107 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadbrand Thread V11, FREE Installation & 1-month subscription

jaws_bodo
post Jun 13 2011, 10:56 PM

28 posts

reg three weeks ago using online method....mistakenly at set appointment date....i put 1/8/2011...call their customer service...ask to change to earlier date....last week unifi installation team call me because got 1 free slot...up until now...the speed is quite good....using speedtest...got 4-6mb

mikecmy
post Jun 13 2011, 11:31 PM

734 posts

Weird,
I am able to register yesterday.
But today when my friend staying upstairs trying to register it says not available eventhough when search it does appear.
Why ar?
fx_53_xt
post Jun 14 2011, 12:06 AM

2,048 posts

QUOTE(klseet @ Jun 13 2011, 02:36 PM)
ASUS RT-N56U

Hopefully this stylish device from ASUS will be the very first all-in-1 + dual-band + 2xUSB + full gigabit router for UniFi !  drool.gif
http://klseet.com/index.php?option=com_con...id=82&Itemid=78

Another option for power/advance users, or for those who are looking for a really cool & style device !  tongue.gif

Custom firmware for UniFi in progress, stay tuned .....  flex.gif

This device uses one of current Ralink's top end chip RT3662 @ 500MHz, looks like Ralink is coming back again!  smile.gif
So i guess it is true that all broadcom chip based router is hopeless in doing VLAN ID tagging above 15 seeing all router Asus engineered for Unifi is Ralink based chip. Broadcom based RT-N16 will probably never see the light of day.

Added on June 14, 2011, 12:11 amOn a side note, California state is getting 1Gbps FTTH for only USD $70 (~RM210), or a budget menu of 100Mbps for USD $40 (~RM120).

And here we are proud to pay RM199 for 10Mbps. With the government going all out to censor internet, ISP blaming us abusing bandwidth and setting ridiculous cap sugestion on fibers.

http://www.engadget.com/2011/06/13/sonic-n...internet-in-ca/

This post has been edited by fx_53_xt: Jun 14 2011, 12:11 AM
IwanAGP
post Jun 14 2011, 12:17 AM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(fx_53_xt @ Jun 14 2011, 12:06 AM)
So i guess it is true that all broadcom chip based router is hopeless in doing VLAN ID tagging above 15 seeing all router Asus engineered for Unifi is Ralink based chip. Broadcom based RT-N16 will probably never see the light of day.

Added on June 14, 2011, 12:11 amOn a side note, California state is getting 1Gbps FTTH for only USD $70 (~RM210), or a budget menu of 100Mbps for USD $40 (~RM120).

And here we are proud to pay RM199 for 10Mbps. With the government going all out to censor internet, ISP blaming us abusing bandwidth and setting ridiculous cap sugestion on fibers.

http://www.engadget.com/2011/06/13/sonic-n...internet-in-ca/
I think you can't really compare it this way. You need to know that in US, most of them is like getting files locally as most sites have their servers based in US. Who the heck in US will care to request something from malaysia server. This is just pure opinion and my thoughts. If you get and know what I am trying to say. We, malaysian is the other way round. We need a lot of data/info from foreign server and also local servers but the thing appear that we're getting more data from foreign servers than they do. What i mean is we rely more on foreign servers while they're just getting something from local server. Pure Thoughts of mine. I'm not sure whether this thought is valid. xD
rattan
post Jun 14 2011, 12:51 AM

Droid
Trade Dispute
3,379 posts

still waiting for more routers to support unifi VLAN. The wait is never ending ....
klseet
post Jun 14 2011, 07:58 AM

130 posts

ASUS RT-N56U
Initial test update (vlan.500 only):
http://klseet.com/index.php?option=com_con...id=85&Itemid=80

Yes, this unit is considered high-end range, it actually has 2 chips within:
RT3662 @ 5GHz
RT3092 @ 2.4GHz

Coupled with full gigabit, 2xUSB2, 3 years warranty, quality built & stylish design, that's why the high price sweat.gif
So far I'm happy with the performance, I particularly like the design look ! tongue.gif

The whole idea & purpose here is to source and encourage other manufacturers to continue make UniFi suitable routers, from basic to advance range, so everyone can enjoy UniFi fully ! smile.gif

And most importantly, this is to tell TM DON'T force us to use 1 particular router only. yawn.gif

I hope with this higher end model, it can help to complete the range of selection nod.gif

Been tiring on all these ..... sweat.gif

This post has been edited by klseet: Jun 14 2011, 08:22 AM
rhoyo
post Jun 14 2011, 08:11 AM

-
2,800 posts

hello guys wanna ask i live in a flat . and my roomate already using a unifi vip 5 so i was thinking if i wanna have another unifi is it possible ? . roomate don't wanna share cause if i use will become lembab LMAO laugh.gif . so i was thinking about getting a vip 10 more super cause p1 wimax so f***ing slow .
aaronlim
post Jun 14 2011, 08:31 AM

103 posts

QUOTE(rhoyo @ Jun 14 2011, 08:11 AM)
hello guys wanna ask i live in a flat . and my roomate already using a unifi vip 5 so i was thinking if i wanna have another unifi is it possible ? . roomate don't wanna share cause if i use will become lembab LMAO laugh.gif . so i was thinking about getting a vip 10 more super cause p1 wimax so f***ing slow .
I'm not sure can or not... shld be can, just another cable to your room. Try call TM contact centre.

Another way is your friend using vip5, why not top up your portion to upgrade vip5 to vip10 or 20. simpler.
dimenxion
post Jun 14 2011, 08:33 AM

289 posts

QUOTE(aaronlim @ Jun 14 2011, 08:31 AM)
I'm not sure can or not... shld be can, just another cable to your room.  Try call TM contact centre.

Another way is your friend using vip5, why not top up your portion to upgrade vip5 to vip10 or 20.  simpler.
yeah... get vip10. then do bandwidth allocation. 5Mbps each
rhoyo
post Jun 14 2011, 08:38 AM

-
2,800 posts

I'm not sure can or not... shld be can, just another cable to your room.  Try call TM contact centre.

Another way is your friend using vip5, why not top up your portion to upgrade vip5 to vip10 or 20.  simpler.
he dun want cause he say will lembab if share2 or do bandwidth allocation even if wanna top up vip 20 whistling.gif

hazairi
post Jun 14 2011, 08:40 AM

2,694 posts

QUOTE(dimenxion @ Jun 14 2011, 08:33 AM)
yeah... get vip10. then do bandwidth allocation. 5Mbps each
i think those advice are the best.

VIP10 is only RM199.
Divide by 2 a person will pay only RM99.5!
fx_53_xt
post Jun 14 2011, 09:03 AM

2,048 posts

QUOTE(IwanAGP @ Jun 14 2011, 12:17 AM)
I think you can't really compare it this way. You need to know that in US, most of them is like getting files locally as most sites have their servers based in US. Who the heck in US will care to request something from malaysia server. This is just pure opinion and my thoughts. If you get and know what I am trying to say. We, malaysian is the other way round. We need a lot of data/info from foreign server and also local servers but the thing appear that we're getting more data from foreign servers than they do. What i mean is we rely more on foreign servers while they're just getting something from local server. Pure Thoughts of mine. I'm not sure whether this thought is valid. xD
i'm more than happy/excited/grateful/thankful to see if TM can come out with something like VIP 5 complemented with 100mbps local bandwidth,
Then we can utilize things like DC++ hub.
But deep inside your heart, you know that will never happens, cause afterall, this is Malaysia, we have SKMM that censors website, not FCC that regulates ISP.
shyghost
post Jun 14 2011, 09:23 AM

113 posts

Is it hard to setup unifi using the other brand than the standard item given by TM? Seriously thinking of purchasing the asus as soon as they install unifi in my home.. The guide do say it is for the advanced users...

On another note, is it available to purchase? in lowyat?

aaronlim
post Jun 14 2011, 09:32 AM

103 posts

QUOTE(hazairi @ Jun 14 2011, 08:40 AM)
i think those advice are the best.

VIP10 is only RM199.
Divide by 2 a person will pay only RM99.5!
With bandwith allocation yang bang Dimenxion said, and RM99.5 each for VIP10, WIN-WIN. I agree.

If like that, neighbour who wants to share with me...i might go with it !! :>
raimy_m9
post Jun 14 2011, 09:37 AM

174 posts

QUOTE(fx_53_xt @ Jun 14 2011, 09:03 AM)
i'm more than happy/excited/grateful/thankful to see if TM can come out with something like VIP 5 complemented with 100mbps local bandwidth,
Then we can utilize things like DC++ hub.
But deep inside your heart, you know that will never happens, cause afterall, this is Malaysia, we have SKMM that censors website, not FCC that regulates ISP.
i think you can count with your finger how many hosters in malaysia have 100mbps uplink..from what i see, mostly have 1mbps uplink.

This post has been edited by raimy_m9: Jun 14 2011, 09:37 AM
zombie24
post Jun 14 2011, 10:04 AM

805 posts

is unfi like streamyx..do they have the port thingy...when if they have free port only u can subscribe...or is it unlimited??
dvinez
post Jun 14 2011, 10:15 AM

Limited Edition
1,475 posts

bro the unifi tv..can lets say the modem are at 3rd floor..can i use wifi to see the tv channel? do they provide decoder with wifi? as my tv no wifi..

and, just opposite my house got light pole with unifi white box, are the installation quick? what they want to drill? as my current streamyx line are tarik from the light pole to my roof and bring down 3rd floor, wires are hidden in board ceilling.

pls advice..if a lot of hassle terpaksa upgrade 4mb only.
synzo
post Jun 14 2011, 10:32 AM

314 posts

Added on June 13, 2011, 10:30 pm
Then, I suggest you to proud with other country... And leave Malaysia smile.gif Malaysia don't need people like u smile.gif Bye
Malaysia is losing large number of technical skilled profesionals and graduates to foreign countries all the time

This post has been edited by synzo: Jun 14 2011, 10:32 AM
fx_53_xt
post Jun 14 2011, 10:36 AM

2,048 posts

QUOTE(raimy_m9 @ Jun 14 2011, 09:37 AM)
i think you can count with your finger how many hosters in malaysia have 100mbps uplink..from what i see, mostly have 1mbps uplink.
i agree almost none of the hosting provider can accommodate multiple 100mbps load. but hosting with 1mbps? where did this fact came from?
Also, didn't u read i wrote applications like DC++?
my previous post is not arguing how fast we can go. It's how expensive we are.

QUOTE(zombie24 @ Jun 14 2011, 10:04 AM)
is unfi like streamyx..do they have the port thingy...when if they have free port only u can subscribe...or is it unlimited??
as long as your house/condo is HSBB fiber ready, you're good to go.

QUOTE(dvinez @ Jun 14 2011, 10:15 AM)
bro the unifi tv..can lets say the modem are at 3rd floor..can i use wifi to see the tv channel? do they provide decoder with wifi? as my tv no wifi..

and, just opposite my house got light pole with unifi white box, are the installation quick? what they want to drill? as my current streamyx line are tarik from the light pole to my roof and bring down 3rd floor, wires are hidden in board ceilling.

pls advice..if a lot of hassle terpaksa upgrade 4mb only.
Try home plug instead of wifi?
They will have to drill to punch the fiber through wall. If you want them to pull through the roof, that's considered as non-standard installation and you'll have to bear extra charges.

This post has been edited by fx_53_xt: Jun 14 2011, 10:38 AM
dimenxion
post Jun 14 2011, 11:04 AM

289 posts

QUOTE(rhoyo @ Jun 14 2011, 08:38 AM)
he dun want cause he say will lembab if share2 or do bandwidth allocation even if wanna top up vip 20  whistling.gif
QUOTE(aaronlim @ Jun 14 2011, 09:32 AM)
With bandwith allocation yang bang Dimenxion said, and RM99.5 each for VIP10, WIN-WIN.  I agree.

If like that, neighbour who wants to share with me...i might go with it !! :>
i did this bandwidth allocation at my home and what i can tell it works flawlessly. i am using the tplink wr841nd and setup the bandwidth allocation to certain computers to only allow certain amount of bandwidth it can consume. like myself, i am using 10Mbps. so what i did i setup my server and my laptop to have full 10Mbps while the rest of the computers only can use 5Mbps. in case you wondering, yeah i did test on all the PC's that i limit the bandwidth and all shows maximum 5Mbps transfer rate while i am getting full speed. i never have slow speed issue since then although my bro's pc keep utilizing the 5Mbps

107 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0510sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 08:40 PM