127 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

University of Nottingham Malaysia Campus (UNMC) V4, "A city is built on wisdom"

TStanjinjack
post Jun 28 2011, 11:47 AM, updated 14y ago

4,122 posts

Index
-Introduction
-Pictures
-Why study here
-Academics - Courses offered (undergraduate & postgraduate)
-Entry requirements
-Scholarships & Fees
-Accommodation
-Extras
-Members
-Facebook Group
-Previous threads

Introduction
Unofficially, we gather here to provide you with all sorts of informations you want about University of Nottingham Malaysia Campus.
It's for current students, for future students, and, by all mean, for ex-students as well!

Pictures

Why study here
- We learn under authentic UK education, using the course structures, course materials and same papers for some of the modules same as our sister campus in UK. This leads us to identical degrees with our friends in the UK campus - you get the same Vice-Chancellor signature!

- We are regarded as one of the best universities in Malaysia (SETARA, 09) and consistently highly regarded by several rankings in UK. Of course, we also perform well on international rankings, ranking in top 100 for QS ranking and ARWU Ranking.

- A lot of our courses are accredited not only by professional bodies in Malaysia, but also those from UK.

- Get a chance to study in the UK and China but pay the local fee here. We get the chance to be exchanged to our sister campuses but remain paying the same amount of what we pay here. That means, you have the chance to pay about RM30,000 p.a. instead of 13,000GBP for studies in UK. You get a chance to experience studies and cultures of China, yet at the same time extends your business networks in the fast-growing nation of China. Duration of exchange programme varies from one semester to one year, depending on the offering schools in UK/China. Link

- We offer a wide range of courses, from Engineering to Economics, Psychology to Pharmacy, Management to MBA and more!

- One of the nicest campuses (I say la..) in Malaysia, being green, spacious, tranquil and the ornamental ducks on our lake!

- Awesome facilities - Computers equipped with Windows 7 with lots of specialised softwares (Pro|E, AutoCAD, MATLAB, HYSYS etc.) and personally, I have yet to kena a virus after plugging and unplugging my pendrive so many times! And hey, did I tell you about a huge building dedicated solely to researches?

Academics - Courses offered (may contain outdated info, most information is correct at the time of building this first post)
Foundation (Link)

Undergraduate

Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences (Link)

Faculty of Engineering (Link)

Faculty of Science (Link)

Postgraduate

Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences (Link)

Faculty of Engineering (Link)

Faculty of Science (Link)

Entry requirement (Link)
The listed entry requirement only includes A-Level as the Pre-U. Please consult the link above for other Pre-U.
Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences

Faculty of Engineering

Faculty of Science

Scholarship

For Malaysian (Link)

For Internationals (Link)

Fee

Academic calender (credits to alexander.ch_1992)

Accommodation
The accommodation here can be considered into three category, namely on-campus, university-arranged off-campus, and privately-arranged off campus.
On-campus (link)

University-arranged off-campus (Link)

Privately-arranged off-campus

Accommodation Reviews

Extras

Rankings

Who accredit us?

BEng vs MEng (by tanjinjack)

RM1000 to get offer letter (credits to alexander.ch_1992)

Signature
Add banner to your signature to tell everyone you are from Nottingham!
Banner looks like this
Just copy and paste the following code into your banner and it will work.

Nice food around Nottingham

Members

Please PM me to get your name listed here, include the info like how others have provided please.

Facebook Group
We have set up a Facebook group that is a chat portal for Nottingham LYN members. Please PM alexander.ch_1992 if you have different display name in LYN and FB for easier screening process. LOL!!

Previous threads
V3 V2 V1

This post has been edited by tanjinjack: Apr 4 2012, 05:48 PM
TStanjinjack
post Jun 28 2011, 11:48 AM

4,122 posts

Accommodation Quick Walkthrough
If proximity is your first choice, then you should look at TTS5.
If security is your top priority, then you should look at Edu Square (in TTS 5).
If new-ness of the house is your preference, then you should look at TTS4.
If budget is your main concern (and you don't have a car), then you should look at TTS2/3/6.
If budget is your main concern (and you do have a car), then you should look at BSS, Pelangi and whatsoever.

Map of the TTS (gigantic full-size here)

Accommodation Advertisement
Check 4th post by Alexander.

Accommodation Review
PART II

This post can also be used when we want to add more info. Any suggestions at the moment?

This post has been edited by tanjinjack: Aug 21 2011, 01:21 PM
TStanjinjack
post Jun 28 2011, 11:49 AM

4,122 posts

-reserved-
alexander.ch_1992
post Jun 28 2011, 11:58 AM

262 posts

Map of the whole TTS area

This post has been edited by alexander.ch_1992: Sep 16 2012, 09:52 PM
capax infinitum
post Jun 28 2011, 12:04 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(DJFoo000 @ Jun 28 2011, 01:39 AM)
Nottingham doesn't do CGPA afaik.
can someone elaborate? hmm.gif
entryman
post Jun 28 2011, 12:07 PM

2,179 posts

Congrats on V4!

wink.gif
SGSuser
post Jun 28 2011, 12:45 PM

In your way
2,448 posts

finally...v4
TStanjinjack
post Jun 28 2011, 01:01 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(alexander.ch_1992 @ Jun 28 2011, 11:58 AM)
v4 finally!!  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif

Thought you might have waited till Summer is over. tongue.gif
I was actually thinking to ask somebody else to do it already. Just found out today the old thread got closed and thus V4 has to be rushed out. Anyway, enjoy the new thread and please suggest to improve the home page!

QUOTE(capax infinitum @ Jun 28 2011, 12:04 PM)
can someone elaborate? hmm.gif
In Nottingham (and the other UK institutions), in determining a class, it's the average that counts.
>70 qualifies for the First Class
60-69 qualifies for a Second Upper
50-59 for Second Lower
This link might be helpful.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/British_under...nal_comparisons

alexander.ch_1992
post Jun 28 2011, 01:16 PM

262 posts

I think under the part "Why we study here",

We can add in the Exchange Programme, whereby students are allowed to spend one semester (or maybe one year?) in the main UK Campus.

[edit] If I'm not wrong the student just pay the tuition fees to their own campus, doesn't go by UK's fee. I'm not really sure about that yet, coz I haven't even begin Induction there. sweat.gif

Link

This post has been edited by alexander.ch_1992: Jun 28 2011, 01:18 PM
hellriser
post Jun 28 2011, 04:14 PM

79 posts

congrates on v4! happy summer everyone!
XIII
post Jun 28 2011, 08:38 PM

165 posts

Finally V4 thread!
How is the hols for everyone?
Cottoncandyclouds
post Jun 28 2011, 08:47 PM

374 posts

Yay biggrin.gif
TStanjinjack
post Jun 28 2011, 09:44 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(Cottoncandyclouds @ Jun 28 2011, 08:47 PM)
Yay biggrin.gif
I am thinking if you can come up with a shortened version of your review? It is really looooooooooong and I doubt if any prospective students will really read it all. More of a summary la.. No issue though if you don't find doing it.
alexander.ch_1992
post Jun 29 2011, 09:17 AM

262 posts

We need a new website. tongue.gif

Or maybe a LYN Club in Nottingham LOL.
TStanjinjack
post Jun 29 2011, 09:26 AM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(alexander.ch_1992 @ Jun 29 2011, 09:17 AM)
We need a new website.  tongue.gif

Or maybe a LYN Club in Nottingham LOL.
You mean the nottingham.edu.my? That's a new one already. Last time one was even worse, at least now we share the same framework as the UK site already.

I am thinking of a meet up among us but are unsure how does everyone think about it. Maybe some days in the new semester.
alexander.ch_1992
post Jun 29 2011, 09:33 AM

262 posts

QUOTE(tanjinjack @ Jun 29 2011, 09:26 AM)
You mean the nottingham.edu.my? That's a new one already. Last time one was even worse, at least now we share the same framework as the UK site already.

I am thinking of a meet up among us but are unsure how does everyone think about it. Maybe some days in the new semester.
No, not the official one done by Nottingham officials. I mean we need a dedicated Unofficial Site, sth different from a forum where we can really put all these accommodation reviews, foods and all that in a more organized manner.

Added on June 29, 2011, 1:29 pmAND SPELLING MISTAKE SPOTTED.

XIII - Chemcail Engineering with Environmental Engineering - Sept 10 to Jul 14

This post has been edited by alexander.ch_1992: Jun 29 2011, 01:29 PM
eXPeri3nc3
post Jun 29 2011, 01:40 PM

It's coming! 3ɔu3ıɹǝdxǝ ♥
9,257 posts

Lol no alumna/alumnus section? tongue.gif

Great job btw.
TStanjinjack
post Jun 29 2011, 01:50 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(eXPeri3nc3 @ Jun 29 2011, 01:40 PM)
Lol no alumna/alumnus section? tongue.gif

Great job btw.
Not an alumnus yet, so don't know what to put. LOL..
Any suggestion?
ArBell
post Jun 29 2011, 07:15 PM

How is study life in Nottingham Malaysia?
I've read somewhere that the exams are more difficult than in UK and the lecturers do not give as much support to the students? So how good is the teaching department there? Elaborated response very much appreciated smile.gif
Do you have a strong student union?
If you can't have your cars in the campus, are there a lot of transport facilities?
How about the rooms on campus accomodations? Are they very secure? What is the crime and theft rate in Nott. Malaysia?
A lot of questions I know... But I really want to know in what I am embarking myself next year, since it will be for at least 3 years of my life.
Thank you in advance!:)
TStanjinjack
post Jun 29 2011, 08:04 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(ArBell @ Jun 29 2011, 07:15 PM)
How is study life in Nottingham Malaysia?
I've read somewhere that the exams are more difficult than in UK and the lecturers do not give as much support to the students? So how good is the teaching department there? Elaborated response very much appreciated smile.gif
Do you have a strong student union?
If you can't have your cars in the campus, are there a lot of transport facilities?
How about the rooms on campus accomodations? Are they very secure? What is the crime and theft rate in Nott. Malaysia?
A lot of questions I know... But I really want to know in what I am embarking myself next year, since it will be for at least 3 years of my life.
Thank you in advance!:)
Study life depends on your own lifestyle and the friends you mix with. You can either hang out with friends all the time or become a furniture in the library, or a mix of both. Generally, it's how you manage it.

I am sure there will be papers that are tougher here or the other way round. Personally, in my department (Mech Eng), I find our papers way easier than the UK counterpart. Often the time, it's a struggle for us if there are joint papers with our friends in UK.
As far as how well is the lecturers, how supportive is the teaching, it really depends on the school you are enrolling in. Do you mind disclose it so forumers from that school may want to advise on it. Nonetheless, Nottingham practises what UK practises, so it's rather direct and easy to contact the lecturers shall you need any assistance. No lecturers have said stuff like "don't find me, don't email me", except for one I know who are quickly dealt with!

Student union wise, I can't tell. Malaysians seem to be less interested in joining the SA (Student Association) and it's mostly sit by international students. Nonetheless, there are some exciting clubs there as well, depending on your interests.

You can park your car in the campus for FREE. Just that to find a parking is becoming more and more difficult with more and more students flushing into the campus. Nonetheless, pick a good timing, possess some great side parking skills, you should be alright.

As for the accommodation, have you read our 1st post? There is a DETAILED review on it. Hope you enjoy reading.

127 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0300sec    0.52    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 02:10 PM