126 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Bottom

Working in Singapore v7

SUSalaskanbunny
post Jul 13 2011, 01:11 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jul 12 2011, 09:30 AM)
credit cards awesome as long as you got discipline lor. I learned the hard way first 2years of work. somehow buy here buy there managed to rack up one entire year salary worth of cc debt. took another 2 years to dig out of the hole lol.
whoa.... 1 year salary worth of debt? are you gay? or are a nerd? gila meh... lol
QUOTE(toda6866 @ Jul 12 2011, 11:22 AM)
aih worked in sg for a yr edi... so boring nothing to do...
never see you hanging out with us also
QUOTE(monsta2011 @ Jul 12 2011, 10:16 PM)
This may be a stupid question but are PRs required to serve NS?
1st gen no, 2nd gen yes
QUOTE(I-Kurosaki @ Jul 12 2011, 11:00 PM)
hello, to all bros working in sg. This kind of questions pop in every now and then, but I will love to have ur opinions guys. Just recently, I was offered a job with a basic of $6k. Further details like benefits yet to be determined/discussed. Working location is in Jurong West.

my question is:
1) any decent place recommended for rent with respect to the working location? what are the rentals are we looking?
2) looking forward to drive to work. Is that feasible or I should just stick to MRT/buses?

some infos of my background:
1) just married, probably expecting our first child next year. this will be my biggest headache. Not entirely sure if my wife tag along or she should just stay where she is. Thought of flying back to KL every fortnight. If she were to follow, is $6k enough for both of us? Am i looking at bigger area of rented rooms/unit? How much will they be?
2) 5 yrs exp, current work involves structural designs in oil, gas & petrochemical industries. Is $6k sufficient? I have no idea what are the market salary atm in sg. Offered job demands offshore line of work (based in office).
if your wife dont plan to work, then it will be a bit tough... if she plans to work then yes, but you gotta import either your parents or in law to take care of the baby
QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Jul 12 2011, 11:46 PM)
as if anyone willing to admit.  shakehead.gif
u lor, deodorant lor... somemore who ar?
QUOTE(Shinichi @ Jul 13 2011, 12:41 AM)
My main reason of using CC is for cash back and paying for my spendings once a month.
Currently using Msian CC for merchants eligible for 5% cashback. Otherwise will use SG card with 1% rebate.
cashback is good ^^ especially if you're spending for your company... hehehe
kurt99909
post Jul 13 2011, 05:41 AM

709 posts

QUOTE(vincent3 @ Jul 12 2011, 11:36 PM)
Hi every bodies,
i just graduate from U and majoring in mechanical. My result is 3.6 out of 4.
through jobstreet and jobsdb  i had send out many resume unfortunately din get any replies from the company i applied.

What is my problem?
expected salary that i put is 2.6k.
the salary i put is too high???

any one can help??
How long already since you applied?
nicvoo
post Jul 13 2011, 08:48 AM

N|_|_|B
4,707 posts

Hi every bodies,
through jobstreet and jobsdb  i had send out many resume unfortunately din get any replies from the company i applied.

What is my problem?

any one can help??
apply directly to their company from the comp website faster reply....email directly to their HR....tru jobstreet is slow....
Lester1987
post Jul 13 2011, 08:52 AM

2,017 posts

Hi every bodies,

What is my problem?

any one can help??
My friend fresh grad from NUS only gets 2.6k basic working in 1 of the big 4. If u are from a Malaysia uni, I think sg employers will choose those that grad from sg uni over u.
toda6866
post Jul 13 2011, 08:53 AM

303 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Jul 13 2011, 01:11 AM)
never see you hanging out with us also
Errr... i thought of it b4 but paiseh la in case u all r young guys im the only uncle here... anybody in the group past 30yrs old? sweat.gif
crazy25kid
post Jul 13 2011, 09:10 AM

Jack of all trades, master of none...in short, a NUB !!
1,424 posts

So what if you are past 30?
The penang gathering I went even have an uncle over 50. thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
We do not discriminate by age.
But then...I still have not been able to make it for the gathering.
Bad timing... laugh.gif laugh.gif
WyjSwmW
post Jul 13 2011, 09:22 AM

862 posts

Anyone here working near Tai Seng, Macpherson or Potong-Pasir area?

Normally where do u suggest to stay if you are working around this area (budget $450 to $550)?

Just asking on behalf of my friend who is working nearby these areas.

TSdarkages
post Jul 13 2011, 09:36 AM

Jam Bumi
4,206 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Jul 13 2011, 08:52 AM)
My friend fresh grad from NUS only gets 2.6k basic working in 1 of the big 4. If u are from a Malaysia uni, I think sg employers will choose those that grad from sg uni over u.
If you know which Big 4 pays better, fresh grad can expect to be paid 30% more of that amount.

Added on July 13, 2011, 9:38 am
QUOTE(WyjSwmW @ Jul 13 2011, 09:22 AM)

Anyone here working near Tai Seng, Macpherson or Potong-Pasir area?

Normally where do u suggest to stay if you are working around this area (budget $450 to $550)?

Just asking on behalf of my friend who is working nearby these areas.

Around that area.

This post has been edited by darkages: Jul 13 2011, 09:38 AM
WyjSwmW
post Jul 13 2011, 09:52 AM

862 posts

QUOTE(darkages @ Jul 13 2011, 09:36 AM)
Around that area.
So, mind to share where do u stay? bcos my friend intend to shift from pasir ris to nearby that area.
jae
post Jul 13 2011, 10:01 AM

359 posts

QUOTE(darkages @ Jul 13 2011, 09:36 AM)
If you know which Big 4 pays better, fresh grad can expect to be paid 30% more of that amount.
Which Big4 pays 30% more of 2.6k for fresh grad currently? Even with the recent revision in two of the four, I haven't really heard of any firm cases apart from rumours which have been lying around for the past few weeks.
TSdarkages
post Jul 13 2011, 10:05 AM

Jam Bumi
4,206 posts

QUOTE(WyjSwmW @ Jul 13 2011, 09:52 AM)
So, mind to share where do u stay? bcos my friend intend to shift from pasir ris to nearby that area.
You mentioned Tai Seng, McPherson and Potong Pasir, all these areas got housing estates. All MRT connected.

QUOTE(jae @ Jul 13 2011, 10:01 AM)
Which Big4 pays 30% more of 2.6k for fresh grad currently? Even with the recent revision in two of the four, I haven't really heard of any firm cases apart from rumours which have been lying around for the past few weeks.
$3k region is common already.

crapp0
post Jul 13 2011, 10:12 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(ivanswk @ Jul 12 2011, 04:32 PM)
so the welding course you took is it from here http://www.aws.org/w/a/certification/index.html
need a degree in engineering or not hah ? to start off ?
interesting trade leh  drool.gif , really niche market

that why you mention about doing some safety cert, it does compliment your existing profile

http://www.ehow.com/about_5167557_welding-...ifications.html

safety cert is it this u looking at ? i am guessing only  sweat.gif

http://www.sp.edu.sg/wps/portal/vp-spws/&#...ety+and+health)

or this http://www.nebosh.org.uk/qualifications/di...sp?cref=69&ct=2

thanks  notworthy.gif
No degree or diploma requirements, but you need to prove that you have worked with weldings for a number of years, either as a Non destructive engineer/inspector or as a certified welder.

Btw, i am cswip 3.1 certified, i wont go near AWS anymore since alot of clients have regarded the AWS cert as trash due to the number of blatant cheating carried out at AWS training centers, especially india.

I am currently undertaking Nebosh international diploma in OHS. Singapore WSQ isnt internationally recognized and i firmly do not trust singapores implmentation of safety standards though their procedures maybe sound.

I find their willingness to adhere to international safety standards are not borne out of the desire to better themselves but to show to clients abroad that their compliant with whatever the client request. This mainly happens in shipyards, jurong island chemical plants have a better safety culture compared to shipyards in general.
ivanswk
post Jul 13 2011, 10:16 AM

+J
2,110 posts

notworthy.gif thanks for sharing.. learning something new everyday icon_rolleyes.gif
crapp0
post Jul 13 2011, 10:19 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(ivanswk @ Jul 13 2011, 10:16 AM)
notworthy.gif thanks for sharing.. learning something new everyday  icon_rolleyes.gif
You working in singapore as?
ivanswk
post Jul 13 2011, 10:21 AM

+J
2,110 posts

QUOTE(crapp0 @ Jul 13 2011, 10:19 AM)
You working in singapore as?
just a insurance underwriter cry.gif
jae
post Jul 13 2011, 10:27 AM

359 posts

QUOTE(darkages @ Jul 13 2011, 10:05 AM)
$3k region is common already.
The latest batch of freshies who came in last week are only getting 2.7k for two of the four, with the exception of K most likely hitting $3k at the moment, I do not know of anyone else getting 3 and above.
alvin227
post Jul 13 2011, 10:36 AM

299 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Jul 13 2011, 08:52 AM)
The keyword is still "Negotiate". Had a chat with my colleague and he noticed that when he join as freshgrad, there are difference ~150-200 between the same batch of freshgrad being hire, so now i learn it. Regarding the employers choose the sg grad over malaysia grad, this is still your perception, and didn't apply at all times, my ex-boss is more than happy hire a malaysian grad.
crapp0
post Jul 13 2011, 10:50 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(ivanswk @ Jul 13 2011, 10:21 AM)
just a insurance underwriter  cry.gif
You interested in this field? I wouldnt recommend due to personal experience working with the gen y workforce, their rather undisciplined and prefer to work in an air-conditioned environment. I knew a few malaysians and singaporean who worked with me in my previous job and i wouldnt and couldnt get to know them well since they kept on leaving the company after a month or 2 of working in either the shipyard or chemical plant.
ivanswk
post Jul 13 2011, 10:57 AM

+J
2,110 posts

QUOTE(crapp0 @ Jul 13 2011, 10:50 AM)
You interested in this field? I wouldnt recommend due to personal experience working with the gen y workforce, their rather undisciplined and prefer to work in an air-conditioned environment. I knew a few malaysians and singaporean who worked with me in my previous job and i wouldnt and couldnt get to know them well since they kept on leaving the company after a month or 2 of working in either the shipyard or chemical plant.
thanks for the advice, reason i interested is because, my forte is marine underwriting not because i want to join blush.gif old aldi, i been in my own industry for 14 years, cry.gif leg to deep already
i observe the marine industries closely for chui sui (academic) whistling.gif purposes , shipyard, builder, repairer, oil rig ,shipbroker, cargo, port, marine surveyor and etc. notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by ivanswk: Jul 13 2011, 10:59 AM
ashland
post Jul 13 2011, 11:13 AM

40 posts

QUOTE(WyjSwmW @ Jul 12 2011, 06:07 PM)
Why do they have so much fixed allowance?
Well I would say becoz they are d#mn lucky chap. LOL

QUOTE(wseng @ Jul 12 2011, 08:38 PM)
mind to share what kind of position they are ? comfortable office job ..  drool.gif
Ship management.

QUOTE(seantang @ Jul 12 2011, 10:33 PM)
What's the nature fixed allowance? When you say "office based", is that office on site, or in town?

For instance, we used to have accountants based in Kertih (working in the nice, very comfy onsite office... with practically no need at all to actually leave the 'admin' area of the site). We have to pay the Kertih guys hardship allowances which are 150% of the salaries of their peers in KL just to persuade them to stay there.
Office is in town. Once in a while require to go to site but very seldom.

This post has been edited by ashland: Jul 13 2011, 11:30 AM

126 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Top

0.0293sec    0.45    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 09:51 PM