19 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

University of Nottingham Malaysia Campus (UNMC) V4, "A city is built on wisdom"

TStanjinjack
post Aug 5 2011, 08:37 AM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(manthew @ Aug 5 2011, 01:47 AM)
Helloo,

Just got my offer from the accommodation office today. Apparently I will be put into Perintis Managed Halls? (Pangkor/Kapas). Yay or Nay?
Further but newer.
TStanjinjack
post Aug 5 2011, 05:32 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(manthew @ Aug 5 2011, 04:10 PM)
that's ok.. I'll wash my clothes at the lakeside =P

Hey do you guys often go out of campus for meals?
You should ask me, when do I dine on-campus. Hahaha.
No car no talk je, now I wish my car got wing can fly further to eat!
TStanjinjack
post Aug 5 2011, 10:19 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(yixuany @ Aug 5 2011, 08:44 PM)
Perintis Kencana is a lot more stricter than pioneer coz they have restrictions like cannot bring kettle and all but pioneer they dont care. and perintis charge extra if u pay ur rent late.
Pioneer charges extra also. Pioneer is the pioneer of blood sucking in Nottingham.
TStanjinjack
post Aug 6 2011, 03:14 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(Sicarius @ Aug 5 2011, 11:06 PM)
Hi guys,I'm quite interested in the area of accounting but UNMC seems to only be offering the BA (Hons) Finance, Accounting & Management. Is there anyone here who could provide more insight regarding the BA (Hons) Finance, Accounting & Management?It seems to me like a degree that is similar to a jack of all trades,master in none.I mean,for one the duration for the degree is only 3 years,and then the modules seem to be only scratching the surface of each field.

Any one taking the course knows what exactly "Accredited by ICAEW, ACCA, CIMA, and CPA Australia." means?(since they do not provide the specific number of exemptions of papers/areas for each of these professional exams/bodies)

And frankly, "Please note that the programme structure is subject to change, and the list of available modules may be modified from time to time." is a tad bit disturbing to me.If a degree is already established,shouldn't its roots and core modules be anchored firmly?(ie not that easily being subjected to changes) Would appreciate insight from anyone taking the course.Thanks.
Core modules are anchored firmly because they are core, but not all those electives. Some of them are subject to change due to availability of resources (the lecturer teaching the module could have left, and this could happen very suddenly) and also by receptions from the students (no point running a module when only 2 of them enroll every year). Some of them are subject to change because it's not suitable anymore. Imagine 50 years later, will you still be giving out lectures about sub-sea oil drilling when all the oils have been depleted? Plus, such changes could not be reflected to the public in first instance.
Therefore, they put up that clause to protect themselves if the course structure really needs a change, not that they are still changing the course structure.

As for the accreditation stuff, you will need to ask the undergraduate admission people. They'll know more. BTW, maybe you can try to get some input about that course from entryman (haha, if only I can tag him here).

QUOTE(alexander.ch_1992 @ Aug 6 2011, 10:14 AM)
"on 14acres of prime estate, best of msia"

Le reply from you know who.

What are they trying to prove?  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif
Let them be. They will soon find out how stupid they are to compare land size with us.

QUOTE(Nightengale @ Aug 6 2011, 02:03 PM)
I'm applying for the Masters programme at Nottingham next week after my ex-lecturers give me my reference.

However, do I really need an IELTS or equivalent test result?
I don't think IELTS is needed if your first degree is from UK, Australia etc. (i.e. English-speaking country). But it's always best to ask the admission staff about it. Also, show them your SPM cert. You could be exempted from all those if your 1119 is good.

Added on August 6, 2011, 3:16 pmAlexander,

The thing about bus not being painted is because the bus is only under contract with the university, it's not owned by the university. Although contracted bus could still be painted, but I think an agreement isn't met on that point, therefore we have this ugly looking bus.

This post has been edited by tanjinjack: Aug 6 2011, 03:16 PM
TStanjinjack
post Aug 7 2011, 03:50 AM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(alexander.ch_1992 @ Aug 6 2011, 10:12 PM)
I agree with that as well. We need something that won't bother that kid in Monash thread and something that can stands out as Nottingham.

Have been thinking of "A Queen's Award Campus" or sth similar

And @Vit, enjoy your trip to Nottingham.  biggrin.gif
Yeah, the tag thing is a bit annoying. Anymore suggestion?
The Queen's Award and the UK University of the Year was like few years ago, a bit old already, no point using it I feel. It could just end up with them coming up with their own award stuff.
I am thinking of a catchline that can lure them in where when put side by side, we can see who's the stupid one out there. So far this is alright - but newcomers can't tell who posts first and who follows. Ideas please!!
TStanjinjack
post Aug 7 2011, 05:42 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(SGSuser @ Aug 7 2011, 03:54 PM)
lol what's the big deal with monash there? laugh.gif
Well, I can't tell. But I did try to spark something up when they first started that thread.
Here's my response.
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=43939533

Did that piss them off?

Anyway, they really have some ugly homepage. We can have stuff like "informative homepage within. Come in!"?
TStanjinjack
post Aug 7 2011, 06:25 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(alexander.ch_1992 @ Aug 7 2011, 06:18 PM)
I'm thinking of maybe we should put more photos in the -reserved- post in first page.

And about the tagline I thought of "A proud collaboration in Crops for the future" since it's Nottingham latest involvement in the research department - something uniquely belongs to us, something the kid in Monash can't argue with.
CROPS?
TStanjinjack
post Aug 9 2011, 08:36 AM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(manthew @ Aug 9 2011, 02:18 AM)
rclxms.gif That looks undeniably promising! Hahas didn't say when will it be completed though
D= No, it didn't really bother them.. you should've posted something bold.. add some spice into it  rclxm9.gif
"Leading university in creating tagline"?
Hahahahhaa..
"V4, always 1 version ahead of V3."

All these will make us look childish though - more like we really answer to them already.
TStanjinjack
post Aug 10 2011, 01:02 PM

4,122 posts

I am thinking to put all these housing information to our 2nd post, and maybe change the tagline to say "off-campus rental in 2nd post" in some ways to tell others there are rooms to rent.
What wait, where's my commission!!

Anymore off-campus rental to show up? I know there are some, lazy to dig back.
TStanjinjack
post Aug 11 2011, 05:17 PM

4,122 posts

Just make phone calls to the relevant number - find it on our website. No need to treat the accommodation office too well because they were never good and efficient.
I have heard stories about they forgetting your application which end up you being put at the last queue instead of the front one (which you really deserve). A lot of unreasonable and nasty stuff for all those on-campus residents to find out!
TStanjinjack
post Aug 12 2011, 08:39 AM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(Sara1122 @ Aug 12 2011, 06:33 AM)
is anyone else taking foundation in science september intake? I have also applied for accommodation on-campus a month ago and didn't get a reply yet.. sad.gif
i also want to know how far is the off-campus accommodation from the university?
If proximity is your first choice, then you should look at TTS5.
If security is your top priority, then you should look at Edu Square.
If new-ness of the house is your preference, then you should look at TTS4.
If budget is your main concern (and you don't have a car), then you should look at TTS2/3/6.
If budget is your main concern (and you do have a car), then you should look at BSS, Pelangi and whatsoever.

EduSquare, for those who don't know, is in TTS5.

Added on August 12, 2011, 8:43 am
QUOTE(redhibiscus @ Aug 12 2011, 03:13 AM)
This is what I'm afraid of.  I emailed them on Monday and they haven't replied.  My first choice is EduSquare.
Do as per what others has mentioned.

This post has been edited by tanjinjack: Aug 12 2011, 08:43 AM
TStanjinjack
post Aug 13 2011, 02:05 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(MissIceRina @ Aug 13 2011, 02:42 AM)
Hi, I just received my A-level results and they are: A (Math), B (Physic), B (Econ).

Do I fulfill the minimum requirement for the mechanical degree course?

And also, am I too late to apply for it?
Sounds really suitable for a mechanical. Unless all slots are taken up, you should be able to get in. That being said, ACT FAST!
Email admission office, email Dr Cheah or Dr Yap if you want. They are the undergraduate admission tutors of mechanical, likely after you get into contact to admission office, they'll pass your files to them also. Look for their email here.
http://www.nottingham.edu.my/Engineering/D...ple1/index.aspx

QUOTE(entryman @ Aug 13 2011, 09:14 AM)
Hey tanjinjack what about setting up an LYN FB group tongue.gif
I am okay about that - if people are okay to give out their fb profiles.
Probably a more casual and non-official Nottingham group.
Somebody wants to create the group?
TStanjinjack
post Aug 13 2011, 05:13 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(KuzumiTaiga @ Aug 13 2011, 02:35 PM)
Foundation in Science is awesome or not? Just went there with schoolmates today.. barely anyone in campus.. doh.gif listened to Prof. Michael Steven (was it Michael? Don't remember, I'm sure it's M. Steven/s)

Teaching staff are local or foreign? There was this Asian guy speaking like a freaking Italian and it was really weird.. he's from Civil Engineering IINM.

Foundation - 7.5k P.A, is the price still the same? It's P.A right? Foundation is how many years ah?

I'm a Form 5 student in pure science stream plus ICT and EST btw.
Foundation should be per semester I think and it takes 3 semesters.

I can't tell if Foundation in Science is awesome or not, but you need to know what can you do after your Foundation in Science. Please check with them.
It's as dead as it can be during summer because there are no students around - only postgraduates (who hide in labs most of the time) and some summer school students.

If the Asian guy you talk about is the one who I think about now, then ask him to f off. LOL!!

This post has been edited by tanjinjack: Aug 13 2011, 06:23 PM
TStanjinjack
post Aug 13 2011, 06:23 PM

4,122 posts

Also, if any of you want to join Google+, please PM me.
TStanjinjack
post Aug 14 2011, 01:13 AM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(entryman @ Aug 13 2011, 06:52 PM)
Yeah tanjinjack you can start the group lol. Will join.

But this needs some planning, e.g. purpose, roadmap..

if not it'll just go defunct.
No, I won't start the group, somebody does it la. I am thinking to abandon facebook at some point if Google+ can mature.

QUOTE(KuzumiTaiga @ Aug 13 2011, 09:01 PM)
o.o is he in charge of educating future civil engineers or something?  shakehead.gif  gawd i can't imagine how his students can tahan him..  blink.gif

Yeah today I went there.. hardly anyone there.. well, IT IS summer and a saturday.. can't say much.. Faculty of science of around how many students anyways? o.o
Well, he's of someone pivotal in the department I believe, and also plays a part in the whole Faculty of Engineering.
That's if the person mentioned is the same person in my mind la. With black specs?
TStanjinjack
post Aug 14 2011, 12:52 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(violetcaster @ Aug 14 2011, 09:56 AM)
what are the chances of going to the notts uk via twinning for the 2nd year?..are there very limited places?
Attain a minimum grade and got money can already. Then apply when they inform you about it.
TStanjinjack
post Aug 14 2011, 01:40 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(ken2kow @ Aug 14 2011, 01:24 PM)
I want to ask term break mean no need to attend class right?
By default, which term break needs to attend class. Why the asking?
TStanjinjack
post Aug 14 2011, 05:35 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(violetcaster @ Aug 14 2011, 03:25 PM)
what are the min grades like?..average like how much?..cause i heard they only select certain number of ppl from the whole course
50? 55? All these info are on the website, I am sure of that.
TStanjinjack
post Aug 15 2011, 03:10 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(Katrina91 @ Aug 15 2011, 02:42 PM)
Hello everyone:) I will be going to nottingham this coming september, and was assigned to Langkawi Hall. I have visited the hostels last week, and honestly, I am really disappointed with the quality of the hostel that they provided, I mean it's not on par with the price that they are charging. Anyhow, will still going to bear with it for two months first. Lol.

Just want to ask if anyone know how they charge for other electrical appliances that we bring in, like stand fan, radio and etc? was planning to sneak in with a small portable air-conditioner too. Haha.
Sadly, that's the price they are going at, and people are snatching it up if you do not want to. As for electrical appliances, I think Pangkor/Kapas are more strict on this, not that much for the other three. Let others to confirm though. They introduce the bloody limit only after I move out from them - as far and fast as I can.

But always, new students stay on-campus, more convenient.

[tag]entryman[/tag]
How is the facebook group?

Added on August 15, 2011, 3:11 pm
QUOTE(DJFoo000 @ Aug 15 2011, 03:08 PM)
LOL it's not that bad la. It's one big bathroom with 4 partitions + 3 basins. Of the 4 partitions, 2 is for big business, one for heated shower, last one for unheated shower.

Your problem would be clogged up basins due to foreign materials by irresponsible neighbours.
LOL, speaking of foreign materials, when I was living with some Malays in a twin-share 6-bedded flat, there was once a female underwear being hung over the water heater unit. LOL LOL!!

This post has been edited by tanjinjack: Aug 15 2011, 03:11 PM
TStanjinjack
post Aug 15 2011, 07:19 PM

4,122 posts

When was the last time we push through a page within just a few hours? LOL..

As for the facebook group, if it's what Alexander suggests where we do the SAME thing as we do now, chances are the lowyat thread will eventually become not that important. People surf facebook more than lowyat. Then some day we will be more inactive on this thread.

I don't know how the traffic comes to this thread. For me, it's me lurking in lowyat.net and find this thread some day. Others come from Google? How likely is our facebook page being spotted via Google Search even if it's active?

19 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0588sec    0.22    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 07:49 PM