Headphones Headphone Amplifier and DAC Recommendation, portables, desktops, amps, dac, lai

em0kia
post Jun 23 2012, 06:12 PM

Photography+Musician+Travelling
1,311 posts

Hi buddies,

Kinda new with amps so hope you guys can have some mercy with me tongue.gif
Well, may i know how to see if amp is needed? Is it to drive your can/iem or to improve your source?
And i rmb i used fiio e5 to amp with hipo vb at Jaben and i knew wrong combination woulnt give much effects. So, anyone can teach me when to use what kind of amp?

This post has been edited by em0kia: Jun 23 2012, 06:14 PM
em0kia
post Jun 23 2012, 09:57 PM

1,311 posts

QUOTE(E1 - AKG @ Jun 23 2012, 06:34 PM)
MacBook Pro > USB > DAC > Amp > Headphones

Added on June 23, 2012, 6:35 pm

What are your sources?
iPod, maybe thinking of getting the X19HD. Hahaha bro, can teach when need amping a? tongue.gif
em0kia
post Jun 24 2012, 12:11 AM

1,311 posts

QUOTE(E1 - AKG @ Jun 23 2012, 10:44 PM)
iPod which model  hmm.gif
iPod nano 4th gen 8gb. Hows it compared to the cube c30 and x19hd? Which one need amping more , and which one can be amped to produce very good sound quality? (which one can be mod to the highest)
em0kia
post Jun 24 2012, 12:21 AM

1,311 posts

QUOTE(E1 - AKG @ Jun 24 2012, 12:18 AM)
Nano > LOD > Amp > Headphones.

Even with the tiny FiiO E6, there is an audible improvement  nod.gif

Hmmm, may I know why is LOD needed when there's a 3.5mm hole beside it? And may I know if its better to use higher end models of FiiO or FiiO e6 is just enough?
How about telclast and cube c30? Any good combination of amp?
em0kia
post Jun 24 2012, 12:40 AM

1,311 posts

QUOTE(E1 - AKG @ Jun 24 2012, 12:31 AM)
Definitely there will be an audible difference when you go from E6 to E11  nod.gif

The LOD bypasses the internal amp of the Nano taking the pure audio signal direct to the FiiO E6.  You can't bypass the internal amps of both the Telclast and the Cube C30  nod.gif

When you don't do bypass and add an external amp, you will be double amping.  Something audiophiles don't encourage.  Your audio will still be subjected to the coloration of the internal amps of the respective players  nod.gif

OH! So now i get it, are you saying that the internal amp of nano is not very good, and if u combine the not very good internal amp with good external amp, the result will be neutralized? So that means bypassing the internal amp is needed so the audio data can go into the external amp straightly?

Other than that, do i need very good LOD? Cuz I can find LOD selling at rm30. So if the quality of LOD wont affect much, then i will just get the cheap ones.

For me only lo tongue.gif We different level, u adi next stage of audiophile level tongue.gif hmmm.. So basically the sq of a mp3 is depends on its internal amp only right ? So another way, the pure, unamped analog signal produced by a rm100 and rm1000 are the same?
em0kia
post Jun 25 2012, 02:48 PM

1,311 posts

QUOTE(E1 - AKG @ Jun 25 2012, 02:08 PM)
It also depends on the internal DAC of the player.  So far, only iDevices and selected Sonys with dock connections allow you to bypass the internal amps  nod.gif
hmm, how good is the internal dac of idevices? And does it changes the sq a lot?
em0kia
post Jun 25 2012, 03:29 PM

1,311 posts

QUOTE(hebe0330 @ Jun 25 2012, 02:58 PM)
IMO, it does affect the SQ but not as much as amps would do. Erm, I've heard that idevices which use Wolfson DACs perform better if compared to those with Cirrus DACs. If I'm not mistaken, iPod videos (5.5g and earlier), iPhone 4/4s and the iPad have decent DACs.

And P.S, I'm still a noob too  blush.gif

Added on June 25, 2012, 3:00 pm

And no, the quality of the analog signal depends on the DAC used.
Hmm, is it noticeable? And is there a thing like external dac and can bypass internal dac? And since ipod is a dac, it is a dap rite? A dap can have a dac, but a dac cannot have a dap ? rclxub.gif
em0kia
post Jun 25 2012, 04:48 PM

1,311 posts

QUOTE(hebe0330 @ Jun 25 2012, 04:39 PM)
I guess so. the difference may be mainly due to the internal amp instead of the DAC though. Okay I'll try to explain :

DAC stands for digital-to-analog converter. It is a chip used to process digital files (stored in binary) in your mp3 players, computers and so on into analog form (think of electromagnetic waves) to be transmitted to your headphones/IEMs.

DAP stands for digital audio player. For example, iPod, zune, and so on. It has a DAC chip in it to convert all your audio files stored inside it into audio form to be enjoyed by audiophiles like you.  tongue.gif
So technically, you're right. Every DAP must have a DAC chip in it to enable playback.

Hope this helps.  nod.gif
yup, i roughly know how it goes, and the better the DAC is, the smoother the magnetic wave right?
em0kia
post Jun 25 2012, 05:04 PM

1,311 posts

QUOTE(hebe0330 @ Jun 25 2012, 04:53 PM)
I guess so? not sure about the technicalities  blink.gif
Hmmm, i think it is smile.gif Cuz i read an article about it before. And one more thing, the hissing sound is caused by dac or internal amp?
em0kia
post Jun 26 2012, 11:11 AM

1,311 posts

Hi there, anyone mind explaning the differences and specialties between e7 e10 and e11? getting one of these soon. Ready to spend on these..
em0kia
post Jun 26 2012, 02:56 PM

1,311 posts

QUOTE(E1 - AKG @ Jun 26 2012, 11:17 AM)
It really depends on your applications  nod.gif

What is/are your source/s  hmm.gif
Erm, if ipod classic?
em0kia
post Jun 26 2012, 03:53 PM

1,311 posts

QUOTE(E1 - AKG @ Jun 26 2012, 03:04 PM)
As mentioned before, you don't need the E7 or E17 if it is solely for your iPod.  E11 will do good.
Hmmm, then may I know e7 and e10 is good for what?
em0kia
post Jun 27 2012, 01:32 AM

1,311 posts

QUOTE(hebe0330 @ Jun 26 2012, 05:09 PM)
If you're planning to use it with ipod only, then get the e11.
If you're using it with your comp only, get the e10.

If you want to use it with both, get the e7 (although I don't recommend it). Better still, just get the e17 and solve the dilemma once and for all  brows.gif
E17? brows.gif
Hmmm, read some reviews bout it, I think i will stick to e11 first la since e17's price is doubled than that of e11 sweat.gif
No money wei.. I will start funding and at the same time, go Jaben to audition them.
Oh yea, e11 and hippo box+, which one is better? Or they are good at different things?
em0kia
post Jun 27 2012, 05:50 PM

1,311 posts

QUOTE(hebe0330 @ Jun 27 2012, 01:05 PM)
E11, hands down. unless you find them too powerful for your IEMs even on low gain output.

Go audition both at Jaben, and tell me if you decide on the Hippobox+. Give you special discount lol tongue.gif
So it means e11 is much better than hippo box in your opinion? Sorry, i am not really sure what u r talking rclxub.gif

Added on June 27, 2012, 11:51 pmAnd may I know whats the difference between t-muso and cmoy?

This post has been edited by em0kia: Jun 27 2012, 11:51 PM
em0kia
post Jun 28 2012, 01:57 PM

1,311 posts

QUOTE(E1 - AKG @ Jun 28 2012, 01:24 PM)
From all your posts to date, it really looks like you can't tell the difference of a DAC from an Amp  hmm.gif  Do make an effort to Google for the relevant definitions and applications.

T-Muso is a DAC while the CMoy is an Amp  nod.gif

I read reread reread a few times adi andmy understanding towards DAC and Amp still so-so oni sweat.gif Can the t-muso became a portable DAc? it has the big big usb connector input at one side.. Cmoy will be just nice nod.gif

DAC produces pure audio signal while amp amplies the amplitude of audio signal, making the volume of the song larger.
em0kia
post Jun 29 2012, 12:04 AM

1,311 posts

QUOTE(hongrui @ Jun 28 2012, 08:13 PM)
Correct for the Amp, but not for the DAC.

DAC stands for digital to analogue converter. so it pretty much does what it's named for. converting digital signals to analogue signals. a dac is required for converting data (files, cd signals) into analogue (audible audio) signals.

a digital file in your hdd needs to be processed via a DAC before the signal can be amplified by an amplifier.
Then bro, may i know is it possible to bypass the internal DAC and use an external DAC? Would it be bad as well to double DAC like double amping?

Hi mates, after reading so many reviews, i have decided to choose either cMoyBB or FiiO E11.. Hmm, just want to know did anyone here actually try these two?
em0kia
post Jul 12 2012, 12:26 PM

1,311 posts

Hey there, just got a LOD and interconnect from more2teayap thumbup.gif So when i connect them in this sequence:
iPod classic>LOD> interconnect>cmoy(unadjustable volume)>iem,
the whole song bloated gao gao, hissing terribly loud and very high volume! Thank God i never really push the iem into my ear canal, or else i guess i will never enjoy music again.
Hmm, very disappointed. Just wondering if this is because of cmoy? At the same time, planning to get e11, so may i know can i adjust the volume at e11? And if i set the volume i want thru e11, will the hissing sound produce? If yes, any way to reduce it to zero?
And any suggestion to maximize the SQ of ipod?

This post has been edited by em0kia: Jul 12 2012, 12:27 PM
em0kia
post Jul 12 2012, 12:43 PM

1,311 posts

QUOTE(nordingh @ Jul 12 2012, 12:34 PM)
Why your cmoy don't have volume?

E11 can adjust volume....
I bought from a guy in lyn.
Anyway, bro, wanna know a, the hissing sound and bloated bass is it because the volume too high?
Seriously i dun wan the hissing sound cry.gif Any suggestion?
em0kia
post Jul 12 2012, 12:56 PM

1,311 posts

QUOTE(nordingh @ Jul 12 2012, 12:49 PM)
Yup...  too high more hiss.

i think that would be DIY CMOY.
Yea, it is made by him biggrin.gif
Hmm, having a thought here.
ipod 6th gen>LOD>interconnect>FiiO e11>iem.
will it produces hissing if the setup is as above?

0.0241sec    0.65    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 09:51 PM