128 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Bottom

Income Tax Issues v2

MSS
post Oct 9 2011, 08:15 AM

1 Malaysia
1,294 posts

Me too, they deduct RM79.75 one shot, only one month, it's I will get it back end of this year?.
SUSDavid83
post Oct 9 2011, 10:23 AM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(MSS @ Oct 9 2011, 08:15 AM)
Me too, they deduct RM79.75 one shot, only one month, it's I will get it back end of this year?.
Depends on your annual chargeable/taxable income.
winghong
post Oct 11 2011, 12:00 AM

60 posts

QUOTE(ericwen @ Sep 30 2011, 04:02 PM)
sorry didn't read through the long posts ..

just wanna ask...

if i have shares in company, and year end company pays me dividends from profit after tax (upon my shareholdings)... i heard the company already pays the tax, and i don't have to pay in my income tax for the following year?

is that true? just wanna confirm.
If you received taxable dividend income, you are eligible to claim the Section 110 to net off your taxable dividend income.
Hope this can help you.
ronnie
post Oct 12 2011, 11:56 PM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

Do we need to declare Dividend earned from REITs, which has been taxed at 10% already.
winghong
post Oct 13 2011, 05:17 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Oct 12 2011, 11:56 PM)
Do we need to declare Dividend earned from REITs, which has been taxed at 10% already.
Yes, need to declare it.
ronnie
post Oct 13 2011, 06:24 PM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

QUOTE(winghong @ Oct 13 2011, 05:17 PM)
Yes, need to declare it.
But we already paid 10% With-holding Tax.... icon_question.gif icon_question.gif icon_question.gif

The withholding tax is a final tax. Individuals and non-corporate investors are not required to declare REIT dividend income in their tax filing/returns. As such, you are not allowed to claim tax refund or tax offset in your tax returns, as opposed to other dividend income (provided you are receiving taxable dividend or non single tier dividend from your share investments). However, REIT dividends which attracts only 10% in the hand of unitholders, which is more tax beneficiary to those higher income earners whose tax brackets could be higher than 10%, up to a maximum of 27%.

Source : http://www.nbc.com.my/real-estate-investme...t-malaysia.html

This post has been edited by ronnie: Oct 13 2011, 06:27 PM
smartinvestor01
post Oct 13 2011, 08:49 PM

Saving and Investing for Retirement (The SIR Concept)
1,423 posts

This year i filed a tax refund but when will they issue back the refund?

Its been quite sometime...
-Teddy-
post Oct 15 2011, 06:24 PM

meh
1,939 posts

Do I have to declare income sourced from the U.S.? I'm freelancing for a company there and they pay by PayPal, which funds are transferred to my bank directly. I have another income source from my blog, and have not declared anything yet since the accountant says it's OK not to declare income less than RM2,500 per month. Also, if I were to pay tax for my blogging income, do I get to deduct the cost like domain names, hosting etc?

Will IRB come knocking my door if I purchase a new or used car, with or without loan?

One more thing: If my mom paid for my education fees in 2009 and 2010, and I'm repaying her monthly now, can I deduct it as my individual education fees? Consider it I loan my education fees from my mom?

This post has been edited by -Teddy-: Oct 15 2011, 08:21 PM
jason_chee
post Oct 17 2011, 03:10 PM

1,559 posts

preferable you declare. at least IRB know you're so called "honest" to declare. Whether you declare your blog income or not, it's very subjective. I would recommend you to declare. at least when you mentioned about buying hse, it's easier.

ur education, i don't think you can deduct in that way cos that's your mom, not Registered Financial Institution under Bank Negara. smile.gif

buy car is easier and not involve much of income tax. but buy hse / property is different. you need to supply your IRB's relevant document when apply loan.

just my 2 cents.
hockster
post Oct 17 2011, 05:35 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Aug 4 2011, 10:09 AM)
Switzerland (personal) income tax rate 22.4-42.2%

I would guess you are sort of like a contract worker. Therefore, you may use the country where you reside when you are onshore. If you prefer to get taxed in Switzerland, then by all means declare there. Otherwise, declare back in Malaysia LHDN.

If you declare and pay in Switzerland, and you bring the money back into Malaysia (buy house, car, etc.) and get audited by LHDN, LHDN may require you to show proof of the tax you paid in Switzerland, otherwise LHDN will tax you again.
Double Taxation Agreeement

No matter where you work, even on the moon/ISS, your income is still taxable.
Aug 4 2011, 12:22 AM
Show posts by this member only | Post #112

Hello,

I need some help regarding on income tax issues. I would be glad if somebody can explain my situation.
I'm an offshore contract worker which hired by Switzerland company and my salary in USD which remitted from Switzerland to Malaysia Bank.
I dont pay tax in Malaysia also but recently I've register an Income tax account in Malaysia. ( Just bought a house )
My question is, is it taxable on my income situation? As far as I know, earning foreign currency is not taxable right? But the officer in LHDN told me that I need to pay tax in Malaysia.

Please help me to sort out this issues... thank you in advance... cheers~

Hi there, thank you for the reply.. I've found some information regarding on the Tax Exemption for the Foreign currencies earner. So if u work on the moon, and you received foreign currencies you dont have to pay tax IN MALAYSIA?

" A. Personal Income Tax
1. Who is Liable?
However, with effect from the year of assessment 2004,
income received in Malaysia by an individual for a year of
assessment that is derived from sources outside Malaysia is
exempted from tax. "

Pick from : http://www.kehakiman.gov.my/sites/default/...%20Thailand.pdf

Please correct me if I'm wrong. Thank you.

This post has been edited by hockster: Oct 17 2011, 05:42 PM
-Teddy-
post Oct 17 2011, 08:22 PM

meh
1,939 posts

Found the following exemption:

Individu yang bermastautin di Malaysia dikecualikan daripada cukai atas pendapatan royaltinya seperti berikut :

Penerimaan hasil penerbitan karya kesusasteraan /lukisan asli/penggubahan muzik  RM20,000

Walau bagaimanapun, pengecualian di atas tidak terpakai jika bayaran yang diterima menjadi sebahagian daripada gaji yang diterima oleh individu itu dalam menjalankan tugas rasmi.

I'm a freelance writer for an online publication in U.S. They pay by the number of articles I write per month, not a fixed amount per month like described in the last clause above. Can I consider it karya kesusasteraan, or in English, literary works? Is there any strict definition to that?

Icehart
post Oct 17 2011, 08:24 PM

14,899 posts

Hello guys I submitted Borang B on 30th June this year for last year assessment (2010). But till today not even a letter from IRB come to acknowledge the assessment is correctly done and the amount needed to pay. Do I have to go to their branch again? It's so far.
tchtax
post Oct 18 2011, 10:28 AM

638 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ Oct 17 2011, 08:24 PM)
Hello guys I submitted Borang B on 30th June this year for last year assessment (2010). But till today not even a letter from IRB come to acknowledge the assessment is correctly done and the amount needed to pay. Do I have to go to their branch again? It's so far.
IRB does not issue Form J anymore. It's self assessment system. What you have filled out as tax payable (or refund) on the Form B is taken as final (unless you get audited by the IRB)
chin20350
post Oct 20 2011, 02:10 PM

89 posts

this is my concern ,

i apply a housing loan , and attached with my tax receipt for year 2010.

Can anyone tell me whether this receipt is paying for year 2010 or year 2011. One of the bank keep saying that my tax receipt is paying for year 2011.
But how could anyone pay for year 2011 at this moment ??? and my receipt amount is tally with my year 2010 borang B also.

Sifu please help, please tell me whether is my problem or theirs.....

URGENT!!!
tchtax
post Oct 20 2011, 03:36 PM

638 posts

QUOTE(chin20350 @ Oct 20 2011, 02:10 PM)
this is my concern ,

i apply a housing loan , and attached with my tax receipt for year 2010.

Can anyone tell me whether this receipt is paying for year 2010 or year 2011. One of the bank keep saying that my tax receipt is paying for year 2011.
But how could anyone pay for year 2011 at this moment ??? and my receipt amount is tally with my year 2010 borang B also.
Sifu please help, please tell me whether is my problem or theirs.....
URGENT!!!
You're paying for 2011. When payment you must have checked the wrong year of assessment
chin20350
post Oct 20 2011, 04:31 PM

89 posts

QUOTE(tchtax @ Oct 20 2011, 03:36 PM)
You're paying for 2011. When payment you must have checked the wrong year of assessment
OH rclxub.gif is there anyway i can change this issue?? because this is the way i used to report tax leh.......
Icehart
post Oct 20 2011, 07:28 PM

14,899 posts

QUOTE(tchtax @ Oct 18 2011, 10:28 AM)
IRB does not issue Form J anymore. It's self assessment system. What you have filled out as tax payable (or refund) on the Form B is taken as final (unless you get audited by the IRB)
I see, thanks for the information. smile.gif
tchtax
post Oct 21 2011, 09:50 AM

638 posts

QUOTE(chin20350 @ Oct 20 2011, 04:31 PM)
OH  rclxub.gif is there anyway i can change this issue?? because this is the way i used to report tax leh.......
Go and see the tax officer at your branch. (Collections dept)
chicaman
post Oct 22 2011, 12:48 PM

( ;゚Д゚) t(-.-t)
9,706 posts

I am a fresh grad and I think I have to pay income tax soon.

From the table, the income tax to be paid is based on our annual income right?

The annual income is inclusive of the allowances in salary or only the basic of salary?

The tax reliefs, for example, RM500 (max) for broadband, we deduct that RM500 from our annual income together with other tax reliefs, then the balance will be match to the table above to determine how much tax to be paid?

Thanks for answering my questions in advance =)
saintckk
post Oct 22 2011, 01:18 PM

58 posts

QUOTE(chicaman @ Oct 22 2011, 12:48 PM)

I am a fresh grad and I think I have to pay income tax soon.

From the table, the income tax to be paid is based on our annual income right?

The annual income is inclusive of the allowances in salary or only the basic of salary?

The tax reliefs, for example, RM500 (max) for broadband, we deduct that RM500 from our annual income together with other tax reliefs, then the balance will be match to the table above to determine how much tax to be paid?

Thanks for answering my questions in advance =)
Gross salary include all allowances, bonuses, benefit in kind given by the company, rental income,etc. Relief available like personal relief, wife, children, EPF & Insurance, computer, books, broadband, zakat, parent medical, etc. Balance income will be taxed according to the table.

128 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0311sec    0.59    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 11:41 PM