want to welcome our team at the airport lorr..
English Clubs Liverpool Football Club - The Kop Talks 2011, Downing 19!
Jun 23 2011, 11:00 AM
8 posts Joined: Mar 2009 From: Kuala Lumpur |
guys.. sorry off topic but just like to know, when will Liverpool touchdown in KLIA after the China game?
want to welcome our team at the airport lorr.. |
Jun 23 2011, 11:11 AM
1,127 posts Joined: Oct 2005 From: Kuala Lumpur |
Jun 23 2011, 11:15 AM
8 posts Joined: May 2011 |
Jun 23 2011, 11:19 AM
Jun 23 2011, 11:22 AM
75 posts Joined: Jun 2007 |
just wanna to ask .....where can get Liverpool Away 2011/2012 Kids kit...?? i mean where can get it in malaysia....
Jun 23 2011, 11:29 AM
1,127 posts Joined: Oct 2005 From: Kuala Lumpur |
Jun 23 2011, 11:30 AM
19mil for Downing? better spend it on Mata..
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/...rpool-move.html we should go for Hulk & Cavani.. |
Jun 23 2011, 11:38 AM
6,112 posts Joined: Sep 2006 From: Earth |
QUOTE(Rotuham @ Jun 22 2011, 05:40 PM) If u ask me,i felt mr liverpool would have been michael owen. Wow, he isn't even a local lad. We signed Owen from Chester and as much of an impact he's made during his time here, I never felt he was Liverpool through and through. I remember watching him skip past Roberto Ayala and one other defender before slotting the ball past Roa was it, during the World Cup in 98 and thinking, "this lad is special", but never once did I think he was on the same level as Gerrard, Fowler or Dalglish. It's your opinion though and I accept it, though I disagree. QUOTE(Rotuham @ Jun 22 2011, 05:40 PM) But midfielders are not like that.Barnes left,who actually was a an adequate replacement?alonso masc left who exactly are their like to like replacement? Like for like replacements are hard to find. It's what made/makes these players special. Until today, we've not found a replacement for Barnes. The best left winger since him has been in my opinion, Patrik Berger. However it can also be argued that we don't play a traditional 4-4-2 anymore and thus, it isn't imperative that we have a wide man. You're comparing replacing strikers with midfielders but in the case of the former, you only need to replace 1 or two when there are 4-5 midfielders so of course it's harder to replace the latter. There were gaps in between strikers as well hence the signing of players like Karl Heinze Riedle, Milan Baros, Djibril Cisse, Dean Saunders, David Speedie, etc. It was hard to imagine we'd replace the likes of Steve McMahon, Ronnie Whelan and Jan Molby and yet we did. Forget about the Souness era because he made some really bizarre signings starting with Paul Stewart. His tactics were poor and his man management was appalling. Even Ian Rush struggled to find the net when he was in charge so I'm not surprised we didn't have many quality midfielders during his time. During his time however, we say the emergence of Jamie Redknapp and Steve McManaman. When Roy Evans took over he brought in Paul Ince and Patrik Berger to further strengthen our midfield. Houllier then signed the likes of Didi Hamann and Gary McAllister before a young Steven Gerrard emerged. We all know what happened under Rafa and now under Dalglish. When Gerrard was out, Raul Meireles stepped up and was rewarded by recognition from the fans. I think our future looks bright with or without Gerrard. QUOTE(Rotuham @ Jun 22 2011, 05:40 PM) If we lose our best player then what statement does the club intend to send to the players out there. This is assuming that we put him up for transfer which we clearly won't. However if we do receive a large offer, we could see players a couple of players in the mold of Modric, Fabregas or Sneijder signed which is a statement of intent. Having said all that, I'd like to see Stevie win his first Premiership medal with us but I won't just disregard a huge offer. Can't look at it from a fan's perspective anymore, not like in the past where Liverpool was a sacred club run by a family of fans. These days, we have to look at it from a financial aspect as well. QUOTE(Rotuham @ Jun 22 2011, 05:40 PM) Selling him will unsettle senior players like carra,reina,johnson and the loyal home fans will be furious. Again, it depends on what we do with the money isn't it? If we reinvest it in 2-3 younger quality players, I don't think you'll see any mutiny amongst players. Like I said earlier, it isn't as though anyone wants him pushed out the club door. Let's also not forget that fans are still a little sore over him for twice toying with a transfer to Chelsea. Remember the death threats? The burning of his jersey? QUOTE(LukeMjstc @ Jun 22 2011, 07:51 PM) It's why I have a "Carragher 23" jersey and I'm surprised more people don't. QUOTE(demamkuning @ Jun 22 2011, 09:39 PM) chelsea gonna sign mourinho 2.0 My friend and I had been speculating for awhile now. I mean it's not the first time Villas Boas has been linked with a move to England. He was one of our targets pre-Roy Hodgson. He has an amazing record with Porto. A 80% + win ratio! That's higher than any manager I can think of.we won many trophies(except leagues) when mourinho was managing chelsea Added on June 23, 2011, 11:45 am QUOTE(account_manager @ Jun 23 2011, 11:30 AM) 19mil for Downing? better spend it on Mata.. If Hulk goes anywhere now, it will be to Chelsea. http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/...rpool-move.html we should go for Hulk & Cavani.. Thing is not about signing players purely on reputation but players who will fit into King Kenny's system. You mentioned Hulk and Cavani but why? Just because they had a good season? I haven't seen them play much so I can't comment. Dalglish had made good decisions when he was manager last and I trust his instincts. Downing may not be world class (though Mozzie may disagree), but he is adept to the Premiership and he is left footed. We don't have many of those around. With foreign players, it's always a gamble. Will they be able to adapt to the physical nature of the league? Will the get homesick? Will their families be able to settle in to life in England, especially Liverpool which is the Malaysian equivalent of say... Johor? Mascherano's wife anyone? Dalglish is making what I consider to be safe signings, mostly - players who he knows can or have already adapted. This post has been edited by Duke Red: Jun 23 2011, 11:45 AM |
Jun 23 2011, 01:47 PM
222 posts Joined: Apr 2008 From: KL |
to me gerrard earns his stripes to continue playing at lfc. it would be a honour to him & the fans also continue & end his playing career at lfc.
No club will bid any figure for gerrard (at his current value). they all know how much is attached to lfc, the passion he has for the club (despite some doubters amongst the fans, who mostly only judge superficially on sporadic moments on field). of course it wont stop a few fellas here thinking, the IF. i'm just being realistic. |
Jun 23 2011, 03:11 PM
1,684 posts Joined: Apr 2008 |
QUOTE(tiSSue_paPer @ Jun 23 2011, 11:11 AM) QUOTE(account_manager @ Jun 23 2011, 11:19 AM) i think they will stay at 1u one world hotel. u can wait for them at lobby, once they came out form lift, that is the chance for u touch, and ask for autograph |
Jun 23 2011, 03:16 PM
2,715 posts Joined: Oct 2004 From: The backyards of boleh land |
Lots of discussion of Gerrard, but i think its just absurd to even think of selling him, he has been downright the best player at the club for the past 10 years, yes he has been injured but that doenst mean he's over the hill by any chance,
True also that it has been Stevie "ME" but who could blame him? he has been surrounded with mediocrity the length of time he has been here, each time and everytime when someone needs to step up who has that person been? Im think i would be right in saying that Steven Gerrard would not have been Steven "ME" if he was surrounded by quality players as he was progressing through the ranks. As much as people rate Carragher I think Gerrard is up there as well. Point is to think of moving Gerrard on onto another club when he's given so much, its not even a thought, many of us question loyalty in players these days, and true enough Gerrard's head was turned to Chelsea some season's ago like many players but he stuck by the club nonetheless, who would have know where would we have been at that time if Gerrard decided to move? being ruthless is one thing being just plain daft is another. just saying |
Jun 23 2011, 03:20 PM
91 posts Joined: Nov 2010 From: United States |
so downing and clichy
Jun 23 2011, 03:22 PM
599 posts Joined: Apr 2008 |
QUOTE(koolspyda @ Jun 23 2011, 01:47 PM) to me gerrard earns his stripes to continue playing at lfc. it would be a honour to him & the fans also continue & end his playing career at lfc. if mourinho gets desperate enough, he might bid 30m for gerrard. i think there were such rumors last winter right?No club will bid any figure for gerrard (at his current value). they all know how much is attached to lfc, the passion he has for the club (despite some doubters amongst the fans, who mostly only judge superficially on sporadic moments on field). of course it wont stop a few fellas here thinking, the IF. i'm just being realistic. |
Jun 23 2011, 03:27 PM
208 posts Joined: Oct 2010 |
MEET & GREET SESSION : Customers who spend RM50 at Courts from 15th June to 15th July can bring the original receipt to queue for the autograph on 15th July at Setapak store or Cheras store. But it's only limited to the first 50 customers! So please be early on 15th July & don't miss this chance of a lifetime! For further info please visit Courts store.
15th July (Courts : Setapak store and Cheras store) 3:00PM Good luck! |
Jun 23 2011, 03:29 PM
46 posts Joined: Aug 2009 |
QUOTE(blissandecstasy @ Jun 23 2011, 03:27 PM) MEET & GREET SESSION : Customers who spend RM50 at Courts from 15th June to 15th July can bring the original receipt to queue for the autograph on 15th July at Setapak store or Cheras store. But it's only limited to the first 50 customers! So please be early on 15th July & don't miss this chance of a lifetime! For further info please visit Courts store. Spend RM50 at any Courts outle and meet them at Setapak or Cheras?15th July (Courts : Setapak store and Cheras store) 3:00PM Good luck! |
Jun 23 2011, 03:30 PM
both!
Jun 23 2011, 03:33 PM
Jun 23 2011, 03:38 PM
QUOTE(chenwfng @ Jun 23 2011, 03:33 PM) of course mate. no worries! you can go to courts and ask them. or HERE |
Jun 23 2011, 03:55 PM
QUOTE(blissandecstasy @ Jun 23 2011, 03:38 PM) ahhhh I see... Thank you man. Good share. |
Jun 23 2011, 04:02 PM
6,112 posts Joined: Sep 2006 From: Earth |
QUOTE(triple02 @ Jun 23 2011, 03:16 PM) Lots of discussion of Gerrard, but i think its just absurd to even think of selling him, he has been downright the best player at the club for the past 10 years, yes he has been injured but that doenst mean he's over the hill by any chance, Like some folk here, I've been privileged enough to have witnessed the start of Gerrard's career and hopefully it's end here at LFC. Don't take the discussion out of context here. No one is suggesting flogging him off. The question is what do we do if a large offer comes in? Do we issue a "hands-off" response or do we consider it? Do we think about the number of younger, quality players we can bring to the club? I want Gerrard to stay as much as the next guy but is anyone really indispensable these days? Your response is no doubt out of sentiment but in the modern football world, can we base decisions purely on sentiment? When the mancs sold out to the yanks, did we not say they were selling their souls? Well what are we doing now? Fact of the matter is that we've not made as much money as we could have because we wanted to 'protect' the club and keep it within the 'family' for as long as we could. My point is that for the long term interest of the club, we cannot make decisions based purely on sentiment when the club is now being run like a business. You reckon that John Henry will base his decisions purely on sentiment? True also that it has been Stevie "ME" but who could blame him? he has been surrounded with mediocrity the length of time he has been here, each time and everytime when someone needs to step up who has that person been? Im think i would be right in saying that Steven Gerrard would not have been Steven "ME" if he was surrounded by quality players as he was progressing through the ranks. As much as people rate Carragher I think Gerrard is up there as well. Point is to think of moving Gerrard on onto another club when he's given so much, its not even a thought, many of us question loyalty in players these days, and true enough Gerrard's head was turned to Chelsea some season's ago like many players but he stuck by the club nonetheless, who would have know where would we have been at that time if Gerrard decided to move? being ruthless is one thing being just plain daft is another. just saying I'd love for Stevie to end his career here but to completely ignore offers is to me, being naive. Before I go on, first let me reiterate that I love Stevie as much as the next guy but that doesn't mean he is untouchable. Him sulking because he was surrounded by "mediocrity" is not an excuse, not when you are club captain and represent what the club stands for. You'll Never Walk Alone? What does this mean in this context? It means to me that even if other players are not up to the task, it is your duty to inspire them and to raise their game, not turn around wishing you had better team mates. Yes, it's frustrating, heck I'd be frustrated but I'm not captain of Liverpool Football Club am I? A captain's job isn't just to bark instructions off the pitch, it's to keep the team together off it. Maybe my expectations are high but this is LFC we're talking about. He did not sign for Chelsea in the end but one cannot ignore that as much as his decision to stay was due to his love for LFC, the death threats to him and his family did contribute somewhat. Having said all that, I still hold Stevie in high regard. I just don't think he's flawless. |
| Change to: | 0.0539sec
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 10:15 AM |