QUOTE(kockroach @ Aug 8 2011, 11:17 AM)
UOB Vietnam ? Working in Singapore v7
Working in Singapore v7
Aug 8 2011, 11:24 AM
5,859 posts Joined: Mar 2009 From: KL in JB/SG : |
Aug 8 2011, 11:26 AM
642 posts Joined: Oct 2009 |
QUOTE(ray86 @ Aug 8 2011, 11:03 AM) I just opened a citibank account in malaysia last week.. there are no charges except for the exchange difference.. the rate i got was 2.430 instead of a 2.45x? But to do so, u 1st need to open a Citibank acct in Malaysia then thereafter open another Citibank acct in Singapore?lost about rm20+ per rm2450.. less than 1%, i think its ok unless you are making a very huge xfer. I know maybank charges SGD15 per xfer but dont know about their rates. Citibank vs Maybank if I transfer $10K Citibank = RM24,300 Maybank = My fren got better rate of 2.4523 few weeks ago (= RM24,523 - $15 bank charge) = net gain = RM24,486 So, you get extra RM186 using Maybank |
Aug 8 2011, 11:30 AM
330 posts Joined: Mar 2008 From: KL,Malaysia |
i am not sure
but i think previously got forumer suggested http://www.raffles1.net/index.asp and http://www.pay2home.com/ |
Aug 8 2011, 11:54 AM
5,691 posts Joined: Mar 2006 |
QUOTE(jungyu @ Aug 8 2011, 10:52 AM) Any bank link both accounts in Malaysia and Singapore and no fee charges for transferring funds in between these two accounts? Eg. HSBC malaysia and HSBC singapore Well I can tell you which bank you can't use. Stanchart charged me sgd50 for transferring some $$ from SCB Singapore to SCB Malaysia. |
Aug 8 2011, 12:42 PM
330 posts Joined: Mar 2008 From: KL,Malaysia |
guys, i decided to let go of the previous company and move on to apply for other company.
There is now another company wana hire me. But then, will they have problem proceeding with MOM? Since the previous appeal ard failed, which means already no active application right? then now the new company can help me to apply directly right? This post has been edited by venicelim: Aug 8 2011, 01:17 PM |
Aug 8 2011, 01:11 PM
252 posts Joined: May 2011 |
QUOTE(ray86 @ Aug 8 2011, 11:03 AM) I just opened a citibank account in malaysia last week.. there are no charges except for the exchange difference.. the rate i got was 2.430 instead of a 2.45x? Is it from Citibank Malaysia to Citibank singapore?lost about rm20+ per rm2450.. less than 1%, i think its ok unless you are making a very huge xfer. I know maybank charges SGD15 per xfer but dont know about their rates. |
Aug 8 2011, 01:25 PM
255 posts Joined: Feb 2005 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(jungyu @ Aug 8 2011, 01:11 PM) Nope, Citibank SG to Malaysia.. you can link the accounts once they are both set upAdded on August 8, 2011, 1:28 pm QUOTE(MsiaqweR @ Aug 8 2011, 11:26 AM) But to do so, u 1st need to open a Citibank acct in Malaysia then thereafter open another Citibank acct in Singapore? that's why i said depending on how much you xfer Citibank vs Maybank if I transfer $10K Citibank = RM24,300 Maybank = My fren got better rate of 2.4523 few weeks ago (= RM24,523 - $15 bank charge) = net gain = RM24,486 So, you get extra RM186 using Maybank Also bear in mind that the exchange rate 2 weeks ago was at 2.47+, I plan to open a maybank account in SG then i can compare apple to apple This post has been edited by ray86: Aug 8 2011, 01:28 PM |
Aug 8 2011, 02:02 PM
484 posts Joined: Feb 2009 |
QUOTE(WyjSwmW @ Aug 7 2011, 01:59 PM) Hi guys, Really depends on timing and scheduleFor you guys who travel often from SG-KL-SG, which flight you guys recommend? I only need the cheapest flight. The pro and cons:- 1) AirAsia (can save u convienient fee as you can pay via Maybank2u) 2) Tiger Airways (the cheapest sometimes but cannot use maybank2u, charge u convienient fee) 3) JetStar (the most comfortable but cannot use maybank2u, charge u convienient fee) 4) Firefly (not convienient bcos near arrive in Subang) Gotto check at least aa and tiger.sometime either one can b cheaper including convent fee from tiger. Jetstar chances are more exp but more convenient and u can take the train, again more comfy than taking bus. But no harm checking it too. Firefly not convent for me, but I beliv it's not cheap compare to other 3 Added on August 8, 2011, 2:04 pm QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Aug 7 2011, 05:01 PM) Come join us drinking on Monday nite. welcoming you to our FT club, with regulars like aloong, alaskanbunny, washabushi, lester1987, yeahs4.1, reign226, semper fi, argiope, toughnut, chrisky .... etc etc. Too bad still in kl.u guys have funAdded on August 8, 2011, 2:11 pm QUOTE(keelim @ Aug 7 2011, 11:52 PM) I hate LCCT (Msia) and BT (Sg). The product mixed and retail offerings are so limited. Hence, I prefer any Budget airlines that depart from T1 (Sg) and from KLIA (Msia). Only jetstar. U always go airport shopping kah?Anyway I think t1 sg got stuff for shop especially for ladies at better price, but Maia klia not much cheaper if any compare to shopping centre in kl. Hence u can take a.Asia too This post has been edited by Aloong: Aug 8 2011, 02:11 PM |
Aug 8 2011, 02:36 PM
6,624 posts Joined: Jul 2006 From: singapore & ipoh |
I like the BT in Sg. Check in queues are shorter (for Firefly especially since the planes are small), distance to walk to the gate is shorter and the queue through security and immigration is shorter. And for Firefly, I check in about 45m before the flight. No need to waste time waiting. Taxi queue is shorrter too. I usually spend 3 hours door to door between Sg and Ipoh.
Aug 8 2011, 02:42 PM
10,596 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Hinamizawa |
little rant here, my application for EPEC visa is still in pending for almost a month. Since I already got some interview invitation from sg company, the visa is almost useless already.
is there a bus that take u to T2 from BT in sg to take MRT? |
Aug 8 2011, 02:43 PM
3,256 posts Joined: Dec 2006 From: Mars not Venus Status: In a Relationship |
Aug 8 2011, 03:16 PM
5,691 posts Joined: Mar 2006 |
QUOTE(jasonkwk @ Aug 8 2011, 02:42 PM) little rant here, my application for EPEC visa is still in pending for almost a month. Since I already got some interview invitation from sg company, the visa is almost useless already. is there a bus that take u to T2 from BT in sg to take MRT? my gf's ltvp visa (using epec) 2 weeks approved liao leh. anyway got feeder bus from bt that takes you to main changi airport. can take mrt from there. |
Aug 8 2011, 03:37 PM
114 posts Joined: Apr 2010 From: ???? |
guys, is it unrealistic for a degree IT fresh grad from msia to find his first job in singapore?
Aug 8 2011, 03:40 PM
183 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Singapore |
I transfer cash back MY at BTI Money Transfer, Lucky Plaza. They only charge SGD 8 commission. Arrive the next working day.
Cheaper than most banks and reliable too. |
Aug 8 2011, 03:54 PM
642 posts Joined: Oct 2009 |
QUOTE(animorphs @ Aug 8 2011, 03:40 PM) I transfer cash back MY at BTI Money Transfer, Lucky Plaza. They only charge SGD 8 commission. Arrive the next working day. Is the rate better than banks or money changer?Cheaper than most banks and reliable too. AFAIK, many money transfer centres in Lucky Plaza area offer so-so rates only. |
Aug 8 2011, 04:06 PM
The rates usually 0.01 to 0.02 lower than what BNM offering. Considered good for me. Money changer rates lousier than that.
Aug 8 2011, 04:08 PM
2,017 posts Joined: Jan 2007 |
since all of you want to transfer this transfer that, u give me earn the $$ better la. i help u change at money changer rate and i bank in for you all. cantik?? if i change frequent at the money changer, can ask for better rate also.
Aug 8 2011, 04:12 PM
This is cash we talking about. Sensitive item.
I rather DIY then letting someone else handle my cash. Plus if you carry so much cash together the risk of being robbed is pretty high. |
Aug 8 2011, 04:13 PM
10,596 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Hinamizawa |
Aug 8 2011, 04:17 PM
Fresh IT graduates have lots of competitors.
We talking about IT specialists and professionals from Myanmar, Philippines, and India who are willing to take a lower pay than us all. The only upper hand is that we can converse in Mandarin. Local bosses does prefer Chinese speaking employers. That's if you work for SME IT companies. MNC then no preferences. I'm an IT graduate and I've been working in SG for about a year now. Know a little bit more or less the trend here. |
| Change to: | 0.0207sec
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 12:42 PM |