U Mobile The U-Mobile Thread #3, Internet for just RM28/month

liciece
post May 28 2011, 06:03 PM

389 posts

QUOTE(tutiger @ May 28 2011, 05:47 PM)
Noted. meaning that I cannot slip in my SIM card into another phone to make calls after that?

Sigh! So I will have to activate internet connection with my handphone via BT, right?

After the 500MB limit, what will be the speed after that?
You can use sim card on any other devices,i mean if you only use it in doogle,you'll waste the free credit.If you use it in several devices(phone
+doogle),that's fine,however it's quite busy to slip sim card in and out,right? tongue.gif
what i do is to use tether function which is available in some smartphone to share the connection via WIFI to other devices,it's easier. smile.gif
if ur phone doesn't support tethering,but can make it through BT,it's still ok,but the speed will be quite slow as the limitation of BT.
According to faq,after 500mb,it will be limited in 64kbps,however,i never try yet.I hope it won't be so slow.

This post has been edited by liciece: May 28 2011, 06:07 PM
TSlengcaiboy
post May 28 2011, 06:08 PM

543 posts

i got my new number and i use it on my new phone beside line got R logo it mean roam?

roam speed how?
liciece
post May 28 2011, 07:19 PM

389 posts

QUOTE(lengcaiboy @ May 28 2011, 06:08 PM)
i got my new number and i use it on my new phone beside line got R logo it mean roam?

roam speed how?
up to EDGE,normally around 150kbps-200kbps.
TSlengcaiboy
post May 28 2011, 09:00 PM

543 posts

ok thx it already good for my hp with no 3g..
no money buy 3g phone...
z_ahutd
post May 28 2011, 09:42 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(lengcaiboy @ May 28 2011, 09:00 PM)
no money buy 3g phone...
do u have any problems of sudden disconnection, then failing to connect again for around 20mins while on celcom network? I always have this problem.. i dont know whether my phone or the network problem..
chuahcs79
post May 28 2011, 09:52 PM

6,931 posts

QUOTE(lengcaiboy @ May 28 2011, 09:00 PM)
no money buy 3g phone...
buy a 3G or 3.5G usb modem is cheaper than buying a phone,.. also is better than using phone to online,..
Juneapril
post May 29 2011, 01:52 AM

43 posts

I am curious. First they launched 42 Mbps and then coming LTE 100Mbps. How their infrastructure going to provide these type of speed without affeting current users?

If current users of other plan get 1Mbps and they want provide 42 Mbs plan, shoudn't they upgrade their server capability 42 times (idiot way of calculating 42/1=42? Are they really commited to upgrade their infrastructure capacity 42 times? To double the upgrading need a lot capital, leave alone 42 times.

I am just saying these because I am worry current UB68 user will be affected. Look like the speed 1Mbps (used to be 1.5-2.5 Mbps) is GOING TO STAY. I only read in this forum saying UMobile is upgrading. Where's the news or official annoucement of ugrading? Are they really upgrading? Upgrading their computer's mouse to wireless type doesn't count as upgrading.

Quantum_thinking
post May 29 2011, 02:54 AM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(liciece @ May 28 2011, 05:04 PM)
The free credit is only used for local calls,so when you make a call to overseas,surely that will charge on your cash balance.No reduction of either free credit or cash balance is only applied when both sides are under um3G coverage and so of course is local call.  biggrin.gif

If i did not subscribed to the RM28/month unlimited internet plan, the UM 3G to UM 3G still FOC right?

QUOTE(tutiger @ May 28 2011, 05:20 PM)
I am interested to get the RM28 plan...... How do I get it?
Is it just for handphone/smartphones only or can also use in dongles?
I am using it in the USB modem. Once it is over 500MB, i usually use it in my smartphones rather than for computer.
digilife
post May 29 2011, 08:27 AM

The MNP guy, its me yeah.
8,025 posts

QUOTE(Juneapril @ May 29 2011, 01:52 AM)
I am curious. First they launched 42 Mbps  and then coming  LTE 100Mbps. How their infrastructure going to provide these type of speed without affeting current users?

If current users of other plan get 1Mbps and they want provide 42 Mbs plan, shoudn't they upgrade their server capability 42 times (idiot way of calculating 42/1=42? Are they really commited to upgrade their infrastructure capacity 42 times? To double the upgrading need a lot capital, leave alone 42 times. 

I am just saying these because I am worry current UB68 user will be affected. Look like the speed 1Mbps (used to be 1.5-2.5 Mbps) is GOING TO STAY.  I only read in this forum saying UMobile is upgrading. Where's the news or official annoucement of ugrading?  Are they really upgrading? Upgrading their computer's mouse to wireless type doesn't count as upgrading.
100Mbps tower use different technology, so the current HSDPA users are not affected during the "upgrade"

why UM start LTE(100Mbps) in the Klang Valley? anyone here?

Icehart
post May 29 2011, 12:44 PM

14,899 posts

QUOTE(Juneapril @ May 29 2011, 01:52 AM)
I am curious. First they launched 42 Mbps  and then coming  LTE 100Mbps. How their infrastructure going to provide these type of speed without affeting current users?

I am just saying these because I am worry current UB68 user will be affected. Look like the speed 1Mbps (used to be 1.5-2.5 Mbps) is GOING TO STAY.  I only read in this forum saying UMobile is upgrading. Where's the news or official annoucement of ugrading?  Are they really upgrading? Upgrading their computer's mouse to wireless type doesn't count as upgrading.
Yes they are upgrading their networks. If you see the coverage map, UM start to offer speed of up to 21Mbps at Sepang and surrounding areas. rclxms.gif
Of course, I have no idea about the "actual" speed because I have no time to go LCCT and perform speed test.
mitodna
post May 29 2011, 06:10 PM

14,039 posts

QUOTE(Quantum_thinking @ May 29 2011, 02:54 AM)
If i did not subscribed to the RM28/month unlimited internet plan, the UM 3G to UM 3G still FOC right?
I am using it in the USB modem. Once it is over 500MB, i usually use it in my smartphones rather than for computer.
/offtopic: nothing to do with Internet laugh.gif

U3G to U3G is still free, with or without Unlimited Mobile Internet, confirmed and verified biggrin.gif drool.gif brows.gif

just wondering on U3G to U3G is lack of "shout", why it is gone silent on this feature, way better than competitor, just that both parties to be in U3G coverage,
z_ahutd
post May 29 2011, 06:22 PM

42 posts

anyone experiencing sudden data disconnection, and then failing to connect around 20 minutes while roaming on celcom network? I've experienced this for a month and wondering is it my phone or the network problem. But before this (was using maxis), nothing like this occured. This convinced me that my phone has no problem. Anyone experiencing this can share with me? Thanks.
digilife
post May 29 2011, 06:38 PM

8,025 posts

if you flip back the post, no one mention abt this FREE voice UM3G ~ UM3G, actually i only knew it a few days ago and i posted it here, and now you guys tested it worked thumbup.gif

Added on May 29, 2011, 6:39 pm
QUOTE(z_ahutd @ May 29 2011, 06:22 PM)
anyone experiencing sudden data disconnection, and then failing to connect around 20 minutes while roaming on celcom network? I've experienced this for a month and wondering is it my phone or the network problem. But before this (was using maxis), nothing like this occured. This convinced me that my phone has no problem. Anyone experiencing this can share with me? Thanks.
care to mention you are on UB package or RM28 package

This post has been edited by digilife: May 29 2011, 06:39 PM
Quantum_thinking
post May 29 2011, 06:50 PM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(mitodna @ May 29 2011, 06:10 PM)
/offtopic: nothing to do with Internet laugh.gif

U3G to U3G is still free, with or without Unlimited Mobile Internet, confirmed and verified biggrin.gif  drool.gif  brows.gif

just wondering on U3G to U3G is lack of "shout", why it is gone silent on this feature, way better than competitor, just that both parties to be in U3G coverage,
QUOTE(digilife @ May 29 2011, 06:38 PM)
if you flip back the post, no one mention abt this FREE voice UM3G ~ UM3G, actually i only knew it a few days ago and i posted it here, and now you guys tested it worked thumbup.gif

Thanks for the respond guys.

I guess they want to save the advert costs and let the consumer spread it out? Otherwise, it is a temporary only? unsure.gif

Note: I almost forget this is a broadband section..... doh.gif
digilife
post May 29 2011, 07:11 PM

8,025 posts

TS made this thread into a UMobile rojak thread

laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

buddy
post May 29 2011, 07:44 PM

472 posts

hi, i have a huawei 3g modem
where to get the umobile sim?
would like to try umobile coverage in serdang area..any 7 days return policy?
Quantum_thinking
post May 29 2011, 07:53 PM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(buddy @ May 29 2011, 07:44 PM)
Umm, you can PM digilife for the U mobile sim card. Please be reminded that no 7 days return for the prepaid sim.
digilife
post May 29 2011, 08:02 PM

8,025 posts

QUOTE(buddy @ May 29 2011, 07:44 PM)
buy a new sim, try out the rm28/mth package, if internet dun work out, u still hav 100mins of free talktime, if internet worked out fast and fine, buy ub68 next mth.

btw. the 15% reload bonus is still on
z_ahutd
post May 29 2011, 08:54 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ May 29 2011, 06:38 PM)

Im on unlimited mobile internet rm28 plan..
digilife
post May 29 2011, 09:21 PM

8,025 posts

QUOTE(z_ahutd @ May 29 2011, 08:54 PM)
Im on unlimited mobile internet rm28 plan..
network will show unstable when it dingdong on roaming, did it happen in a full bar UM3G area?

154 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0199sec    0.37    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 11:57 AM