Working in Singapore v7

Argiope
post Jul 22 2011, 11:50 AM

300 posts

QUOTE(carefree @ Jul 22 2011, 11:44 AM)
Hi all, I just got an offer from a public listed co in SG...
But not too sure if I wanna take the offer or not since this will be my fifrst time going into SG to work.
What should I know about working in SG? Thx ya...
Not too much on working in SG, you can get the picture just by reading Working in Singapore v1-v7. It's more to your new company and new job?
carefree
post Jul 22 2011, 11:54 AM

132 posts

QUOTE(Argiope @ Jul 22 2011, 11:50 AM)
Not too much on working in SG, you can get the picture just by reading Working in Singapore v1-v7. It's more to your new company and new job?
@_@ tat's alot of reading. sweat.gif
Anyways I did briefly read thru most of it... but still felt abit restrained in a few ways in SG?
Like no car to get around, and small area to explore / enjoy? laugh.gif
Argiope
post Jul 22 2011, 11:56 AM

300 posts

QUOTE(MPIK @ Jul 22 2011, 09:55 AM)
I wonder how many of you intend to:-

(A) stay and work in SG short term for 3 to 5 years or PR wins the next GE and will be announce the new federal government.

(B) stay and work in SG mid-term for 5 to 10 years regardless what will happen unless SG got an earthquake.

© stay and work in SG long-term for 10 years & above or as long as RM2.40 = $1.00

(D) stay, start a family, raise ur children and work in SG till retirement...

I only falls into category (A) bcos too much commitment back at my hometown.
Modified B. I'm gonna stay here for 5-10 years so long my parents back home do not require my immediate attention.
Tigerr
post Jul 22 2011, 12:08 PM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(carefree @ Jul 22 2011, 11:54 AM)
@_@ tat's alot of reading.  sweat.gif
Anyways I did briefly read thru most of it... but still felt abit restrained in a few ways in SG?
Like no car to get around, and small area to explore / enjoy?  laugh.gif
At the start, you shall learn to take bus/MRT/Taxi to go around. To maintain a car is expensive here, just the monthly HDB parking fee in a multi storey car park is $90 and the fuel around $2.00/liters and the parkings fees and the ERP(TOLL) charges and the car services/maintanance fees and if kena traffic summons....headahce.... rclxub.gif

It is not hard to mix around as there are lots of people like you in Singapore. You can hang out with those forumers here which they may have gatherings altough i have never joined them before. Also, can go join some activities at their community center if they accept you. Can dance aerobic with the uncle/aunties there, may be got taichi, wing chun. tongue.gif , also, can join the local people for some basketball/badminton/ping pong games. Also can hang out at the shopping malls for movies.
mercury8400
post Jul 22 2011, 01:09 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(Tigerr @ Jul 22 2011, 12:08 PM)
At the start, you shall learn to take bus/MRT/Taxi to go around. To maintain a car is expensive here, just the monthly HDB parking fee in a multi storey car park is $90 and the fuel around $2.00/liters and the parkings fees and the ERP(TOLL) charges and the car services/maintanance fees and if kena traffic summons....headahce.... rclxub.gif

It is not hard to mix around as there are lots of people like you in Singapore. You can hang out with those forumers here which they may have gatherings altough i have never joined them before. Also, can go join some activities at their community center if they accept you. Can dance aerobic with the uncle/aunties there, may be got taichi, wing chun. tongue.gif , also, can join the local people for some basketball/badminton/ping pong games. Also can hang out at the shopping malls for movies.
but i dun like the malls here...all of them very small and sempit... even for vivocity the supposely biggest mall in SG when compare to midvalley or 1u i think no comparison....
carefree
post Jul 22 2011, 01:21 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(Tigerr @ Jul 22 2011, 12:08 PM)

Lol... understand. I do think SG cars are expensive as well. One mid sized car can costs $80K rclxub.gif

Well, shopping malls are small, and some of them seems have been left for quite a long time and abandoned like tat. And, most of the shopping malls here carry most of the same stuff, dont you think?
Erm, btw my age is not till uncle/aunties yet laa... tongue.gif
Understood... but if I take up this offer, I think I will be short term in SG, well at least that's what I think for now sweat.gif
animorphs
post Jul 22 2011, 01:37 PM

183 posts

2.5 by CNY please. smile.gif
ivanswk
post Jul 22 2011, 01:49 PM

+J
2,110 posts

QUOTE(carefree @ Jul 22 2011, 01:21 PM)
Lol... understand. I do think SG cars are expensive as well. One mid sized car can costs $80K  rclxub.gif

Well, shopping malls are small, and some of them seems have been left for quite a long time and abandoned like tat. And, most of the shopping malls here carry most of the same stuff, dont you think?
Erm, btw my age is not till uncle/aunties yet laa...  tongue.gif
Understood... but if I take up this offer, I think I will be short term in SG, well at least that's what I think for now  sweat.gif
wah belum datang thinking of car, elite thumbup.gif
shopping malls are small, sure or not ? hmm.gif
carry the same stuf, u sure or not ? blink.gif
age subjective, most here at 18 only (at heart)

short term in singapore, going to hit 2.5 soon , there is no turning back brows.gif

Added on July 22, 2011, 1:56 pm

(A) stay and work in SG short term for 3 to 5 years or PR wins the next GE and will be announce the new federal government.

(B) stay and work in SG mid-term for 5 to 10 years regardless what will happen unless SG got an earthquake.

© stay and work in SG long-term for 10 years & above or as long as RM2.40 = $1.00

interesting question, bump this so other member can contribute icon_question.gif

This post has been edited by ivanswk: Jul 22 2011, 01:56 PM
tailtwist
post Jul 22 2011, 02:00 PM

1,564 posts

QUOTE(animorphs @ Jul 22 2011, 01:37 PM)
2.5 by CNY please. smile.gif
Here's the trend of the exchange rates....at the start of the year..aka nearby CNY..the rates will be normally at its lowest...but towards the end of the year....aug-sept-oct-nov...the rates will be higher...as u can see now the rates are higher compared to the beginning of the year...so if u wanna exchange SGD-MYR....around this time of the year will be a good time...after that...nov-dec-jan it will start to drop...
reason...lotsa MYsian like u n me will need MYR during CNY...so lotsa ppl sell SGD..therefore SGD drops.....

Added on July 22, 2011, 2:02 pm

I would choose C...but planning to start a family....kids will be much later on...retire?probably will retire back in MY lor

This post has been edited by tailtwist: Jul 22 2011, 02:02 PM
carefree
post Jul 22 2011, 02:02 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(ivanswk @ Jul 22 2011, 01:49 PM)
wah belum datang thinking of car, elite  thumbup.gif
shopping malls are small, sure or not ?  hmm.gif
carry the same stuf, u sure or not ?  blink.gif
age subjective, most here at 18 only (at heart)

short term in singapore, going to hit 2.5 soon , there is no turning back  brows.gif

Added on July 22, 2011, 1:56 pm

interesting question, bump this so other member can contribute  icon_question.gif
Coz I like to drive car tongue.gif But if the costs of owning one is too high, I will not get one then.
Erm, most of them are small, maybe I did not explore enough? Lol...
Err carry same stuff, I think so coz just the other day I saw one person wearing the same clothes I am... tat i bought in sg. small place... or im just unlucky tat day
Age is age, well feeling young is also a good thing laugh.gif

Turning back o not depends on the work environment i am going to get in SG... might change my mind, might not as well
deodorant
post Jul 22 2011, 02:11 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(tailtwist @ Jul 22 2011, 02:00 PM)
reason...lotsa MYsian like u n me will need MYR during CNY...so lotsa ppl sell SGD..therefore SGD drops...

er ... how about no? i'm not in the FX line but I'm almost certain that us small retail players have little to no influence on exchange rates.
seantang
post Jul 22 2011, 02:33 PM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jul 22 2011, 02:11 PM)
er ... how about no? i'm not in the FX line but I'm almost certain that us small retail players have little to no influence on exchange rates.
I agree. Retail currency buyers like us are small fry in terms of moving forex rates.

If any slowdown is observed during CNY period, I reckon it's due to the fact that SG's mfg sector shuts down for a couple of weeks during that period, plus its slower leading and out of the period. Exports are down, demand for SGD also down. Same for service sector as people balik kampung. Lots of PRs leaving SG and Chinese / Taiwanese / HK / Malaysian tourists mostly stay away.
tailtwist
post Jul 22 2011, 04:54 PM

1,564 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jul 22 2011, 02:11 PM)
well if its no...then somehow/someone/something is making the exchange rates to go up/down...so that's just my observation for the past few years

Added on July 22, 2011, 4:56 pm
QUOTE(seantang @ Jul 22 2011, 02:33 PM)
I agree. Retail currency buyers like us are small fry in terms of moving forex rates.

If any slowdown is observed during CNY period, I reckon it's due to the fact that SG's mfg sector shuts down for a couple of weeks during that period, plus its slower leading and out of the period. Exports are down, demand for SGD also down. Same for service sector as people balik kampung. Lots of PRs leaving SG and Chinese / Taiwanese / HK / Malaysian tourists mostly stay away.
Well...it will start dropping way way before......like a few months month CNY....so unless you're saying these mfg sectors/buyers/sellers starts slowing down their order a few months....still isnt the reason....but whatever reason...i know when is the best time to buy/sell SGD....that's just my 2cents

This post has been edited by tailtwist: Jul 22 2011, 04:56 PM
ivanswk
post Jul 22 2011, 05:28 PM

+J
2,110 posts

as long it moving up rclxms.gif

http://www.exchange-rates.org/history/MYR/SGD/T

min = 2.3694 (January, 23)
avg = 2.4207
max = 2.4822 (July, 12)

wow we in the period of all time high hehe drool.gif , change now or wait hmm
guts feeling will hit 2.5 soon nod.gif

Added on July 22, 2011, 5:30 pmpity those coming now need to buy at all time high also sweat.gif

This post has been edited by ivanswk: Jul 22 2011, 05:30 PM
animorphs
post Jul 22 2011, 05:47 PM

183 posts

Work in SG 1 month = 3 months salary in MY.

If you can save lotsa money then can invest back in MY. smile.gif
tailtwist
post Jul 22 2011, 05:50 PM

1,564 posts

QUOTE(animorphs @ Jul 22 2011, 05:47 PM)

yes....every dollar u save here in spore...its close to 2.5x back in Malaysia
ivanswk
post Jul 22 2011, 05:56 PM

+J
2,110 posts

bump it .. nod.gif

Added on July 22, 2011, 5:58 pm
QUOTE(animorphs @ Jul 22 2011, 05:47 PM)

QUOTE(tailtwist @ Jul 22 2011, 05:50 PM)
yes....every dollar u save here in spore...its close to 2.5x back in Malaysia
hehe both u got it rite so

This post has been edited by ivanswk: Jul 22 2011, 05:58 PM
megadisc
post Jul 22 2011, 05:58 PM

4,349 posts

QUOTE(animorphs @ Jul 22 2011, 06:47 PM)

u sure boh ??? 3months?
now rate is 2.4 only leh...
house rental also so high
animorphs
post Jul 22 2011, 06:08 PM

183 posts

Almost la from my last job in Malaysia. smile.gif
seantang
post Jul 22 2011, 06:26 PM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(tailtwist @ Jul 22 2011, 04:54 PM)
well if its no...then somehow/someone/something is making the exchange rates to go up/down...so that's just my observation for the past few years

Added on July 22, 2011, 4:56 pm
Well...it will start dropping way way before......like a few months month CNY....so unless you're saying these mfg sectors/buyers/sellers starts slowing down their order a few months....still isnt the reason....but whatever reason...i know when is the best time to buy/sell SGD....that's just my 2cents
Anyway, even if it's not what I said, it's still not small timers like you and I moving the needle.

126 Pages « < 49 50 51 52 53 > » Top

0.0285sec    0.46    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 08:13 PM