Travel Taiwan V2, Refer to pg 1 for compiled guides

kiawin
post Aug 20 2011, 06:50 PM

NOOBIE
680 posts

QUOTE(ukiya @ Aug 19 2011, 03:10 PM)
Heading to Taiwan end of the year... Going for 8days...

Any budget hotel you all would reccomend? 2 person ... Prefer those nearby MRT or any tourist spot or night market area ... Budget around RM150/night.. any suggestion?
Stayed at ECFA Hotel in Ximending. Very convenient. It's a new hotel, very clean. You can purchase via agoda, cheaper. I got mine that way. Should fit your budget.

They have a website & facebook too. Google for it smile.gif
terryykf
post Aug 20 2011, 09:32 PM

175 posts

QUOTE(kiawin @ Aug 20 2011, 06:50 PM)
Stayed at ECFA Hotel in Ximending. Very convenient. It's a new hotel, very clean. You can purchase via agoda, cheaper. I got mine that way. Should fit your budget.

They have a website & facebook too. Google for it smile.gif
how much per night?
myuptownboy
post Aug 21 2011, 11:43 AM

37 posts

QUOTE(GKilla @ Aug 20 2011, 06:08 PM)
Hey there.

I found 觀星園 Starry House's website here:-
http://starry.nantou.com.tw/?ptype=hotel

But the prices quoted in that website  are abit outdated and when i emailed him, he gave me a higher price. BTW i emailed to him in English but he replied me in Chinese smile.gif

Here's the weekday room price that  Starry Minsu 李大哥 quoted me:-
6 persons room = NT$3840 per night
2 persons room = NT$1980 per night

Price above includes breakfast and Western style steamboat dinner.
I think most likely just around 清境农场 Cingjing farm, see sheep and walk around. I'm not really sure what else to in CJ do so will ask the Starry Minsu boss to recommend us when we reach there. Oh ya, if you got time , you can check out Lushan Hotspring. But i heard it's currently under going renovations. You can ask the Starry Minsu boss to find you a driver to get to Lushan Hotspring or you can board a bus yourself. If you hire a driver to Lushan Hotspring, i understand it might cost NT$650 per person which includes hot spring usage, return trip.

There are 6 of us, so our CingJing to Taroko driver asked for Nt$6000 (5-6 persons). If up to 4 persons, it's NT$5000.  Pay additional NT$500 to include Qingshui Clif, which we should be covering as well. Our driver wont be sending us to Taipei after Taroko. The plan is to board the railway train to Taipei from Hualien. Train fare should be NT$284 to NT$441 per ticket per way, depending on the type of train, date and time. http://railway.hinet.net/etkind1.htm
Yeah..李大哥 quote me the same price as well :-) I do send him a note in English too...
Lushan Hot Spring nice? I never research that place..Photos from google looks normal for me..No idea..haha..

You are planning to Taroko too? Do you know how far the journey? My plan is from:
Taipei>>Sun Moon Lake (stay 1 night)
SML>>Cingjing (stay 1 night)
Cinjing>>back to Taipei (stay night at Taipei)

Just worry the last itinerary from Cingjing back to Taipei which we may rent a car to stop by Taroko might be very limited time.
Any idea how long Cingjing to Taroko? And any good driver to recommend?

purpink
post Aug 21 2011, 08:39 PM

Anyone Care to cab from cingjing to hualien via taroko gorge on early october?
LameCouple
post Aug 22 2011, 08:43 AM

31 posts

QUOTE(aiyume @ Aug 19 2011, 10:47 AM)
most of the major train stations have luggage storage. the one in Taipei Railway Station is at B1, rate from NTD50-100/3 hours and depending on luggage size. There's 1 outside of taipei main station that charges NTD17/luggage/day. the address is No. 3, BěiPíng West Rd, Jhongjheng District, Taipei City, Taiwan 100. operating from 8am - 8pm.

Thanks man! This is helpful smile.gif
jlgoh9
post Aug 22 2011, 10:58 AM

22 posts

QUOTE(chern84 @ Aug 19 2011, 03:20 AM)
Hi all Sifus,

This is my first time going to Taiwan.  I will be going with another 3 of my friends from 15 - 22 Oct 2011. This round, I would like to visit Taipei, Ching Jing and Tarako. Please advise whether I can go to Tarako from Taichung. Please aslo give comments on my itinerary in  below. A million thanks in advance!

16 Oct 2011 Sun  0800 to 0900  Breakfast around TS Hotel Area.
     0900 to 0930  Check out from TS Hotel and head to Taiwan High Speed Rail (THSR)
     0930 to 1030  Reach THSR - Tai Chung. Take cab to Tai Chung train station.
     1030 to 1100  Keep our luggage in Tai Chung Train Station. 
     1100 to 1200  Head to Ching Jing Farm
     1200 to 2200  Walk around Ching Jing Farm and stay at 觀星園景觀山莊
         (How can I go to those tourist spot from here? Can advise where to go?)
Time above is a bit off. Check my blog for the timing. If you are lucky to board 11am bus to Puli, then you might be able to take an earlier bus to Cingjing from Puli. If the time is spot on, I think you should be arriving in Cingjing by 2pm instead of 12pm. Check with your minsu if they can provide the transportation to nearby tourist place for free or not

17 Oct 2011 Mon  0900 to 1000  Breakfast at 觀星園景觀山莊
         Can I plan from here to Tarako / He Huan San and other nearby tourist spots?
         Any difference from FengJia Night Market and Those Night Market in Taipei?
         Where should I spend a night here? any recomendation?

Friend, Taroko and Taichung is like east and west side of Taiwan, it's impossible to be at the same place at the same day cos most of the time is spent on travelling. The most you can go is Hehuanshan, then you need to turn back to Cingjing and back to Puli, then to Taichung. If you cross over to Taroko, it will take you 4-5 hours just on the small and windy mountain road. I'd suggest skip taroko but include Hehuanshan. Fengjia Night Market if i'm not mistaken is the largest Night market in taiwan. A lot of nice food there. Don't miss it if you spend a night at Taichung.

Taipei itinerary should be ok. It's easier to move around Taipei and reschedule if there's something on. PM me if you need more info as your journey is almost the same as mine.

Added on August 22, 2011, 11:04 am
QUOTE(myuptownboy @ Aug 15 2011, 07:01 PM)
I do saw some blog intro for staying in 觀星園 Starry House..if i'm correct, Room price $1750 per night includes free transportation around Cingjing area, breakfast and dinner from the homestay.
But for my trip to Cingjing with only 清境农场 for visit..I think i'll prefer there..or can you share me more info on the interest of Cinjing?

The Starry rate is NT1980/2 pax when I went there last March 2011

Added on August 22, 2011, 11:06 am
QUOTE(aiyume @ Aug 18 2011, 10:12 AM)
i heard wufenpu has super cheap clothes....it's a wholesale place so might not be able to try on the clothes before buying though....
Yes, Wufenpu has cheap clothes, but NO trying at all.

Added on August 22, 2011, 11:08 am
QUOTE(LameCouple @ Aug 19 2011, 10:09 AM)
Is it all train station have luggage storage place? wonder is it safe? train station and highspeed train is diff right?  tongue.gif

I was thinking if i want to travel out of Taipei to places like Cing Jing Farm, Alishan, lugggage will be the major concern. As most of the time we can only check in to hotel either 12noon or 2pm, which we might have to carry our luggage to visit around, which this is very inconvenient.
All train station have the luggage storage place. Some station like Taipei Main Station has 2 types of storage system. One is locker system and one is room system. Room is all of the bags are put together in a room (not so nice room) and each has a tag. But cheaper though. NT17 per day.

Added on August 22, 2011, 11:18 am
QUOTE(GKilla @ Aug 20 2011, 06:08 PM)
Hey there.

Here's the weekday room price that  Starry Minsu 李大哥 quoted me:-
2 persons room = NT$1980 per night

I got this price in March2011, but I booked in December 2010. Probably the cheaper rate is for locals as the locals there get better hotel rate than us, the foreigner.

I think most likely just around 清境农场 Cingjing farm, see sheep and walk around. I'm not really sure what else to in CJ do so will ask the Starry Minsu boss to recommend us when we reach there.

Starry is just 5 mins drive from the entrance of the Cingjing farm. I suggest your start your walk from the top. The farm is heading downhill so you won't feel that tired. Cos towards the end have a huge stairs with 300+ steps. You would want to go downs the stairs instead of climbing up. From the other entrance down there, you can walk further down the road but becareful of the cars and buses. You'll pass by Cingjing information building(you can see this if you take bus to starry). Walk further down will be Little Swiss Garden. Nice place too to visit. Walking in these 2 places will take up most of your time. If you go during weekends,you can catch the sheep shaving event at the farm.

I'd suggest you go Hehuanshan the next morning. You won't regret going there.

There are 6 of us, so our CingJing to Taroko driver asked for Nt$6000 (5-6 persons). If up to 4 persons, it's NT$5000.  Pay additional NT$500 to include Qingshui Clif, which we should be covering as well. Our driver wont be sending us to Taipei after Taroko. The plan is to board the railway train to Taipei from Hualien. Train fare should be NT$284 to NT$441 per ticket per way, depending on the type of train, date and time. http://railway.hinet.net/etkind1.htm

This train if possible book earlier to avoid sellout tickets.

Added on August 22, 2011, 11:20 am
QUOTE(myuptownboy @ Aug 21 2011, 11:43 AM)
Yeah..李大哥 quote me the same price as well :-)
Any idea how long Cingjing to Taroko? And any good driver to recommend?
Ask 李大哥 to recommend a driver. This Jason is very talkative and very funny to listen to all his story.

I think travelling from Cingjing to Taroko might take you 4-5 hours. Maybe shorter since Starry is like at the topmost of cingjing

This post has been edited by jlgoh9: Aug 22 2011, 11:20 AM
ukiya
post Aug 23 2011, 09:47 AM

* Hardcore Adventurer *
1,079 posts

How cheap generally the clothe price can go in Wufenpu?

Heading there in January, will there have many big sales? Is it advisable to go at January?
aiyume
post Aug 23 2011, 10:35 AM

听见你的声音
1,528 posts

QUOTE(ukiya @ Aug 23 2011, 09:47 AM)

Heading there in January, will there have many big sales? Is it advisable to go at January?
from my friend's experience generally about NTD200-400 per piece. for sales price can go as low as NTD100. there are underground shopping near to taipei main station too.

january very cold. not sure if there are sales. if it is the same as HKG, normally sales will be winter clothings which not so suitable for malaysian to shop lah.
shadow_dweller
post Aug 23 2011, 10:51 AM

754 posts

QUOTE(ukiya @ Aug 23 2011, 09:47 AM)

My female friends used to rave about it when they went there in 2007. It's generally wholesale but some of them sell loose items as low as RM10 (about tht after conversion) to RM30 per piece.
aiyume
post Aug 23 2011, 11:04 AM

听见你的声音
1,528 posts

the downside is you can't try them before buying.
kiawin
post Aug 23 2011, 11:52 AM

NOOBIE
680 posts

QUOTE(terryykf @ Aug 20 2011, 09:32 PM)
how much per night?
I got 2 queen size bed (=4 person), per person is about RM75-80 via agoda.

Promo it seems. They recently came to Matta Fair too.

http://www.ecfa-hotel.com/home.html
ExCrIpT
post Aug 23 2011, 03:40 PM

1,672 posts

hello fellow lowyatians.

there is alot to read on this thread smile.gif

just wondering, i'm planning to go in jan 2012.

for 5 days 4 nights, just wondering how much would the expenses be like for my stay there? of course excluding purchases.. Just a rough amount will do (to have a good time there) smile.gif

TSstimix
post Aug 23 2011, 03:46 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Taiwan cost of living almost similar to KL. So how much you spend in KL, you can do the same in Taipei..
QUOTE(ExCrIpT @ Aug 23 2011, 03:40 PM)
hello fellow lowyatians.

for 5 days 4 nights, just wondering how much would the expenses be like for my stay there? of course excluding purchases.. Just a rough amount will do (to have a good time there) smile.gif
aiyume
post Aug 23 2011, 04:05 PM

听见你的声音
1,528 posts

QUOTE(ExCrIpT @ Aug 23 2011, 03:40 PM)
hello fellow lowyatians.

my friend did under 1.3k. but she only went around taipei (jiufen, danshui, pingxi)

add: if u are not picky about accommodation, there are backpackers hostels, homestay in taipei which offer rates around NTD400-800/night/pax. (which come up to about RM50-80)

QUOTE(stimix @ Aug 23 2011, 03:46 PM)
Taiwan cost of living almost similar to KL. So how much you spend in KL, you can do the same in Taipei..
KL u dun have to pay for accommodation, and u won't go visit places like zoo, museum, etc which require entrance fee.

This post has been edited by aiyume: Aug 23 2011, 04:07 PM
TSstimix
post Aug 23 2011, 05:13 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

He probably not from KL too mah..so just like ppl out of KL come to KL for Holiday same liao lor haha biggrin.gif ...Even the ticket to Taipei 101 also almsot similar to KL Tower -non mykad holder price..OK liao lor.

QUOTE(aiyume @ Aug 23 2011, 04:05 PM)
KL u dun have to pay for accommodation, and u won't go visit places like zoo, museum, etc which require entrance fee.
aiyume
post Aug 23 2011, 05:31 PM

听见你的声音
1,528 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Aug 23 2011, 05:13 PM)
He probably not from KL too mah..so just like ppl out of KL come to KL for Holiday same liao lor haha  biggrin.gif ...Even the ticket to Taipei 101 also almsot similar to KL Tower -non mykad holder price..OK liao lor.
LOL! laugh.gif good case study XD

KL Tower need 40 bucks ar? i only went up once, when it just opened. sweat.gif
ExCrIpT
post Aug 23 2011, 05:46 PM

1,672 posts

good enough i suppose..i wonder if 4 nights is enough to explore taiwan. not only stay in taipei..of course includes outskirts trip but not to those historical places or mountains..

don't even know how to plan for the trip..zz

This post has been edited by ExCrIpT: Aug 23 2011, 05:46 PM
aiyume
post Aug 23 2011, 06:19 PM

听见你的声音
1,528 posts

QUOTE(ExCrIpT @ Aug 23 2011, 05:46 PM)
good enough i suppose..i wonder if 4 nights is enough to explore taiwan. not only stay in taipei..of course includes outskirts trip but not to those historical places or mountains..

if go out of taipei abit hard to do for 5D4N. unless around New Taipei (taipei outskirt), and not planning to do alot of shopping/museum visitations. travelling to and fro already take 2 days depends on your flight schedule.
Aquariel
post Aug 23 2011, 08:47 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(ExCrIpT @ Aug 23 2011, 05:46 PM)

4 nights are too short of a time to go too far, just concentrate on Taipei city and nearby area, eg day trip to JiuFen, YangMingShan, etc. This will save your time and money.
andrekua
post Aug 23 2011, 09:50 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

Argh~~~ I'm going there in 7 days....

Guys and girls,

Any recommendations on what to buy for souvenirs? I thought wanna buy mobile phone accessories since I suspect it will be cheaper there. Anything else? I heard some Taiwanese biscuit are famous but expensive.

146 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Top

0.0291sec    1.47    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 11:22 PM