125 Pages « < 48 49 50 51 52 > » Bottom

Monash University Thread V3, Malaysia & Aus Campus, QS Ranking: Top 69, THES: Top 91 ^^ Up!

HawkreiN
post Mar 23 2012, 03:29 PM

344 posts

Look at the content of the courses rather than the names of the courses. As you can see, the names of the courses can vary greatly between different campuses. The units are often quite similar and are prohibitions to the similar units from the different courses.

In Monash Sunway at least, you are able to take your preferred double major of Accounting and Finance through either Bachelor of Commerce (Accounting) or Bachelor of Business and Commerce. These are just 2 of the many majors available for you to choose. BCom (Accounting) is marketed as an elite course in Sunway, meaning higher entry requirements, harder course units, higher fees and possible more prestige. The (Accounting) in the degree title means that accounting is a compulsory major for that offered degree.

As for the honors degree, this is due to the Australian degree system. Standard 3-year degree programs only give you a general pass without honors. For employers to gauge your performance in the degree, they look at your CGPA and your weighted average mark (WAM). To get an honors degree, one has to do an additional honors year after the completion of the 3-year course.

If it means anything, BBusCom students have successfully transferred to BBus in Caulfield, BCom in Clayton and BCom in the University of Melbourne among many others. Would this be possible if the degrees were so different?

Hope it helps!
malleus
post Mar 24 2012, 12:53 AM

2,096 posts

QUOTE(CLian @ Mar 23 2012, 01:53 PM)
Good-day.

In fact, I have some enquiries regarding the business courses offered by Monash University.

Firstly, I have been confused between a few courses. For example, Bachelor of Accounting and Bachelor of Business(Accounting). In my opinion, both are accounting, but what actually differs them?

In fact, I am looking forward to enrolling for Accounting and Finance. However, it is only available in Clayton campus. I would like to do Accounting and Finance at Monash Sunway Campus.

Also, what are the differences between Bachelor of Commerce and Bachelor of Business? Shouldn't commerce has the same meaning as business?

Another problem is the phrase of "honours degree". What does it mean and differ from the rest of business courses?

Furthermore, I saw some courses having the word - science, for example, Bachelor of Business Science and Bachelor of Business Science (Accounting). I am confused what the relation is between science and business.

I apologize that I do not have much knowledge about business courses. I wish that you can clarify me here and guide me how to choose a suitable course.

Regards,
CLian
Some courses may have very similar sounding subjects with each other, with the subjects being classed as prohibitions (meaning, you can only take one, but not both) as the contents are similar. However the level of difficulty can be rather different, depending on the course that the subject is offered as part of.

I'll give you an example of this from the IT Faculty (as I'm more familiar with that. but same principal still applies to all faculties). One example being the CSE**** (Computer Science) and the BUS**** (Business & IT) subjects (or at least that's what the subject codes used to be). Both the Computer Science course and the Business & IT courses have some similar sounding subjects, such as 'Operating Systems'. However a student who's enrolled in Business & IT will very likely die when if he/she is to take the Computer Science version of the subject (which is also why Business & IT students are usually not allowed to take any Computer Science subjects of the second year and above as their electives)

Bachelor of Commerce, from what I remember is offered at the Clayton campus, and has got the highest entry requirement of all the business courses. And you'll need to not only look at the subjects offered within each course to determine the difference, but you'll also need to ask about the depth of the subjects themselves too. See above as well on my explanation between Computer Science and Business & IT, the same thing applies here too.

In the Australian system, a 3 year course does not come with automatic honors. Its only achievable via a 4th honors year, which is by invitation only. Meaning, don't bother to apply for the 4th honors year. If you're not invited into it, it means you're not qualified. Qualification is based on your results for your 2nd and 3rd years. The honors year concludes with a publication of a research thesis, of which scoring a 1st class honors may qualify you for a PhD program without needing to first do your masters (also assuming that you can find a PhD supervisor willing to take you on)

Business and Science can be related. Some aspects of business (especially the more mathematical aspects of it) can be considered a science as well.

But its been a while since I've looked at the current course offerings that Monash has got, so what I can tell you is this. Go over to Monash and talk to a course counsellor, and ask them about the differences between the courses. They're in the best position to advise you on this.
malleus
post Mar 24 2012, 12:55 AM

2,096 posts

QUOTE(evofantasy @ Mar 23 2012, 03:19 PM)
yeah or else u can actually jz go to the course management office and voice ur concerns...
dun forget, u are paying ur fees so u have the rights for that...
and make sure you have a good and valid reason if you wish to do this.
secondrate
post Mar 26 2012, 04:39 PM

Wolf
1,483 posts

Hey guys, just went for the talk today on International Exchange. I forgot Intercampus exchange is different sweat.gif

Anyway is it possible to do credit transfer for B. Comp Science in the 3rd year? All electives save for the final CS project. I'm planning to go for exchange then stay here another 6 months and continue in Clayton. No $$ to straight go there next year sad.gif
malleus
post Mar 26 2012, 04:47 PM

2,096 posts

QUOTE(secondrate @ Mar 26 2012, 04:39 PM)
Hey guys, just went for the talk today on International Exchange. I forgot Intercampus exchange is different sweat.gif

Anyway is it possible to do credit transfer for B. Comp Science in the 3rd year? All electives save for the final CS project. I'm planning to go for exchange then stay here another 6 months and continue in Clayton. No $$ to straight go there next year sad.gif
Comp Sci is probably one of the easiest to transfer between Malaysia and Clayton. You don't need to worry about the credit transfer at all as the course is exactly the same. Unless you had taken some funny subjects from other faculties for your free electives. But not much of this to worry about lately as the entire IT faculty is supposed to be more or less more streamlined between the different campuses now.
secondrate
post Mar 26 2012, 04:52 PM

Wolf
1,483 posts

QUOTE(malleus @ Mar 26 2012, 04:47 PM)
Comp Sci is probably one of the easiest to transfer between Malaysia and Clayton. You don't need to worry about the credit transfer at all as the course is exactly the same. Unless you had taken some funny subjects from other faculties for your free electives. But not much of this to worry about lately as the entire IT faculty is supposed to be more or less more streamlined between the different campuses now.
I always read that it is 'difficult' to do transfer in the 3rd year. Why is that? I think it should be fine for me because it is 95% electives. I am taking microeconomics this semester as my elective because my IT elective clashed with my core subject and I was advised to take business or arts subjects. I am looking forward to taking IT electives in Clayton that aren't offered in Sunway. Seeing how huge the campus is, I'd rather not walk between the faculties for classes.

I wonder how they choose students for intercampus exchange. Merit based as well?
malleus
post Mar 26 2012, 05:11 PM

2,096 posts

QUOTE(secondrate @ Mar 26 2012, 04:52 PM)
I always read that it is 'difficult' to do transfer in the 3rd year. Why is that? I think it should be fine for me because it is 95% electives. I am taking microeconomics this semester as my elective because my IT elective clashed with my core subject and I was advised to take business or arts subjects. I am looking forward to taking IT electives in Clayton that aren't offered in Sunway. Seeing how huge the campus is, I'd rather not walk between the faculties for classes.

I wonder how they choose students for intercampus exchange. Merit based as well?
they don't choose. you apply for it. But of course you'll need to maintain a certain credit average (check with the course manager for further information on this)
secondrate
post Mar 26 2012, 05:19 PM

Wolf
1,483 posts

QUOTE(malleus @ Mar 26 2012, 05:11 PM)
they don't choose. you apply for it. But of course you'll need to maintain a certain credit average (check with the course manager for further information on this)
Selwyn said they choose based on merit, especially for the US and UK applicants. I meant after I apply la. Don't think everyone who applies will get to go right? Luckily still have until October to apply for Clayton. International exchange for sem 1 2013 have to apply this sem liao shakehead.gif
malleus
post Mar 26 2012, 05:29 PM

2,096 posts

QUOTE(secondrate @ Mar 26 2012, 05:19 PM)
Selwyn said they choose based on merit, especially for the US and UK applicants. I meant after I apply la. Don't think everyone who applies will get to go right? Luckily still have until October to apply for Clayton. International exchange for sem 1 2013 have to apply this sem liao  shakehead.gif
well, only way to know is to put in your application anyways. And its a definite that you'll need to maintain your grades anyways.
SUSscorpion85
post Mar 28 2012, 07:57 PM

38 posts

any master in business administration courses offered in monash? planned to further after my degree in ba at utar....
satsugai
post Mar 28 2012, 08:31 PM

303 posts

FREE PRETZELS TMRW 8D

2-5 near audi 2. limited so be fast biggrin.gif
Jamess
post Mar 29 2012, 12:43 AM

109 posts

I'm interested to do a credit transfer from TAR College to Monash Sunway Campus. I'm aware that credit transfer cases are evaluated case by case. I just wanna know if anyone has done something similar. I want to transfer to second year straight away.

I would also like to how much does it cost to study there? The brochure wrote RM31k per year (for Economics degree). Is that inclusive of the resources fee?

Thank you.
princess_autumn87
post Mar 29 2012, 11:39 AM

Glamorous diva-Ghetto arse
597 posts

BizFaculty juniors, i would like to let go these books. all first hand and well-taken care off!

AFW 1310 Introduction to Islamic Banking and Finance - RM48
Haron, S., Shanmugam, B., Alam, N. (2007), Islamic Financial System, Petaling Jaya: Insight Network

ECW3143 Economics of Money and Banking - RM60
Julie Dahlquist, Study Guide for Money, the Financial System, and the Economy by R. Glenn Hubbard, 6th edition.

MGW3121 International business strategy - RM68
Lasserre, P., (2007) Global Strategic Management, 2nd Ed, Palgrave MacMillan: Hampshire UK

MGW2700 Project management for small to medium enterprises - RM45
Gray, C.F & Larson, E.W. (2008). Project Management: The Managerial Process (4e). New York: McGraw-Hill/Irwin.

MGW3401 Strategic Management - RM55
Hill, C.W.L. & Jones, G.R. (2010), Strategic Management: An Integrated Approach, 9th edition South-Western Cengage Learning, Mason, USA

MKW3444 International Marketing - RM45
Czinkota, M. R., & Ronkainen, I. A. (2010) Principles of International Marketing, 9th Edition. South-Western, Cengage Learning, ISBN 10: 1-4390-4137-7

PS: i dont really rem how much i bought, pls correct me if the price is wrong. thanks
CLian
post Mar 29 2012, 03:47 PM

743 posts

QUOTE(Jamess @ Mar 29 2012, 12:43 AM)
I'm interested to do a credit transfer from TAR College to Monash Sunway Campus. I'm aware that credit transfer cases are evaluated case by case. I just wanna know if anyone has done something similar. I want to transfer to second year straight away.

I would also like to how much does it cost to study there? The brochure wrote RM31k per year (for Economics degree). Is that inclusive of the resources fee?

Thank you.
RM31000 is only the tuition fees. You also have to pay some general fees,such as application fee,registration fee,general amenities fee,hospitalization and surgical insurance.
Jamess
post Mar 29 2012, 05:43 PM

109 posts

How much do those cost? Do I have to pay them annually? No wonder my friend was telling me it's about 40k a year in Monash.
zstan
post Mar 29 2012, 05:58 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(Jamess @ Mar 29 2012, 05:43 PM)
How much do those cost? Do I have to pay them annually? No wonder my friend was telling me it's about 40k a year in Monash.
You only pay rm100 extra to the Monash University Student Association (MUSA) on top of your course fees every semester. No such thing as general amenities fee,hospitalization and surgical insurance.
xoxo77
post Mar 29 2012, 06:23 PM

45 posts

The total course fee for Bachelor of Business and Commerce is approximately RM31, 000 per year.

- Application fee is RM 100. Usually for credit transfer student, the Student Recruitment Officer will waive it for you.

- Registration fee is RM 200. Once off only.
- General Amenities fee is RM 100. Payable per semester.

The General Amenities fee covers Library and IT Resources, Unit Guide, Course Guide as well as a part of it goes to Student Union.

This post has been edited by xoxo77: Mar 29 2012, 06:23 PM
theterminal
post Mar 31 2012, 12:22 AM

17 posts

hi!

i'm coming to monash in july and i wanna make friends with all future monashians and also with lowyatians.

cheers!!
satsugai
post Mar 31 2012, 01:26 AM

303 posts

anyone here taking comrep started on the assignment? tongue.gif
zstan
post Mar 31 2012, 10:37 AM

15,856 posts

Is MULO down??????????? sad.gif