121 Pages « < 93 94 95 96 97 > » Bottom

2011 Kia Optima, when will launch in Malaysia?

cybermaster98
post Apr 4 2012, 08:49 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(kenso77 @ Apr 4 2012, 08:39 AM)
Which part of remote jungles of Malaysia do you stay? Or maybe you have a desk bound job surrounded by 4 walls without windows that does not allow you to see the outside world? Not a day passes where I don't see at least one when I'm in the city.
He rents in Mont Kiara (or so he claims) and drives around alot in Uptown and SS2 areas. He even chased a Camry owner once from SS2 to Kepong just cuz that car refused to allow him to jump queue & cut in at the traffic light. That's the kind of mentality that he has. You can see that from his posts. Typical ah beng. Would you respect such a person? Surely not.

SS2 and Uptown are areas where ive seen the Sportage too. But when someone practices selective sight im sure he can even say he's seen more Bentley's than Sportage's. Why do u think i think alot of his comments are thrash and should be treated as such? He might even say his previous Myvi which he sold in 2009 was better than the Optima. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by cybermaster98: Apr 4 2012, 09:18 AM
kenso77
post Apr 4 2012, 09:01 AM

179 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Apr 4 2012, 08:49 AM)
He rents in Mont Kiara (or so he claims) and drives around alot in Uptown and SS2 areas. These are the prime areas where ive seen the Sportage too. But when someone practices selective sight im sure he can even say he's seen more Bentley's than Sportage's. Why do u think i think alot of his comments are thrash and should be treated as such? He might even say his previous Myvi which he sold in 2009 was better than the Optima.  laugh.gif
MyVi is better mah .... easy to park, SCs everywhere, some might even argue that the after sales service is better than Naza, better resale value in terms of depreciation

Of course, like you say, that's being very selective and ignoring every other positives and improvements Hyundai/Kia has brought to the automotive world. laugh.gif
K5WHITE
post Apr 4 2012, 09:38 AM

92 posts

my guess, these ppl who suddenly show up at thread page 90+ are from t&h marketing ppl...

directed by their manager to prep for new d-segment launch of theirs...

or maybe, done by their own desperate manager who create multiple acc to halau fence-sitter customers in this d-segment

and it is crazy and unfounded facts for them to say d-segment 2.0 optima is underpowered if u compare with camry/accord/teana 2.0.
and even hospital gembira dont accept them if they say korean tech in this K5 sucks...ask them to write down spec sheets and compare between above mentioned models

This post has been edited by K5WHITE: Apr 4 2012, 10:04 AM
digitheatre
post Apr 4 2012, 10:20 AM

654 posts

QUOTE(kevin23 @ Apr 4 2012, 07:05 AM)

Just look at the Sportage,it looks so nice ,but how often u see them on the road? HARDLY! Good design will win you a few fans overnight but wont last long.Great driving charecteristics and a design that will last a long time will win you  loyalists.
just because u can't see the car alot on the road.. it is a bad car? just because u see alot of wira, kancil, vios etc. on the road, it is an excellent car? some more judgement is what u've seen on malaysia road, where T&H and 'resale value' is king.

sportage is selling like hot cakes in whole over the world, and naza can bring limited amount of sportage despite the high demand. they even need to perform semi-knocked-down practise (ehem ehem). that's why u see only few on the road. well, not that I care anyway, it make me feel i'm driving a rare car hehe. when u start seeing every branch has lots of ready stock and each of them offering test drive, then u can start asking.

sportage is a great car, I changed from civic FD to this. and finally I feel it is worth every money I spent for this car, thumbup.gif instead of being ripped-off by HM previously.
cybermaster98
post Apr 4 2012, 10:36 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(digitheatre @ Apr 4 2012, 10:20 AM)
just because u can't see the car alot on the road.. it is a bad car? just because u see alot of wira, kancil, vios etc. on the road, it is an excellent car? some more judgement is what u've seen on malaysia road, where T&H and 'resale value' is king.

sportage is selling like hot cakes in whole over the world, and naza can bring limited amount of sportage despite the high demand. they even need to perform semi-knocked-down practise (ehem ehem). that's why u see only few on the road. well, not that I care anyway, it make me feel i'm driving a rare car hehe. when u start seeing every branch has lots of ready stock and each of them offering test drive, then u can start asking.

sportage is a great car, I changed from civic FD to this. and finally I feel it is worth every money I spent for this car, thumbup.gif  instead of being ripped-off by HM previously.
Yes as u probably know, ive been going around to various showrooms testing out the Optima and all have the same story to say about the Sportage. Once any unit arrives, its immediately shipped off to a waiting buyer. Ive personally seen some showrooms which have taken delivery of about 10 Sportages and in 2 days all are gone. If u dont believe me, check out Kia Ipoh and Red Cube PJ. Its not just empty talk. You cant even have a chance to sit in the Sportage cuz everything is already owned and ready to be delivered.

After about 8 months of waiting and checking showrooms, i only managed to sit in a Sportage during the 1 Utama road show. That should tell you how good their sales are. But starting this month, u will be seeing more Sportages on the road since they started the CKD lines already.

I test drove the Sportage during the 1U road show. Also changed the test drive route to include a high speed dash from 1U to the traffic lights before the Penchala Link and back. Did 2 runs as a driver and another one as a rear seat passenger. We had a full load and i was impressed with the Sportage. Despite the entra car weight and 5 adults, there was decent power & torque. Cornering ability and overall handling was good too for a high SUV. Rear seat wasnt cramped with 3 adults.

But i still prefer the Optima. Feels more powerful and more interior space. Im more into sedans compared to SUV's but anybody buying a Sportage will get the thumbs up from me for a great choice at RM138,888.

http://paultan.org/2011/06/21/kia-sportage...in-at-rm138888/

K5WHITE
post Apr 4 2012, 11:11 AM

92 posts

QUOTE(zrill @ Apr 3 2012, 03:54 PM)
Dear All,

Me and Bro Irangan we discussing. We would like to check if anyone are interested to have our first K5 TT session?

Date: 7 April 2012 Saturday
Time: 9.00am
Venue: Awan Besar R&R at Kesas Highway.
Who: K5 owners and basically anyone. No restriction smile.gif

As for the venue, I am suggesting Awan Besar R&R becoz our Sonatarians bros always have their TT there. Any other suggestions as to venue or time are welcomed..

1. Zrill - (White)

Thank you
cant join...working on saturday cry.gif
sam sam
post Apr 4 2012, 11:12 AM

814 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Apr 4 2012, 10:36 AM)
Yes as u probably know, ive been going around to various showrooms testing out the Optima and all have the same story to say about the Sportage. Once any unit arrives, its immediately shipped off to a waiting buyer. Ive personally seen some showrooms which have taken delivery of about 10 Sportages and in 2 days all are gone. If u dont believe me, check out Kia Ipoh and Red Cube PJ. Its not just empty talk. You cant even have a chance to sit in the Sportage cuz everything is already owned and ready to be delivered.

After about 8 months of waiting and checking showrooms, i only managed to sit in a Sportage during the 1 Utama road show. That should tell you how good their sales are. But starting this month, u will be seeing more Sportages on the road since they started the CKD lines already.

I test drove the Sportage during the 1U road show. Also changed the test drive route to include a high speed dash from 1U to the traffic lights before the Penchala Link and back. Did 2 runs as a driver and another one as a rear seat passenger. We had a full load and i was impressed with the Sportage. Despite the entra car weight and 5 adults, there was decent power & torque. Cornering ability and overall handling was good too for a high SUV. Rear seat wasnt cramped with 3 adults.

But i still prefer the Optima. Feels more powerful and more interior space. Im more into sedans compared to SUV's but anybody buying a Sportage will get the thumbs up from me for a great choice at RM138,888.

http://paultan.org/2011/06/21/kia-sportage...in-at-rm138888/
actually for both cars the performance becomes better after 1K service to 2K. THe engine opens up
test drive a stock sportage and a 6months old sportage the difference is in the pickup
Same for the tucson as i was offered a 1 year tucson feels different than a new tucson test drive unit

On the sportage at glenmarrie i remember seing like 6 cars, they were all gone and the next week another 5 cars all gone again

sportage and optima sell like goreng pisang

Added on April 4, 2012, 11:15 am
QUOTE(w111w @ Apr 3 2012, 10:39 PM)
Today went to test drive k5...

Not much power. No oomp...

The exterior is too stylish....will easily outdate...
Interior not so comfort....as well

I think i cant see any reason for me to buy this car in future.
if you feel k5 is not car in terms of being outdated easily. I agree

the best car is the new 2012 camry

shape slightly different but still using same gearbox and engine as 2007 model camry

so after 5 years still same spec so by that definition not outdated easily but super long

This post has been edited by sam sam: Apr 4 2012, 11:15 AM
w111w
post Apr 4 2012, 12:35 PM

QUOTE(Landy @ Apr 4 2012, 01:13 AM)
Kia Client management Division called today to check whether I have done my 1k km service. I was thinking 'wow', Kia nowdays so good service meh?? Anyway nice that they care for my car...  rclxms.gif
If you really think K5 cannot compete with camly... then you better get a camly..

I think camly is good for you and if you think the interior of K5 is  too stylish compare to camly rclxub.gif  

If you think the interior of camly is nicer and wont get outdated in 10 years time, think again... its already outdated now (for me the design of camly is really OLD)... another 10 years also no difference.

Hope you enjoy your new camly....  nod.gif

P/S: I bought my K5 without a single test drive.. blush.gif
why?
cause I read the forum here and ppl like cm98 and the rest who test drive the car give out real facts, not what they believe or hear from others. I never expect K5 to be perfect but it is way better than 90% of other cars or make within the same segment and price point.  thumbup.gif

Dont let your past experience clout your future judgement! biggrin.gif

OMG!!! Buying a car without test drive... Are u kidding? By just reading cooment by other ppl only and straigth bought k5! ... To me this is ridiculous and crazy act...

Not all ppl got the same preference in driving.....no matter how, the k5 driving feel really not up to my expectation...

Although it got good looks...but tat is not impotant coz the design will outdate soon.... The thing tat will not outdate is the engine hp and torque....

After few years, when i feel the design is boring already, i will say WTF! ! wat car is this??. no power wan....no pick up wan...n blah blah

This post has been edited by w111w: Apr 4 2012, 12:40 PM
stanleychai
post Apr 4 2012, 12:47 PM

QUOTE(zrill @ Apr 3 2012, 03:54 PM)
Dear All,

Me and Bro Irangan we discussing. We would like to check if anyone are interested to have our first K5 TT session?

Date: 7 April 2012 Saturday
Time: 9.00am
Venue: Awan Besar R&R at Kesas Highway.
Who: K5 owners and basically anyone. No restriction smile.gif

As for the venue, I am suggesting Awan Besar R&R becoz our Sonatarians bros always have their TT there. Any other suggestions as to venue or time are welcomed..

1. Zrill - (White)

Thank you
Bro, can i join? but where is Awan Besar R&R at Kesas? Mine is white too!

QUOTE(w111w @ Apr 3 2012, 10:39 PM)
Today went to test drive k5...

Not much power. No oomp...

The exterior is too stylish....will easily outdate...
Interior not so comfort....as well

I think i cant see any reason for me to buy this car in future.
What car are you using? What car are you comparing with K5 in term of power? What do you expect from a 2.0 engine without turbo?? What car are you planning to buy ? camry? teana? passat? Please share your opinion or experience to us but just don't throw meaningless words here. We are open minded and we do test drive most of the cars in market before we choose K5. All of them are good in different perspective, if you think camry suit your taste, go for it ! No one can stop you but please don't talk rubbish here. Whoever bought a K5 is an idiot, bought a car with easily oudate design, sucks interior, underpower....? This is the hidden message i got from your post!

QUOTE(w111w @ Apr 4 2012, 12:35 PM)
OMG!!! Buying a car without test drive... Are u kidding? By just reading cooment by other ppl only and straigth bought k5! ... To me this is ridiculous and crazy act...

Not all ppl got the same preference in driving.....no matter how, the k5 driving feel really not up to my expectation...

Although it got good looks...but tat is not impotant coz the design will outdate soon.... The thing tat will not outdate is the engine hp and torque....

After few years, when i feel the design is boring already, i will say WTF! ! wat car is this??. no power wan....no pick up wan...n blah blah
What is your budget, 200k? If you want a power, don't go for 2.0 / 2.4 D-segment car... won't impress you much! go for passat, Golf GTI, 308 turbo...you are tested a wrong car and no perfect car dude... doh.gif

Totally agree with u bro.People say so many people praise this car,but in real live driving,its sucks.Who are these people who praise this car? PEople who are paid by Kia and Hyundai ?

Same goes to elantra.Before launch,hype up kaokao,win duno what lousy north american best car award lah,and some other crappy award. But when come to malaysia and you actually test drive it,it is so underpowered.Even the 1.8 felt like crap. Lets not talk bout price lah,even if the elantra 1.8 was priced at 99k, i cant seem to find any reason why I should buy it.The same goes for this Optima.

They dont understand that all these awards are actually paid for by Hyundai and Kia.Thats why you see all these korean brands suddenly winning so many crappy awards.Its all part of their marketing strategy.

Just look at the Sportage,it looks so nice ,but how often u see them on the road? HARDLY! Good design will win you a few fans overnight but wont last long.Great driving charecteristics and a design that will last a long time will win you  loyalists.
Whoever praise korean car is paid ? You are insulting all the peoples who love car here... Please think before you post! sigh....We are buying a rubbish car... said by a brainless ....which car do you think is superpower with 2.0 engine? Don't talk to me about camry 2.0, Teana 2.0, accord 2.0 are better than K5, don't compare with a turbo car as well.

This post has been edited by stanleychai: Apr 4 2012, 12:56 PM
w111w
post Apr 4 2012, 12:53 PM

QUOTE(kenrain @ Apr 4 2012, 12:38 AM)
I LOL too when saw this post. Don't just say it is not good only. Show some comparison in figures or facts please smile.gif If you can post like what sifu CM98 and others has posted, with facts and figures, I might be convinced. Our sifu 7th test drive babe! notworthy.gif As we speak, he might have the 8th already. I appreciate what he posted. Real informative. I only have 3 tongue.gif
Why need facts n figures....? First driving impression is the most important...

Yeah, the spec sheet may list high hp n torque... But i dun give a shit on this...
Test drive will show everthing...

I started to feel that this thread is already monopoly by korean fanboys.....tat oso means ppl cannot say anything bad about this k5...... rclxub.gif

Added on April 4, 2012, 12:58 pm
Totally agree with u bro.People say so many people praise this car,but in real live driving,its sucks.Who are these people who praise this car? PEople who are paid by Kia and Hyundai ?

Same goes to elantra.Before launch,hype up kaokao,win duno what lousy north american best car award lah,and some other crappy award. But when come to malaysia and you actually test drive it,it is so underpowered.Even the 1.8 felt like crap. Lets not talk bout price lah,even if the elantra 1.8 was priced at 99k, i cant seem to find any reason why I should buy it.The same goes for this Optima.

They dont understand that all these awards are actually paid for by Hyundai and Kia.Thats why you see all these korean brands suddenly winning so many crappy awards.Its all part of their marketing strategy.

HAHAHAHAH! agree bro....those wat n wat awards lar....dunno is true or not...
After test drive, it is not so good as claimed....

This post has been edited by w111w: Apr 4 2012, 12:58 PM
mingyuyu
post Apr 4 2012, 12:58 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

Aiyo damn la, this thread suddenly got so many T&H sa come up, like in the Paultan blog. hahaha, w111w, you joined this forum yesterday only? so it proved that you only join the forum to bash the Kia Optima and attract more ppl to buy your damn scumbug stupid Camry.
devil98
post Apr 4 2012, 01:05 PM

591 posts

QUOTE(hqstaff @ Apr 4 2012, 07:06 AM)
I LOVE THE NEW K5! 

REMEMBER THAT IT IS ONLY 2000 CC. 
HAS AUDI FEEL AND VERY HIGH QUALITY INTERIOR.  LEG ROOM IS EXCELLENT.  rclxms.gif
WHOEVER SAY K5 IS NO GOOD NEVER TRIED THE CAR!    TURBO CARS CAN NEVER SUSTAIN THE POWER BOOST FOR LONG!  IN FACT MANY TURBO UNITS IN HOT COUNTRIES LIKE OURS WILL DEVELOP PROBLEMS LATER ON.  GOOGLE ON THIS!   
I AM NEVER A FAN OF KOREAN CAR BUT THIS ONE CHANGED MY MIND.  ACTUALLY THE CURRENT SONATA GIVE THE CAMRY A RUN FOR THE MONEY TOO. 
I WAS WAITING FOR THE 2012 CAMRY MODEL.  BUT IF THE LATEST NEWS ON THE NEW CAMRY PRICES ARE TRUE ( 2012 CAMRY 2.0 @ 152,000) THEN CAMRY IS SO OVERPRICED!  FOR THIS MONEY , PRIUS IS BETTER VALUE WITH ADVANCED TECHNOLOGY.  sweat.gif
i gt 3 car shortlisted previously 1st is VW passat follow by new camry and K5, end up camry is out no point pay so much getting such spec sumore without VSC doh.gif

for the power, i test drive accord 2.0 and camry 2.0...if compare via K5, K5 definately better than both T&H, take note when i test drive K5 we gt 5 ppl sit inside the car. of course you cant compare via turbo engine it's totally different but i doubt turbo suitable in hot country or not...my coli 2 weeks Polo just lost power and break down..

anywhere i will gor for either passat or K5... how wish Kia can bring in K5 turbo or 2.4... biggrin.gif
stanleychai
post Apr 4 2012, 01:06 PM

QUOTE(w111w @ Apr 4 2012, 12:53 PM)
Why need facts n figures....? First driving impression is the most important...

Yeah, the spec sheet may list high hp n torque... But i dun give a shit on this...
Test drive will show everthing...

I started to feel that this thread is already monopoly by korean fanboys.....tat oso means ppl cannot say anything bad about this k5...... rclxub.gif
Hahaha...i believe no korean fanboy here...K5 is not a perfect car... we do know the weakness of it ! I don't like the finishing, interior is lack of premium feel...but i still owe a K5 because overall is a great car! The problem is, you are talking rubbish with your only one driving impression, ridiculous ! Drive 1 time enough to judge a car? Please go to drive other car and share with us what car is super power, impressive touque for you!

QUOTE(devil98 @ Apr 4 2012, 01:05 PM)
i gt 3 car shortlisted previously 1st is VW passat follow by new camry and K5, end up camry is out no point pay so much getting such spec sumore without VSC doh.gif

for the power, i test drive accord 2.0 and camry 2.0...if compare via K5, K5 definately better than both T&H, take note when i test drive K5 we gt 5 ppl sit inside the car. of course you cant compare via turbo engine it's totally different but i doubt turbo suitable in hot country or not...my coli 2 weeks Polo just lost power and break down..

anywhere i will gor for either passat or K5... how wish Kia can bring in K5 turbo or 2.4...  biggrin.gif
Bro, if you love power, passat is your choice ! I tested and very impressed!

The reason of not choose passat because i love features, gadgets personally. Passat is quite emtpy, with Touch Screen Navigator, addon 5k, total cost around 190k... not worth my extra 45k, just my 2 cents.. biggrin.gif

Anyway, please share to us if you go for K5 !

This post has been edited by stanleychai: Apr 4 2012, 01:12 PM
w111w
post Apr 4 2012, 01:08 PM

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ Apr 4 2012, 12:58 PM)
Aiyo damn la, this thread suddenly got so many T&H sa come up, like in the Paultan blog. hahaha, w111w, you joined this forum yesterday only? so it proved that you only join the forum to bash the Kia Optima and attract more ppl to buy your damn scumbug stupid Camry.
Hello...does it matter when i join lowyat...??. Only childish will say "damn scumbug stupid Camry"...
Did i mention before any stupid k5 here? NO.

In this thread i m expressing my dislike on this car performance...

Added on April 4, 2012, 1:21 pm
QUOTE(stanleychai @ Apr 4 2012, 01:06 PM)
Hahaha...i believe no korean fanboy here...K5 is not a perfect car... we do know the weakness of it ! I don't like the finishing, interior is lack of premium feel...but i still owe a K5 because overall is a great car! The problem is, you are talking rubbish with your only one driving impression, ridiculous ! Drive 1 time enough to judge a car? Please go to drive other car and share with us what car is super power, impressive touque for you!

The reason of not choose passat because i love features, gadgets personally. Passat is quite emtpy, with Touch Screen Navigator, addon 5k, total cost around 190k... not worth my extra 45k, just my 2 cents.. biggrin.gif

I tested passat 1.8 n teana 2.0. Those cars oso can give me good driving feel in the first test drive.... Pickup is there and smooth acceleration.....but k5 cant give me that kind of feel....

Initially, i have listed k5 in my wish list for my coming new car, but after test drive, i have rejected it.

This post has been edited by w111w: Apr 4 2012, 01:21 PM
kenrain
post Apr 4 2012, 01:25 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(w111w @ Apr 4 2012, 01:08 PM)
Hello...does it matter when i join lowyat...??.  Only childish will say "damn scumbug stupid Camry"...
Did i mention before any stupid k5 here?  NO. 

I tested passat 1.8 n teana 2.0. Those cars oso can give me good driving feel in the first test drive.... Pickup is there and smooth acceleration.....but k5 cant give me that kind of feel....

Initially, i have listed k5 in my wish list for my coming new car, but after test drive, i have rejected it.
I can feel the insecurity in you that camry sales are losing out very soon smile.gif Cheers and good luck!
irangan
post Apr 4 2012, 01:32 PM

Lost Soul
1,201 posts

w111w, are you related from sammyvellu from autoworld forum? You sure sounds like one. Self centred and sure rude and crude in your wording.

w111w, this is my final post directed to you. No one here is a hardcore fan of korean car. And I believe the average age group here is around 25. So we are considered young adult with certain maturity in thinking.

Most of us are here for discussion and information gathering. So all discussion based on info and fact. But the final decision on whether you buy K5 or Passat or Camry is solely your call and no one is 'forcing' you to do anything. So just stop your baseless whining and bashing others for their decision.

Guys, it is obvious that this fella is a troll with some hidden agenda. So let's stop feed him. You should know that troll love the attention.

*Entering "ignoring troll's post" mode and driving off happily in my K5

This post has been edited by irangan: Apr 4 2012, 01:46 PM
w111w
post Apr 4 2012, 01:33 PM

QUOTE(kenrain @ Apr 4 2012, 01:25 PM)
I can feel the insecurity in you that camry sales are losing out very soon smile.gif Cheers and good luck!
another stupid guessing here...hahah.

U tot those ppl who express dislike towards k5 are salesman from T, H or N....
devil98
post Apr 4 2012, 01:34 PM

591 posts

QUOTE(stanleychai @ Apr 4 2012, 01:06 PM)

yup agree... if power definately go for passat...but still...i prefer feature K5 almost gt all what i need, except turbo or 2.4 haha biggrin.gif
w111w
post Apr 4 2012, 01:43 PM

QUOTE(wuwu @ Apr 4 2012, 07:15 AM)
Hie everyone,was looking to upgrade my car when i saw the Optima k5.Looked great from the outside.So decided to go for a test drive.Unfortunately very disappointing,car felt very underpower and engine was a bit rough and in terms of interior stylishness,it somehow felt cheap.You sit inside and you dont feel like you are in a premium car.You just feel like you are in another Korean car.For normal crusing,this is ok,but for spirited driving,this is definately a big NO.
Totally agree....the k5 is a big car but disappointed engine performance...
mingyuyu
post Apr 4 2012, 01:52 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(w111w @ Apr 4 2012, 01:08 PM)
Hello...does it matter when i join lowyat...??.  Only childish will say "damn scumbug stupid Camry"...
Did i mention before any stupid k5 here?  NO. 

Like I care. whistling.gif

121 Pages « < 93 94 95 96 97 > » Top

0.0344sec    0.91    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 12:08 PM