2011, 10:22 pm
QUOTE(1282009 @ Aug 1 2011, 10:14 PM)
Hi All, I plan to get this phone (ori n new). What's the best deal? I seldom use for calling but mostly sms or downloading software. Which is the better data plan? Please advise/comment.
if you want a good data plan, like even when you are in the building toilet you can easily get coverage get maxis.
if you only need data in two houses, get streamyx on both the houses instead of going for digi
pun intended

This post has been edited by aeronic: Aug 1 2011, 10:22 PM
kokokranc
post Aug 1 2011, 10:40 PM

223 posts

got my phone not through maxis. after thorough research about one week i decided not worth rm200-400 saving in phone price for maxis contract because i need to pay monthly at least rm98 per month. better i get digi 300mb since i only use edge connection for corporate mail.

unless u haven't got any data plan currently and this is your first smartphone, don't buy through maxis =)

This post has been edited by kokokranc: Aug 1 2011, 10:42 PM
LuffyPSP
post Aug 1 2011, 10:44 PM

Droid, droid droid droid!
3,771 posts

QUOTE(aeronic @ Aug 1 2011, 10:20 PM)
those are for posers with inferior phones like iphones
real powerful deviced don't need that
people can tell by your multitasking abilities.
that's brand recogniton LOL LOL

Added on August 1, 2011, 10:22 pm
if you want a good data plan, like even when you are in the building toilet you can easily get coverage get maxis.
if you only need data in two houses, get streamyx on both the houses instead of going for digi
pun intended
i dont care i want it!!
matt_att
post Aug 1 2011, 10:52 PM

26 posts

latest info, celcom is confirmed to launch S2 next week.... without early bird promotion T_T
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Had been waiting and waiting and waiting for few weeks, hopefully your information is reliable ..... thks

This post has been edited by matt_att: Aug 1 2011, 10:55 PM
daydreaming
post Aug 1 2011, 10:53 PM

555 posts

just found out my S2 got a defect. it's the round suction mark on grey color background (notification and sms, etc). other background colors wont show, only grey.

rooted my phone. now hv to figure out how to unroot it.

anyone claim warranty before? do i need to reset the flash counter? i think i will need a jig for that :T
waveweaver
post Aug 1 2011, 10:55 PM

★★Android & Apple★★
13,192 posts

If staying in KL or JB., much better use Umobile prepaid like me. Only RM28 per month for 500mb + 100 mins call + 30 sms

Easy with no headache or worried about hidden charges ~~ lol ~~
tenchi0205
post Aug 1 2011, 10:56 PM

Tech Noob
2,881 posts

CF-Root v4.1 KG6 is out
Eiraku
post Aug 1 2011, 10:59 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

Real powerful device, lol.

Sometimes I think that the SGS2 is actually overpowered. Even underclocked to 800-200 and undervolted, it's never slow, never laggy and generally quick. There's never a problem with RAM either.

Sure, the battery generally sucks IN USE (not asleep ya), but really, a couple of spare battery solves THAT problem. I have the battery case and unless I really REALLY use it (like full on constant 3G browsing), my spare battery never even gets used.

And, truth be known, while whites on our SAMOLED+ screens can be jaundiced (a tad yellow) from time to time, the blacks just make every other device out there s,eem, well, grey. And this is prolly the main reason why I just can't put down the SGS2. Try using it in the dark with a black theme and everything just melts into the screen edges.

AND never before in my 10++ odd years of gadget use has that happened. This alone is worth the admission price IMHO.

BUT, back to my main point, yeah the SGS2 has yet to encounter something that can choke its innards, and sometimes it feels like you're driving your kids to school in a Lamborghini - so much untapped power wasted just like that.

Hopefully ice cream sandwich makes better use of this awesome power.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Aug 1 2011, 11:06 PM
waveweaver
post Aug 1 2011, 11:02 PM

★★Android & Apple★★
13,192 posts

QUOTE(daydreaming @ Aug 1 2011, 10:53 PM)
just found out my S2 got a defect. it's the round suction mark on grey color background (notification and sms, etc). other background colors wont show, only grey.

rooted my phone. now hv to figure out how to unroot it.

anyone claim warranty before? do i need to reset the flash counter? i think i will need a jig for that :T
Just flash back original stock firmware then put your jig in to reset flash counter before send back for exchange new set.

Just make sure you check the new set first before you bring it home. (hint : *#0*#)
silrave
post Aug 1 2011, 11:04 PM

5,893 posts

haiz since like
everytime i ask question
is no ppl answer my question
waveweaver
post Aug 1 2011, 11:06 PM

★★Android & Apple★★
13,192 posts

QUOTE(silrave @ Aug 1 2011, 11:04 PM)
haiz since like
everytime i ask question
And what question is that.?

Assclown
post Aug 1 2011, 11:11 PM

649 posts

For those who are using Celcom in Klang valley, how is the reception compared to Maxis? taking into account the 3G reception as well.

Considering to switch over because monthly bills on Maxis getting too high, and this is only for 500MB.

This post has been edited by Assclown: Aug 1 2011, 11:13 PM
afad
post Aug 1 2011, 11:12 PM

308 posts

QUOTE(silrave @ Aug 1 2011, 11:04 PM)
haiz since like
everytime i ask question
u on villain rom rite?
why dont u try flash other roms and see if whether the problem persist or not..
daydreaming
post Aug 1 2011, 11:13 PM

555 posts

QUOTE(waveweaver @ Aug 1 2011, 11:02 PM)
Just flash back original stock firmware then put your jig in to reset flash counter before send back for exchange new set.

Just make sure you check the new set first before you bring it home. (hint : *#0*#)
yea thanks man. but i might wait for a while coz the grey round thing is not really that serious defect. i can live with it. i called samsung, they told me to send in via maxis or go berjaya there. but my fren went to samsung in jalan 222 area and got it replaced within 2 hours. =_="

i don hv a jig actually. so might need to buy it
waveweaver
post Aug 1 2011, 11:21 PM

★★Android & Apple★★
13,192 posts

QUOTE(daydreaming @ Aug 1 2011, 11:13 PM)
yea thanks man. but i might wait for a while coz the grey round thing is not really that serious defect. i can live with it. i called samsung, they told me to send in via maxis or go berjaya there. but my fren went to samsung in jalan 222 area and got it replaced within 2 hours. =_="

i don hv a jig actually. so might need to buy it
For me a defect IS a defect. A RM2K flagship phone should be in mint condition free from any defect when it came out from the box.

Anyway the choice is yours. Good luck :-)
joeyap
post Aug 1 2011, 11:23 PM

Mine in Lite'ning 4.2. Works like a charm. Super Charm. Love it.

The launchPro is so beautiful and full of features. Thanks to the developer of Lite'ning.

When 4.3 is out, i will upgrade and stick with Lite'ning.
silrave
post Aug 1 2011, 11:30 PM

5,893 posts

i face the problem on vr rom 2.3
kg3 modem and kernel also kg3
but cant detect connect wifi
keep on say obtain ip
and another thing is i open data everytime
drain battery fast > <
got any way set the fb sync by 30 minute?
daydreaming
post Aug 1 2011, 11:36 PM

555 posts

QUOTE(waveweaver @ Aug 1 2011, 11:21 PM)
For me a defect IS a defect. A RM2K flagship phone should be in mint condition free from any defect when it came out from the box.

Anyway the choice is yours. Good luck :-)
agreed. smile.gif Samsung should've done better with their QC. it's such a great phone, only to be ruined by defects here n there. :|

125 Pages « < 41 42 43 44 45 > » Top

0.0290sec    0.40    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 05:24 PM