124 Pages « < 82 83 84 85 86 > » Bottom

Recommendation for Credit Cards V1, TQ to contributors ! (From MOD)

MYstombox
post Aug 6 2012, 03:06 PM

Wired!
2,240 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Aug 6 2012, 02:54 PM)
For Dining only - MACH by Hong Leong Bank offers 5% cash back. Sign up for the Trendsetter Package when you apply for the card.

For Insurance, better use your MBB 2 Visa or MC where it earns you 1X TP compared to MACH miserable 0.2% cash back.
I'm reading the product disclosure sheet of the MACH, the annual fee is 100+ per card.
And no mention on fee waiver.

I also read your website and it states that only 3 MCC codes for dining have the 5% cashback.
TSGen-X
post Aug 6 2012, 03:09 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(MYstombox @ Aug 6 2012, 03:06 PM)
I'm reading the product disclosure sheet of the MACH, the annual fee is 100+ per card.
And no mention on fee waiver.

I also read your website and it states that only 3 MCC codes for dining have the 5% cashback.
Go read MACH Thread, if you are new to HLB credit cards, you ar entitle to 1st year annual fee waiver and for subsequent years with 12 swipes. jonjack88 even posted a photo of this condition there.

As for MCC code, ask lah before you pay the bill tongue.gif If MCC coded not in the list, use your MBB 2 AMEX or MBB 2 Visa/Mc in the event the AMEX not welcome.
impreza
post Aug 7 2012, 01:16 AM

1. Annual Income: RM30K to RM60K

2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: Must

3. Card required for: Petrol, Overseas Transactions, Free LCCT Lounge Access

4. Existing credit cards if any: Nil.

5. Looking at CC from: Any CC with promotion or freebie

6. Others: Nil.
TSGen-X
post Aug 7 2012, 01:21 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(impreza @ Aug 7 2012, 01:16 AM)
1. Annual Income: RM30K to RM60K

2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: Must

3. Card required for: Petrol, Overseas Transactions, Free LCCT Lounge Access

4. Existing credit cards if any: Nil.

5. Looking at CC from: Any CC with promotion or freebie

6. Others: Nil.
Since you are not willing to give breakdown of your expenses so that we can try to recommend a suitable card(s), click on links below to the appropriate thread:

For Petrol credit cards click here.

For Airport Lounge click here.

For Overseas Transaction click here.
blanket84
post Aug 8 2012, 01:11 PM

1,520 posts

1. Annual Income: RM36K to RM48K

2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: A Must

3. Card required for: Petrol, Education, Cash Back/Rebate Only, Installment Plans, Groceries

4. Existing credit cards if any: HSBC Amanah Plat, CIMB petronas gold

5. Preferred Bank or Considering CC from banks: no preferance

6. Others: Combined with best BT offer, looking to make BT for one of the CC approx RM4k with installment in mind approx 200-250/month. And also acceptable customer service..not slow and bad one like Bank Islam or HLB..

7. Fixed expenses per month with the card: RM500 petrol, RM600 groceries, RM150 telco.

8. Non-fixed expenses but recurring in RM: none

TSGen-X
post Aug 8 2012, 03:21 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(blanket84 @ Aug 8 2012, 01:11 PM)
1. Annual Income: RM36K to RM48K

3. Card required for: Petrol, Education, Cash Back/Rebate Only, Installment Plans, Groceries

4. Existing credit cards if any: HSBC Amanah Plat, CIMB petronas gold

5. Preferred Bank or Considering CC from banks: no preferance

6. Others: Combined with best BT offer, looking to make BT for one of the CC approx RM4k with installment in mind approx 200-250/month. And also acceptable customer service..not slow and bad one like Bank Islam or HLB..

7. Fixed expenses per month with the card: RM500 petrol, RM600 groceries, RM150 telco.

8. Non-fixed expenses but recurring in RM: none
For Cash Back Only for Petrol, Groceries and Telco = total RM1250

For your case, recommend you get both Maybankard 2 Cards and OCBC Titanium MasterCard.

Charge your Telco bill and Petrol (I am assuming you using Petronas) into OCBC TMC where you are guaranteed 5% cash back or RM32.50/month. However, the OCBC has a maximum cash back of RM50/month and therefore you still have remaining RM350 for Groceries or Dining to earn the maximum 5% cash back smile.gif For general transactions the OCBC earns you 1% cash back. OCBC Annual Fee waived with 12 swipes a year and if you spend RM10K they will credit you RM50 on your anniversary.

With the Maybankard 2 Cards American Express, you earn unlimited 5X Treats Points (equivalent to approximately 2.5% cash back in terms of cash vouchers) PLUS additional 5% cash back on Saturdays and Sundays. The cash back is also capped at RM50/month. So you will need to plan your spending. i.e. do groceries on Saturday and Sunday to earn up to 7.5% in returns. Maybank has many participating merchants offering 0% Installment Plans. And Until October 2012, you can earn 5X Treat Points with Maybankard Installment Plans. Click here to my article on 5X TP for 0% Ezy Pay and in this article there is a link to participating merchants offering 0% plans. Maybankard 2 Cards are Free For Life. With 5X TP earned with the MBB2 AMEX, by spending RM2K you will earn 10,000 Treats Points to offset GST thumbup.gif

I have many articles on Maybank Treats Points advantages over other credit cards, click here to read one of them.

For Education, you did not state the amount. And since most schools only accept Visa or Master, I guess charging it to your HSBC Amanah to earn 0.5% is not too bad. Or if you cancel your HSBC, then charge it to the MBB 2 Visa/MC and earn approximately 0.5% cash back in terms of voucher.

As for Balance Transfer, please check out Balance Transfer Thread or my article on Balance Transfer. Currently RHB offering 0% 6 months BT until end of the year and so does AEON credit cards.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Aug 8 2012, 04:16 PM
wantl
post Aug 12 2012, 02:03 AM

I'm not on any credit card yet.
Income is at 1.7k{bank in} (not included allowance,allowance at rm600)
problem is that my allowance were not included in my pay slip ,its paid by cash

1. Annual Income: RM20400.00(rm27600 included allowance)
3. Card required for: petrol,online purchasing/banking,dining
4. Existing credit cards if any: Nil (does debit cards count? pbb debit)
5. Preferred Bank or Considering CC from banks:public bank,maybank,hsbc,hong leong
6. Estimated Spending per month with the card: Less than RM1K

fruitie
post Aug 12 2012, 02:43 AM

Rise and Shine
72,824 posts

QUOTE(wantl @ Aug 12 2012, 02:03 AM)

5. Preferred Bank or Considering CC from banks:public bank,maybank,hsbc,hong leong
These days BNM has set the minimum income to apply for a credit card is RM 2k per month.
Is there any way to prove you get the additional RM 600 allowance every month? If not, your payslip might not be able to convince the bank.
TSGen-X
post Aug 12 2012, 08:22 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(wantl @ Aug 12 2012, 02:03 AM)

Please follow first post format i.e. breakdown your expenses. You stated your expenses less than RM1K, which can also mean RM100. RM100/month makes no sense to go for a credit card.

As for your allowance, do you have a copy of the cash voucher payment? Maybe some banks can accept that (I don't know, just speculating).

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Aug 12 2012, 11:36 AM
CuteDay
post Aug 12 2012, 01:49 PM

503 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Aug 12 2012, 02:43 AM)
These days BNM has set the minimum income to apply for a credit card is RM 2k per month.
Is there any way to prove you get the additional RM 600 allowance every month? If not, your payslip might not be able to convince the bank.
Yes, but

1) the RM600 allowance is it fixed or variable?
2) If it's fixed but not stated in payslip, you can provide 6 months bank statements, and the card application is subject to approval though

This post has been edited by CuteDay: Aug 12 2012, 02:11 PM
wantl
post Aug 12 2012, 11:10 PM

sorry ~

6. Estimated Spending per month with the card: rm800-rm1000

i asked my company hr,they can print my allowance into my payslip
yes my allowance is fixed , but this allowance doesnt bank in,its paid by cash..
its a must for the bank statement?
or just a 3month payslip ,a deposited FD and a copy of bank saving account ?

PrinceHamsap
post Aug 13 2012, 12:36 AM

Legendary
1,637 posts

1. Annual Income: 100k above

3. Card required for: Once in a while very rare to use to shop in oversea & online hotel booking, purchase air tickets ... but most important which i hope can get cash rebates + lower interest installment plan

4. Existing credit cards if any: CIMB Mastercard Gold, Citibank Visa Platinum
5. Preferred Bank or Considering CC from banks: Nil
6. Others: Please be specific. Example: Rewards points will be good but not important
7. Fixed expenses per month with the card: Nil
8. Non-fixed expenses but recurring in RM: Once in a while ... maybe less then 5 times in a year i will swipe from 10k to 30k to purchase things

I wanna get rid of that Citibank visa ... fully paid off ... charge me annually 600 when the usage is like less then 10times annually ... gotta call to wave it off ...
TSGen-X
post Aug 13 2012, 12:49 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(PrinceHamsap @ Aug 13 2012, 12:36 AM)
1. Annual Income: 100k above

3. Card required for: Once in a while very rare to use to shop in oversea & online hotel booking, purchase air tickets ... but most important which i hope can get cash rebates + lower interest installment plan

4. Existing credit cards if any: CIMB Mastercard Gold, Citibank Visa Platinum
5. Preferred Bank or Considering CC from banks: Nil
6. Others: Please be specific. Example: Rewards points will be good but not important
7. Fixed expenses per month with the card: Nil
8. Non-fixed expenses but recurring in RM: Once in a while ... maybe less then 5 times in a year i will swipe from 10k to 30k to purchase things

I wanna get rid of that Citibank visa ... fully paid off ... charge me annually 600 when the usage is like less then 10times annually ... gotta call to wave it off ...
Since you are not willing to state your exact income as required in Format listed in Post#1, I will assume you have no problems meeting the income requirement for any cards.

Maybank Visa Infinite:

Since you swipe 5 times minimum RM10K, annual fee automatically waived.

Overseas transactions - you earn 5X TP which earns you about 2.5% returns and after deducting overseas admin fee, still earn 1.25%

Online Hotel Booking - 6% Discount with Agoda thru MBB website and you earn 5X TP too. Click here for MBB Promotions

Lower Installment Plan - Maybank credit cards are accepted at many merchants offering 0% Ezy Pay.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Aug 13 2012, 12:55 AM
PrinceHamsap
post Aug 13 2012, 12:57 AM

Legendary
1,637 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Aug 13 2012, 12:49 AM)
Maybank Visa Infinite:

Since you swipe 5 times minimum RM10K, annual fee automatically waived.

Thank you for the reply
how mcuh the annual fee charges will be?
What is the min requirement to get it waived off?

TSGen-X
post Aug 13 2012, 12:58 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(PrinceHamsap @ Aug 13 2012, 12:57 AM)
Thank you for the reply
how mcuh the annual fee charges will be?
What is the min requirement to get it waived off?
Annual fee RM800 and waived with RM50K spending.
PrinceHamsap
post Aug 13 2012, 01:02 AM

Legendary
1,637 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Aug 13 2012, 12:58 AM)
Annual fee RM800 and waived with RM50K spending.
I cant guanteree that I would have spend until 50k annually on that single card only
as my daily expenses are on my CIMB card

what is the other option that would be available?

TQ
TSGen-X
post Aug 13 2012, 01:22 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(PrinceHamsap @ Aug 13 2012, 01:02 AM)
I cant guanteree that I would have spend until 50k annually on that single card only
as my daily expenses are on my CIMB card

what is the other option that would be available?

TQ
Bro, I was under the impression that you swipe RM10K-30K/swipe under recurring expenses.

Switch all your daily expenses to MBB VI nod.gif The card earns you 2X TP for local transactions which is way better than any CIMB Credit Card.

If you had stated local shopping instead of overseas shopping, I would then recommend Maybankard 2 Cards where the AMEX earns you 5X TP for any transaction PLUS 5% cash back (capped at RM50/month) for Saturdays and Sundays.

You will be issued a AMEX credit card with either a Visa or MasterCard.

Since you swipe minimum RM10K (as you mentioned earlier) for overseas, use the Visa or MC as the overseas Admin rate is lower than 1% compared to AMEX 2.5% PLUS 0.5%.

Use theMBB 2 Visa or MC to book with agoda thru MBB site and you are also entitled to 6% discount.

Once again, installment plan, can use the MBB 2 Visa or MC.
PrinceHamsap
post Aug 13 2012, 07:07 AM

Legendary
1,637 posts

the swiping will be done in Msia ... not oversea
ok, thank you very much for your info ... i will go for this
ericwen
post Aug 13 2012, 11:43 AM

357 posts

Hi everyone,

I need to apply few credit cards. Now I have rhb and maybank platinum. But I need more credit cards (with annual fees waived).

HSBC signature looks good, but every year need to pay RM600 sad.gif

Any recommendations?
TSGen-X
post Aug 13 2012, 12:00 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(ericwen @ Aug 13 2012, 11:43 AM)
Hi everyone,

I need to apply few credit cards. Now I have rhb and maybank platinum. But I need more credit cards (with annual fees waived).

HSBC signature looks good, but every year need to pay RM600 sad.gif

Any recommendations?
HSBC credit cards annual fees are waived with 12 swipes per year.

Goto post#1 and there are links to my articles on Entry Level, Platinum and Premier Credit Cards.

124 Pages « < 82 83 84 85 86 > » Top

0.0321sec    0.29    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 07:19 PM