Monash University Thread V3, Malaysia & Aus Campus, QS Ranking: Top 69, THES: Top 91 ^^ Up!

theterminal
post Mar 31 2012, 12:22 AM

17 posts

hi!

i'm coming to monash in july and i wanna make friends with all future monashians and also with lowyatians.

cheers!!
theterminal
post Apr 3 2012, 12:14 PM

17 posts

can anyone please tell me what are the differences between sunway monash residence and sun-u residences? i believe the former one has got microwave and tv, while the latter doesn't have these facilities - am i right?

http://www.monash.edu.my/advancement/stude...-Residence.html

http://www.monash.edu.my/advancement/stude...Residences.html
theterminal
post Apr 5 2012, 11:20 PM

17 posts

thanks xoxo77, zstan & ryan18.

so, this cafe ( inside the sunway monash residence ), do they have a monthly / weekly meal plan or something for international students? are they open 24x7? how much i am suppose to shell out for regular meals ( lunch / dinner ) and mini meals ( breakfast / evening snacks )?
theterminal
post Apr 16 2012, 09:16 PM

17 posts

some famous intellectual has rightly said - if you are a traveller in a foreign country, you must try to learn the local language, to immerse with the local culture fully.

dear friends, i want to learn the spoken form of the malaysian national language, so that i can make my malaysian experience truly enjoyable and make lots of friends. for an international student it always helps to be educated about the local language and customs.

i did google for a couple of minutes but i am not sure which sites are reliable. if you guys personally know any sites which are good at teaching the spoken form of bahasa malaysia then please pass me the links. thank you very much.
theterminal
post Apr 18 2012, 09:29 PM

17 posts

QUOTE(ryan18 @ Apr 16 2012, 07:03 PM)
indeed.i thought monash have a Malay language unit for foreigners
anyway to start off your learning:Apa khabar, siapa nama kamu? translated as How are you, what is your name(this is too formal, we dont really use it in our daily life)
the most important thing to know is Makan haha (we malaysians love to eat lol)
Khabar baik, terima kasih! biggrin.gif

i guess the long summer break ( nov - feb ) will be the best time to try the language institute at monash, if there's one.

being born in "land of spices" i am very fond of spicy asian food and kebabs.
theterminal
post May 15 2012, 12:01 AM

17 posts

Added on May 15, 2012, 12:23 amhi! i'd really appreciate if someone could clarify the following.

question - 1 :

All New international students are required to endorse their student pass upon arrival in Malaysia. In order to endorse their student pass, the student would have to submit the following within 4 days of arrival in Malaysia.

source :

http://www.monash.edu.my/advancement/pso/a...r-Services.html

obtain your student-id card. You need to bring the following documents for verificationpurposes - 1 ) Completed student ID card request form and 2 ) Passport.

source : page 4 of orientation guide

http://www.monash.edu.my/Student-services/...e_Sem120121.pdf

i really didn't get it. if they are collecting my passport then how i am suppose to bring it for orientation? the orientation guide says bring the passport to orientation for photo-id service.

question - 2 :

For international students, validate your course enrolment form at the Prospective Students Office – International Student Pass (PSO-ISP) section before submitting it to your school’s Course Management Office.

source : page 4 of the same orientation guide

do i need to collect and validate this course enrolment form from the pso-isp before orientation ( as soon as i arrives in malaysia ) and bring this validated form to orientation?

This post has been edited by theterminal: May 15 2012, 12:27 AM
theterminal
post May 16 2012, 10:14 PM

17 posts

QUOTE(ryan18 @ May 15 2012, 02:22 PM)
i think its best that you ask at monash sunway facebook page
yeah...they've provided me with a satisfying answer. thanks, anyway.

Added on May 16, 2012, 10:16 pm
QUOTE(hengguowei @ May 14 2012, 12:56 PM)
Hey guys, I would like to know how's the engineering course in Monash?

And what are the pros and cons between Australia campus and Malaysia campus?

Thanks. smile.gif
the cons will be ( ie studying in sunway ) not able to play with a baby kangaroo! laugh.gif

This post has been edited by theterminal: May 16 2012, 10:16 PM

0.0205sec    0.05    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 09:28 AM