120 Pages « < 50 51 52 53 54 > » Bottom

SAMSUNG GALAXY S II Official thread V8, NEW Users be SMARTuser - PLS read Page 1

wkwong77
post Jul 12 2011, 11:31 PM

51 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Jul 12 2011, 11:15 PM)
Did you change permissions when you edit the file ?
Yes, I use Root Explorer to edit and save it. Exactly follow what XDA said and keep this default.prop file in /system directory
faiz2036
post Jul 12 2011, 11:31 PM

1,384 posts

QUOTE(tenchi0205 @ Jul 12 2011, 11:22 PM)
hmm.gif  ok for me
oo. ok ha? maybe vallainrom not optimise it yet.. pinch and zoom is very lag..
gulf6
post Jul 12 2011, 11:32 PM

hello everyone.. my first time here.. does anybody now where to get sgs ii now? i went to some places and no stock.. aishhh very unlucky.. please advise....
and if got any freebies? thanks..
SnoopyDevil
post Jul 12 2011, 11:34 PM

383 posts

QUOTE(dukunet @ Jul 12 2011, 11:04 PM)
try create a folder named "Ringtones". from contacts, assign ringtone from option "Phone Ringtone" not from "My Files". dunno it works with yours or not, surely did with mine. havent try your method.
thanks will give it a try... it's just funny that if i really have to choose from "Phone Ringtone" and not from any other folders
wkwong77
post Jul 12 2011, 11:35 PM

51 posts

QUOTE(llk @ Jul 12 2011, 11:28 PM)
True, sgs & sgs 2 using different gpu, i suggest re-download all the sd data file by using sgs2
Exactly, I copy and tranfer file from my HTC Desire, some of the games cannot work. Finally gave up, download new games and pay for it. I have Alsphat 6, Avatar, RF2011, Gangstar, Spiderman, all are HD and no prblem at all, graphic is perfect and it run much much much smoother than my HTC Desire.
Slekerz
post Jul 12 2011, 11:42 PM

Life is like a Box of Chocolate
806 posts

QUOTE(faiz2036 @ Jul 12 2011, 11:17 PM)
kg1 browser is lag.. haha!
there is a fix for browser lag on xda, check it out bro..
TSbenny888
post Jul 12 2011, 11:43 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(vkyip @ Jul 12 2011, 11:06 PM)
Sifus,

My phone shows firmware XWKF1. PDA: KF1. Phone KF1: CSC KE5 (XME).

After reading the 1st page and clicking on the link provided in xda, on the official i9100 page, I found the XWKF1 firmware but if says the below:

This package has: PDA:XWKF1| PHONE: XXKE7| CSC:XEUKD1.

I couldn't find a firmware package that has PDA: XWKF1, PHONE: XWKF1, CSC: XWKE5, so if I want to revert back my phone to it's current stock state, how? Sorry for the noob question.
If you are trying to duplicate your phone to be exactly same as stock when you bought it - my 2 sen advise is forget about it. An experienced tech will know straightway that you have change roms by just looking at the kernel version. Based on your phone serail number they can match back the exact kernel version number. You could fool the seller to take back your unit but not the technician. Unless you managed to install back an exact kernel version

If you have been following the thread, at the previous one ver 6 or 7, there were 3 users who got a 1-1 exchange for their phones even though is rooted and flashed. What I am saying here is , if one is concerned about warranty, my advise is always stick to stock rom - don't root , don't flash. If one starts to root and flash, be mentally prepared that there is a possibility you cannot make any claim. If your phone is rooted/flash with cook rom and you can still make a claim FOC , it is a bonus. If you need to pay for any servicing costs, just accept it

NOt only me but quite several users has reported ( in SGS, Galaxy tab ) thread that claims were successful even phones flash with cook rom. Maybe one can say they are lucky. If consider lucky, so be it - it is a bonus . As said, just be mentally prepared you cannot claim FOC. I have send in my previous SGS three times for service - re-flash roms cos bricked ( my phone was one of those with the 3 buttons disabled cannot go to download n recovery mode ) - in all 3 occasions the tech knows and even advised me to be more careful flashing such phones with 3 button disabled and service was FOC. And the SGS was an AP set I bought in KL but I send in to Spore to service as nearer my place. They don't even bother to ask for receipt or warranty card - just key in serial number to process. My favorite quote is my 2 HTC phones flashed with cook rom - i got motherboard replaced too FOC. My ipod touch jailbreak I got it replaced too FOC. At the CSL m300 thread - several users got phone 1-1 exchanged even though phones flash with cook rom. Several Galaxy Tab users got their battery replaced FOC even with the phones flashed with cooked roms. My point is simply - don't be too paranoid over these.

Latest news about a month back, Samsung has pass phones to the famous Cyanogen team for them to mod roms . First time a manufacturer ever do this. Sony Ericsson has unlock bootloaders ; HTC will follow soon. Motorola has also said they will follow suit. These manufacturers know there is an expanding market of users who wish to mod their phones and the recent moves to acknowledge it is encouraging

dukunet
post Jul 12 2011, 11:44 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(SnoopyDevil @ Jul 12 2011, 11:34 PM)
thanks will give it a try... it's just funny that if i really have to choose from "Phone Ringtone" and not from any other folders
just suggestion. anyway, i tried your way of assigning ringtone, it works just fine on my sgs2... r u on custom rom?

Added on July 12, 2011, 11:45 pm
QUOTE(faiz2036 @ Jul 12 2011, 11:31 PM)
the last villainrom i tried, need to apply patch for browser lag problem. dunno bout new villainrom tho...

This post has been edited by dukunet: Jul 12 2011, 11:45 PM
tenchi0205
post Jul 12 2011, 11:45 PM

Tech Noob
2,881 posts

QUOTE(faiz2036 @ Jul 12 2011, 11:31 PM)
blush.gif using VR2.0...
Lineage
post Jul 12 2011, 11:47 PM

the Chaotic Throne
4,524 posts

Anyone know how to remove the screen off animation in Litening ROM?
Worry my screen will have problem after long period of usage..just wondering..
TSbenny888
post Jul 12 2011, 11:48 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Lineage @ Jul 12 2011, 11:47 PM)
Anyone know how to remove the screen off animation in Litening ROM?
Worry my screen will have problem after long period of usage..just wondering..
Another paranoid user - what has animation got to do with screen display ?? It is just a display of software effects

This post has been edited by benny888: Jul 12 2011, 11:49 PM
SnoopyDevil
post Jul 12 2011, 11:50 PM

383 posts

QUOTE(dukunet @ Jul 12 2011, 11:44 PM)
just suggestion. anyway, i tried your way of assigning ringtone, it works just fine on my sgs2... r u on custom rom?

Added on July 12, 2011, 11:45 pm

the last villainrom i tried, need to apply patch for browser lag problem. dunno bout new villainrom tho...
nope, good'o stock rom came with the phone. could it be that it doesn't recognize folder named as "mp3"? hmm.gif

my understanding is that it doesn't matter where you store your MP3, and the phone should be able to utilize it right?
Lineage
post Jul 12 2011, 11:53 PM

the Chaotic Throne
4,524 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Jul 12 2011, 11:48 PM)
Another paranoid user - what has animation got to do with screen display ?? It is just a display of software effects
Then the software display seems getting lag after use it for long time..everytime need to reboot to solve it biggrin.gif
silrave
post Jul 13 2011, 12:03 AM

5,893 posts

QUOTE(mzpurplemint101 @ Jul 12 2011, 11:01 PM)
same here, hot when charging aswell
oo normal gaming and garmin usage also will hot ?

QUOTE(gulf6 @ Jul 12 2011, 11:32 PM)
hello everyone.. my first time here.. does anybody now where to get sgs ii now? i went to some places and no stock.. aishhh very unlucky.. please advise....
and if got any freebies? thanks..
hmm not sure i go pre-order from senheng
un_id
post Jul 13 2011, 12:13 AM

music is soul's food
7,106 posts

QUOTE(un_id @ Jul 12 2011, 11:26 PM)
Where to get stock kernel for kg1? Can i just extract the CODE file and use the zimage from it? Want to remove yellow triangle
Anybdy pls advice..
shazzmania
post Jul 13 2011, 12:15 AM

RR3
675 posts

QUOTE(un_id @ Jul 13 2011, 12:13 AM)
Anybdy pls advice..
somewhere here http://forum.xda-developers.com/forumdisplay.php?f=1058
TSbenny888
post Jul 13 2011, 12:31 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

For new users and to be user - the SGS II operating temperatures is higher than most other Androids, simply because it is dual core and its thinness transmit heat easily. Some users like to use the word " hot" - I'd said is warmer than normal. The word hot connotes a feeling of uneasiness and a possible burning effect on your skin, which it will not. Most users I believe will use some sort of casing or backcover - these will reduce the effect

If you have been using single core Androids 1 GHZ models before - you will not experienced the " hotness" as a serious concern, I'd say generally is about 2-3 degree centigrade more. Those who are coming over from say Blackberries and Symbian will feel the difference more obviously

Use an app to monitor battery temperatures - batterylife widget is a good free app. It shows you the temperature and voltage and is quite a well designed widget

These are guides to operating temperatures ( degree centigrade ) basing solely on my usage :

Idle not in use : 28 - 31
Browsing : 32-35
Gaming : 35 - 40
WiFi hotspot : 35 - 45
GPS : 35 -45

With prolong continuous usage over several hours it could hit 50 but I'd think such usage should be minimal unless you are one freaking gamer
I read the phone has gone to extreme testing till 70 degree and still performs well ( will post back the link on this if I can find it again )

There are many ways you can reduce the temperature if you are uncomfortable:

1. Use SetCPU : Scale down CPU speed - do you really need 1.2 GHz power ?? most stuffs works well within 800-1000 Mhz
2. Use SetCPU - set profiles under different conditions

Undervolt core voltage - using Tegrak Overclock Ultimate

Read Page 1 FAQ on battery issues where I have detailed this point - will not repeat here . These will also save battery usage

Interested to know how other users experience and feelings on this issue :

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1107770

vkyip
post Jul 13 2011, 12:33 AM

118 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Jul 12 2011, 11:43 PM)
If you are trying to duplicate your phone to be exactly same as stock when you bought it - my 2 sen advise is forget about it. An experienced tech will know straightway that you have change roms by just looking at the kernel version. Based on your phone serail number they can match back the exact kernel version number. You could fool the seller to take back your unit but not the technician. Unless you managed to install back an exact kernel version...
Thanks Uncle Benny. Very much appreciated. I'm not so much worried by warranty. I'm a newbie in Android and still learning and thanks to sifus here, after a couple of days, the terms seems less confusing now. Previously phone from "fruit" company where I can download the firmware and restore to almost "factory" like condition. Because I'm new, I figured I may make a mistake or two, so if I do, I would like the option to revert or make backups. If I do not like the custom ROMs it's good to know that I can get back to my current stock state. That's about it.
un_id
post Jul 13 2011, 12:37 AM

music is soul's food
7,106 posts

QUOTE(shazzmania @ Jul 13 2011, 12:15 AM)
Nice.. i think uncle benny should reply to all similarly too.. just give a link to xda.. ty
TSbenny888
post Jul 13 2011, 12:42 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(un_id @ Jul 13 2011, 12:13 AM)
Anybdy pls advice..
Ask wkwong77 as his post # 1011 says:

I am on XXKG1, root with CF4 and flash back stock kernel XXKG1.

120 Pages « < 50 51 52 53 54 > » Top

0.0318sec    0.30    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 06:41 PM