Working in Singapore v7

ray86
post Jul 11 2011, 10:40 PM

255 posts

QUOTE(keelim @ Jul 11 2011, 09:35 AM)
Guys,

Need some clarification with regards to credit limit given by banks on your credit card. I have an existing corporate credit card and applied for a personal one 2 weeks ago. I notice the credit limit is not the generic x2.5 to x4 of my basic salary. I remembered asking the credit officer  the impact of my corporate CC with regards to this application of which he clarified that they should be treated as independent cases.  Now the situation seems to be contradictory.

On a similar capacity, I am planning to apply for a CC from a different bank. How would this be assessed as far as credit limit is concerned?  Firsthand experience would be appreciated.
Hmm, my credit limit is 1:1 ratio to my salary.. bank is citibank but got it approved and mailed to me within a week..

As for my corporate CC, this one dont have limit lol..

ray86
post Jul 11 2011, 11:26 PM

255 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Jul 11 2011, 11:18 PM)
oils and fats  biggrin.gif 
i got 1.5x but they give another 2x through another scheme but the interest is 30%pa instead of usual 18.8%pa if exceed he first 1.5x, ur corp cc is tied to the company not to you, so ur credit rating doesnt matter... usually MAS controls cc limit quite strictly

not to church... for me is to my parents

church in sg poor? come on la... their asset sometimes up to sgd 1 bill lor... city harvest, new creation, all gila 1...

i got from uob, 3 days... 2 days later the pin... got limit 1 la, tied back to your company's policy

almost all?
Err.. correction, my comp card is amex charge card not credit card and no it doesnt have limit(at least no one i know reached it), but the liability is with employee and not the company
ray86
post Jul 12 2011, 11:09 PM

255 posts

6k is definitely enough to 'survive'. I do not have a kid and im not married but I would believe its ok.

you would need a house unit so rental should set you back about 2k. Then comes other liabilities. Travel(public transport) is cheap. If you are looking to drive, cars are very exp now(COE is 45k+), parking is exp too. Food is cheap if you want it to be. Other stuff you can shift from your current house?

I go back to KL about 3-4 weeks once for visiting too. It is not going to be easy leaving your wife and child behind and visit once in a while, though cost should be lower(AA dont cost must, i recommend bus though), you wont really want to sacrifice the time you can get to spend with your family wink.gif

This post has been edited by ray86: Jul 12 2011, 11:10 PM
ray86
post Jul 13 2011, 03:54 PM

255 posts

QUOTE(mercury8400 @ Jul 13 2011, 03:05 PM)
From an employer perspective, unless yr MBA is from the TOP unis (i.e. Harvard, INSEAD, etc) the rest are just not worth getting (even the local SG ones) You can never hope to get back yr investments if its not from the TOP unis. Might as well spend time working to get more experience and hopefully get more money instead of wasting it.
apparently you dont know that NUS's mba program is in the list of top 100 mba program in the world and top 10 in asia?

This post has been edited by ray86: Jul 13 2011, 03:57 PM
ray86
post Jul 14 2011, 06:26 PM

255 posts

QUOTE(ivanswk @ Jul 14 2011, 09:49 AM)
18 at heart  icon_rolleyes.gif , have a lot mid 20 here  laugh.gif  i see ..
Im still 24! smile.gif
ray86
post Jul 20 2011, 12:17 AM

255 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jul 19 2011, 11:50 PM)
I think IRAS does the assessments in batches. No way they can do everybody's all at one go.

Added on July 19, 2011, 11:55 pmIf he's hired as a SG employee, and he is required to travel to KL, the company should be providing accommodation in KL.

If he chooses to stay at home, it could be that he forgoes the accommodation... but if I were him, I would negotiate with my boss. Give him 2 choices... I get my full business travel accommodation ie. hotel stay at RM300 per day or alternatively, the company gives me per diem... say RM200 per day - for a win-win compromise. But he should not simply forgo the accommodation empty handed... at least I wouldn't. I rather check into the hotel to spend the company's money and then go home to sleep.
Well said, I wouldn't stay in my own house if Im traveling on business to KL either smile.gif
ray86
post Jul 20 2011, 04:19 PM

255 posts

QUOTE(ivanswk @ Jul 20 2011, 04:01 PM)
wow P2 not bad woh  nod.gif ,  wat industry ?
I was wondering, is there any visual difference between P1,P2, Q1, S? I have seen a few passes and they look like the same to me.
ray86
post Jul 20 2011, 04:28 PM

255 posts

QUOTE(crapp0 @ Jul 20 2011, 04:24 PM)
Previously EP and S Pass were different due to the exlcusion of the picture and fingerprint on EP. But now EP and S Pass look similiar, compared the difference between P1 and P2.
P1 and P2 got difference? hmm.. didnt notice..
ray86
post Jul 20 2011, 09:29 PM

255 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jul 20 2011, 05:56 PM)
haha, and i was just reading a week or so ago that industry guys were expecting more cars to be deregistered and COE prices to drop a bit. looks like demand > all.
Don't understand what's so great about P1. Any tom d*ck harry start work at 23 @ $2.5k, 10% year-on-year increment, by 35 years old also will have $8k already what. Are you saying that including increments and promotions, that you can't sustain a 10% annual increase?

Added on July 20, 2011, 5:58 pm
15% flat rate if you are a tax non-resident. that is, you work/stay in singapore less than 183 days in the year. if more than 183 days then you are a tax resident, and the 15% flat rate doesn't apply.

http://www.iras.gov.sg/irasHome/page.aspx?id=230
Hopefully the COE prices drops man.. a VW polo is about 120k.. crazy.. lucky thing owning a car here isn't a need..

10% year on year increase may be hard to sustain, especially as the salary gets higher and performance/demand is average.. i will try to apply for PR once i hit the 6 months mark.. no harm trying.. probably get rejected haha..
ray86
post Jul 20 2011, 09:46 PM

255 posts

QUOTE(Aloong @ Jul 20 2011, 09:38 PM)
actually i did mine in Msia for RM60 only (reimburseable upon confirmation). Very simply checkup.
just scan over the one pager result which is out within 15mins waiting. thats it. they didnt ever ask for original and they dun wan to look at the big x-ray film that I have to "carry over" here.
Anyone know good place to do a proper health check in SG? I usually get mine done once a year when in KL.. so can compare trend:P
Didnt need to do one for the EP..
ray86
post Jul 20 2011, 09:55 PM

255 posts

QUOTE(me_mbh @ Jul 20 2011, 09:51 PM)
anyone from here is a runner? joining the run for standard chartered singapore marathon run? last day for early bird promotion registration is today i believe
i've joined smile.gif if you got friend with standard chartered account ask them to register for you.. get some discount i think..
ray86
post Jul 20 2011, 10:33 PM

255 posts

QUOTE(me_mbh @ Jul 20 2011, 10:23 PM)
o, unaware on that. too late anyway tongue.gif . which category you are joining? i am in for 10k
Yea, too late for me too.. join already then only knew..

Im joining the 10k for this run.. my last 5 runs were 21k.. but i figured i should stop torturing my untrained body tongue.gif I am joining the 21km penang bridge marathon in nov though.. go so far, might as well run further a bit
ray86
post Jul 21 2011, 10:01 PM

255 posts

QUOTE(animorphs @ Jul 21 2011, 05:16 PM)
Just applied for HSBC Revolution online yesterday. Tomorrow the office boy coming to my office and collect my documents.
Im using the citibank reward world card.. find the points quite good.. I have been in SG for less than 3 month on personal spend and I already have enough points to redeem 1 year sub of nat geo mag, and other mags..

about $80 if I want those cash rebate / vouchers..pretty decent
ray86
post Aug 1 2011, 06:47 PM

255 posts

Lets put it this way, how many % of your salary are you willing to fork out for accommodation?
ray86
post Aug 5 2011, 10:52 PM

255 posts

hey guys, im planning to go back to KL tomorrow.. whats the best chance of me getting a bus? my friend suggested taking bus 170 from woodlands to larkin then take a random bus to KL..

I usually take aeroline so dont really know if its a good idea to follow my friends suggestion
thanks for your inputs..
ray86
post Aug 5 2011, 11:02 PM

255 posts

QUOTE(Jurlique @ Aug 5 2011, 10:55 PM)
ur hometown from KL also?
yup.. from cheras..
ray86
post Aug 5 2011, 11:16 PM

255 posts

QUOTE(tailtwist @ Aug 5 2011, 11:15 PM)
I'm heading back to kl tmr morning as well via Aeroline.......OUG/old klang road area!!
wah good planning.. stupid me didnt know got PH on tuesday earlier.. i check AA.. return flight is $260 sgd.. pain..
ray86
post Aug 5 2011, 11:42 PM

255 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Aug 5 2011, 11:27 PM)
yes, those in the low level f&b service sector

there're those that are bright and competitive.. but most of them will balik tongsan as they can make better $$$

sometimes no, prcs are selfish and aggressive... but i had seen a few that blend in well... the very young ones

3 of my friends did and got it... paid well too ^^
yes you can, but i would recommend trying first coach first.... leaves at 3pm

pickup at novena, end up at bangsar or 1u

+65 68 222 111
Thanks, but im planning to not waste my saturday so want to take an early bus..
ray86
post Aug 8 2011, 11:03 AM

255 posts

QUOTE(jungyu @ Aug 8 2011, 10:52 AM)
Any bank link both accounts in Malaysia and Singapore and no fee charges for transferring funds in between these two accounts? Eg. HSBC malaysia and HSBC singapore
I just opened a citibank account in malaysia last week.. there are no charges except for the exchange difference.. the rate i got was 2.430 instead of a 2.45x?

lost about rm20+ per rm2450.. less than 1%, i think its ok unless you are making a very huge xfer. I know maybank charges SGD15 per xfer but dont know about their rates.

This post has been edited by ray86: Aug 8 2011, 11:12 AM
ray86
post Aug 8 2011, 01:25 PM

255 posts

QUOTE(jungyu @ Aug 8 2011, 01:11 PM)
Is it from Citibank Malaysia to Citibank singapore?
Nope, Citibank SG to Malaysia.. you can link the accounts once they are both set up

Added on August 8, 2011, 1:28 pm
QUOTE(MsiaqweR @ Aug 8 2011, 11:26 AM)
But to do so, u 1st need to open a Citibank acct in Malaysia then thereafter open another Citibank acct in Singapore?

Citibank vs Maybank if I transfer $10K

Citibank = RM24,300
Maybank = My fren got better rate of 2.4523 few weeks ago (= RM24,523 - $15 bank charge) = net gain = RM24,486

So, you get extra RM186 using Maybank  icon_rolleyes.gif
that's why i said depending on how much you xfer tongue.gif

Also bear in mind that the exchange rate 2 weeks ago was at 2.47+, I plan to open a maybank account in SG then i can compare apple to apple smile.gif

This post has been edited by ray86: Aug 8 2011, 01:28 PM

0.0428sec    0.14    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 11:46 PM