377 Pages « < 186 187 188 189 190 > » Bottom

Digital TV Station Malaysia, How do I tune to digital TV station?

joshhd
post Nov 9 2017, 01:03 PM

7,795 posts

QUOTE(Bazinga! @ Nov 8 2017, 09:02 PM)
*Update* After re-positioning the antenna a little, it is working marvellously!
Very simple setup so that my grandma can watch her programs clearer now.

Thanks again shaun_kok and joshhd  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif

Photos below rclxm9.gif

Glad to hear that. Previously what you did to get signal? You try to use outdoor antenna to receive, or you power off the signal booster, or just relocate your indoor antenna?

Btw it is better if you put the antenna high up and away from any electrical appliances, for a better signal performance.
utusan@gmail
post Nov 9 2017, 07:58 PM

185 posts

QUOTE(P0lyStati0n @ Nov 7 2017, 10:07 PM)
Anybody in JB experiencing signal issues at channel 5 and some other mediacorp channels?

Mine just stuck there, signal 100ŕ but quality below 10%
Im from Jb...
4-5 day ago till now... All of myfreeview channel No Signal...
Trying to scan... Only Singapore channel can get...
Pemancar down or what?
Bazinga!
post Nov 9 2017, 10:09 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Nov 9 2017, 01:03 PM)
Glad to hear that. Previously what you did to get signal? You try to use outdoor antenna to receive, or you power off the signal booster, or just relocate your indoor antenna?

Btw it is better if you put the antenna high up and away from any electrical appliances, for a better signal performance.
at first when i got it, i tried with the indoor antenna and outdoor one, but both no signal. Then i found out that the gunung ledang tower had some problems due to lightning strike or something.
when i asked if the tower was up and there was 2 replies saying it was, then i tried with outdoor antenna but still no signal rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
last try with indoor antenna, and it worked. at first i just placed it atop my tv, but signal was below 40% then i repositioned it to the new place like in the picture, signal was up till about 78%. which i felt was good enough. the wire is kinda short though for the indoor antenna, so cant really move it much hmm.gif

This post has been edited by Bazinga!: Nov 9 2017, 10:09 PM
shaun_kok
post Nov 10 2017, 03:38 AM

1,073 posts

QUOTE(utusan@gmail @ Nov 9 2017, 07:58 PM)
Im from Jb...
4-5 day ago till now... All of myfreeview channel No Signal...
Trying to scan... Only Singapore channel can get...
Pemancar down or what?
The transmitter is up but the non reception in your area might be subjectable to co channel issues with Indonesian channel SCTV from Batam which is also transmitted on the same channel. Such co channel issues will only stop when analogue TV in Indonesia stops operating. Many people live in JB in fact could not receive myFreeview signal well due to this issue. Such situation make worst because most people here also have antenna pointing 2 directions, Gunung Pulai and Bukit Batok Singapore for slightly increased viewing choice.

In my area (which is quite close to Gunung Pulai transmitter) the signal while using outdoor antenna suffer frequent dropouts due to interference until the transmitter in Skudai starts operation (which in my location it have the roughly the same direction with into Singapore's Bukit Batok.)

This post has been edited by shaun_kok: Nov 10 2017, 06:09 AM
joshhd
post Nov 10 2017, 03:35 PM

7,795 posts

QUOTE(shaun_kok @ Nov 10 2017, 03:38 AM)
The transmitter is up but the non reception in your area might be subjectable to co channel issues with Indonesian channel SCTV from Batam which is also transmitted on the same channel. Such co channel issues will only stop when analogue TV in Indonesia stops operating. Many people live in JB in fact could not receive myFreeview signal well due to this issue. Such situation make worst because most people here also have antenna pointing 2 directions, Gunung Pulai and Bukit Batok Singapore for slightly increased viewing choice.

In my area (which is quite close to Gunung Pulai transmitter) the signal while using outdoor antenna suffer frequent dropouts due to interference until the transmitter in Skudai starts operation (which in my location it have the roughly the same direction with into Singapore's Bukit Batok.)
What's the frequency for SCTV that can be received in JB area? What other frequencies has potential interferences with each other?

Do you have any idea why is there another transmitter after Skudai, which is called Pelangi, and it is just 4km away from Singapore causeway?
MYTV deliberately want our Malaysia channels to be receivable in Singapore? hmm.gif hmm.gif
shaun_kok
post Nov 10 2017, 04:21 PM

1,073 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Nov 10 2017, 03:35 PM)
What's the frequency for SCTV that can be received in JB area? What other frequencies has potential interferences with each other?

Do you have any idea why is there another transmitter after Skudai, which is called Pelangi, and it is just 4km away from Singapore causeway?
MYTV deliberately want our Malaysia channels to be receivable in Singapore?  hmm.gif  hmm.gif
I aware that Pelangi transmitter is also there too. (SFN with Gunung Pulai and Skudai)

I personally think that transmitter is actually meant to improve indoor coverage for myFreeview signal for Johor Bahru City area and also outdoor coverage for some parts of Johor Bahru. (which in some areas the Pelangi transmitter have line of sight with Gunung Pulai and also Bukit Batok Singapore.)

In Singapore, various small transmitters are installed across the island for indoor reception on high rise blocks (HDB) and are in sync/SFN mode with the main Bukit Batok transmitter. (However, according to what I read on Singapore's forum, many complained the signal is quite weak until the indoor antenna used must be specifically positioned or it will have no reception.)

FYI, the frequency for SCTV receivable in Johor Bahru is 679.25Mhz, available since early 2000s until myFreeview signal starts on early 2016. (Currently reception is unavailable because MYTV Digital TV disturbs the reception for this service, that frequency can actually to be used for detect if the digital TV transmitter is up or not.)
joshhd
post Nov 10 2017, 07:19 PM

7,795 posts

QUOTE(shaun_kok @ Nov 10 2017, 04:21 PM)
I aware that Pelangi transmitter is also there too. (SFN with Gunung Pulai and Skudai)

I personally think that transmitter is actually meant to improve indoor coverage for myFreeview signal for Johor Bahru City area and also outdoor coverage for some parts of Johor Bahru. (which in some areas the Pelangi transmitter have line of sight with Gunung Pulai and also Bukit Batok Singapore.)

In Singapore, various small transmitters are installed across the island for indoor reception on high rise blocks (HDB) and are in sync/SFN mode with the main Bukit Batok transmitter. (However, according to what I read on Singapore's forum, many complained the signal is quite weak until the indoor antenna used must be specifically positioned or it will have no reception.)

FYI, the frequency for SCTV receivable in Johor Bahru is 679.25Mhz, available since early 2000s until myFreeview signal starts on early 2016. (Currently reception is unavailable because MYTV Digital TV disturbs the reception for this service, that frequency can actually to be used for detect if the digital TV transmitter is up or not.)
You said many Singaporeans staying in HDB complained about poor indoor signal. You mean receiving Singapore channels or Malaysia channels that is poor signal, or both?

SCTV is 679.25MHz while MYTV one is 682MHz for JB area, right? In this case, I wonder why MYTV didn't just use other frequency first? Why they want to interrupt Indonesia's 679.25MHz?
shaun_kok
post Nov 11 2017, 02:40 AM

1,073 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Nov 10 2017, 07:19 PM)
You said many Singaporeans staying in HDB complained about poor indoor signal. You mean receiving Singapore channels or Malaysia channels that is poor signal, or both?

SCTV is 679.25MHz while MYTV one is 682MHz for JB area, right? In this case, I wonder why MYTV didn't just use other frequency first? Why they want to interrupt Indonesia's 679.25MHz?
In outdoor reception mode Mediacorp DTT has fairly decent signal. It was heard that the signal is not strong enough for some areas indoors.
Also I heard that they changed from 64QAM to 16QAM.

MYTV only use that frequency partly due to an television frequency agreement done between Malaysia, Singapore and Indonesia in the past.

For digital TV, Malaysia will get 39,41,43,45,47,49,51,53 for clear frequency and share 21-26 with Indonesia.
Indonesia got 40,42,44,46,48,50,52,54 for clear frequency and share 21-26 with Malaysia.
Singapore get its exclusive block of 27-38.

However, in the past, analogue frequency agreement between 3 countries are different. Malaysia get even frequency while Indonesia get the odd ones. Singapore have exclusive usage of block from channel 27-40 + 24. Indonesian authorities tend to use almost every frequency available to use until causing most cities it have very crowded spectrum.

In Jakarta alone (current situation) there is some 20+ analogue UHF TV channels and some digital channels packed into the spectrum. Based on what I read, the original plan for Indonesia TV allowed 6 blocks of 7 UHF channel allocated and in most area, the authorities just allow 1 block of UHF channels allocated to each locality. (Larger cities get up to 2 blocks). When they allowed more nationwide commercial channels to be broadcasted, it have to modify the allocation until causing packed spectrum in major cities.

The situation in Johor is there are some 20-30 TV channels just in Johor Bahru alone for channels in 3 countries. (In some areas there is overlap with multiple Malaysian masts which make much more harder to allocate TV frequency.) When TV1 moved frequency from VHF Band I to UHF in 2010, they moved to channel 28 for Gunung Ledang (the same as Channel U analogue), it caused complaints on Channel U Facebook, especially those live in Northern Johor because most lost reception for Channel U. (However, it doesn't cause reception issues in Singapore and some parts of Southern Johor because Gunung Pulai blocks the signal from Gunung Ledang.) Reception only resumed when digital TV starts transmission.

This post has been edited by shaun_kok: Nov 11 2017, 11:22 AM
nag
post Nov 11 2017, 07:31 AM

336 posts

QUOTE(shaun_kok @ Nov 11 2017, 02:40 AM)
In outdoor mode Mediacorp DTT has fairly decent signal. It was heard that the signal is not strong enough for some areas
Also I heard that they changed from 64QAM to 16QAM.

MYTV only use that frequency partly due to an television frequency agreement done between Malaysia, Singapore and Indonesia in the past.

For digital TV, Malaysia will get 39,41,43,45,47,49,51,53 for clear frequency and share 21-26 with Indonesia.
Indonesia got 40,42,44,46,48,50,52,54 for clear frequency and share 21-26 with Malaysia.
Singapore get its exclusive block of 27-38.

However, in the past, analogue frequency agreement between 3 countries are different. Malaysia get even frequency while Indonesia get the odd ones. Singapore have exclusive usage of block from channel 27-40 + 24. Indonesian authorities tend to use almost every frequency available to use until causing most cities it have very crowded spectrum.
In Jakarta alone there is some 20+ analogue UHF TV channels and some digital channels packed into the spectrum. Based on what I read, the original plan for Indonesia TV allowed 5 blocks of 7 UHF channel allocated and in most area, the authorities just allow 1 block of UHF channels allocated to each locality. (Larger cities get up to 2 blocks). When they allowed more nationwide commercial channels to be broadcasted, it have to modify the allocation until causing packed spectrum in major cities.

The situation in Johor is there are some 20-30 TV channels just in Johor Bahru alone for channels in 3 countries. (In some areas there is overlap with multiple Malaysian masts which make much more harder to allocate TV frequency.) When TV1 moved frequency from VHF Band I to UHF in 2010, they moved to channel 28 for Gunung Ledang (the same as Channel U analogue), it caused complaints on Channel U Facebook, especially those live in Northern Johor because most lost reception for Channel U. (However, it doesn't cause reception issues in Singapore and some parts of Southern Johor because of Gunung Pulai) Reception only resumed when digital TV starts transmission.
For red highlighted text, could you please share the link(s) or website (if the info available online) ?

This post has been edited by nag: Nov 11 2017, 07:45 AM
nag
post Nov 11 2017, 08:34 AM

336 posts

RTB Brunei, migration to DVB-T2 promotional poster...

credit to http://www.rtb.gov.bn/

A typo error in this poster where item 'E' should be DVB-T2 in the bracket.

This post has been edited by nag: Nov 11 2017, 08:36 AM
shaun_kok
post Nov 11 2017, 11:03 AM

1,073 posts

QUOTE(nag @ Nov 11 2017, 07:31 AM)
For red highlighted text, could you please share the link(s) or website (if the info available online) ?
The original UHF TV frequency plan for Indonesia is on page 49 (In Indonesian of course)
https://denysetia.files.wordpress.com/2011/...anuari-2010.pdf

This post has been edited by shaun_kok: Nov 11 2017, 11:05 AM
nag
post Nov 11 2017, 11:16 AM

336 posts

QUOTE(shaun_kok @ Nov 11 2017, 11:03 AM)
The original UHF TV frequency plan for Indonesia is on page 49 (In Indonesian of course)
https://denysetia.files.wordpress.com/2011/...anuari-2010.pdf
Many Thanks. smile.gif
joshhd
post Nov 11 2017, 11:37 AM

7,795 posts

QUOTE(nag @ Nov 11 2017, 08:34 AM)
RTB Brunei, migration to DVB-T2 promotional poster...

credit to http://www.rtb.gov.bn/

A typo error in this poster where item 'E' should be DVB-T2 in the bracket.

It seems that Brunei is using Vertical polarization for their digital TV broadcasts instead of Horizontal like many other countries do, including Malaysia and Singapore.
nag
post Nov 11 2017, 12:05 PM

336 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Nov 11 2017, 11:37 AM)
It seems that Brunei is using Vertical polarization for their digital TV broadcasts instead of Horizontal like many other countries do, including Malaysia and Singapore.
Yes, exactly. Their UHF signal is vertical polarity from TX tower. Some counties in UK also applied vertical polarity on UHF signal.

A bit curious why there is no option of vertical polarity in southern peninsular Malaysia (Johor) where a few posts from this, was discussing about SCTV co-channel with MYTV ? confused.gif hmm.gif

This post has been edited by nag: Nov 11 2017, 12:06 PM
joshhd
post Nov 11 2017, 12:09 PM

7,795 posts

QUOTE(nag @ Nov 11 2017, 12:05 PM)
Yes, exactly. Their UHF signal is vertical polarity from TX tower. Some counties in UK also applied vertical polarity on UHF signal.

A bit curious why there is no option of vertical polarity in southern peninsular Malaysia (Johor) where a few posts from this, was discussing about SCTV co-channel with MYTV ?  confused.gif  hmm.gif
But anyhow, why is Brunei uses Vertical polarisation instead of Horizontal? hmm.gif
smileguy
post Nov 11 2017, 12:41 PM

3,147 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Nov 10 2017, 07:19 PM)

I did raise this issue with Mediacorp many years ago,when Tv3 took Vasantham's frequency on same VHF frequency, I remember their reply was whtevr interuption outside singapore is beyond their control.(Later MC moved that channel to UHF) You will remember many years ago BN morons wanted to block singapore signals ! Now by using the same frequency their dream may come true! (BTW MC wl shut down analog transmission on 31/12/18)

This post has been edited by smileguy: Nov 11 2017, 12:44 PM
shaun_kok
post Nov 11 2017, 12:58 PM

1,073 posts

QUOTE(nag @ Nov 11 2017, 12:05 PM)

A bit curious why there is no option of vertical polarity in southern peninsular Malaysia (Johor) where a few posts from this, was discussing about SCTV co-channel with MYTV ?  confused.gif  hmm.gif
In UK, main masts usually uses Horizontal polarization while relay transmitters usually uses vertical polarization.
One exception is one main TV mast in UK that is close to French coast (Rowridge) uses mixed polarization to reduce potential signal interference from French transmitters.

Mixed polarization option should be make available for Gunung Pulai, Skudai and Pelangi masts. Maybe they do not use vertical polarization because of legacy issues/existing UHF antenna could be used for reception without having extra installation.
shaun_kok
post Nov 11 2017, 01:21 PM

1,073 posts

QUOTE(smileguy @ Nov 11 2017, 12:41 PM)
I did raise this issue with Mediacorp many years ago,when Tv3 took Vasantham's frequency on same VHF frequency, I remember their reply was whtevr interuption outside singapore is beyond their control.(Later MC moved that channel to UHF) You will remember many years ago BN morons wanted to block singapore signals ! Now by using the same frequency their dream may come true! (BTW MC wl shut down analog transmission on 31/12/18)
Actually it is Suria/Prime 12 frequency, not Vasantham's.
TV3 frequency on VHF in Peninsular Malaysia is mostly on VHF 11/12.

It is actually poor planning done by Malaysian authorities (They assume viewers do not receive Singapore TV and use standard aerials height at 10m).
Poor planning issues exists inside Peninsular Malaysia especially for RTM channels/TV3 VHF/TV Alhijrah, not limited to just Gunung Ledang/Bukit Batok clash due to all masts in Peninsular Malaysia uses horizontal polarization.

Mediacorp TV reception (Channel U/Suria) in Southern Johor (excluding Kulai, Pontian .etc) is not affected because Gunung Ledang's signal is shaded by Gunung Pulai.
IMHO TV3 should be only broadcast on UHF band across Malaysia from the start of transmission and no analogue TV licences shall be allowed/allocated after NTV7.

This post has been edited by shaun_kok: Nov 11 2017, 01:32 PM
smileguy
post Nov 11 2017, 04:08 PM

3,147 posts

QUOTE(shaun_kok @ Nov 11 2017, 01:21 PM)
Actually it is Suria/Prime 12 frequency, not Vasantham's.
TV3 frequency on VHF in Peninsular Malaysia is mostly on VHF 11/12.

It is actually poor planning done by Malaysian authorities (They assume viewers do not receive Singapore TV and use standard aerials height at 10m).
Poor planning issues exists inside Peninsular Malaysia especially for RTM channels/TV3 VHF/TV Alhijrah, not limited to just Gunung Ledang/Bukit Batok clash due to all masts in Peninsular Malaysia uses horizontal polarization.

Mediacorp TV reception (Channel U/Suria) in Southern Johor (excluding Kulai, Pontian .etc) is not affected because Gunung Ledang's signal is shaded by Gunung Pulai.
IMHO TV3 should be only broadcast on UHF band across Malaysia from the start of transmission and no analogue TV licences shall be allowed/allocated after NTV7.
Noted,thank you for the correction!
joshhd
post Nov 12 2017, 12:51 AM

7,795 posts

QUOTE(smileguy @ Nov 11 2017, 12:41 PM)
No point raise the issue to Mediacorp. We can receive Singapore channels are due to overspill signals from Singapore.
So if by any means, Malaysia interrupt Singapore TV or radio channels, they (Singapore) cannot do anything because it is outside Singapore's land.
If the interference affects Singapore, then only they will interfere.

But, overspilling their signals to Malaysia could actually benefit Singapore's Mediacorp, because that could mean that Malaysian can contribute to increase their channel's viewership rating on certain programmes as well.

377 Pages « < 186 187 188 189 190 > » Top

0.0351sec    0.82    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 08:55 PM