127 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

University of Nottingham Malaysia Campus (UNMC) V4, "A city is built on wisdom"

yenshann
post Jun 29 2011, 08:22 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(tanjinjack @ Jun 29 2011, 08:04 PM)
Study life depends on your own lifestyle and the friends you mix with. You can either hang out with friends all the time or become a furniture in the library, or a mix of both. Generally, it's how you manage it.

I am sure there will be papers that are tougher here or the other way round. Personally, in my department (Mech Eng), I find our papers way easier than the UK counterpart. Often the time, it's a struggle for us if there are joint papers with our friends in UK.
As far as how well is the lecturers, how supportive is the teaching, it really depends on the school you are enrolling in. Do you mind disclose it so forumers from that school may want to advise on it. Nonetheless, Nottingham practises what UK practises, so it's rather direct and easy to contact the lecturers shall you need any assistance. No lecturers have said stuff like "don't find me, don't email me", except for one I know who are quickly dealt with!

Student union wise, I can't tell. Malaysians seem to be less interested in joining the SA (Student Association) and it's mostly sit by international students. Nonetheless, there are some exciting clubs there as well, depending on your interests.

You can park your car in the campus for FREE. Just that to find a parking is becoming more and more difficult with more and more students flushing into the campus. Nonetheless, pick a good timing, possess some great side parking skills, you should be alright.

As for the accommodation, have you read our 1st post? There is a DETAILED review on it. Hope you enjoy reading.
but from all the pass year papers that I've gone through i think that the UK papers are much more easier than our papers...( i am also in Mech Eng) just my opinion..
ken2kow
post Jun 29 2011, 10:40 PM

35 posts

congratz on V4... enrolling next Thursday.... exciting~

Added on June 29, 2011, 10:43 pmTJJ,

BENG vs MENG is still empty,
FOod oso empty.

This post has been edited by ken2kow: Jun 29 2011, 10:43 PM
TStanjinjack
post Jun 29 2011, 10:53 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(ken2kow @ Jun 29 2011, 10:40 PM)
congratz on V4... enrolling next Thursday.... exciting~

Added on June 29, 2011, 10:43 pmTJJ,

BENG vs MENG is still empty,
FOod oso empty.
Oh shit, why is it empty. Never mind, recoverable one.

EDIT: Recovered. Seems like a bug. The older draft version has it kept. But I lost the quote inclusion only, just the context now.

This post has been edited by tanjinjack: Jun 29 2011, 10:57 PM
yixuany
post Jun 30 2011, 12:25 AM

53 posts

Hey guys.. i'd like to know what ISP is best in TTS2?? smile.gif
alexander.ch_1992
post Jun 30 2011, 11:28 AM

262 posts

QUOTE(yixuany @ Jun 30 2011, 12:25 AM)
Hey guys.. i'd like to know what ISP is best in TTS2??  smile.gif
*smacks head* Why didn't we think of that? We could provide a review on diff mobile broadband in Uni/Semenyih region as well! Speedtest.net could be used to benchmark I suppose?

Added on June 30, 2011, 2:20 pm
QUOTE(tanjinjack @ Jun 28 2011, 01:01 PM)
In Nottingham (and the other UK institutions), in determining a class, it's the average that counts.
>70 qualifies for the First Class
60-69 qualifies for a Second Upper
50-59 for Second Lower
This link might be helpful.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/British_under...nal_comparisons
I think Nottingham will be changing the system pretty soon, just came across this on the Net.

Students at the University of Nottingham could soon be given a points score instead of a degree-classification when they graduate.

This post has been edited by alexander.ch_1992: Jun 30 2011, 02:20 PM
Cottoncandyclouds
post Jul 1 2011, 01:00 AM

374 posts

QUOTE(tanjinjack @ Jun 28 2011, 09:44 PM)
I am thinking if you can come up with a shortened version of your review? It is really looooooooooong and I doubt if any prospective students will really read it all. More of a summary la.. No issue though if you don't find doing it.
Ah, I will try shortening it then. I've been receiving messages from prospective students that read the review though, asking for further information.

Will give a shorter one in a few days biggrin.gif
redhibiscus
post Jul 4 2011, 09:04 PM

24 posts

I haven't received my offer letter yet but I'm curious to know what my course code is. Where can I find it?

Secondly, is my matriculation number the same as my application number

viko3009
post Jul 7 2011, 05:25 PM

anyone else just registered today? xD
ken2kow
post Jul 7 2011, 08:55 PM

35 posts

me!!!
what time u arrived?
entryman
post Jul 7 2011, 08:59 PM

2,179 posts

QUOTE(viko3009 @ Jul 7 2011, 05:25 PM)
anyone else just registered today? xD
QUOTE(ken2kow @ Jul 7 2011, 08:55 PM)
me!!!
what time u arrived?
New students? Nice! What course?
viko3009
post Jul 7 2011, 09:20 PM

QUOTE(ken2kow @ Jul 7 2011, 08:55 PM)
me!!!
what time u arrived?
about 10 am like tat. which hall u staying? dono wat to do. shower so many times ardy.

QUOTE(entryman @ Jul 7 2011, 08:59 PM)
New students? Nice! What course?
ya new students. foundation engineering! xD
ken2kow
post Jul 9 2011, 07:50 AM

35 posts

lolx.... erm, i'm staying outside... taking presessional English course in this moment... going to take E&E in this Sept... felt that i might be the onli student in the class... haha... the induction very bore, i wonder the person who gave talk on accommodation is the staff of UNMC or the staff of the accommodation company... the way she gave talk is very boring but she thought she is very good in giving talk... OMG!!! hopefully we will not face this type of lecturer in the future...

Added on July 9, 2011, 7:52 amneed to look for senior for all those software alr...wanna ask them that they are using genuine or piracy?

This post has been edited by ken2kow: Jul 9 2011, 07:52 AM
alexander.ch_1992
post Jul 9 2011, 10:35 PM

262 posts

QUOTE(redhibiscus @ Jul 4 2011, 09:04 PM)
I haven't received my offer letter yet but I'm curious to know what my course code is.  Where can I find it?

Secondly, is my matriculation number the same as my application number

Course code will be printed on your offer letter when you received it.

And your student number will NOT be the same as your application number, not the one with UNIMKL - [Number]
ArianneG
post Jul 12 2011, 08:05 PM

Paidhi-tekikin
890 posts

Anyone here in School of Comp Sci who is acquainted with Dr. Chong Siang Yew (MSc./Ph.D. admissions tutor), or knows anyone from MSc. Management of Information Technology? Just finished my BSc. (Hons) here and now thinking of going to do that course, but wanna know what I'm getting into first, since my background is not really in computing.
jun6065168
post Jul 13 2011, 08:59 PM

194 posts

Hei guys, my stpm wasn't good enough to enter degree in NOttingham so i was advised to enter the 2 semester foundation course. So, i wanna ask how long is the course? and when will i be entering degree?
ArianneG
post Jul 13 2011, 10:34 PM

Paidhi-tekikin
890 posts

Foundation is 2 semesters, so about 1 year; if you pass that you should be able to apply for and progress to the relevant degree program on completion of your foundation, IIRC. Of course please select the right foundation course lah; don't go and do foundation in arts then want to jump to science degree course, not likely that's possible. So make very sure you know what degree you wanna study before you go take up the foundation course.
BattleBoyZ
post Jul 14 2011, 05:34 PM

@ArianneG: Foundation in UNMC has 3 semesters, not 2.

@jun: 2 semester foundation takes about 7 months only. It starts at September and ends at end of May or early June. You will start your undergraduate studies at September again. In between is the long summer holidays.
ArianneG
post Jul 15 2011, 01:28 PM

Paidhi-tekikin
890 posts

@BattleBoyz: Ech sorry pal. Myself I came from A levels so I didn't go through foundation courses, and was simply estimating at around 2 sems or so.
jun6065168
post Jul 15 2011, 02:06 PM

194 posts

Hi again! I am gonna apply for the 2 sem foundation course so i was wondering if i am eligible for any scholarship~ i got 9As in SPM?
ArianneG
post Jul 15 2011, 02:22 PM

Paidhi-tekikin
890 posts

Check with admissions; they should have info. The Uni website also has info on scholarships, but I think quite a few are already closed...

127 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0294sec    0.53    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 05:03 AM