QUOTE(entryman @ Aug 21 2011, 01:33 PM)
BTW, added the RM2 vege Chap Fan location already. Just a rough direction though.University of Nottingham Malaysia Campus (UNMC) V4, "A city is built on wisdom"
University of Nottingham Malaysia Campus (UNMC) V4, "A city is built on wisdom"
Aug 21 2011, 01:41 PM
4,122 posts Joined: Jul 2008 From: Malaysia |
Aug 21 2011, 01:56 PM
Aug 22 2011, 08:50 AM
Aug 22 2011, 11:45 AM
QUOTE(DJFoo000 @ Aug 22 2011, 11:19 AM) But the difference is just in Year 1, right? In year 2 you'll start your year in Sept like everyone else. Ya, so you end up losing the summer break of your 1st year and have to do 4 consecutive semesters before your 1st summer break comes upon your completion of Year 2. |
Aug 22 2011, 01:05 PM
Aug 22 2011, 01:13 PM
QUOTE(Cottoncandyclouds @ Aug 22 2011, 01:11 PM) There are alot of foundie students lol, so not quite deserted. The 'no break' applies across 4 semesters, from your very first Spring semester till the end of the Spring semester next year. Well, you have this small break between Raya and Christmas and maybe CNY, but they are nothing to the eternal (well, not eternal but long enough) summer break.6 papers in a week. with no break in between 2 semesters. I'm going to go insane D:! I hope I can maintain my previous semester results......I'm lemming for the Tinggi Scholarship....no word on when its going to open and its prerequisites. Apparently our intake has a choice of transferring to economics when our sophomore year starts!!! |
Aug 22 2011, 01:20 PM
QUOTE(Cottoncandyclouds @ Aug 22 2011, 01:16 PM) Lol I meant that we only has one day after our last exam in sem 1 before our sem 2 commenced D: Oh, should have taken my leave and check them out. LOL!!Played truant anyway, went for snorkelling lol. And some lecturers have really keen eyes; they actually noticed I was absent and questioned Added on August 22, 2011, 1:17 pmIts not really silent actually. Alot of pretty foundie students, especially the gals! All dressed up for the camera. I bet after a year they gonna get lazy and start sleeping in But those foundation students, they are nothing compared to the full lively campus what. As much as I hate finding parking, but I really prefer the more lively campus than the like-a-dead-town campus during summer. |
Aug 22 2011, 01:27 PM
QUOTE(Cottoncandyclouds @ Aug 22 2011, 01:25 PM) The library however shuts at 7, even during exams. We've been allocated a study room, but the foundie students are always abusing the projector and computer there.... I don't want 711, something of McD or Subway is a lot better. But I don't have to wait for food at the canteen. That is luxury 711 is coming to our uni! 711 come just same expensive with the current convenience store, it doesn't bring anything good for us!! |
Aug 22 2011, 01:35 PM
QUOTE(Cottoncandyclouds @ Aug 22 2011, 01:32 PM) I don't think so, franchise= obliged to charge at standard prices If they come in like any other 711, then we could see that coming true. LOL, you seem to have the need of it? (seriously no offense, just kidding!)buahaahahahahhaaha They might even sell stuff for couples! I will really wish they have the hot water thing, make making cup noodles a lot easier! |
Aug 22 2011, 01:53 PM
QUOTE(alexander.ch_1992 @ Aug 22 2011, 01:41 PM) Should bring in the corner with tons of food heated over the oven as well. I really think we should bring in Costa and Greggs from the UK, then that really makes us UK university!!» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Probably a pub as well - it's like mamak in Malaysia - they are EVERYWHERE. |
Aug 22 2011, 02:59 PM
QUOTE(Cottoncandyclouds @ Aug 22 2011, 01:56 PM) I'm really looking forward to the pub buahahhahaa. Sad to say it will never materialise XD Not necessarily a pub, at least a place to hang out at late nights.My friends from the econs school, they actually resort to buying a few six packs from Tesco and lug them to uni. |
Aug 22 2011, 09:46 PM
QUOTE(Sahl As @ Aug 22 2011, 08:52 PM) can anyone tell me if JPA sponsors international students???? it's kind of weird ..... i was given no scholarship or sponsorship with my offer letter nor was i sent any mail..... but when booking the room i had to pay only 700RM whereas everyone else had to pay 1655 RM for the same room.... upon asking the reason for me paying lesser than everyone else, the UNMC Registration Team sent me a very short e-mail stating that i was a JPA sponsored student and the balance of 955RM will be claimed from the JPA Yeah, really weird. Just ask them to check again about your sponsorship, telling them you are an international student where you shouldn't be getting JPA scholarship. Alternatively, keep quiet and let's see what happen (this will be what most Malaysians do!!).i checked out the details of the JPA sponsorship and it's only for malaysians (i'm indian i'm joining mech engg undergrad) ............. i'm thinking their must be some mistake on their part but it's a pretty big mistake to make ryt!!!.....SOMEBODY PLEASE ADVISE!!!! |
Aug 23 2011, 08:30 AM
Aug 24 2011, 08:42 AM
QUOTE(Mr Darcy @ Aug 24 2011, 04:38 AM) Hi. I'm going to the University of Nottingham in Semenyih this September and looking for a master bedroom/room with attached bathroom to rent close to Kajang commuter station or in Semenyih town. Preferably airconditioned, furnished with study table, etc and with Internet connection. I'm an open-minded Muslim male, mature (over 21), neat, quiet and responsible - not the partying kind. I don't drive so being close to transport lines is important. Flexible budget. Thanks. Well, if you want to study in Nottingham and does not possess a transport and has a flexible budget, you are probably a lot better in looking at properties in TTS, the nearest off-campus we have. I believe hardly anyone stays in Kajang and comes to the uni daily, except for those whose home are in Kajang.QUOTE(Sara1122 @ Aug 24 2011, 07:54 AM) Btw, any idea where the nearest HSBC ATM is located? And how many minutes does it take to get there from the university? HSBC could be hard to find. I doubt if there is any international banks in Semenyih as well. There are two local banks ATM in the campus, namely MayBank and Bank Rakyat (or Affin?).Getting in the town, you get MayBank, Hong Leong Bank, Public Bank. Near Tesco has a Bank Islam, and inside Tesco has CIMB and some others? (Anyone who knows this - seems like a great candidate for a first-page material.) |
Aug 24 2011, 11:52 AM
QUOTE(Sara1122 @ Aug 24 2011, 11:38 AM) When I opened an HSBC account here in Bahrain (where I'm from) they told me if I use an HSBC ATM in malaysia they will charge me let's say around 10RM I don't think the charges are that high since it's HSBC. Maybe you can apply a local HSBC card which allows you to withdraw money without charges when you use HSBC ATM. I am sure there are workarounds for this. Perhaps you can try contacting HSBC Malaysia about this issue?And if I use other ATMs they will charge around 20RM |
Aug 24 2011, 01:16 PM
QUOTE(Sahl A.S @ Aug 24 2011, 01:06 PM) wth??? .... my posts are gone again Contact mods. Something is going wrong.the nearest HSBC branch is in a place called Taman Asa Jaya near central Kajang ..... it is exactly 9.6 km away from our campus (probably take about 20 min by car) Available Services: Amanah Service 24-hour ATM Service Cash Deposit Machine Cheque Deposit Machine External ATM Internal ATM and sara ofcourse it will cost u that much if u withdraw money from ur bahrain account.......... what u have to do is open either an HSBC account in Malaysia or any other bank near campus....... then u've gotto remit money from ur HSBC account in Bahrain at a very minimal charge to ur account in malaysia..... that way u'll not be charged 10 or 20 RM on every withdrawal but 1 RM or nothing at all(if u'r account is in mayabank or affin) better to carry dinars with you and exchange at KLIA to last u while ur accounts being made...... carrying the lump sum amount won't be safe |
Aug 25 2011, 09:16 PM
QUOTE(Sara1122 @ Aug 25 2011, 09:00 PM) The reason I opened an account here at home is because when my parents deposit money it'll only take half an hour before I can actually withdraw it here in Malaysia, while it'll take at least 2 days before a money transfer can happen between a bank account from my country to Malaysia. That could be handy to be honest. You must ask for advice from HSBC Malaysia to see if they can issue you with a Malaysia HSBC ATM Card so you can withdraw money from HSBC ATM here without any charges, but only RM1 for any other ATM in Malaysia.So this is a plus for opening an account back home. I'm not sure if I explained this well though :/ |
Aug 25 2011, 10:58 PM
QUOTE(Sara1122 @ Aug 25 2011, 10:11 PM) Hard luck Who the hell resign at this time of the months, not end of month, not mid month. And that is not your issue, you shouldn't be disadvantaged for that. It's their management issue. If they got staff resign, it's their responsibility to ensure the transition is seamless.I had a meeting with my agent yesterday, alongside other freshers. We'll be travelling in a group Anyhoo, the accommodation lady said the same thing to us, except our agent is pushing her to inform us before the University closes for Hari Raya holidays. Apparently, and I quote, "the staff member that was supposed to process your accommodation application has resigned, and your application got handed to another staff member, and therefore delayed." explains why it took so long.. It could be, a lame excuse. |
Aug 26 2011, 03:22 PM
Will be in the campus next Monday for a short while! Preparing to shake the whole campus when new semester starts!!
Aug 28 2011, 10:56 PM
Home page updated.
| Change to: | 0.0212sec
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 07:00 PM |