QUOTE(Agito666 @ Aug 9 2011, 12:55 PM)
ghost month is near, if you shoot orange/ yellow skin girl and got result in white skin... habis lah 
LOL Photography The Official Nikon Discussion thread V11, The Darth Vader troops !
Aug 9 2011, 01:55 PM
2,496 posts Joined: Nov 2006 |
QUOTE(Agito666 @ Aug 9 2011, 12:55 PM) ghost month is near, if you shoot orange/ yellow skin girl and got result in white skin... habis lah LOL |
Aug 9 2011, 02:02 PM
14,082 posts Joined: Aug 2009 From: Malaysia |
QUOTE(vearn27 @ Aug 9 2011, 11:11 AM) OK, let's get this back on track. Flash gel or Kelvin WB manual adjust. Flash gel should be easier, at least in my opinion. Kelvin WB takes quite some time to learn.Can we start with how to get accurate skin tone? Some of my photos taken in an event recently turned out to be yellowish like kena sunset sun I tried to use spot metering, but then it'll overblown the photo. Any guide and tips on this? RM990 @ Foto Selangor. May able to get further discount but then it lies on your negotiation skill. QUOTE(gerald7 @ Aug 9 2011, 11:32 AM) Hmm.. I never judge by skin color (in post processing) I usually try reference the eye color, slight milky white and the skin I just leave it. But I see many of my friends like to make the skin a lighter a few shades, esp for female portraits. 1600 where got high? Normal la.. 3200 above only I consider high lol.Added on August 9, 2011, 11:33 am wow so high iso, |
Aug 9 2011, 02:10 PM
6,075 posts Joined: Jan 2006 From: 3.1553587,101.7135668 |
QUOTE(chiahau @ Aug 9 2011, 02:02 PM) Flash gel or Kelvin WB manual adjust. Flash gel should be easier, at least in my opinion. Kelvin WB takes quite some time to learn. Bro, apala? Using gel, u also need knowledge on how kelvin WB works. On the field, custom WB is the easiest ler. Furthermore, what if he wasn't usig any flash?1600 where got high? Normal la.. 3200 above only I consider high lol. ECS aka vearn, using autoWB or wrong WB presets will cause what u mentioned there. Easiest way is shoot AWB in RAW and post process later to your liking if the lighting condition changes very rapidly. To learn how to custom WB in a fairly constant lighted room, it's pretty simple. Bring along a White piece of paper or tissue for your WB calibration. There, perfect WB in an instant! |
Aug 9 2011, 03:13 PM
2,514 posts Joined: Jun 2010 From: [Confidential] |
QUOTE(KIEN18 @ Aug 9 2011, 11:17 AM) QUOTE(Agito666 @ Aug 9 2011, 11:21 AM) <Space bar> Anyways.... It's pretty much easy , just need to set your shutter a bit higher and your focus on the subject |
Aug 9 2011, 03:43 PM
2,537 posts Joined: Aug 2009 From: Bangi |
As part of Kuala Lumpur Design Week Festival, this year we include Photography as one of the event component called WIRAFOTOFEST! In this event, there are 7 sub subject taking place. One of it which is the "competition" is offering over RM30,000 worth of prizes to be grab! Please pass this words around to all the photographic society!!!
VISIT www.kldesignweek.com for more info!! |
Aug 9 2011, 03:50 PM
176 posts Joined: Dec 2009 |
QUOTE(Agito666 @ Aug 9 2011, 12:25 PM) i mean this XD alright..thanks for the info ya!! http://www.mymodernmet.com/profiles/blogs/...ves-to-levitate for BB code for youtube you need copy the code of the URL only CODE [YOUTUBE]gA8tcrIwfGg[/YOUTUBE] Added on August 9, 2011, 3:51 pm QUOTE(MichaelJohn @ Aug 9 2011, 03:13 PM) <Space bar> alright,thanks for the info..will try it out! Anyways.... It's pretty much easy , just need to set your shutter a bit higher and your focus on the subject This post has been edited by KIEN18: Aug 9 2011, 03:51 PM |
Aug 9 2011, 04:11 PM
2,537 posts Joined: Aug 2009 From: Bangi |
Aug 9 2011, 05:48 PM
2,453 posts Joined: Nov 2007 From: Kuching, Sarawakland |
QUOTE(chongkiatz @ Aug 9 2011, 12:42 PM) i using canon 550D oww... Mine only 200-400 ISO.. very rarely go to 800 ISO what more to say 1600 ISO.. keng ah.QUOTE(Andy214 @ Aug 9 2011, 12:50 PM) Depends, sometimes, you want the ambience/mood, sometimes, you want the skin color; especially if you're shooting people (especially girls); Imagine their face turn out yellow or orangy or dark when they have fair skin? If setting correct should not make fair skin gal yellow leh.. but then again maybe some like it yellow haha! And the ISO is not really high especially if you're shooting wedding reception indoor where it's low light, and you're shooting group which requires smaller aperture most of the time. If you underexpose, then it will be worst, the noise will be more apparent and muddy. So, if you underexpose, you will think or have the mindset that the camera cannot go higher ISO, when in fact, it's not the camera's fault. QUOTE(Agito666 @ Aug 9 2011, 12:55 PM) ghost month is near, if you shoot orange/ yellow skin girl and got result in white skin... habis lah yea yea ~ hungry ghost month coming... dun shoot come out bloodless skin one leh.. scary |
Aug 9 2011, 06:05 PM
2,496 posts Joined: Nov 2006 |
QUOTE(chiahau @ Aug 9 2011, 02:02 PM) Flash gel or Kelvin WB manual adjust. Flash gel should be easier, at least in my opinion. Kelvin WB takes quite some time to learn. You obviously have not encountered problems with matching the flash WB with the ambient WB or p[robably do not realise that is a problem in the first place. If you do not correct the WB light from your flash to match the ambient lighting, you will get different colour lighting from the ambient and from your flash in your pics. Correcting WB on the subject in PP (as a result of light source from the flash) will produce horrible outcome on the background and vice versa.QUOTE(lwliam @ Aug 9 2011, 02:10 PM) Bro, apala? Using gel, u also need knowledge on how kelvin WB works. On the field, custom WB is the easiest ler. Furthermore, what if he wasn't usig any flash? If vearn27 wasn't using flash, doing custom WB would be the best. But if you use the default flash in tungsten ambient lighting, you would have problems getting correct WB in your pics if your flash is not WB corrected.QUOTE(lwliam @ Aug 9 2011, 02:10 PM) ECS aka vearn, using autoWB or wrong WB presets will cause what u mentioned there. Easiest way is shoot AWB in RAW and post process later to your liking if the lighting condition changes very rapidly. Like I mentioned in my reply above, even PP in RAW would give horrible "corrected" WB in PP if the flash WB is different from the ambient WB. Your method is correct if vearn27 does not shoot with flash.QUOTE(lwliam @ Aug 9 2011, 02:10 PM) To learn how to custom WB in a fairly constant lighted room, it's pretty simple. Bring along a White piece of paper or tissue for your WB calibration. There, perfect WB in an instant! Not possible if you use flash that is not WB corrected.This post has been edited by jchue73: Aug 9 2011, 06:05 PM |
Aug 9 2011, 06:12 PM
7,284 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Hong Kong / Malaysia |
QUOTE(Andy214 @ Aug 9 2011, 11:24 AM) The yellowish should be due to WB. If you don't want to mess with Custom WB and those sort, you can try to correct the WB in LR, and also using the recovery slider. Yeah, I understand the yellowish skin tone due to my WB. However, I'm not sure on how to capture the color as accurately as possible for straight out from camera photos (I remember there is a term for this, but couldn't recall That is possible with spot metering as it meter for the spot, if the spot is dark, it will increase the exposure. You can use EV compesation, but this means to review and re-take, Or you can use backeting? I face this problem too, due to changing situation, some photos get overblown and since it's an event, for moving or scene which you can't always review the picture, it's bad. So, I switch back to M mode. The bad part of M mode is, if the lighting changes drastically during the "duration", it'll affect your photo unless you notice it and quickly adjust, but this is kind of hard (example: Wedding March In, you can use M mode, when you take the people behind the couple later, which doesn't have spotlight, the will turn out darker than the couple shots). I'm using Matrix Metering mode all the while in the event I'm shooting. Tried to used Spot Metering, but the tendency of overblown the exposure is very high. Therefore, I kept the settings on Matrix Metering and AWB. I shoot event where movements are fast and I wouldn't be able to pace up with it if I tend to keep changing the settings QUOTE(jchue73 @ Aug 9 2011, 11:54 AM) I assume you're using flash under tungsten lighting? Yeah. To be exact, flash under uneven lighting. Some yellow some white.Use tungsten gel (or any type of gel to match ambient lighting) and set to tungsten WB on the camera. Adjust accordingly in RAW. QUOTE(chiahau @ Aug 9 2011, 02:02 PM) Flash gel or Kelvin WB manual adjust. Flash gel should be easier, at least in my opinion. Kelvin WB takes quite some time to learn. I'm not sure if it's only me to be sceptical, I find that photos above ISO1600 on D7000 has intolerable noise. Well, I turned off both the NORMAL and HIGH ISO NR to preserve the details. Hmm... did not try on luminance setting processing with LR. Usually, what's the level of luminance to be recommended? Is there any recommended value?1600 where got high? Normal la.. 3200 above only I consider high lol. QUOTE(lwliam @ Aug 9 2011, 02:10 PM) Bro, apala? Using gel, u also need knowledge on how kelvin WB works. On the field, custom WB is the easiest ler. Furthermore, what if he wasn't usig any flash? Yo bro !ECS aka vearn, using autoWB or wrong WB presets will cause what u mentioned there. Easiest way is shoot AWB in RAW and post process later to your liking if the lighting condition changes very rapidly. To learn how to custom WB in a fairly constant lighted room, it's pretty simple. Bring along a White piece of paper or tissue for your WB calibration. There, perfect WB in an instant! Well, I face the situation where the place has uneven lighting. As per mentioned above, some white and some yellowish. Given if I needed to handover the photos as soon as the event over, how would be the best method to capture the color tone as accurately as possible in a fast moving event? Free to yumcha moh? Need tunjuk ajar leh |
Aug 9 2011, 06:35 PM
2,453 posts Joined: Nov 2007 From: Kuching, Sarawakland |
QUOTE(jchue73 @ Aug 9 2011, 06:05 PM) You obviously have not encountered problems with matching the flash WB with the ambient WB or p[robably do not realise that is a problem in the first place. If you do not correct the WB light from your flash to match the ambient lighting, you will get different colour lighting from the ambient and from your flash in your pics. Correcting WB on the subject in PP (as a result of light source from the flash) will produce horrible outcome on the background and vice versa. So morale of the story is learn to use the gel packs given by Nikon in the SB800 & SB900s..... does the SB700 have the color correction gels included?? I was testing the SB900 color correction gels at an event recently and found that even with the gels and settings, a lil tweak is still needed to get the WB to look 'right' If vearn27 wasn't using flash, doing custom WB would be the best. But if you use the default flash in tungsten ambient lighting, you would have problems getting correct WB in your pics if your flash is not WB corrected. Like I mentioned in my reply above, even PP in RAW would give horrible "corrected" WB in PP if the flash WB is different from the ambient WB. Your method is correct if vearn27 does not shoot with flash. Not possible if you use flash that is not WB corrected. |
Aug 9 2011, 06:38 PM
QUOTE(gerald7 @ Aug 9 2011, 06:35 PM) So morale of the story is learn to use the gel packs given by Nikon in the SB800 & SB900s..... does the SB700 have the color correction gels included?? I was testing the SB900 color correction gels at an event recently and found that even with the gels and settings, a lil tweak is still needed to get the WB to look 'right' Checked out the Nikon.my website...The SB-700 does comes with filter set |
Aug 9 2011, 09:59 PM
6,075 posts Joined: Jan 2006 From: 3.1553587,101.7135668 |
QUOTE(jchue73 @ Aug 9 2011, 06:05 PM) You obviously have not encountered problems with matching the flash WB with the ambient WB or p[robably do not realise that is a problem in the first place. If you do not correct the WB light from your flash to match the ambient lighting, you will get different colour lighting from the ambient and from your flash in your pics. Correcting WB on the subject in PP (as a result of light source from the flash) will produce horrible outcome on the background and vice versa. jchue73, yeah I was suggesting based on my assumption that a flash wasn't used. Hence, my suggestion of using custom WB. If vearn27 wasn't using flash, doing custom WB would be the best. But if you use the default flash in tungsten ambient lighting, you would have problems getting correct WB in your pics if your flash is not WB corrected. Like I mentioned in my reply above, even PP in RAW would give horrible "corrected" WB in PP if the flash WB is different from the ambient WB. Your method is correct if vearn27 does not shoot with flash. Not possible if you use flash that is not WB corrected. Even if a flash was used and wasn't color corrected, in a shoot-and-submit event, the subject's WB is of priority (the skin tone in this case). The background will have to be in the warm state as it is so as long the subject is good. Vearn, the metering modes does not govern how the skintone looks like, just how bright/dark the skin tone will be WITH RESPECT TO the surrounding ambient light. As for your issue QUOTE on how to capture the color as accurately as possible for straight out from camera photos , the safest way is to bring along a clean sheet of A4 paper and measure the WB off it on the spot. If the lighting color changes in your event space, this will be a lot of hassle. This is where learning your Kelvin WB setting comes in handy, a quick adjustment to how you see the light at that point of time and you will get a close enough guesstimation of the Kelvin values. This comes with practice. In events, i tend to use wide-area and centre weighted metering, very seldom i use spot metering, unless that the subject fills the entire frame. I adapt my WB settings to different situations. eg. wedding dinner halls with loads of warm tungsten light: i gel my flash to match and uses the kelvin settings to compensate for the warm flash light. concerts with crazy lights: AWB with no flash (this works the best), if flash is needed, i use flash WB setting. outdoors sunny/cloudy: AWB (my in camera AWB for these situations give spot on WB without me worrying) hall with fluorescent lights: custom WB and try to keep my shutter speed at 1/50s or slower so that it completes the shot withing a sine cycle of the power grid's frequency of 50Hz see when you are free, gimme a ring, could meet up and go do some shooting or yum cha (on you) lol... This post has been edited by lwliam: Aug 9 2011, 10:14 PM |
Aug 9 2011, 10:09 PM
282 posts Joined: Dec 2009 |
HI may i ask which is the best for a noob like me. Planning to get 5100D for RM2300 with stock lens. Or is it better to get 7000d instead ? Any good lens or starter package for a newbie ?
Aug 9 2011, 10:10 PM
306 posts Joined: Oct 2008 |
tehee i just bought my d3100 ^.^
Aug 9 2011, 10:31 PM
7,284 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Hong Kong / Malaysia |
QUOTE(lwliam @ Aug 9 2011, 09:59 PM) jchue73, yeah I was suggesting based on my assumption that a flash wasn't used. Hence, my suggestion of using custom WB. Need more practice with this WB thingy. I'm still far from achieving even the near good result of WB settings. I totally have not much understanding in tuning my WB except placing the gel on my flash.Even if a flash was used and wasn't color corrected, in a shoot-and-submit event, the subject's WB is of priority (the skin tone in this case). The background will have to be in the warm state as it is so as long the subject is good. Vearn, the metering modes does not govern how the skintone looks like, just how bright/dark the skin tone will be WITH RESPECT TO the surrounding ambient light. As for your issue , the safest way is to bring along a clean sheet of A4 paper and measure the WB off it on the spot. If the lighting color changes in your event space, this will be a lot of hassle. This is where learning your Kelvin WB setting comes in handy, a quick adjustment to how you see the light at that point of time and you will get a close enough guesstimation of the Kelvin values. This comes with practice. In events, i tend to use wide-area and centre weighted metering, very seldom i use spot metering, unless that the subject fills the entire frame. I adapt my WB settings to different situations. eg. wedding dinner halls with loads of warm tungsten light: i gel my flash to match and uses the kelvin settings to compensate for the warm flash light. concerts with crazy lights: AWB with no flash (this works the best), if flash is needed, i use flash WB setting. outdoors sunny/cloudy: AWB (my in camera AWB for these situations give spot on WB without me worrying) hall with fluorescent lights: custom WB and try to keep my shutter speed at 1/50s or slower so that it completes the shot withing a sine cycle of the power grid's frequency of 50Hz see when you are free, gimme a ring, could meet up and go do some shooting or yum cha (on you) lol... The situation I was in... it started shooting indoor from evening with a lot of windows allowing lights from outside. Then when it reaches night, yellowish and white lights all around the places and some dim area. Ceiling and wall, some area with and some area without to bounce the flash. Really a tough situation to handle with my skill level at the moment Yumcha surely no problem, need more guidance and tips from the guru |
Aug 9 2011, 10:37 PM
QUOTE(aronliew @ Aug 9 2011, 10:10 PM) Welcome to the yellow camp QUOTE(vearn27 @ Aug 9 2011, 10:31 PM) Need more practice with this WB thingy. I'm still far from achieving even the near good result of WB settings. I totally have not much understanding in tuning my WB except placing the gel on my flash. As what i know off , need to know based on your surroundings...The situation I was in... it started shooting indoor from evening with a lot of windows allowing lights from outside. Then when it reaches night, yellowish and white lights all around the places and some dim area. Ceiling and wall, some area with and some area without to bounce the flash. Really a tough situation to handle with my skill level at the moment Yumcha surely no problem, need more guidance and tips from the guru especially indoors , whether the walls are light or dark painted... |
Aug 10 2011, 12:40 AM
47 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
i jz get d5100..
This post has been edited by adriansyc: Aug 10 2011, 02:09 AM |
Aug 10 2011, 01:15 AM
4,925 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Dayummm....been using this 35mm F2D for few hours now and starting to fell in love with it
![]() Taken wide open @ 3200 ISO. Just love the FOV compared to 50mm |
Aug 10 2011, 05:36 AM
1,039 posts Joined: Jun 2006 From: Malaka |
anyone know how can i get this in malaysia? http://www.lenscoat.com/lenscoatsuptmsup-n...200-p-1007.html
| Change to: | 0.0287sec
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 10:32 PM |