jlgoh9
post Jun 7 2011, 12:08 AM

22 posts

also got jay chou cafe.. smile.gif called Mr J
jlgoh9
post Jun 7 2011, 01:24 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(MandyG @ Jun 7 2011, 02:15 AM)
where is mr j cafe??? oso where is the hello kitty cafe????
There's a thing called google search u know smile.gif

Anyway, here's Mr J Cafe. The one at TMU is more famous..as what i read. I've never been there before. It's french-italian restaurant. I think there's a minimum spending required if u wanna dine there.

There are two Mr J's Cafe in Taiwan.
1) Taipei Medical University located at 250 Wu Xing Street. (As the security counter for direction when you get to Taipei Medical University)
Take the MRT to Taipei City Hall MRT Station and transfer to a free shuttle to the Restaurant.
2) 308 Guangfu South Road
Take the MRT to Sun Yat Sen Memorial Hall MRT Station and exit at Exit 2. Take a short walk to the Restaurant

Hello Kitty Sweets Cafe.
No. 90 DaAn Rd. Sec. 1、Taipei City (MRT Zhongxiao Fuxing Exit 3) 台北市大安路一段90號

Tel: (02)2711-1132

http://www.hellokittysweets.com.tw/

This post has been edited by jlgoh9: Jun 7 2011, 01:31 PM
jlgoh9
post Jun 7 2011, 10:12 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(aiyume @ Jun 7 2011, 04:56 PM)
@jlgoh9, the digital tour buddy, did u apply online in advanced or you only apply when you reach there? if online, how long did it take to get approved? when you collect from the airport, how long did it take for you to get it?

reason i need to know coz my flight arriving TPE at 22:25 (if flight on time), i'm not sure if i got enough time to get a bus to the hostel. by the way, i can arrange late check in time with fun taipei right?
yeah..most of them answered your questions. You can start apply the Digital Tour Buddy(DTB) a month before you are scheduled to reach there. If both you and your partner is aged 30 and below, you can apply for each of you. Better cos both of you actually have phone that you can call to each other in case one of you is lost. Anyway, make sure that you get a conformation email from them that your application is successful. You can remind them about a week before you reach and they will reply fast.

Print it out and hand to them when you collect your DTB alongside a copy of ur passport, and driver's license(if you're not driving). The process of collecting is not long...maybe 5-10mins ok already because they have already prepared for you in advance. You need to make sure that you stated in your application that you want to collect it at Taoyuan Terminal 2 (if there is where you land. Airasia land in T2. I'm not sure about MAS which i think is ur flight and other airlines). The collection is at customer service counter which is right at the entrance of the arrival gate.

I think late at night, you'll get out faster unless your baggage is the last one to be thrown onto the conveyor belt tongue.gif I think you can get out within 30mins. My flight with airasia reached at 2.20pm. By 3pm I'm already at the express bus to Taipei.

I think most hostel/homestay allow late check in. You'll need to inform them in advance.

Added on June 7, 2011, 10:15 pm
QUOTE(MandyG @ Jun 7 2011, 03:19 PM)

U know i know google search but hor, all chinese word then it start get me confuse when come to map... tat y i din manage go to these cafe.... i failed to search the jacky cafe also....  cry.gif  cry.gif
I'm banana also... but i can find it smile.gif

Er...Jacky cafe?

This post has been edited by jlgoh9: Jun 7 2011, 10:18 PM
jlgoh9
post Jun 7 2011, 11:33 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(eLaiNe_lov @ Jun 7 2011, 11:29 PM)
anyone here been to taiwan during end of Aug? how's the weather there?
That time is typhoon time... better not visit the east of Taiwan at that time...
jlgoh9
post Jun 7 2011, 11:57 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(eLaiNe_lov @ Jun 7 2011, 11:37 PM)
where are the places ? smile.gif
Hualien, Taroko
jlgoh9
post Jun 8 2011, 10:08 AM

22 posts

QUOTE(aiyume @ Jun 8 2011, 09:42 AM)

i'm taking AA sweat.gif just hope no flight delay loh... i'm travelling with 3 others. only 2 are under 30. but i think 4 ppl with 2 phones should be ok gua.

then how about the youth travel card? anyone has applied?
AA have flights that reached at night? I thought they only have one going there everyday that reached about 2.30pm.

I didnt apply the travel card. but it's no harm applying for it since it's free anyway. you'll get some discounts at selected places, so if you don't visit the places, there's no use of the travel card la.
jlgoh9
post Jun 8 2011, 11:03 AM

22 posts

QUOTE(aiyume @ Jun 8 2011, 10:16 AM)
ya there is. flight at 5.45pm reaching 10.25pm. that's why the time abit rush if i were to take a bus then change to MRT. need to collect the tour buddy somemore. tot since i'm applying for the tour buddy might as well apply the travel card together since it's free.

Added on June 8, 2011, 10:17 ambtw, when are u updating your next blog entry leh? tongue.gif
ic. you can ask your hostel about the option of the airport transfer whether he can get a better price for you or not.

my blog ar? haha. working on it now actually..maybe a few more days..perhaps..i can't believe that it's 2months+ since i went there and i still haven't finish writing about it tongue.gif
jlgoh9
post Jun 8 2011, 11:34 AM

22 posts

QUOTE(aiyume @ Jun 8 2011, 11:17 AM)
i'm booking the fun taipei backpackers 1 room 2 double beds. seems decent and few recommended (including you tongue.gif) after i booked and paid the deposit they will response thru email right? then i can ask if they have a better option for airport transfer.

lol it always happen. most of my travel entries ended half way XD then it got too outdated i din even finish doh.gif
Yes. After you paid the 10% booking fees, Kevin would require you to confirm the reservation with another 30% payment. The balance will be paid when you reached there. Once the 30% is paid (thru paypal) then you can actually ask him about the transfer.
jlgoh9
post Jun 8 2011, 12:04 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(aiyume @ Jun 8 2011, 11:35 AM)
what if i don't have paypal? can i use cc instead?

Added on June 8, 2011, 11:36 ami din know have to pay another 30%. coz it wasn't mentioned in the hostel page.
well, i didn't know either. we used our friend's paypal account.

but yes, you still can use cc. there's an option at the paypal page. don't worry, i think it's just a standard procedure...
jlgoh9
post Jun 9 2011, 12:27 AM

22 posts

QUOTE(@lice~~ @ Jun 8 2011, 04:11 PM)

Make sure u inform Kevin in advance abt ur late arrival..
Don't worry if u arrive too late... you're not going to meet Kevin anyway...haha...

You can just take the key and pay at the OK Mart nearby the hostel. The OK Mart is open 24hours.
jlgoh9
post Jun 9 2011, 10:05 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(aiyume @ Jun 9 2011, 04:28 PM)
don't think can hand carry a luggage with 7days of clothings XD

ya, coz i'm going on my own. might need it somewhere.  icon_rolleyes.gif

Kevin kinda fast in responding email thumbup.gif but no discount laugh.gif
u don't need to bring 7 days clothes... bring 3-4 days can liao... either u buy new one there or u wash the clothes there. keep the luggage space for your shopping items smile.gif
jlgoh9
post Jun 10 2011, 12:08 AM

22 posts

QUOTE(TianJian @ Jun 9 2011, 11:13 PM)
if going taiwan alone for sightseeing need visa or anything ?
no need...
jlgoh9
post Jun 10 2011, 06:28 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(aiyume @ Jun 10 2011, 04:00 PM)
lol....if cannot get nice ones there mar kantoi doh.gif
no leh....how to tell him who recommended leh? unless he got super good memory? XD
wash la..got a lot of coin operated laundry there...
jlgoh9
post Jun 10 2011, 10:36 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(TianJian @ Jun 10 2011, 09:46 PM)
how much is the taiwan food for malaysia money ?
Taiwan street food price range is usually from NT30 to NT65. If u take the current exchage rate, it's going to cost you probably from RM3.5 to RM7 per dish.

jlgoh9
post Jun 11 2011, 06:27 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(@lice~~ @ Jun 11 2011, 01:56 PM)
Anyone can suggest what MUST buy things in taiwan? Pineapple cake? what else?

While prepare the list of items to bring over to Taiwan, suddenly I thinking I should list out what I should bring back from Taiwan too..  laugh.gif
usually ppl buy pineapple cake, sun cake and muachi back from taiwan...

personally, i don't really like taiwan's pineapple cake as ours are much more nicer. but since your friend/family might not been to taiwan before, can let them experience that la...

i bought sun cake from taichung. tasted ok but not really wow. taichung is famous for it's sun cake. but my tour guide say that you can get better one at Jiufen.

else, i also bought some food stuff at cingjing.

p/s - blog updated tongue.gif

This post has been edited by jlgoh9: Jun 11 2011, 06:28 PM
jlgoh9
post Jun 13 2011, 12:36 AM

22 posts

QUOTE(MickyMouse @ Jun 13 2011, 12:30 AM)

I will be backpacking at Taiwan for 8 days. Is there anyone know any info on the Storage Locker at train station?
there are 2 types.
1. luggage box - locker system. Rate from NTD20~70/3hours
2. luggage room. rate NT17 per luggage per day.
jlgoh9
post Jun 13 2011, 01:36 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(@lice~~ @ Jun 13 2011, 10:42 AM)
What is sun cake? noted in my list to Jiufen..  laugh.gif
sun cake = 太阳饼

just ask around there la... u wanna know how it looks like, search the images on google smile.gif

Added on June 13, 2011, 1:39 pm
QUOTE(MickyMouse @ Jun 13 2011, 12:47 AM)
I need to store my medium size luggage. Is the luggage room able to fit it??
btw.. where can i get the luggage room? Is tis available at all train station?
cant seems to find any info on this service though :S
you can find it in all train station. Take note that the service in not available at HSR station or MRT Station. Only Train station. When you are there, just ask the information counter where you can store you luggage.

luggage room is big. they will have a tag to tag you bag and put it together with other people's bag. of course you have a similar copy with same serial number and date. just pass them your copy back when you want to collect your bag

This post has been edited by jlgoh9: Jun 13 2011, 01:39 PM
jlgoh9
post Jun 13 2011, 03:44 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(@lice~~ @ Jun 13 2011, 03:33 PM)
Whole morning trying to book my train to Hualien but no luck for my initial desired date (25th June)..  sad.gif the ticket really sold like hot cake.. some advise to traveler planning to go Taroko/Hualien, plz book n pay ur ticket exactly 2 weeks in advance from your depart date.. n steal it like no tomorrow..  tongue.gif
u book for saturday train of course la many ppl... if book during weekday should be ok kua...
jlgoh9
post Jun 14 2011, 09:08 AM

22 posts

QUOTE(@lice~~ @ Jun 13 2011, 03:53 PM)
the ticket can be cancel n refund but with some handling fee  doh.gif

Err.. no idea for other places..
Even friday n monday oso no luck.. for monday, i still can get hold of early morning train, but return ticket it schedule me to 9pm+ n when reaching Taipei ady midnight  cry.gif n next day hv to rushing packing n back to malaysia.. so now still thinking wanna go Taroko or not..  sad.gif
go cingjing instead tongue.gif

0.0515sec    0.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 04:23 PM