Travel Taiwan V2, Refer to pg 1 for compiled guides

lawliet88
post Jun 21 2011, 12:54 AM

994 posts

QUOTE(jlgoh9 @ Jun 20 2011, 10:01 AM)
From what I enquire before, Maybank and CIMB ATM cards can be used to withdraw money in Taiwan. Public Bank atm card can't.

There are 3 ways to activate:

1. Call up the customer service as stated on your card. This might take long time as sometimes they busy, then they need to do verification. Will waste your phone credit if using HP to call...
2. You can set using e-banking service (maybank2u.com.my / cimbclicks.com.my). Fast and secure.
3. At ATM machine. But please do this if there are no people queue behind you else you'll make them wait long.

You have to set a time frame limit on when you wanna use it...from when to when.
public bank atm card if not wrong currently all is the pb d2d debit card liao, tat 1 can use for withdraw at taiwan atm, i using it so i noe and dun need activate at all.
and frankly speaking i recommend direct swipe CC / debit card if can, withdraw from atm - RM10 for each transact. Use CC/Debit card same rate and can get cash back bonus (altot very very low...).

and yeah, recommend change to USD first at Msia, then change to TWD at their airport.
thru this method usualy u get 100TWD : 10.60RM (end of May rate when i go).

and at some shopping mall or shops,in the same day if u purchase over 3000TWD can ask for 5% foreign visitor tax back , Eslite can do tat for sure (any shops within same building, and pls consult Customer Service counter first ).
SkYY
post Jun 21 2011, 12:12 PM

749 posts

QUOTE(Darkmage12 @ Jun 21 2011, 12:03 AM)
how to set via cimbclicks?
once you login CIMB clicks, there's a 'Overseas Activation' there on the list of links, under 'ATM Services'

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Jun 21 2011, 12:35 AM)
hi all,

reporting in from Taipei smile.gif
1st day here. find it so weird because if the left hand drive thing.
even in MRT escalator always stand at the wrong side sad.gif
tomorrow is my 1st day. plan to go danshui and start my journey from there.
wish me luck smile.gif
good luck, i'm going in a few days, enjoy! biggrin.gif

QUOTE(jlgoh9 @ Jun 21 2011, 12:46 AM)
did u read the posts? i just post how to do it a few post earlier...
maybe he want the steps after getting into clicks? wink.gif
MandyG
post Jun 21 2011, 01:40 PM

181 posts

heard that their high speed train going to have some problem, is it???
aiyume
post Jun 21 2011, 04:12 PM

听见你的声音
1,528 posts

QUOTE(SkYY @ Jun 20 2011, 06:52 PM)
the problem is i don't have access to computers (especially one with mic) or a phone with skype capability when i'm there hmm.gif
noted, thanks bro! laugh.gif
thanks for the good stuff thumbup.gif before this I thought must apply 7 days before reaching, just saw the notice that on-site application is allowed also biggrin.gif

EDIT: just realized going that 行政院青輔會台北市青年志工中心 is a fuss for my schedule. guess I'll look for random local prepaid there sad.gif hopefully lucky get telco with cheaper rate to malaysia.
u can actually do it in the airport itself. opt to collect from the customer service counter in the airport.

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Jun 20 2011, 11:35 PM)
hi all,

reporting in from Taipei smile.gif
1st day here. find it so weird because if the left hand drive thing.
even in MRT escalator always stand at the wrong side sad.gif
tomorrow is my 1st day. plan to go danshui and start my journey from there.
wish me luck smile.gif
thumbup.gif enjoy! i can't wait to go!!!

Added on June 21, 2011, 4:14 pmanyone of u visited the taiwan tourism center in KL? any information i can get from there? like travel info etc...

Malaysia
Taiwan Visitors Association, Kuala Lumpur Office
Address: WISMA GOLDHILL Suite 25-01, Level 25, Wisma Goldhill, 67 Jalan Raja Chulan, 50200 Kuala Lumpur Malaysia
Tel: +60-3-2070-6789
Fax: +60-3-2072-3559
E-mail: tva@streamyx.com

This post has been edited by aiyume: Jun 21 2011, 04:14 PM
jlgoh9
post Jun 21 2011, 08:14 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(aiyume @ Jun 21 2011, 04:12 PM)

anyone of u visited the taiwan tourism center in KL? any information i can get from there? like travel info etc...

Malaysia
Taiwan Visitors Association, Kuala Lumpur Office
Address: WISMA GOLDHILL Suite 25-01, Level 25, Wisma Goldhill, 67 Jalan Raja Chulan, 50200 Kuala Lumpur Malaysia
Tel: +60-3-2070-6789
Fax: +60-3-2072-3559
E-mail: tva@streamyx.com
well, you can get free maps there...and maybe can ask something that u not sure about...
jocsp
post Jun 21 2011, 10:06 PM

28 posts

Hi all,

I would like to visit Taiwan soon but I would like to know, is it better to go on tour or on my own?

Since it is my first visit, I was thinking to go by tour.

Anyone can recommend which tour agency offers affordable and most importantly reliable travel package to Taiwan? How much would it usually cost?

smoochiesayn
post Jun 21 2011, 10:29 PM

787 posts

The Taiwan Visitors Association, they have 'goodies' for those going to Taiwan. Dunno how to explain.. but have 2 choices. before this they will give out either EasyCard with N amount of value or some hotspring voucher.. But i heard they are not so friendly.
My travel partner visited their booth during Matta Fair, instead of the EasyCard, they pushed her to take a coupon that can redeem for souvenir at the airport when we leave Taiwan..
Darkmage12
post Jun 21 2011, 11:21 PM

shhhhhhhhh come i tell you something hehe
17,053 posts

QUOTE(jlgoh9 @ Jun 20 2011, 11:46 PM)
did u read the posts? i just post how to do it a few post earlier...
Ya found it d. Earlier really can't find the option.

QUOTE(lawliet88 @ Jun 21 2011, 12:54 AM)
public bank atm card if not wrong currently all is the pb d2d debit card liao, tat 1 can use for withdraw at taiwan atm, i using it so i noe and dun need activate at all.
and frankly speaking i recommend direct swipe CC / debit card if can, withdraw from atm - RM10  for each transact. Use CC/Debit card same rate and can get cash back bonus (altot very very low...).

and yeah, recommend change to USD first at Msia, then change to TWD at their airport.
thru this method usualy u get 100TWD : 10.60RM (end of May rate when i go).

and at some shopping mall or shops,in the same day if u purchase over 3000TWD can ask for 5% foreign visitor tax back ,  Eslite can do tat for sure (any shops within same building, and pls consult Customer Service counter first ).
So should change some USD here?

QUOTE(SkYY @ Jun 21 2011, 12:12 PM)
once you login CIMB clicks, there's a 'Overseas Activation' there on the list of links, under 'ATM Services'
good luck, i'm going in a few days, enjoy! biggrin.gif
maybe he want the steps after getting into clicks? wink.gif
yaya couldn't find the steps earlier as I can't find the overseas activation.
Victor3010
post Jun 22 2011, 12:01 AM

1,567 posts

Hi guys

I came across this advert by Reliance travel showing this 6 Days 5 Nights Taipei Leisure Tour which only cost from RM1399. Isn't it really cheap? I actually don't mind just paying to just stay at their hotels and taking the flight while I do my own touring as they have plan it for us. I hope that this price does include the return flight as well.

I have yet to call them up but I would like to gather some opinion from my fellow forummates about your views towards this tour and Reliance travel smile.gif

Thank you!
Shazzac
post Jun 22 2011, 10:33 AM

427 posts

Sorry, unable to read chinese coz i'm a Banana.

Do check for their T&C and if the price includes the airport taxes, hotel service charges & taxes etc.

If it does, you should go ahead. Also do get them to confirm on the hotel. Sometimes when the price is so cheap, hotels tend to be really bad la.

lawliet88
post Jun 22 2011, 12:30 PM

994 posts

QUOTE(Darkmage12 @ Jun 21 2011, 11:21 PM)
So should change some USD here?
ya. during my last month trip i bring around 1.2k USD, RM200, debit card thats all smile.gif.
jz remember to change ur USD to TWD at their airport~
aiyume
post Jun 22 2011, 12:37 PM

听见你的声音
1,528 posts

QUOTE(jlgoh9 @ Jun 21 2011, 08:14 PM)
well, you can get free maps there...and maybe can ask something that u not sure about...
cool. not sure if they open on weekend. guess will have to call up.

QUOTE(jocsp @ Jun 21 2011, 10:06 PM)
Hi all,

I would like to visit Taiwan soon but I would like to know, is it better to go on tour or on my own?

Anyone can recommend which tour agency offers affordable and most importantly reliable travel package to Taiwan? How much would it usually cost?
u can go by tour, then next trip go on your own for those places u are interested. round island tour will cost around 2.5k - 3.5k depends on how many days covering which area of taiwan.

my friend recommended this agency http://www.abcholiday.com.my/taiwan.html but i never tried before so i cannot give comment.

if u are hardworking, u can actually do more research and go on your own because follow tour normally will be rush and every place only visit for a limited time.

QUOTE(smoochiesayn @ Jun 21 2011, 10:29 PM)
The Taiwan Visitors Association, they have 'goodies' for those going to Taiwan. Dunno how to explain.. but have 2 choices. before this they will give out either EasyCard with N amount of value or some hotspring voucher.. But i heard they are not so friendly.
My travel partner visited their booth during Matta Fair, instead of the EasyCard, they pushed her to take a coupon that can redeem for souvenir at the airport when we leave Taiwan..
not so friendly sweat.gif doh.gif
Victor3010
post Jun 22 2011, 05:38 PM

1,567 posts

QUOTE(Shazzac @ Jun 22 2011, 11:33 AM)
Sorry, unable to read chinese coz i'm a Banana.

Do check for their T&C and if the price includes the airport taxes, hotel service charges & taxes etc.

If it does, you should go ahead. Also do get them to confirm on the hotel. Sometimes when the price is so cheap, hotels tend to be really bad la.
Icic, the English explanation can be found below though, thanks for your input smile.gif
MandyG
post Jun 22 2011, 06:34 PM

181 posts

ya, sometimes it provide a very bad hotel or it far from the transport available......
jlgoh9
post Jun 22 2011, 09:56 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(Victor3010 @ Jun 22 2011, 12:01 AM)
Hi guys

I came across this advert by Reliance travel showing this 6 Days 5 Nights Taipei Leisure Tour which only cost from RM1399. Isn't it really cheap? I actually don't mind just paying to just stay at their hotels and taking the flight while I do my own touring as they have plan it for us. I hope that this price does include the return flight as well.

I have yet to call them up but I would like to gather some opinion from my fellow forummates about your views towards this tour and Reliance travel  smile.gif

Thank you!
Good thing about tour - everything is planned for you. you just need to wake up in time to catch the bus, take photo and then rush back to bus after the allocated time is up.

Bad thing about tour - you have limited time at each place you visit. some places are worth spending more time and some are not... in the end you might not enjoy

-------------------------------------------
Good thing about Free n easy - you get to plan where you want to go and allocate ample time on it

Bad things about Free n easy - you need to do really lots and lots of research, like me tongue.gif then only your trip will be smooth.

Added on June 22, 2011, 10:00 pm
QUOTE(jocsp @ Jun 21 2011, 10:06 PM)
Hi all,

there's a Matta Fair coming in Aug... do some homework on what and where you wanna go, then ask around.

there's not really anything good or bad about tour or free n easy. it all depends on you. if you lazy to do research, then go tour. if you wanna make use of your time in taiwan and visit the places you really like, then you go for free n easy.

Added on June 22, 2011, 10:13 pm
QUOTE(lawliet88 @ Jun 22 2011, 12:30 PM)
ya. during my last month trip i bring around 1.2k USD, RM200, debit card thats all smile.gif.
jz remember to change ur USD to TWD at their airport~
if ringgit is still strong against usd (better rate), then maybe change to usd will be better...

few days ago i was at mid valley and kinda curious on the current exchange rate at wawasan. still NT100 to RM10.80. At some point a few weeks earlier, they shot up to RM11.

anyway, it's only worth it if you change quite a big sum of USD.

This post has been edited by jlgoh9: Jun 22 2011, 10:13 PM
aiyume
post Jun 23 2011, 01:46 AM

听见你的声音
1,528 posts

I managed to get 10.78 in taipan. But then the difference won't be obvious unless you are changing super alot. So change wherever is convenient...if not the difference will be the same to include the trouble...
Darkmage12
post Jun 23 2011, 07:58 PM

shhhhhhhhh come i tell you something hehe
17,053 posts

now most places are at 11 for taiwan dollar d. I only changed 100USD while I have 15k taiwan dollar enough ka?
jlgoh9
post Jun 24 2011, 09:59 AM

22 posts

QUOTE(Darkmage12 @ Jun 23 2011, 07:58 PM)
now most places are at 11 for taiwan dollar d. I only changed 100USD while I have 15k taiwan dollar enough ka?
depends on what you want to spend there... if just sightseeing and eat, then i think is more than enough. for 1 person or 2?
aiyume
post Jun 24 2011, 11:09 AM

听见你的声音
1,528 posts

seems like NTD is dropping leh. wawasan money changer is now showing 10.78 on their website. it was 10.83 last week.

btw, anyone went to Miramar Entertainment Centre? their website is down i can't check more details.
jlgoh9
post Jun 24 2011, 01:47 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(aiyume @ Jun 24 2011, 11:09 AM)
seems like NTD is dropping leh. wawasan money changer is now showing 10.78 on their website. it was 10.83 last week.
well, it doesn't really make any difference...

btw, blog updated tongue.gif

146 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0192sec    0.92    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 09:57 AM