105 Pages « < 89 90 91 92 93 > » Bottom

AMD® Socket AM2&AM3 Overclocking V25, 990FX, Bulldozer!

raydenex
post May 28 2013, 04:33 PM

"Updated my journal."
588 posts

QUOTE(azilazwa @ May 27 2013, 10:11 PM)
Wow. This thread has been idle for about 2 weeks! Where does everybody go?  hmm.gif

Put that aside, i want to ask something. What is the advantage of lower TDP? Does lower TDP means i can pump more volt on the chip or vice versa? Another thing, i would like some suggestion. I've been using phenom II 555 (manage to unlock to x4, but stuck at 3.6GHz only) for about 3 years, thinking to upgrade. What is the best bang for the buck for a new amd chip + mobo for gaming reason?

Hopefully can get an answer here. Wake up people! lol
I'll suggest the FX8320 paired with an ASRock 990FX Extreme3. IMO best value mobo with 990FX chipset. At least go with the highest end AM3+ chipset, not 970.
cloudwan
post May 28 2013, 05:02 PM

- Knob -
8,523 posts

QUOTE(raydenex @ May 28 2013, 04:33 PM)
I'll suggest the FX8320 paired with an ASRock 990FX Extreme3. IMO best value mobo with 990FX chipset. At least go with the highest end AM3+ chipset, not 970.
For gaming, choice of mobo doesnt effect much, thats for sure, unless the user going to crossfire in the future, a cheapo 970 chipset will do..
azilazwa
post May 28 2013, 05:09 PM

838 posts

QUOTE(cloudwan @ May 28 2013, 01:44 PM)
Entirely just for gaming?  hmm.gif

For budget i think FX4300 (RM409) + Gigabyte 970A-DS3 (RM269) would do, in gaming around Core i3 3220 level..
For extra budget i think FX8320 (RM559) + Asus M597 LE R2.0 (RM330) would do, should be around Core i5 3470~3550 level.. thumbup.gif
mainly will use for gaming + entertainment (connect to a tv and watch movies). will do some oc, just for fun.

QUOTE(raydenex @ May 28 2013, 04:33 PM)
QUOTE(cloudwan @ May 28 2013, 05:02 PM)
For gaming, choice of mobo doesnt effect much, thats for sure, unless the user going to crossfire in the future, a cheapo 970 chipset will do..
Should i wait for the next gen amd proc (4350 or 6350) or just go for FX8320? i think my phenom2 555 will bottleneck my gc (7870xt). thats why i want to upgrade the proc.
raydenex
post May 28 2013, 05:16 PM

"Updated my journal."
588 posts

QUOTE(azilazwa @ May 28 2013, 05:09 PM)
mainly will use for gaming + entertainment (connect to a tv and watch movies). will do some oc, just for fun.
Should i wait for the next gen amd proc (4350 or 6350) or just go for FX8320? i think my phenom2 555 will bottleneck my gc (7870xt). thats why i want to upgrade the proc.
Do you have plans to crossfire/SLI in the future? If no, then yes just get a 970 chipset AM3+ board will do and save some cash in the process. 7870XT crossfired does quite well, and affordable enough for you to consider getting another in the near or mid future. Really depends on the games you play and at what resolution/quality you want to play them at. If it was me, I'd go with 990FX board, and the ASRock one is as affordable as they come, at approximate RM 380 price and decent quality too. Don't skimp out when buying a mobo is the lesson I've learnt, get something with some quality.

Also a 990FX board would be best suited to support next FX series (Steamroller) compared to a 970. So there.

This post has been edited by raydenex: May 28 2013, 05:17 PM
azilazwa
post May 28 2013, 05:26 PM

838 posts

QUOTE(raydenex @ May 28 2013, 05:16 PM)
Do you have plans to crossfire/SLI in the future? If no, then yes just get a 970 chipset AM3+ board will do and save some cash in the process. 7870XT crossfired does quite well, and affordable enough for you to consider getting another in the near or mid future. Really depends on the games you play and at what resolution/quality you want to play them at. If it was me, I'd go with 990FX board, and the ASRock one is as affordable as they come, at approximate RM 380 price and decent quality too. Don't skimp out when buying a mobo is the lesson I've learnt, get something with some quality.

Also a 990FX board would be best suited to support next FX series (Steamroller) compared to a 970. So there.
i dont think i will do a crossfire, at least not for now. hmm, then i'll be searching for a FX8320. will do some more research about what mobo to use. thanks guys notworthy.gif
ah_khoo
post Jun 7 2013, 04:32 PM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

nothing fantastic due to voltage but nonetheless made it to 5Ghz on 8 cores... wink.gif

8tvt
post Jun 8 2013, 08:33 AM

Peace Lover
8,753 posts

hi all i'm new here..
azilazwa
post Jun 9 2013, 10:29 PM

838 posts

QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Jun 7 2013, 04:32 PM)
nothing fantastic due to voltage but nonetheless made it to 5Ghz on 8 cores...  wink.gif

Wow! On air? what is the voltage? How's the temp? prime95 stable?

QUOTE(8tvt @ Jun 8 2013, 08:33 AM)
hi all i'm new here..
hahaha. hi there.

cloudwan
post Jun 10 2013, 10:35 AM

- Knob -
8,523 posts

QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Jun 7 2013, 04:32 PM)
nothing fantastic due to voltage but nonetheless made it to 5Ghz on 8 cores...  wink.gif

Wow, good clock there bro thumbup.gif

QUOTE(8tvt @ Jun 8 2013, 08:33 AM)
hi all i'm new here..
Yeah right new.. sweat.gif tongue.gif
ah_khoo
post Jun 10 2013, 01:09 PM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

QUOTE(azilazwa @ Jun 9 2013, 10:29 PM)
[/spoiler]
Wow! On air? what is the voltage? How's the temp? prime95 stable?
on h100 bro. voltage is ugly, temp is lagi worse. i'm dead sure it cant be prime stable, not board issue, more of being an average chip. smile.gif

This post has been edited by ah_khoo: Jun 10 2013, 01:09 PM
vaizard
post Jun 11 2013, 04:08 AM

304 posts

hello guys..im planning to oc my cpu..this is my very 1st attempt to do oc..my spec is as below..

mobo: gigabyte ma 785gt ud3h (4phase)
cpu : phenom ii x6 1055T
ram : 4gb team elite ddr3 1333
cooler : cm hyper 212+

so im planning to oc to 3.4ghz..im just wondering with my spec as above am i able to achieve it.?TQIA
ah_khoo
post Jun 11 2013, 08:28 AM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

QUOTE(vaizard @ Jun 11 2013, 04:08 AM)
hello guys..im planning to oc my cpu..this is my very 1st attempt to do oc..my spec is as below..

mobo: gigabyte ma 785gt ud3h (4phase)
cpu : phenom ii x6 1055T
ram : 4gb team elite ddr3 1333
cooler : cm hyper 212+

so im planning to oc to 3.4ghz..im just wondering with my spec as above am i able to achieve it.?TQIA
i believe u can, but at d expense of having lower ram freq & mebe imc freq. since it's a locked chip u can only play with htt oc. if u have no plan to use lower cpu multi then htt should be @ 243, with 1600 ram divider that will take ya ram near to 2000MHz, something i think might be a bit challengin for d board & d ram. i mite be wrong thou. smile.gif

This post has been edited by ah_khoo: Jun 11 2013, 09:04 AM
vaizard
post Jun 12 2013, 01:10 AM

304 posts

QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Jun 11 2013, 08:28 AM)
i believe u can, but at d expense of having lower ram freq & mebe imc freq. since it's a locked chip u can only play with htt oc. if u have no plan to use lower cpu multi then htt should be @ 243, with 1600 ram divider that will take ya ram near to 2000MHz, something i think might be a bit challengin for d board & d ram. i mite be wrong thou.  smile.gif
tq so much for ur reply..but...honestly..im so sorry because i dont understand most of the things that u said.. sweat.gif so what is imc freq?what is htt oc?so r u suggesting that i need at least 1600 ram to able achieve 3.4?tq..
ah_khoo
post Jun 12 2013, 12:34 PM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

imc (integrated mem ctrler) is referring to cpu nb (north bridge) or some just call it nb. d multiplier should be adjustable in bios if ya board is oc ready. smile.gif

htt = front size bus (fsb) of old, ppl used to call it fsb last time. biggrin.gif

u need to use lower ram divider to make ya ram runnin @ 1600MHz because d pair might not be able to handle 2000MHz if u oc the htt (fsb), since that's d only way to oc a 1055t which doesn't come with unlocked CPU multiplier. wink.gif
matsom
post Jun 12 2013, 12:41 PM

124 posts

The new eight-core 5GHz FX-9590 and 4.7GHz FX-9370 feature AMD’s latest “Piledriver” architecture, which was designed to allow higher clock speeds. They also come “unlocked,” which means that end users are free to push their clock speeds and voltage levels even higher. but with the risk that the chips may overheat.

http://www.pcworld.com/article/2041341/amd...-will-care.html

few will care? drool.gif

pspslim007
post Jun 20 2013, 06:13 PM

701 posts

hey guys , any comments on my PC ? @.@

ah_khoo
post Jun 24 2013, 01:02 PM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

QUOTE(pspslim007 @ Jun 20 2013, 06:13 PM)
what kinda commend ur lookin for sir? spec wise quite ok but if u wanna play more with d fx that's not really d best board out there. 7oo series chipset is kinda old & u can better utilize d chip with 900 series chipset based board. smile.gif
cloudwan
post Jun 24 2013, 01:09 PM

- Knob -
8,523 posts

QUOTE(pspslim007 @ Jun 20 2013, 06:13 PM)
QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Jun 24 2013, 01:02 PM)
what kinda commend ur lookin for sir? spec wise quite ok but if u wanna play more with d fx that's not really d best board out there. 7oo series chipset is kinda old & u can better utilize d chip with 900 series chipset based board.  smile.gif
Just notice his pc spec, seems kinda himbar.. Mobo could do better, atleast maybe a ASUS M5A97 r2.0 lor.. biggrin.gif
Wan.Him
post Jun 27 2013, 04:39 PM

1,073 posts

hye, i want to OC my cpu, can suggest me a very good mobo

current spec =

AMD FX 8350
Asrock 970 Extreme 3 R 2.0 ( i believe this motherboard cant OC well)
Kingston Hyper X DDR 3 1600
Tagan 700 W PSU

i want to OC to 5 GHZ maybe
cloudwan
post Jun 27 2013, 04:48 PM

- Knob -
8,523 posts

QUOTE(Wan.Him @ Jun 27 2013, 04:39 PM)
hye, i want to OC my cpu, can suggest me a very good mobo

current spec =

AMD FX 8350
Asrock 970 Extreme 3 R 2.0 ( i believe this motherboard cant OC well)
Kingston Hyper X DDR 3 1600
Tagan 700 W PSU

i want to OC to 5 GHZ maybe
Without a budget set, i can say ASUS Crosshair V Formula Z is the best.. biggrin.gif

105 Pages « < 89 90 91 92 93 > » Top

0.0192sec    0.41    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 11:35 PM