English Clubs Liverpool Football Club - The Kop Talks 2011, Downing 19!

triple02
post Jun 18 2011, 05:56 PM

endorphin addict
2,715 posts

QUOTE(coolmast3r @ Jun 18 2011, 03:44 PM)
Marveaux Agrees Terms With United

It's on NUFC official website.. So it is confirmed Marveaux will not join us..
Thank goodness, he is not signing! You gotta wonder how crocked he has to be when Aquilani , Aurelio and Joe Cole can pass their medicals but not him. heck a half injured Carroll could still pass his medical!

at least this still means we are in for either Mata or Downing.
triple02
post Jun 20 2011, 05:37 AM

endorphin addict
2,715 posts

QUOTE(-nana- @ Jun 20 2011, 05:04 AM)
just done watching england u-21 euro hopes gone. followed all 3 matches in which henderson started in all 3. weird thing is he was passed the armband by mancienne in the first 2 matches but phil jones led the team in the 3rd. from what i saw, i think henderson is pretty ordinary. he was over-run by spain's midfield in the first match, didnt do much imo in the 2nd n 3rd match and rightly substituted in the final match. but credit to him that he tried, always wanting the ball to dictate the game from midfield. but the lack of killer passes and communication made him look very ordinary, n to pay 16mil for a 20 year old who only got the media's attention last season is certainly a gamble. lets hope he does btr and will mature to be a btr player when in melwood. i know its still early days in the transfer window but i hope 2 see a signing that would lifts the spirit of the team just like how suarez did. and guys, dont expect suarez to continue his hot form. it is always harder in the 2nd season, as opponents and defenders get to know u from the 1st season, they'll find ways to handle u. one example, torres who has really hot in his first season here in england.

btw what do u guys think of nzogbia ? with newcastle signing 3 midfielders already n also signing marveaux, theres a possibility that nzogbia is heading towards us. wink.gif
I'd agree, I watched the U-21's, He does look ordinary but its because the players that he's surrounded with are just not good enough.He tries for the quick 1-2's but seems like no one is on the same wavelength with him, hence the move breaks down.

Typical Pearce playing kick & rush football, embarrasing. Muamba of all people is playing in front of Henderson. I think most of his mistakes came when he trying to go with long balls, having a coach like Pearce isnt going to help.

I'll judge Henderson in a Kenny Dalglish team rather than a Stuart Pearce team.
triple02
post Jun 23 2011, 03:16 PM

endorphin addict
2,715 posts

Lots of discussion of Gerrard, but i think its just absurd to even think of selling him, he has been downright the best player at the club for the past 10 years, yes he has been injured but that doenst mean he's over the hill by any chance,

True also that it has been Stevie "ME" but who could blame him? he has been surrounded with mediocrity the length of time he has been here, each time and everytime when someone needs to step up who has that person been? Im think i would be right in saying that Steven Gerrard would not have been Steven "ME" if he was surrounded by quality players as he was progressing through the ranks. As much as people rate Carragher I think Gerrard is up there as well.

Point is to think of moving Gerrard on onto another club when he's given so much, its not even a thought, many of us question loyalty in players these days, and true enough Gerrard's head was turned to Chelsea some season's ago like many players but he stuck by the club nonetheless, who would have know where would we have been at that time if Gerrard decided to move? being ruthless is one thing being just plain daft is another. just saying
triple02
post Jun 23 2011, 05:10 PM

endorphin addict
2,715 posts

QUOTE(Duke Red @ Jun 23 2011, 04:02 PM)
Like some folk here, I've been privileged enough to have witnessed the start of Gerrard's career and hopefully it's end here at LFC. Don't take the discussion out of context here. No one is suggesting flogging him off. The question is what do we do if a large offer comes in? Do we issue a "hands-off" response or do we consider it? Do we think about the number of younger, quality players we can bring to the club? I want Gerrard to stay as much as the next guy but is anyone really indispensable these days? Your response is no doubt out of sentiment but in the modern football world, can we base decisions purely on sentiment? When the mancs sold out to the yanks, did we not say they were selling their souls? Well what are we doing now? Fact of the matter is that we've not made as much money as we could have because we wanted to 'protect' the club and keep it within the 'family' for as long as we could. My point is that for the long term interest of the club, we cannot make decisions based purely on sentiment when the club is now being run like a business. You reckon that John Henry will base his decisions purely on sentiment?

I'd love for Stevie to end his career here but to completely ignore offers is to me, being naive.

Before I go on, first let me reiterate that I love Stevie as much as the next guy but that doesn't mean he is untouchable. Him sulking because he was surrounded by "mediocrity" is not an excuse, not when you are club captain and represent what the club stands for. You'll Never Walk Alone? What does this mean in this context? It means to me that even if other players are not up to the task, it is your duty to inspire them and to raise their game, not turn around wishing you had better team mates. Yes, it's frustrating, heck I'd be frustrated but I'm not captain of Liverpool Football Club am I? A captain's job isn't just to bark instructions off the pitch, it's to keep the team together off it. Maybe my expectations are high but this is LFC we're talking about. He did not sign for Chelsea in the end but one cannot ignore that as much as his decision to stay was due to his love for LFC, the death threats to him and his family did contribute somewhat.

Having said all that, I still hold Stevie in high regard. I just don't think he's flawless.
I dont think i was taking it out of context, maybe it sounded that way but it wasnt, ok for the sake of discussion, is there really going to be large offer coming in for Gerrard? 3-4 years ago yes no doubt there would have been but now? We who support the club know his true value of what he is and brings but what value does price wise will other club will see in him?

I agree that we have youngsters and lots of players coming in now and the club stands in a better stead compared to previously but one should also shouldnt not forget what Gerrard has done before all this took place, yes im clouded by sentiments, sentiments for a player that has given his all for the club and thats what we need and look for in a player these days dont we? and FSG are just starting to build something special at the club, why risk the backlash of the fans by selling the club's best player when he could still on his day win a game? apart from club sentiments aside, logically speaking players these days look more towards playing with world class players compared to the badge. Suarez came because he wanted to play with Torres and Gerrard, Henderson because of Gerrard, apart from the club you'd have to admit that a player who plays at the club does also hold attraction. We Liverpool fans know how steep we are in tradition but does the players?

Im not contradicting but i agree no one is bigger than the club, John Henry runs this club like a business wouldnt any question his financial acumen if he decides to sell of of the main attractions at the club, costing millions in sales of jersey's and potential pulling power for the players to come and play at the club?

As for being the club captain, I think you would agree Gerrard more than did his fair share of representing the club, yes he is not flawless and had his tiffs with the law, you mentioned his decision to stay with LFC the could be contributed from the death threats to his family well maybe there could have been other factors as well too right? I never had a chance to see Kenny Dalglish, Ian Rush during their hey days at the club, and Gerrard I consider is the closest thing to them since then. I'm just being appreciative of what he has brought to the club, thats all

This post has been edited by triple02: Jun 23 2011, 06:24 PM
triple02
post Jul 6 2011, 03:41 PM

endorphin addict
2,715 posts

QUOTE(solstice818 @ Jul 6 2011, 12:10 PM)
Lee's sharp exit shames Liverpool
I hope it's not true. Damn it!  vmad.gif
TheDailyMail is known as DailyFail for a reason..

I wont look too much into that, I'm sure that Sammy will be given a chance to explain what went down.Till then im not going to speculate

This post has been edited by triple02: Jul 6 2011, 04:04 PM
triple02
post Jul 6 2011, 11:39 PM

endorphin addict
2,715 posts

Proper player is this Adam...

Delighted to see him finally coming in! We have a crowded midfield but its good i supposed alot of options, though i see either Meireles or Aquilani heading out since we signed Henderson

Rather than selling them both, id rather see the likes of Cole and Poulsen leave if im honest..

Our first team midfielders

Maxi
Aquilani
Meireles
Gerrard
Henderson
Lucas
Spearing
Adam

Potentially with Downing coming in

Insane... laugh.gif
triple02
post Jul 15 2011, 02:48 PM

endorphin addict
2,715 posts

QUOTE(all blacks @ Jul 15 2011, 02:42 PM)
Any idea on who is in gardens? n r they stil there?
i got it from their twitter...

Kuyt n Adam are on the way to Gardens noe
triple02
post Jul 15 2011, 10:24 PM

endorphin addict
2,715 posts

QUOTE(afaris @ Jul 15 2011, 10:07 PM)

want to ask u guys for help to recognise some players from this pic.
Ok..

from the left of the picture

Insua, Wisdom, Gulacsi, Pacheco, Hansen
triple02
post Jul 18 2011, 04:03 PM

endorphin addict
2,715 posts

QUOTE(Duke Red @ Jul 18 2011, 03:10 PM)
I want the yellow one dude. Sunway Pyramid right? K lah I go there for lunch occasionally since I work in Shah Alam.
good to see you after a long time on Saturday man! biggrin.gif

yes after for the Malaysia jersey's if you cant find it in Sunway, Try IOI Mall Puchong ground floor new wing opposite TGI Fridays

they just stocked up on Malaysia's jersey both yellow and blue, sizes are available still i got both of them there last time during the AFF cup finals..
triple02
post Jul 18 2011, 04:07 PM

endorphin addict
2,715 posts

QUOTE(aressandro10 @ Jul 18 2011, 03:49 PM)
doh.gif . Takde bro. Aku nak penyokong liverpool datang 28hb nanti. tu je masalah aku. Aku malu kalau stadium tu kosong nanti.
Label ? you probaply missed the where i say i am impressed by how Liverpool supporters cheered when Malaysia scored .. or during warm ups and stuff..

its kinda hard to post that in other threads because Malaysia has not scored against them in a while. And Rajagopal also complained in the papers that the bukit Jalil crowd was disappointingly silent when Amri Yahya scored against Man U... where the crowd should have been support the local team instedt.

they dont know the orgasmic feeling when our national team scored against the world class British teams...

the feeling is like "yeah.. we are all right.. bring it onnn!!!" ... which is very electrifying and soothing at the same time.

People of Liverpool in Bukit Jalil already felt that feeling. 3 times. so i expect a lot of them will crave more of it comes 28th.
Patriotisms aside... are you a part of Msian Ultras? I was hoping to see them last weekend against last weekend but suprisingly they were not there? or were they?

but one thing for sure is im sure they'll be there against Singapore...

0.0500sec    0.43    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 04:15 AM