So far, I received emails alert whenever my payment over RM3k for both retail purchase and online payment. No phone call from the customer service officer anymore.
Guys, pls check your registered email address with SCB!!
Credit Cards Standard Chartered Bank Credit Cards V1, Let's talk about SCB's credit card here
Jun 7 2011, 03:41 PM
712 posts Joined: Sep 2010 |
I just realised that Standard Chartered has implemented a new security measure for credit card payment lately. An email alert contains brief info of your purchase and payment amount, will be sent to your email address upon over certain payment threshold.
So far, I received emails alert whenever my payment over RM3k for both retail purchase and online payment. No phone call from the customer service officer anymore. Guys, pls check your registered email address with SCB!! |
Jun 7 2011, 03:50 PM
4,094 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: USJ |
QUOTE(tanch78 @ Jun 7 2011, 03:41 PM) I just realised that Standard Chartered has implemented a new security measure for credit card payment lately. An email alert contains brief info of your purchase and payment amount, will be sent to your email address upon over certain payment threshold. you can also setup ur sms banking thru the online banking to sms you whenever a transaction passes your preset thresholdSo far, I received emails alert whenever my payment over RM3k for both retail purchase and online payment. No phone call from the customer service officer anymore. Guys, pls check your registered email address with SCB!! |
Jun 7 2011, 04:16 PM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
21,308 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kuala Lumpur |
Just updated my email to SCB Customer Service... and no more paper statement.
Jun 7 2011, 09:18 PM
152 posts Joined: Feb 2009 |
QUOTE(alexwsk @ Jun 7 2011, 01:09 PM) I just cancelled my 2 SCB cards because of GST and within 3 working days, they called me to take back 1 of the cards. Now waiting for UOB to do so as well as I just cancelled it as well, but I guess they are slow. A bit off topic, but anyone tried this for Citibank Clear card where when u cancel, they will waive the GST? This post has been edited by yflai1: Jun 7 2011, 09:19 PM |
Jun 7 2011, 10:52 PM
26,524 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Jun 8 2011, 02:55 PM
4,094 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: USJ |
Jun 8 2011, 03:49 PM
1,232 posts Joined: Sep 2005 |
QUOTE(yflai1 @ Jun 7 2011, 09:18 PM) I just cancelled my 2 SCB cards because of GST and within 3 working days, they called me to take back 1 of the cards. Hi yflai,Now waiting for UOB to do so as well as I just cancelled it as well, but I guess they are slow. A bit off topic, but anyone tried this for Citibank Clear card where when u cancel, they will waive the GST? Did u cancel SCB credit card via phone? I've just terminated my Citibank plat cash back and they didn't want to waive the GST for me |
Jun 8 2011, 10:39 PM
2,717 posts Joined: Oct 2004 |
QUOTE(yflai1 @ Jun 7 2011, 09:18 PM) I just cancelled my 2 SCB cards because of GST and within 3 working days, they called me to take back 1 of the cards. I thought they will give u 11k points when u swipe 3 times. U still gain 1k points after u use 10k points to redeem GST.Now waiting for UOB to do so as well as I just cancelled it as well, but I guess they are slow. A bit off topic, but anyone tried this for Citibank Clear card where when u cancel, they will waive the GST? |
Jun 9 2011, 02:29 PM
QUOTE(muscaa @ Jun 8 2011, 03:49 PM) Hi yflai, I went to SCB's branch and cancelled it. Hmm...I guess Citibank would rather lose customers than paying for the RM50. They really believe in the benefits they are providing to cardholders are attractive enough. How often do u use the card?Did u cancel SCB credit card via phone? I've just terminated my Citibank plat cash back and they didn't want to waive the GST for me QUOTE(pokemon @ Jun 8 2011, 10:39 PM) I thought they will give u 11k points when u swipe 3 times. U still gain 1k points after u use 10k points to redeem GST. I did not swipe it for the last one year and I had every intention to cancel it. What am I gonna do with the extra 1K points? Use the card and collect up to 10K just to exchange for some measly voucher? I'd rather use other cards that give u instantly more - like cash rebates. |
Jun 9 2011, 03:43 PM
QUOTE(yflai1 @ Jun 9 2011, 02:29 PM) I went to SCB's branch and cancelled it. Hmm...I guess Citibank would rather lose customers than paying for the RM50. They really believe in the benefits they are providing to cardholders are attractive enough. How often do u use the card? You can change 5000 ChoicePoints for RM25 cash back to your CC... that's a 0.5% rebate (based on RM1=1 ChoicePoint)I did not swipe it for the last one year and I had every intention to cancel it. What am I gonna do with the extra 1K points? Use the card and collect up to 10K just to exchange for some measly voucher? I'd rather use other cards that give u instantly more - like cash rebates. |
Jun 9 2011, 04:35 PM
QUOTE(ronnie @ Jun 9 2011, 03:43 PM) You can change 5000 ChoicePoints for RM25 cash back to your CC... that's a 0.5% rebate (based on RM1=1 ChoicePoint) Yeah...I saw that in their before last time as well...but still, I will need to use another 4K before I get another 4K points. See, the "evil" they make u do.Better I spend this 4K with 5% / 7.5% rebate? Even though I know now they're offering the 25% dining cash back for these two months but, my monthly food bill does not reach their minimum amount. On a side note, for F&B industry, usually these are the 2 slowest months in the year if I'm not mistaken. Anyone from F&B industry, correct me if I'm wrong. Thanks. |
Jun 9 2011, 06:44 PM
1,232 posts Joined: Sep 2005 |
QUOTE(yflai1 @ Jun 9 2011, 02:29 PM) I went to SCB's branch and cancelled it. Hmm...I guess Citibank would rather lose customers than paying for the RM50. They really believe in the benefits they are providing to cardholders are attractive enough. How often do u use the card? I used SCB credit card a lot over the last one year, but I will call SCB to tell them i wanna cancel the card as I'm not very keen to pay the RM50 service taxI did not swipe it for the last one year and I had every intention to cancel it. What am I gonna do with the extra 1K points? Use the card and collect up to 10K just to exchange for some measly voucher? I'd rather use other cards that give u instantly more - like cash rebates. |
Jun 10 2011, 07:34 AM
QUOTE(yflai1 @ Jun 9 2011, 04:35 PM) Yeah...I saw that in their before last time as well...but still, I will need to use another 4K before I get another 4K points. See, the "evil" they make u do. I have reach >50% of the maximum payout liao... Better I spend this 4K with 5% / 7.5% rebate? Even though I know now they're offering the 25% dining cash back for these two months but, my monthly food bill does not reach their minimum amount. On a side note, for F&B industry, usually these are the 2 slowest months in the year if I'm not mistaken. Anyone from F&B industry, correct me if I'm wrong. Thanks. Did it I overspend ? Not really as I still have to eat lunch & dinner. When will mamak start accepting CC ? Why are June & July the slowest month ? It's Mega Shopathon Sale month !!! |
Jun 10 2011, 07:45 AM
Jun 10 2011, 09:33 AM
1,684 posts Joined: Apr 2008 |
hopefully got lots ppl cancelling their justone cc so that scb will reopen the application to public
Jun 10 2011, 09:53 AM
2,326 posts Joined: Nov 2006 From: Maltese Planet ^_^ |
QUOTE(muscaa @ Jun 9 2011, 06:44 PM) I used SCB credit card a lot over the last one year, but I will call SCB to tell them i wanna cancel the card as I'm not very keen to pay the RM50 service tax they wil pay u RM50 to "gao dim" the GSt, it happened to me and hence, stil keeping the card.Added on June 10, 2011, 9:53 am QUOTE(gerrardling @ Jun 10 2011, 09:33 AM) hopefully got lots ppl cancelling their justone cc so that scb will reopen the application to public wats ya so great abt this card?Added on June 10, 2011, 9:54 am QUOTE(ronnie @ Jun 1 2011, 11:52 PM) • Spend at least RM1,500 per month on anything, not just dining. Analysis You can spend RM900(other retail spending) + RM600 (Dining) to get RM150 Cash back in one single month (either June or July) That's 10% Nett Cash Back (or 11% if using the SCB Business Visa) This post has been edited by andyfriends: Jun 10 2011, 09:54 AM |
Jun 10 2011, 10:27 AM
1,754 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Puchong |
QUOTE(yflai1 @ Jun 7 2011, 09:18 PM) I just cancelled my 2 SCB cards because of GST and within 3 working days, they called me to take back 1 of the cards. I called Citibank CS and told them I wanted to cancel my master clear card.. she offerred to waive my GST and credited it back into my account... of cause I need to keep the card...Now waiting for UOB to do so as well as I just cancelled it as well, but I guess they are slow. A bit off topic, but anyone tried this for Citibank Clear card where when u cancel, they will waive the GST? |
Jun 10 2011, 10:43 AM
1,684 posts Joined: Apr 2008 |
QUOTE(andyfriends @ Jun 10 2011, 09:53 AM) they wil pay u RM50 to "gao dim" the GSt, it happened to me and hence, stil keeping the card. that is the one of the trick used by citibank shell card. maximum cashback u can get is rm150. that mean u are only allowed to spend up to max rm600 for dinner. BUT u need to spend another rm900 to make it rm1500 in one month and it doesnt giving u any cashback at all. Added on June 10, 2011, 9:53 am wats ya so great abt this card? Added on June 10, 2011, 9:54 am i dont understand this. If only getting 10% cash back, why is the promotion says 25% ? so it will be 150/1500 = 10% cashback. The extra rm900 which doesnt entitle for cashback that u spent drag down the cashback value |
Jun 10 2011, 11:02 AM
QUOTE(gerrardling @ Jun 10 2011, 10:43 AM) that is the one of the trick used by citibank shell card. maximum cashback u can get is rm150. that mean u are only allowed to spend up to max rm600 for dinner. BUT u need to spend another rm900 to make it rm1500 in one month and it doesnt giving u any cashback at all. The statement is not enitrely true. SCB Choice Points received will be 900 ChoicePoints, which is equivalent to 0.5% cash back (5000 ChoicePoints = RM25)so it will be 150/1500 = 10% cashback. The extra rm900 which doesnt entitle for cashback that u spent drag down the cashback value CC was create to let you spend more than you can afford |
Jun 10 2011, 02:59 PM
QUOTE(edwinlcw @ Jun 10 2011, 10:27 AM) I called Citibank CS and told them I wanted to cancel my master clear card.. she offerred to waive my GST and credited it back into my account... of cause I need to keep the card... Hmm...i gotta do that this year, and seriously, this time I want to cancel my card.Added on June 10, 2011, 3:03 pm QUOTE(ronnie @ Jun 10 2011, 07:34 AM) I have reach >50% of the maximum payout liao... That's why they have all this shopping and sales and food promos at this time of the year, the rest of the year are mostly festival/holiday seasons where people will spend. U will see lots of wine promos at this time as well.Did it I overspend ? Not really as I still have to eat lunch & dinner. When will mamak start accepting CC ? Why are June & July the slowest month ? It's Mega Shopathon Sale month !!! This post has been edited by yflai1: Jun 10 2011, 03:03 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0195sec
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 08:01 AM |