Travel Taiwan V2, Refer to pg 1 for compiled guides

myuptownboy
post Jul 26 2011, 07:47 AM

37 posts

Any one can help to recommend the best amusement park & cow farm in Taiwan?
Is that the amusement park like what we have here in Genting/Lost World of Tambun?

This post has been edited by myuptownboy: Jul 26 2011, 07:48 AM
myuptownboy
post Aug 14 2011, 07:09 PM

37 posts

Can anyone suggest me the itinerary for 3D2N for below places to visit in Taiwan? icon_question.gif Other time i have the plan ready for Taipei smile.gif

Route A (Taipei>>Sun Moon Lake>>Cinjing>>Taroko>>Taipei)
1) Sun Moon Lake Day1-overnight
2) CingJing Farm (清境农场) Day2-overnight
3) Taroko Gorge National Park(太鲁阁国家公园) Day 3- morning and back to Taipei

Question1
From Taipei to Sun Moon Lake transport?
High Speed Rail or bus? How long is the journey?

Question 2
What is the best transportation from Sun Moon Lake to Cingjing?
By bus or car? How long is the journey?

Question 3
Any transport from Cinjing to Taroko?
Definetely i will not miss Qingshui Cliff as stimix highly recommended from here..
But most of the info i search from the web is suggesting the route from Hualien instead..

Route B (Taipei>>Taroko>>Cinjing>>Sun Moon Lake>>Taipei)
1) Taroko and late evening reach Cinjing- overnight Cinjing
2) Cinjing and depart to Sun Moon Lake after noon -overnight Sun Moon Lake
3) Sun Moon Lake back to Taipei evening

Question 1
For Taipei to Hualien by High Speed Rail?
What is the transportation from Hualien to Taroko? I will assume only taxi right? And how long is the journey?

Question 2
Taroko to Cinjing by Taxi as well?

Question 3
Cinjing to Sun Moon Lake any bus?

I personally feel Route A is a better choice. Can expert over here give me good suggestion? Then i can complete the itinerary and do the booking for the hotel or BB as well rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

And any recommendation on BB stay in Sun Moon Lake? I still searching..and for Cinjing, i feel 清境农场 should be very good...anybody able to share the experience?

Thanks in advance for the recoomendation

This post has been edited by myuptownboy: Aug 14 2011, 07:11 PM
myuptownboy
post Aug 15 2011, 07:01 PM

37 posts

thanks for the response GKilla
I'll be going Taiwan in Sep this yr..
Look like the route for us is quite similar..only different is you will be staying 2 night in Cingjing whereas i split the 2 night (1N at SML and 1N at Cinjing)

I do saw some blog intro for staying in 觀星園 Starry House..if i'm correct, Room price $1750 per night includes free transportation around Cingjing area, breakfast and dinner from the homestay.
But for my trip to Cingjing with only 清境农场 for visit..I think i'll prefer there..or can you share me more info on the interest of Cinjing?

for Cinjing to Tarako, how much the driver charge u? For my case, only 2 of us will be travelling. He will send u back to Taipei after Tarako?
Do u cover Qingshui Cliff as well?

Sorry for asking so much question..so eager for my trip in Sep icon_rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(GKilla @ Aug 14 2011, 09:50 PM)
I'm currently planning my Taiwan itinerary as well so I can answer some of the questions. I am using Route A for my trip.

From Taipei To Sun Moon Lake, you can take HSR to Taichung station. From Taichung, you can board a bus. Perhaps you can get more info about the buses here: http://www.ntbus.com.tw/033.htm or http://www.rybus.com.tw/travel_lines_135.html. From Taichung HSR -> SML, it might take 1.5 - 2 hours to get there via bus.

From SML->Cingjing, if i remember correctly, you'll need to take a bus from SML to Puli. From there you transfer to another bus from Puli->Cingjing. Should take atleast  1.5 hours depending on how long you need to wait for the bus transfer at Puli.

For my case, I'm making a day trip to Sun Moon Lake and then head to Cingjing. I've booked a driver for this.

For the route from Cingjing to Tarako, I think the best way is to book a driver. I've booked a driver, Mr Li 0937980512 (teming_li@yahoo.com.tw) from Cingjing to Taroko. 

I was also deciding if i wanted to go from Taroko to Cingjing. But i decided not to since it'd take about 2.5 hours to get to Hualien from Taipei via train , about 5 hours around Taroko and then perhaps 4 hours drive to Cingjing. Our driver mentioned the route between Taroko and Cingjing is quite dangerous especially so when it gets darker.

For Cingjing, I am staying 2 nights. First night at Starry Minsu (http://starry.nantou.com.tw/l) and second night at Shangrila Hanging Garden Resort (http://shangrila-resort.hotel.com.tw/eng/). Starry Minsu for the top down view of Cingjing town and being closer to the stars (tho i heard people complain about the dangerous & narrow road to get there).  Shangrila Hanging Garden Resort  because its inside the town and for a different environment.

Added on August 15, 2011, 7:06 pmhi Aquariel, Thanks for your wonderful response.
2 of us will be travelling to Taiwan for 7D6N.. Accommodation in Taipei we plan for cheaper one, since most of the time we will be going outside..
Not sure any good recommendation on B&B in Sun Moon Lake? Honestly i still searching..any different on the sea view in Sun Moon Lake compare what we have here in Malaysia?

I can read and write Chinese..but just very inconvenient to type in Chinese..any good site for recommendation?

QUOTE(Aquariel @ Aug 14 2011, 10:00 PM)
I'll answer what I know from my research for my coming trip. Most people take Route A.
Depends on your budget and number of people, private guided tour is recommended for Cinjing and Taroko. The public transport will consume a lot of your time.
You can take the train from Hualien station to Taipei (2h plus), there's no HSR.

What's your budget for accommodation?
Do you read Chinese? It's easier for you to research.  smile.gif
This post has been edited by myuptownboy: Aug 15 2011, 07:08 PM
myuptownboy
post Aug 15 2011, 10:05 PM

37 posts

I'll be going mid of Sep..Look like you are you travel Taiwan quite frequence huh.. tongue.gif Know so well about every places..
Reasonh i pick SML for a night stay is fancy on the cable car..Do u know 貓空纜車? Is the cable car tram got stop over there?

Do u have a driver to recommend from Cinjing to Tarako?
I think i will not include Cultural Village in my itinerary.. Not so fancy about it..
If just drop by SML, when the time i reach Cinjing will be very late.. nothing much i can spend on the night right?

Question over here again tongue.gif
Puli any interesting places to recommend? Heard about the Puli Brewery (埔里酒廠) ..not sure worth or not..

Btw, do u have any plan to stay over-night in Jiufen? Any good B&B for recommendation?

Is it Chinese Cari for the famous Chinese forum?

QUOTE(Aquariel @ Aug 15 2011, 09:30 PM)
Early Sep is still summer holiday. I'm travelling early October.

For the first night, you could stay at

(a) SML - peaceful and quiet, not much to do in the night. Lake view wise, depends on personal preference. I don't think you can see anything in the night. You could always walk to the pier. Stay at 水社 if you want to take the bus next morning.

(b) Puli - if you are just planning to SML only and not SML + Cultural Village, then you should have enough time for SML (assuming you are taking HSR from Taipei to Taichung early in the morning). Then, you could head to Puli in the evening.

Still, you need to consider whether it's weekend or not as Nantou Bus have different schedule for Sat/Sun and Mon - Fri.

PS. There's a popular Chinese forum in M'sia. They have a lot of threads on Taiwan and some Taiwan drivers do post there, you could ask about the price.
myuptownboy
post Aug 20 2011, 04:41 PM

37 posts

Any good B&B to recommend for Sun Moon lake stay?
and anyone have a full day activity itinerary for Sun Moon Lake?

myuptownboy
post Aug 21 2011, 11:43 AM

37 posts

QUOTE(GKilla @ Aug 20 2011, 06:08 PM)
Hey there.

I found 觀星園 Starry House's website here:-
http://starry.nantou.com.tw/?ptype=hotel

But the prices quoted in that website  are abit outdated and when i emailed him, he gave me a higher price. BTW i emailed to him in English but he replied me in Chinese smile.gif

Here's the weekday room price that  Starry Minsu 李大哥 quoted me:-
6 persons room = NT$3840 per night
2 persons room = NT$1980 per night

Price above includes breakfast and Western style steamboat dinner.
I think most likely just around 清境农场 Cingjing farm, see sheep and walk around. I'm not really sure what else to in CJ do so will ask the Starry Minsu boss to recommend us when we reach there. Oh ya, if you got time , you can check out Lushan Hotspring. But i heard it's currently under going renovations. You can ask the Starry Minsu boss to find you a driver to get to Lushan Hotspring or you can board a bus yourself. If you hire a driver to Lushan Hotspring, i understand it might cost NT$650 per person which includes hot spring usage, return trip.

There are 6 of us, so our CingJing to Taroko driver asked for Nt$6000 (5-6 persons). If up to 4 persons, it's NT$5000.  Pay additional NT$500 to include Qingshui Clif, which we should be covering as well. Our driver wont be sending us to Taipei after Taroko. The plan is to board the railway train to Taipei from Hualien. Train fare should be NT$284 to NT$441 per ticket per way, depending on the type of train, date and time. http://railway.hinet.net/etkind1.htm
Yeah..李大哥 quote me the same price as well :-) I do send him a note in English too...
Lushan Hot Spring nice? I never research that place..Photos from google looks normal for me..No idea..haha..

You are planning to Taroko too? Do you know how far the journey? My plan is from:
Taipei>>Sun Moon Lake (stay 1 night)
SML>>Cingjing (stay 1 night)
Cinjing>>back to Taipei (stay night at Taipei)

Just worry the last itinerary from Cingjing back to Taipei which we may rent a car to stop by Taroko might be very limited time.
Any idea how long Cingjing to Taroko? And any good driver to recommend?

myuptownboy
post Aug 25 2011, 04:44 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(aiyume @ Aug 16 2011, 10:20 AM)
i'm going end sept. gonna stay a nite in Jiufen. here are 3 homestays i found quite recommended. i've booked Sunny Room. Windsor also not bad but abit pricey.

Windsor B&B http://windsor.idv.tw/WindsorD.asp
Sunny Room http://www.sunnyroom.tw/room.php
Aegean Sea http://www.aegeansea-i.com/
Thanks for the feedback aiyume. Do we need to pay deposit for the booking?
Actually can anyone help to guide me how is the route from Taiei to Jiufen? And the 3 B&B is quite near to each other?
myuptownboy
post Sep 11 2011, 01:41 AM

37 posts

Can anyone advice what is the timezone in Taiwan? How many hrs different compare Malaysia?
myuptownboy
post Sep 11 2011, 03:00 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(transit @ Sep 11 2011, 07:49 AM)
GMT+8 which is same time zone with MALAYSIA.
Thanks transit. I just realise it should be the same timezone in flight itenerery.

I have few question regarding digital tour buddy, anyone get this before?
1) Borrow for SIM card or sim card+hand phone, what is the different?
2) Anyone experience about the condition for "Credential to be left as security"? What usually we left there? And do they guarantee return us the item like driving license?
3) For those taking Airasia, the Equipment return point will be TIA Terminal 2 too? Same as the place we get our Digital Tour Buddy. Worried when depart back to Malaysia, we will not passing the area.

Thanks for the help everyone smile.gif
myuptownboy
post Sep 11 2011, 06:00 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(transit @ Sep 11 2011, 03:12 PM)
Experience to share
(1) One package is SIM card with their GSM phone, the other one is without SIM card. Both SIM card also preloaded with NTD$100 but I tell honestly the credit very fast running out as their prepaid phone charge is expensive. NT$100 can use to call back Malaysia whenever reach there (Taiwan) or call any Taxi service, Hotel or any emergency etcs services.

(2) Usually they will request you to leave your driving license or IC. I think is better to left driving license if you are not driving in Taiwan. They will return you.

(3) Terminal 1 & Terminal 2 got the counter to take/return Digital Tour Buddy. If you are taking AirAsia, then is easy as the arrival and departure should be the same terminal. I cannot remember which terminal liao but I am sure both terminal got tourism counter for you to collect/return Digital Tour Buddy.

Enjoy your trip there.
Thanks for the info :-)
Do you know if Taipei 101 Observatory Hall at 89 floor can be re-access at night if i bought the ticket ~ 5-6pm.
I plan to get day and night view of Taipei from there. Not sure if can be revisit at night 8pm after my dinner to view the night scenery again..
myuptownboy
post May 20 2012, 01:52 AM

37 posts

QUOTE(neige @ May 19 2012, 11:27 PM)
haha..do realize that tw food cant satisfy msian appetite. =P just thought there will be at least some worth trying. tongue.gif
But the way Taiwan ppl take food in night market is really amaze.

0.3355sec    0.83    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 12:46 AM