124 Pages « < 31 32 33 34 35 > » Bottom

English Clubs Liverpool Football Club - The Kop Talks 2011, Downing 19!

lalula2
post Jun 24 2011, 11:35 AM

491 posts

Maybe we will play 5-3-2... with right back Martin Kelly and left back Johnson... we can play without any winger...

---------Reina---
--- Carragher-----Sktel-----Agger

Kelly ---------------------------------------- Johnson

--------- Lucas/Spearing---------

Gerrard/Henderson ---------------- Aquilani/Shelvey/Poulsen/Meireles

Suarez/Kuyt ------------ Carroll/Kuyt

abchong88
post Jun 24 2011, 11:41 AM

heard that Downing deal almost done right???

if so then the aim of getting a winger alrd achieved... smile.gif
weichieh007
post Jun 24 2011, 11:58 AM

378 posts

QUOTE(abchong88 @ Jun 24 2011, 11:41 AM)
heard that Downing deal almost done right???

if so then the aim of getting a winger alrd achieved... smile.gif
I don't think so as we couldn't agree with the 19mil valuation. Still discussing the price, I think.
koolspyda
post Jun 24 2011, 12:37 PM

222 posts

QUOTE(triple02 @ Jun 23 2011, 04:16 PM)
Lots of discussion of Gerrard, but i think its just absurd to even think of selling him, he has been downright the best player at the club for the past 10 years, yes he has been injured but that doenst mean he's over the hill by any chance,

True also that it has been Stevie "ME" but who could blame him? he has been surrounded with mediocrity the length of time he has been here, each time and everytime when someone needs to step up who has that person been? Im think i would be right in saying that Steven Gerrard would not have been Steven "ME" if he was surrounded by quality players as he was progressing through the ranks. As much as people rate Carragher I think Gerrard is up there as well.

Point is to think of moving Gerrard on onto another club when he's given so much, its not even a thought, many of us question loyalty in players these days, and true enough Gerrard's head was turned to Chelsea some season's ago like many players but he stuck by the club nonetheless, who would have know where would we have been at that time if Gerrard decided to move? being ruthless is one thing being just plain daft is another. just saying
to me its fine to have such discussions. the only way liverpool will consider an offer IF & only if gerrard himself feels the need to change. he had sacrifice & placed liverpoolfc over some douchebag (a so-called mr.liverpool to some) who said the next club is 'a bigger club' than than the current club he was plying for.

To some who felt 'gerrard' is selfish, consider he sets himself a very high standards & if on field some fans thinks he doesn't show 'much' vigour as others, how wrong i feel he has been missunderstood. in his early youth years he was chasing every ball, every challedge was hard & even disputes/show some tantrums many referees whistles. outside football he got himself a little trouble with the wrong type of people. fortunately there was houllier who was in some parts a fartherly figurehead & gerrard didn't lose control of his youth.

inmagine if gerrard had off-field behaviours like certain 'world-class' english players or constantly run afoul with the law for public affrays like 'some' other club players. yes gerrard was once caught publically for abusing a DJ at the bar, but it was so few occasions & never the magnitude of disorderly weekly/monthly conduct. it would such a waste of such a gifted talent.

not conducting such typical bravado, chest thumping, badge kissing like some player/ 'model father/parent' doesn't mean he doesn't love liverpool. Gerrard the player is a little more reserved character, you can see how he is in interviews, & the BBC video docu of himself, his family, his home. Some may call it 'staged' but come on he's a player & not an actor. he was genuinely himself, a little more reserved person.

he may not be mr.liverpool like carrager to some, but he is amongst the legends of liverpoolfc.
he deserved his spot there.

weichieh007
post Jun 24 2011, 03:49 PM

378 posts

QUOTE(koolspyda @ Jun 24 2011, 12:37 PM)
to me its fine to have such discussions. the only way liverpool will consider an offer IF & only if gerrard himself feels the need to change. he had sacrifice & placed liverpoolfc over some douchebag (a so-called mr.liverpool to some) who said the next club is 'a bigger club' than than the current club he was plying for.

To some who felt 'gerrard' is selfish, consider he sets himself a very high standards & if on field some fans thinks he doesn't show 'much' vigour as others, how wrong i feel he has been missunderstood. in his early youth years he was chasing every ball, every challedge was hard & even disputes/show some tantrums many referees whistles. outside football he got himself a little trouble with the wrong type of people. fortunately there was houllier who was in some parts a fartherly figurehead & gerrard didn't lose control of his youth.

inmagine if gerrard had off-field behaviours like certain 'world-class' english players or constantly run afoul with the law for public affrays like 'some' other club players. yes gerrard was once caught publically for abusing a DJ at the bar, but it was so few occasions & never the magnitude of disorderly weekly/monthly conduct. it would such a waste of such a gifted talent.

not conducting such typical bravado, chest thumping, badge kissing like some player/ 'model father/parent' doesn't mean he doesn't love liverpool. Gerrard the player is a little more reserved character, you can see how he is in interviews, & the BBC video docu of himself, his family, his home. Some may call it 'staged' but come on he's a player & not an actor. he was genuinely himself, a little more reserved person.

he may not be mr.liverpool like carrager to some, but he is amongst the legends of liverpoolfc.
he deserved his spot there.
rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

Petre
post Jun 24 2011, 04:02 PM

Default Member Title
4,332 posts

have been reading news about us probably offloading meireles. i hope its not true. sad.gif

Added on June 24, 2011, 4:08 pmwell to those who think we can sell gerrard

think again

when we used to talk about experience:
when gerrard has single handedly drag us back from matches, for not giving up in difficult circumstances. his story alone not just inspire our own, but also others alike

about mentors:
being guru, and example, and inspiration to younger players

about true reds:
one of the last of his generation of true red

for these reasons alone, i dont think we should sell gerrard, unless he is wiling to go

This post has been edited by Petre: Jun 24 2011, 04:09 PM
TSsolstice818
post Jun 24 2011, 06:06 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

Juventus is really pissing me off.

First they wanted to buy Aqua then forcing us to drop the price.
After the deadline, we agreed dropping the price, then they hired a new coach and decided against buying Aqua.

Then now, they came in for Meireles and offer us Melo + cash. What do you think we are? Some mid table club accepting anyone into our squad? Stop throwing us ur reject player and if you want Meireles, pay the price the board ask for! Damn it!
Rotuham
post Jun 24 2011, 06:19 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(solstice818 @ Jun 24 2011, 06:06 PM)
Juventus is really pissing me off.

First they wanted to buy Aqua then forcing us to drop the price.
After the deadline, we agreed dropping the price, then they hired a new coach and decided against buying Aqua.

Then now, they came in for Meireles and offer us Melo + cash. What do you think we are? Some mid table club accepting anyone into our squad? Stop throwing us ur reject player and if you want Meireles, pay the price the board ask for! Damn it!
Desperate times causes desperate measures.Juventus going down if they are not down already.

I honestly cant stand the italian league.Dam boring yawn.gif

They pissing off other clubs also like bidding 22mil for aguero shakehead.gif
uNeVErwaLkaloNe
post Jun 24 2011, 06:25 PM

God Sniffing!!!
1,889 posts

I understand we brought Henderson for the future but why are we selling one of our better player for a mere $14M? This does not make any sense at all, Meireles worth at least $20M.
Luminous2
post Jun 24 2011, 06:35 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(uNeVErwaLkaloNe @ Jun 24 2011, 06:25 PM)
I understand we brought Henderson for the future but why are we selling one of our better player for a mere $14M? This does not make any sense at all, Meireles worth at least $20M.
meireles is good nod.gif dun let him leave sad.gif
SUSdemamkuning
post Jun 24 2011, 06:42 PM

91 posts

i heard we made a new bid for charlie adam

sad.gif we're not getting the korean gerrard
bomberkenny
post Jun 24 2011, 07:04 PM

Gun Down your MOM!
1,617 posts

there's still possibility that blackpool might sell adam to other teams and we might need to get the "korean gerrard", but personally I want adam at 9mil, not any higher than that.
SquaLL_JB
post Jun 24 2011, 07:46 PM

37 posts

im looking for liverpool to sign mata..lets pray it become reality...hehe.

SOS
lalula2
post Jun 24 2011, 07:47 PM

491 posts

Liverpool already put 15 mil price tag on Meireles, now is just waiting for offer only. Seem like this price tag is raising the fund for Downing.
With Downing and Adam (Probably) on their way to Anfield, I can see KD try to make Liverpool 1st team into a little England squad. Hopefully something can be achieved with this little England squad.
realshinjae
post Jun 24 2011, 07:57 PM

88 posts

We're having dilemmas acquiring new youngsters.
And still with the old ones. rclxub.gif

http://soccernet.espn.go.com/columns/story...olution?cc=4716

The original intention, it is apparent, was the most radical reshaping of the squad since that summer of 1999 when Gerard Houllier conducted an overhaul. Dalglish appears to have both the authority and the determination to follow suit, but the job will only be half done if the Melwood training ground is populated by men Liverpool have failed to sell.

Problems arise with planning a brave new world when the depressing old one refuses to go away.

dfadzli
post Jun 24 2011, 08:01 PM

24 posts

Please sign MATA
Sifha238
post Jun 24 2011, 08:03 PM

454 posts

Who handle Liverpool transfer negotiation ? Why Liverpool seems to pay more than what the player valued, as like Man City. Carroll before, and now Downing hmm.gif
blissandecstasy
post Jun 24 2011, 08:13 PM

208 posts

because they are english.
Sifha238
post Jun 24 2011, 08:17 PM

454 posts

QUOTE(blissandecstasy @ Jun 24 2011, 09:13 PM)
because they are english.
It's not the issue, Man Utd manage to get A.Young (better than Downing if not twice as good) for 16 million but Downing valued 19 million ?? I'm not going to go about Carroll again, but Ashley might accept 25 million if negotiated better wink.gif
dfadzli
post Jun 24 2011, 08:21 PM

24 posts

Ashley got 1 year remaining contract while
Downing still have 2 year, if not mistaken

124 Pages « < 31 32 33 34 35 > » Top

0.0726sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 03:24 AM