Do we need to declare Dividend earned from REITs, which has been taxed at 10% already.
Income Tax Issues v2
Oct 12 2011, 11:56 PM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
21,308 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kuala Lumpur |
Do we need to declare Dividend earned from REITs, which has been taxed at 10% already.
Oct 13 2011, 06:24 PM
QUOTE(winghong @ Oct 13 2011, 05:17 PM) But we already paid 10% With-holding Tax.... QUOTE The withholding tax is a final tax. Individuals and non-corporate investors are not required to declare REIT dividend income in their tax filing/returns. As such, you are not allowed to claim tax refund or tax offset in your tax returns, as opposed to other dividend income (provided you are receiving taxable dividend or non single tier dividend from your share investments). However, REIT dividends which attracts only 10% in the hand of unitholders, which is more tax beneficiary to those higher income earners whose tax brackets could be higher than 10%, up to a maximum of 27%. Source : http://www.nbc.com.my/real-estate-investme...t-malaysia.html This post has been edited by ronnie: Oct 13 2011, 06:27 PM |
Oct 28 2011, 01:49 PM
QUOTE(Budak Kampung @ Oct 27 2011, 03:44 AM) Hi, im fresh grad just come out to working world. Currently, im doing self-study on income tax stuff so that I wont struggle later when i need to declare my tax. wanna ask, is paying back ptptn loan for degree education tax deductable? Pay loan also want income tax deduction Just make sure you pay up your PTPTN loan Money provided by PTPTN loan comes from taxpayers lah !!! |
Nov 14 2011, 11:25 PM
QUOTE(schnapps @ Nov 14 2011, 10:54 PM) hi experts, need some advice and directions. I got my tax refund mid of this year, however today I received a letter from lhdn stating that I am audited and to produce the relevant receipts. I am puzzled at this. my computer claim is somewhat fake and my first payment for internet line was only due in Jan 2011. can I still produce this receipt? how can I go about this? why am I audited only after receiving my tax return? Did you cheat on the "additional" tax relief like Computer and Broadband ?If you have all the relevant receipts, you have ZERO worry |
Nov 15 2011, 07:41 AM
QUOTE(schnapps @ Nov 15 2011, 07:10 AM) the computer receipt is genuine except I used a friends member card for discount where his name is printed on the receipt from Harvey Norman. as for broadband I only started using in Dec 2010. that I actually submit for full tax relief Computer receipt under your friend's name cannot be used. Is the Broadband fee for Dec 2010 = RM300 ? LHDN did a good to find out your "tax issues"... be prepared to pay some additional taxes + interest |
Dec 3 2011, 09:28 PM
Dec 11 2011, 12:16 PM
QUOTE(MeToo @ Dec 10 2011, 07:25 PM) Need some advise on this The receipt must state "Your Name for Parent's Name" eg. John Tan Ah Kau for Joelle Tang Yi Yi"Perbelanjaan Perubatan Ibu Bapa : 5,000 (Terhad)" Does this include buying medicine for mom in law? I need to buy some meds (buying 1 year supply at one go) costing about RM2~2.5k from hospital. If I get the resit opened under my name can I claim as my parents medication cost? If there is a link to read up on this I woudl appreciate it thanks! Mother-in-law's medication cost can be claimed by your wife only. |
Dec 11 2011, 12:17 PM
QUOTE(MSS @ Dec 11 2011, 08:31 AM) Hi all. As JD from Mix.fm always say "MIGRATE", if you are not happy.I already many times read about income tax. http://www.hasil.org.my/goindex.php?lgv=2&chg=1 Actually I'm not understand. This year already RM150 pcb from my salary. The problem is, I always not enough money. Because everything we buy give the profit to government. Let said car, yearly need to pay insurance and road tax. Loans include the interest 2-4% depends on the loans itself. Buying house also same. This years some expenses increase;- 1. Petrol 2. Electricity 3. Communication 4. Broadband (6%) I fell very bad and burden. |
Dec 28 2011, 11:33 AM
QUOTE(temptation1314 @ Dec 28 2011, 11:10 AM) Hmm, Does this mean I can't take 2009,2010, and 2011 receipts for PC component purchase and claim 1 time? I can only purchase everything (max 3k claim) within a year and claim them? You cannot combine receipt from different years to claim for the current Assessment Year.Need advise. You need to buy all components in the same year. Computer Tax Relief can be claimed every 3 years |
Dec 28 2011, 11:37 AM
Dec 29 2011, 12:36 AM
Dec 29 2011, 09:26 PM
QUOTE(MGM @ Dec 29 2011, 01:14 PM) If I buy a notebook (rm2400) with extras (cost rm600) like: it would RM2400 as tax relief...- 4GB RAM upgrade - MS-Office Home - wireless keyboard/mouse - Wireless router (to replace UNIFI router) - wireless headphone with mic Can I claim a relief of rm2400 or rm3000? Or only some of the extras can claim the relief. |
Dec 29 2011, 11:23 PM
Feb 1 2012, 11:12 PM
QUOTE(eric84cool @ Feb 1 2012, 02:57 PM) Can I assume RPGT rules apply on residence properties??? and sometimes I could find there are ppl who could buy and sell the house property within short frame like 1 or 2 months without paying for RPGT...how they do that? Maybe you should ask those who sell w/o paying RPGT.The 5 year period is calculated from the date of Sales & Purchase Agreement of the current owner. |
Feb 13 2012, 07:20 AM
QUOTE(joe_star @ Feb 13 2012, 02:31 AM) Hi. Got a couple of questions to ask here regarding my taxes for last yr. i was working at company A for 8 months of questions2011, then joined company B for the rest of the year. while in my previous company they regularly deducted my tax monthly. After joining the new place, i did not have any deductions in 2011. Now i'd like to know the following BOTH companies MUST provide you with EA form each.a) from whom do.i get my ea form for last year, company A or B. Or both ? |
Feb 13 2012, 10:35 AM
QUOTE(Traveler @ Feb 13 2012, 10:24 AM) I have submitted in the past, parent's pharmacy bills (from pharmacy inside hospital, as well as prescription medication from non-hospital pharmacies). It's always best to email LHDN on this matter, rather than based on individual experience as you may or may not get audited. |
Feb 13 2012, 11:30 AM
QUOTE(GloryKnight @ Feb 13 2012, 10:56 AM) Hi all, I just started work last year and my job tenure hasn't reached 1 year yet. Do I still need to report for income tax as well? My annual income is not more than the stipulated taxable annual income. Do you have PCB deduction listed in your salary slip.Anyone mind telling me the procedures here? Thanks! IF none, then you do not need to open Income Tax file just yet |
Feb 14 2012, 11:27 AM
QUOTE(guanteik @ Feb 14 2012, 07:31 AM) Thanks Traveler. Not only I heard about medical bills, but also nutritious food like bird's nest can be submitted for claims as well - basically anything related to parents. Anyone can correct me, do let me know. Hearsay are the most dangerous... never assume when dealing with TAXES... |
Feb 17 2012, 11:34 PM
QUOTE(ruben7389 @ Feb 17 2012, 10:55 PM) Hi There Of course cannot add TV as part of the PC Purchase Tax Relief claim.for PC tax relief of 3k, say in 2011 i bought a cpu for rm1500 and instead of having a pc monitor, i've plugged in my pc to my tv set which i use as my monitor. is my tv set deductivle as well if i bought it for rm1000? Once IRB sees TV, sure kena question |
| Change to: | 0.0366sec
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 02:21 PM |