148 Pages « < 53 54 55 56 57 > » Bottom

Headphones Headphone Amplifier and DAC Recommendation, portables, desktops, amps, dac, lai

hongrui
post Jun 17 2012, 06:39 PM

AudioHubber
1,594 posts

QUOTE(noobandroid @ Jun 15 2012, 05:25 PM)

hoping to find a better replacement for the amp part, kinda feels like a weak link in the setup dont ya think? Bravo is nice and all ok in sound term, but the soundstage and dynamics just aint there
Well next month you will have a TTD to test already.
noobandroid
post Jun 19 2012, 08:14 PM

Audiophile
11,836 posts

QUOTE(hongrui @ Jun 17 2012, 06:39 PM)
Well next month you will have a TTD to test already.
cant wait to compare

QUOTE(vivakarna @ Jun 19 2012, 08:11 PM)
Are there any difference between dac for headphone and dac for speakers?
i think no, cause they do the same thing : digital - analog - converter
TarePanda
post Jun 21 2012, 12:51 PM

989 posts

Has anyone hear / experience on Anedio DAC?

Interesting that someone is preferred it than AGD Ref 7, within USD2k range...
hongrui
post Jun 21 2012, 05:38 PM

AudioHubber
1,594 posts

have a friend who wants to get the Anedio USB -> Coaxial converter. but i've not heard any of the Anedio DACs.
amyhs99
post Jun 21 2012, 05:42 PM

3,807 posts

QUOTE(RiverDrifte @ Jun 6 2012, 01:16 AM)
Hi fellow sifu from Audiophiles,

Just wanna ask for recommendation or advice for this setup..

Fiio E7 + L3 LOD

used with Beyerdynamic DT770 PRO Headset - 250 OHM or 80 OHM <-- any different???

setup for iPhone and laptop use.

to add more poison..

any Ultimate Ears Triple fi 10 Earphones users? recommended?

icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif
LOL.. I have DT770pro and TF10... notworthy.gif But the tf10 will make your ear pain sweat.gif
runemastertan
post Jun 22 2012, 01:21 AM

1,221 posts

QUOTE(vivakarna @ Jun 21 2012, 11:55 PM)
Guys, What are the difference between preamp and double amping? and does all of the headphone amp with volume control can act as preamp to speakers? Tq
There are 2 stages in an integrated amp. The so called integrated amp is called as such because it incorporate 2 sections of amp, preamp and the power amp. In normal context, preamp is the one which lets you control the volume, the tone, bass, etc....

For double amping, usually you can do it with 2 power amps, connected to a preamp. Speakers that have 2 binding posts, which let you bypass it;s internal xover, can take advantage of bi-amping. Of course, your preamp must be able to support bi-amping as well.

This post has been edited by runemastertan: Jun 22 2012, 01:42 AM
vivakarna
post Jun 22 2012, 09:54 AM

1,360 posts

QUOTE(runemastertan @ Jun 22 2012, 01:21 AM)
There are 2 stages in an integrated amp. The so called integrated amp is called as such because it incorporate 2 sections of amp, preamp and the power amp. In normal context, preamp is the one which lets you control the volume, the tone, bass, etc....

For double amping, usually you can do it with 2 power amps, connected to a preamp. Speakers that have 2 binding posts, which let you bypass it;s internal xover, can take advantage of bi-amping. Of course, your preamp must be able to support bi-amping as well.
Which mean that the preamp does not amplified the sound right? it just function as the volume controller from the source ya?

the other question is, does all the headphone amp with the volume control can act as preamp to active speakers?
runemastertan
post Jun 22 2012, 11:01 AM

1,221 posts

QUOTE(vivakarna @ Jun 22 2012, 09:54 AM)
Which mean that the preamp does not amplified the sound right? it just function as the volume controller from the source ya?

the other question is, does all the headphone amp with the volume control can act as preamp to active speakers?
Half correct. There are two types of preamp, passive and active. Passive preamp, as the name suggested, does not use any power, thus there is no gain. Some use this as a line selector as well. However, the main thing about these passive preamp is they sound good. However, since they are passive, they do not amplify the voltage of the signal.

Active preamp, on the other hand, have gain. lt amplifies the voltage of the signals. Power amp amplifies the current/ampere of the signal.

For headphone amps with volume controller, yes, most of them can be used as preamp. Infact, they are actually preamps themselves.

This post has been edited by runemastertan: Jun 22 2012, 11:10 AM
vivakarna
post Jun 22 2012, 11:19 AM

1,360 posts

QUOTE(runemastertan @ Jun 22 2012, 11:01 AM)
Half correct. There are two types of preamp, passive and active. Passive preamp, as the name suggested, does not use any power, thus there is no gain. Some use this as a line selector as well. However, the main thing about these passive preamp is they sound good. However, since they are passive, they do not amplify the voltage of the signal.

Active preamp, on the other hand, have gain. lt amplifies the voltage of the signals. Power amp amplifies the current/ampere of the signal.
For headphone amps with volume controller, yes, most of them can be used as preamp. Infact, they are actually preamps themselves.
So most of the headphone amp is the active preamp la?

Just want to share some information,

Recently i just bought HRT music streamer ii and while i listen to it, there are some clicking and popping sound come out through the speaker with certain song. At first I thought the music file was not so good and I live with the defect sound almost 2 weeks. So today when i play music on itunes, Dayum! There is no clicking sound and whatnot. After some extensive research I found that you must unclicked the max I/O buffer size on Audirvana software for mac and change to smaller buffer size on foobar2k from 50ms to 80ms of the buffer figures on pc. Now, the problem is solved, case closed tongue.gif
runemastertan
post Jun 22 2012, 11:38 AM

1,221 posts

QUOTE(vivakarna @ Jun 22 2012, 11:19 AM)
So most of the headphone amp is the active preamp la?
Yep.
amyhs99
post Jun 23 2012, 05:50 PM

3,807 posts

So for example, if my setup is like this:

Macbook Pro Headphone Port > Martini+ > DT770Pro
or
iPhone > LOD > Martini+ > DT770Pro

If using macbook consider as bi-amping, since the headphone port from macbook can drive headphones, while iphone lod give only line out which cant drive a headphone..

Kinda confuse actually..

Any good USB DAC recommend? I dun wan with amp one..
em0kia
post Jun 23 2012, 06:12 PM

Photography+Musician+Travelling
1,311 posts

Hi buddies,

Kinda new with amps so hope you guys can have some mercy with me tongue.gif
Well, may i know how to see if amp is needed? Is it to drive your can/iem or to improve your source?
And i rmb i used fiio e5 to amp with hipo vb at Jaben and i knew wrong combination woulnt give much effects. So, anyone can teach me when to use what kind of amp?

This post has been edited by em0kia: Jun 23 2012, 06:14 PM
E1 - AKG
post Jun 23 2012, 06:34 PM

Your personal audio store!
6,439 posts

QUOTE(amyhs99 @ Jun 23 2012, 05:50 PM)
So for example, if my setup is like this:

Macbook Pro Headphone Port > Martini+ > DT770Pro
or
iPhone > LOD > Martini+ > DT770Pro

If using macbook consider as bi-amping, since the headphone port from macbook can drive headphones, while iphone lod give only line out which cant drive a headphone..

Kinda confuse actually..
MacBook Pro > USB > DAC > Amp > Headphones

Added on June 23, 2012, 6:35 pm
QUOTE(em0kia @ Jun 23 2012, 06:12 PM)
Hi buddies,

Kinda new with amps so hope you guys can have some mercy with me tongue.gif
Well, may i know how to see if amp is needed? Is it to drive your can/iem or to improve your source?
And i rmb i used fiio e5 to amp with hipo vb at Jaben and i knew wrong combination woulnt give much effects. So, anyone can teach me when to use what kind of amp?
What are your sources?

This post has been edited by E1 - AKG: Jun 23 2012, 06:35 PM
em0kia
post Jun 23 2012, 09:57 PM

1,311 posts

QUOTE(E1 - AKG @ Jun 23 2012, 06:34 PM)
MacBook Pro > USB > DAC > Amp > Headphones

Added on June 23, 2012, 6:35 pm

What are your sources?
iPod, maybe thinking of getting the X19HD. Hahaha bro, can teach when need amping a? tongue.gif
E1 - AKG
post Jun 23 2012, 10:44 PM

6,439 posts

QUOTE(em0kia @ Jun 23 2012, 09:57 PM)
iPod, maybe thinking of getting the X19HD. Hahaha bro, can teach when need amping a? tongue.gif
iPod which model hmm.gif
yuka
post Jun 23 2012, 10:51 PM

ヾ(\ ̄ー ̄)
2,265 posts

QUOTE(amyhs99 @ Jun 23 2012, 09:54 PM)
HRT Streamer II rclxms.gif
noobandroid
post Jun 23 2012, 11:25 PM

Audiophile
11,836 posts

dacport LX
hongrui
post Jun 23 2012, 11:25 PM

AudioHubber
1,594 posts

your budget? desktop or portable?
em0kia
post Jun 24 2012, 12:11 AM

1,311 posts

QUOTE(E1 - AKG @ Jun 23 2012, 10:44 PM)
iPod which model  hmm.gif
iPod nano 4th gen 8gb. Hows it compared to the cube c30 and x19hd? Which one need amping more , and which one can be amped to produce very good sound quality? (which one can be mod to the highest)
E1 - AKG
post Jun 24 2012, 12:18 AM

6,439 posts

QUOTE(em0kia @ Jun 24 2012, 12:11 AM)
iPod nano 4th gen 8gb. Hows it compared to the cube c30 and x19hd? Which one need amping more , and which one can be amped to produce very good sound quality? (which one can be mod to the highest)
Nano > LOD > Amp > Headphones.

Even with the tiny FiiO E6, there is an audible improvement nod.gif

148 Pages « < 53 54 55 56 57 > » Top

0.0330sec    0.44    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 10:41 AM