Working in Singapore v7

toda6866
post Jul 8 2011, 10:51 AM

303 posts

QUOTE(yiivei @ Jul 6 2011, 10:19 AM)
Oh~ But, the IRAS website shows "stay or work"... Cause if the 183 days mean for working day, then i will need to pay a high amount of tax as a NR. Sigh~
dont worry

i know a person that came to work in sg less than 183 days (came end July) last yr plus he travelled overseas most of the time he got the resident tax rate... which is much lower

he too was worried about the same thing but turned out fine
brows.gif

This post has been edited by toda6866: Jul 8 2011, 10:53 AM
toda6866
post Jul 8 2011, 11:05 AM

303 posts

QUOTE(mercury8400 @ Jul 8 2011, 10:53 AM)
183 days includes weekends, public holidays, etc.

Travelling overseas for work purpose is still considered working. Hence you count the days (including the overseas travelling) and its more than 183 days, you still get taxed as resident.
no definitely less than 183 days.... end July start work how to clock 183 days? brows.gif
toda6866
post Jul 8 2011, 11:16 AM

303 posts

QUOTE(WyjSwmW @ Jul 8 2011, 11:02 AM)
It's not an easy decision despite we earn 2.4 times more.

You need to give-up alot of things.

Some maybe broke-up with her gf bcos he leave for SG
Some maybe need to forgone the opportunity costs of his car in Msia while working in SG
Some maybe cannot enjoy our lovely nasi lemak + teh tarik while in Msia
Some maybe lost alot of friends and start all over again in SG
Some maybe feel homesick
Some maybe need to stay away with his/her parents and his/her lovely pet dog.

On the other hand, you will be compensated with a 2.4 times more salaries than your friends working in Malaysia.

While you back in Malaysia, for instance (I just quoting an example) you will be eating a loaf of bread bought from Delifrance while your friend could just be eating a loaf of bread bought from Gardenia.

Or you can afford a brand new Samsung Galaxy S II while your friend is still using just a Vivaz (and it's 2nd hand oso).

So, can you afford to exchange those intangible factors mentioned above to a more monetary asset?
dont forget u need to fork out a big chunk of sg salary for high rental costs in sg... n u dont get half the comfort compared to ur cosy home back in KL

its the trade-off....

im saving all my money for hse in future but it seems so far away.... need 20% deposit & prices all above $500k for somewhere dam far away

working in sg sometimes feel like the poor days of student where u rent a room with minimal stuffs n away from home... then u spend wisely n cant afford any luxuries; no car, no fancy restaurants

its not really an upgrade sometimes, earn 2.4 more but if u want the same lifestyle in KL u will go broke...
toda6866
post Jul 8 2011, 11:39 AM

303 posts

anybody here got their PR?

mind sharing how long u worked b4 u apply?
toda6866
post Jul 12 2011, 11:22 AM

303 posts

aih worked in sg for a yr edi... so boring nothing to do...
toda6866
post Jul 12 2011, 04:47 PM

303 posts

hav u guys & gals seen the videos & photos on 'aunty bersih' & 'cant cover the truth'?

bersih campaign is trully like a 1 malaysia thing...all different ethnicity, ages come together PEACEFULLY to walk the talk... not jz like some ppl only

u could tell these fellow malaysians that the huge march was for their beloved country... they brave the violence from the police n demanded justice, seeking freedom

malaysians make love not war.... sadly, nobody listens but I think the spirit is there! go malaysians!
toda6866
post Jul 12 2011, 05:12 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jul 12 2011, 04:58 PM)
what for you post this in the working in singapore thread? hmm.gif
coz we r malaysians working in sg? brows.gif

oh probably u all not planning to return to malaysia in future? i hope could 1 day
toda6866
post Jul 13 2011, 08:53 AM

303 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Jul 13 2011, 01:11 AM)
never see you hanging out with us also
Errr... i thought of it b4 but paiseh la in case u all r young guys im the only uncle here... anybody in the group past 30yrs old? sweat.gif
toda6866
post Jul 13 2011, 01:57 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Jul 13 2011, 11:40 AM)
you are welcome to join us for our gathering. it's a cool group, no age, race and gender discrimination. the oldest in the group currently is me I think, at 28 smile.gif .  just drop us a pm and leave your contacts.
QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Jul 13 2011, 12:25 PM)

saya past 30  biggrin.gif

ok, i will try to join next gather if im around icon_rolleyes.gif
toda6866
post Jul 21 2011, 01:30 PM

303 posts

guys n gals, my Msia driving license will b expiring next yr, can I 'convert' into Sg license and use this license when Im driving in Msia?

btw, how to convert ar? i heard we jz take a written test right? how much it costs for the 'conversion'?
toda6866
post Jul 25 2011, 01:00 PM

303 posts

for those who replied to my question about 'malaysian driving license convert to sg license'

thank you!

for those who applied for PR, i too got rejected, im an engineer n not surprised they reject me coz engineers alot plus the locals hav been complaining ALOT about foreigners working in sg... coz to them, without us, they would hav more jobs n possibly better pay.

staying in sg, we r giving up alot n contributing alot of rental income to the locals... its not all bells n whistles... we only enjoy the conversion when we go back... 4 times/year?
toda6866
post Jul 26 2011, 10:55 AM

303 posts

i hav delays in replying coz i dont access internet all the time...

for those who r not pumping RON95 back in msia, get a msian CC or borrow it from ur family to pump ler... why pay more unless ur car must run RON97

i dont hav a car here in sg, but i was jz back in kl using my family car n i noticed pump attendant nvr comes out from their shop to see what im doing esp if ur car is far from the counter....

jz my suggestion dont flame me if u dont believe, u can drive watever car but pandai-pandai la, try this:
1. pump at wee hrs, where attendants will stay inside shop
2. pump at a big petrol kiosk where u can pump far away from the shop
3. hav a msia cc, when ppl tell u, u pretend dont know jz pump n go la, where got police so free come to petrol kiosk check u
toda6866
post Aug 1 2011, 03:53 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Aug 1 2011, 03:35 PM)
Exactly. Some things are worth the 1K or so difference. Quality of life is so much better.
couldnt agree more! i rented a whole unit even though every mth gotta bleed $$$ compared to renting a room, at least i hav a place call 'home' after work... can relax n enjoy my time leave room drs open n things like that

mind u, its still not the best place i imagined to rent though; air cond is noisy, can hear MRT noise, small unit... definitely a big downgrade from my landed hse in marehsia but this is all i can afford now in sg, if go for anything better i really gotta eat grass from roadside everyday sad.gif

on the bright side, mayb things will improve, time will come, opportunity to move up the ladder then i can upgrade myself icon_rolleyes.gif hopefully!

Added on August 1, 2011, 3:54 pmbtw, jz got a head hunter contacted me, but i guess i wil stay in this comp till i get my PR

This post has been edited by toda6866: Aug 1 2011, 03:54 PM
toda6866
post Aug 7 2011, 08:04 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(capiche @ Aug 7 2011, 11:50 AM)
hi guys,

i've just started work 1 Aug 2011.. my company asked me to sign a tax withhold of 15% for income tax...

where got such thing? IRAS will determine ur final tax value, not dictated by company

i nvr signed such bullshit n i only started working 1 yr ago... i dont think in 1 yr they changed the rules
toda6866
post Aug 7 2011, 08:27 PM

303 posts

i didnt hav to when i joined Aug last yr
toda6866
post Aug 11 2011, 09:12 AM

303 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Aug 11 2011, 09:02 AM)
actually you guys should feel fortunate to be able to stay back in the office.
my job here start at 9-6pm, everyday will leave at 6pm sharp. feel very bored and useless because the company doesn't need us to stay back.
which also means that you got not much things to do and even without you, there is no lost to the company.
employees that think like u r very hard to find these days... my job requires me to work round the clock but i think i enjoy it, even though it means to sacrifice some sleep

the weird thing is, im the laziest person on earth n i nvr finish my homework at school but i enjoy working...hmmm hmm.gif

0.0395sec    1.69    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 06:56 AM