Sifus, I have been unable to instal apps like paypal and bump. Am I the only one? Is the app unavailable in malaysia? Not compatible with sgs2? Thanks.
SAMSUNG GALAXY S II Official thread V8, NEW Users be SMARTuser - PLS read Page 1
Jul 10 2011, 01:35 AM
118 posts Joined: Feb 2005 |
Sifus, I have been unable to instal apps like paypal and bump. Am I the only one? Is the app unavailable in malaysia? Not compatible with sgs2? Thanks.
Jul 10 2011, 07:47 PM
Sifus, is there any other way to set into driving mode other than to press settings | Voice input and output | text to speech | driving mode ???? The only widget has 3 buttons, is there a single widget??
[SOLVED] Search for car mode and galaxy s2 in the app market and there is a widget to set to car mode. This post has been edited by vkyip: Jul 10 2011, 10:57 PM |
Jul 11 2011, 10:40 AM
Sifus.....now I am ready to do my first ROM, as recommended by uncle Benny, I shall try Litening ROM first. But my question is: I want to revert to stock if something goes wrong, so do I have to buy an Micro SD card and then use Nanbackup to backup first? Sorry if ask wrong or duplicate question. Thanks in advance.
Jul 12 2011, 05:00 PM
Sifus...I read all in page 1. I also read from google. I see a lot of articles say install ROMManager, then can backup and install ROM. I also read from page 1, use ODIN, install new stock ROM or custom ROM. Is it on SGS2 can only use ODIN? Can backup with ODIN? Sorry for noob question, coz I think I want to backup current ROM so that I could restore if anything happens. Thanks.
Jul 12 2011, 05:28 PM
QUOTE(mhhee @ Jul 12 2011, 05:19 PM) ROMManager can backup your existing ROM into your SDCard. It required that your SGS2 is installed with CWM. Then, you may select "Backup Current ROM" in the ROMManager & it will reboot your phone & starting the backup process. OK. Thanks. So I can use ODIN to backup ROM, Kernel & modem, and also use it to flash new rom?Please note that Kernel & Modem is not backup by ROMManager. As its title said, Only Manage ROM. You still need to reflash your modem & kernel if you restore from other ROMs with diff kernel & modem. Other Android masters please correct me if I'm wrong. |
Jul 12 2011, 06:07 PM
QUOTE(mhhee @ Jul 12 2011, 05:30 PM) No No! Odin is used for Bootloader, Kernel & ROM Flashing. You can't use it to backup your ROM. OK. Thanks. I don't know if there are anything or guide yet, but I hope there is one for newbie.You can download ROMManager from market & run from your phone for ROM backup. Here's what I want to do: 1. Backup my phone. Every damn thing. 1.1 First I root my phone using superoneclick. 1.2 Then I install ROMManager and use it to do a backup. 1.3 Then now I get a file .zip or .tar, which I save into my PC just in case. 2. I wanna try custom ROM 2.1 I download ODIN and Litening ROM, or the new stock 2.3.4 ROM. 2.2 I use ODIN to flash new ROM into my phone. 2.3 All works out, fine. If I don't like it, I can use ODIN to flash back my backup I made earlier. IS the above all correct? Thanks a million sifus. |
Jul 12 2011, 07:25 PM
QUOTE(benny888 @ Jul 12 2011, 06:24 PM) ROM Manager is not fully compatible with SGS II - still some bugs. If it is good, I'd have highly recommended it in Page 1. Not only me, ,many XDA'ers will propose to use it Is it before using Titanium backup, need to use superoneclick to root first, then follow the steps listed by you?When you use Rom Manger, first thing it will change your recovery on phone. Than depending on your rom type, kernel - when you try tyo backup - it will fail. And assumimg you can backup, most probably you will get a fail restore When we want to use a backup/restore program , what is important you mjust have a 100 % good backup and a 100% good restore. There is no in between both must be 100%. Anyway you can try if you wish and please update us if you are successful I suggest you : 1. Use Titanium Backup to backup all your apps/data 2. Use Odin to flash Chaimfire CF4 - this will root and install a Clockworkmod recovery 3. Boot to recovery and select backup 4. Than only proceed flash whatever rom Thanks uncle beney. Helps much. I hope to write this up, it will help me understand these things and perhaps might be useful to other newbies. This post has been edited by vkyip: Jul 12 2011, 07:40 PM |
Jul 12 2011, 10:22 PM
Jul 12 2011, 11:06 PM
Sifus,
My phone shows firmware XWKF1. PDA: KF1. Phone KF1: CSC KE5 (XME). After reading the 1st page and clicking on the link provided in xda, on the official i9100 page, I found the XWKF1 firmware but if says the below: This package has: PDA:XWKF1| PHONE: XXKE7| CSC:XEUKD1. I couldn't find a firmware package that has PDA: XWKF1, PHONE: XWKF1, CSC: XWKE5, so if I want to revert back my phone to it's current stock state, how? Sorry for the noob question. This post has been edited by vkyip: Jul 12 2011, 11:07 PM |
Jul 13 2011, 12:33 AM
QUOTE(benny888 @ Jul 12 2011, 11:43 PM) If you are trying to duplicate your phone to be exactly same as stock when you bought it - my 2 sen advise is forget about it. An experienced tech will know straightway that you have change roms by just looking at the kernel version. Based on your phone serail number they can match back the exact kernel version number. You could fool the seller to take back your unit but not the technician. Unless you managed to install back an exact kernel version... Thanks Uncle Benny. Very much appreciated. I'm not so much worried by warranty. I'm a newbie in Android and still learning and thanks to sifus here, after a couple of days, the terms seems less confusing now. Previously phone from "fruit" company where I can download the firmware and restore to almost "factory" like condition. Because I'm new, I figured I may make a mistake or two, so if I do, I would like the option to revert or make backups. If I do not like the custom ROMs it's good to know that I can get back to my current stock state. That's about it. |
Jul 14 2011, 12:12 PM
Sifus....downloaded 2.3.4. Do I use ODin to flash Phone, PDA & CSC or just Phone and PDA only. Thanks in advance.
Jul 14 2011, 01:23 PM
Jul 15 2011, 04:02 PM
Sifus....excuse me by asking a rather dumb question. I wanna call someone, and it's not in my contacts, like I would like to dial 012-1234567. I press phone, and I see logs, contacts, favourites, groups. When I click on contacts and click on search contacts, I am shown the keyboard. Is there no numeric only keypad????? Thanks in advance.
Jul 15 2011, 04:09 PM
QUOTE(nicregi @ Jul 15 2011, 04:06 PM) When you want to call do this: Not really, it does not have to be first tab. But there should be an option for me to press in numbers right. The only way currently is to touch the search contacts bar and then press keyboard (2 presses for numbers) or press number button then press number..arrggg..so many presses...are they any option that does not require an alphanumeric keyboard but just a numeric keypad?1. Press the phone icon 2. First tab will be keypad which is the digits you can press. Is this what you are asking for? |
Jul 15 2011, 04:10 PM
QUOTE(yjeen @ Jul 15 2011, 04:08 PM) on the top part, where you see logs, contacts ,etc, tap and scroll to the right,you will see the keypad icon, Shit....didn't notice that...Thank god....thought it was gone and not include....now all good only "freaking" hidden...what a UI.don't worry i had the same problem as well |
Jul 15 2011, 09:01 PM
TQ all sifus who have helped me. 2.3.4!!!
Jul 16 2011, 12:37 PM
Sifus, I think I am gonna get flamed, but I am going to venture what I think is a my own accessment of the SGS2.
1. The hardware is super, the camera is great. 2. The UI is unpolished (understatement). Many things is hidden under multiple levels of menu, and involve too many clicks to access. 3. Some things work and some don't. APNDroid does not seem to work. Paypal and BUMP cannot install. So stock ROM is hopeless, unless you root. 4. Battery life sucks, even with juice defender installed. Paid for Tasker, but unfortunately cannot set data to off, late at night and still consume quite an amount of battery. Got tasker to set Wifi off, bluetooth off, GPS off. Perhaps it's just me, or I am playing with it a bit, but I would expect 2 days of battery life with lite or moderate usage. Perhaps I am wrong, but I would not recommend to friends at this time, comments are welcome. This post has been edited by vkyip: Jul 16 2011, 12:39 PM |
Jul 16 2011, 12:41 PM
QUOTE(wcpon @ Jul 16 2011, 12:39 PM) Anyone experience, sometimes I go online using 3G, browsing internet or facebook halfway... the 3G services will be cacat... I had experience it yesterday. Even with wifi, cacat. Then I go back and upgrade to 2.3.4. Hopes it does not come back. When you need to go online, and it dies on you, well your friends looking at you and your super phone and you cannot get online Cannot go online anymore... then I tried to disable the Packet Data and Enable back.. Still cannot... The 3G icon totally gone.. the signal bar is full... Then I clear cache... try enable and disable few times.. then the service only back to normal... Is it the stock rom have this kind of issues?? Any advice? |
Jul 16 2011, 01:11 PM
QUOTE(nicregi @ Jul 16 2011, 01:00 PM) I don't think you should be flamed. Why? This is a discussion place so all comments should be welcome (unless you on purpose then is different case) Not trying purposely, just that I think many would not be happy when I say something negative when they have splashed big money to get a super phone. I like this phone, if the custom ROM can make it more user friendly the it can kick some fruity ass. QUOTE(faiz2036 @ Jul 16 2011, 01:07 PM) Exactly, I am itching for the UI to be better. The rest of the stuff is already better.QUOTE(Fallenangelz @ Jul 16 2011, 01:09 PM) to off the data, just hold power button and disable ur data. to off wifi n bluetooth or gps or even auto rotation, juz drag down the notification bar and press on it. izit very troublesome to you? Thanks. The easiest way currently is using the power button, but if I can get a shortcut to it and press it on screen the it would be much easier.This post has been edited by vkyip: Jul 16 2011, 01:17 PM |
Jul 16 2011, 02:49 PM
QUOTE(blurjoey @ Jul 16 2011, 02:10 PM) Really? How come I cannot. Did u have market enabler?QUOTE(c010 @ Jul 16 2011, 02:39 PM) 3. perhaps you do not understand the definition of root. please do more study before you give any comment. If APNDroid is not working, that doesn't mean is ROM issue and why would you need that at the first place? if you want to disable data, there are plenty of apps can do that such as switch pro widget and etc, or you can go all the way inside menu and disable data by untick "use packet data". That's where the complain for the UI. Have to go all the way in the multiple level menus. Or have to pay for a widget, willing to pay for useful stuffs, not really willing to pay coz Sammy or Google did not do a good UI. Was hoping the UI would be more user friendly and have a shortcut to off data or 3G. Better than old Galaxy is not good.4. battery sucks? i find it better than my old galaxy S. it can last me more than a day. refer to 3 on setting data off. lastly, 2 days of battery life if u, 1. permanent on 2G network 2. no data connection This post has been edited by vkyip: Jul 16 2011, 02:56 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0194sec
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 11:34 PM |