post Oct 26 2011, 12:36 AM

244 posts

Is anyone able to change dns for umobile bb? hmm.gif
shanecross
post Oct 26 2011, 01:02 AM

The Vibrator
1,885 posts

Just got a umobile 5gb package. Day time not too bad. At night everything gets miserable. Living in Subang btw.
Quantum_thinking
post Oct 26 2011, 01:49 AM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(shanecross @ Oct 26 2011, 01:02 AM)
Just got a umobile 5gb package. Day time not too bad. At night everything gets miserable. Living in Subang btw.
Your night time is what time to what time?
yeelong
post Oct 26 2011, 07:17 AM

K for /K
1,218 posts

Hi all, i just switched U28 here. Everything is working well until last nite my network showed roaming and i further check and it was attaching to celcom networking.

I tried to select all network, but couldn't find the U3Gmobile. Just wake up and re search again, U3Gmobile showed but very hard to connect, it's in and out.

Do anyone of U28 or other U mobile users encountered this problem? I am living in Cheras Alam Damai, near Taman Len Seng btw.
izzi_guy
post Oct 26 2011, 08:09 AM

444 posts

Haihh..really bad..slow down everything meh..load facebook also take 10 mins..
karheng
post Oct 26 2011, 09:32 AM

934 posts

QUOTE(yeelong @ Oct 26 2011, 07:17 AM)
Hi all, i just switched U28 here. Everything is working well until last nite my network showed roaming and i further check and it was attaching to celcom networking.

I tried to select all network, but couldn't find the U3Gmobile. Just wake up and re search again, U3Gmobile showed but very hard to connect, it's in and out.

Do anyone of U28 or other U mobile users encountered this problem? I am living in Cheras Alam Damai, near Taman Len Seng btw.
sometime my phone also like that, try to switch to flight mode, and switch back to phone mode.
radi0head
post Oct 26 2011, 10:58 AM

A Shocker
2,759 posts

umobile is fast if it's good mood... i mean good connection lar else it will suffer very bad connection... it's not consistent... tat's umobile's weak point...

wink.gif

yeelong
post Oct 26 2011, 11:07 AM

K for /K
1,218 posts

QUOTE(karheng @ Oct 26 2011, 09:32 AM)
sometime my phone also like that, try to switch to flight mode, and switch back to phone mode.
Orh like that, may i know if umobile switched to roaming celcom mode, other than can't use the mobile data, the charge still the same right? i mean calling out and receiving in call
karheng
post Oct 26 2011, 04:21 PM

934 posts

QUOTE(yeelong @ Oct 26 2011, 11:07 AM)
Orh like that, may i know if umobile switched to roaming celcom mode, other than can't use the mobile data, the charge still the same right? i mean calling out and receiving in call
still the same. No extra charges for call & data.
Actually you still able to connect, when the roaming data in celcom Edge speed.

I'm not sure what phone you are using, in my case, if roaming in celcom, loading FB, or other mobile page still no problem, just take some time....but sometime really not load up.
try to create another internet profile for celcom.
APN : celcom3g

That why, try to switch to flight mode, and switch back to phone mode, it will come up with HSPDA speed. ( depend on your location ). Sometime when we go into lift, underground parking, toilet etc....U mobile always auto switch to celcom R. And when you go to other place, it will never switch back to 3G/HSPDA.
dragon360
post Oct 26 2011, 04:53 PM

140 posts

Guys im having a problem with my bb um40 i use at my iphone, before this i get a good speed about 4-5mb with iphone4. For the last 2day my speed become 6-7kbs. I chek my quota i only just use about 600mb and still have 1.4gb. Try to call cs umobile but no one answer my call grrrr!!! Any one have the same problem?
abundai
post Oct 26 2011, 05:29 PM

986 posts

QUOTE(yeelong @ Oct 26 2011, 11:07 AM)
if ur phone have the option for (data roaming), u can use Celcom Edge network...

for myself, i always select 2G/Edge connection (standby mode) cos it consumes less power.... so my voice line is always using Celcom..
only when i need the speed, i switch to Umobile 3G network...

auto switch is also not recommended.. it consumes even more battery.....
sumtin like auto car, drinks more fuel than manual.... smile.gif

Added on October 26, 2011, 5:36 pm
QUOTE(shirley_andy @ Oct 25 2011, 11:52 PM)
if that's so, why do they send me an sms telling me i can buy 1.5GB quota @ RM10? hmmm... nvm I think I'll go str8 to their branch to ask tomorrow.
true.. sometime these customer service dont really know what they are saying...

for example, at first, they say i cannot do anything once i've used up all 500Mb of data (unlimited rm28 plan).. once reached quota, im stuck at throttled speed... and need to wait till finish the 30days period to renew...

i ask so many times, and the 3rd times the charm... after they read the internal guidelines (for staff only) again and again, finally they can confirm that there's no limit to subscribe to the rm28 unlimited plan....
ust resubscribe to the plan and speed will be back to normal... no need to wait till 30days is up....

This post has been edited by abundai: Oct 26 2011, 05:36 PM
cy97
post Oct 26 2011, 08:58 PM

1,140 posts

QUOTE(dragon360 @ Oct 26 2011, 04:53 PM)
Guys im having a problem with my bb um40 i use at my iphone, before this i get a good speed about 4-5mb with iphone4. For the last 2day my speed become 6-7kbs. I chek my quota i only just use about 600mb and still have 1.4gb. Try to call cs umobile but no one answer my call grrrr!!! Any one have the same problem?
I think u mobile is down! Can some one call customer service?
baliwesti
post Oct 26 2011, 09:41 PM

67 posts

How to change U Mobile DNS (if you're using the dialer that comes with the modem)

1. Go to the U Mobile installation directory (i.e. C:\Program Files (x86)\Umobile Connect Manager)
2. Look for the file NetworkCfg.xml
3. Edit that file to look like this (i'm using Google DNS)

CODE

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<AllNetworkConfigs>
<NetworkConfig isNDIS="0" canbeDelete="0" isPreferred="1">
 <ConfigFileName>Umobile Internet(SYSTEM)</ConfigFileName>
 <UserName/>
 <Password/>
 <LoginNumber>*99#</LoginNumber>
 <AutoGetAPN>0</AutoGetAPN>
 <APN>my3g</APN>
 <AutoGetDNS>0</AutoGetDNS>
 <MainDNS>8.8.8.8</MainDNS>
 <StandbyDNS>8.8.4.4</StandbyDNS>
 <AutoGetPDP>1</AutoGetPDP>
 <PDPAddress/>
 <PDPType>IP</PDPType>
 <AuthType>PAP</AuthType>
 <AskUserAndPwd>0</AskUserAndPwd>
 <SaveUserAndPwd>0</SaveUserAndPwd>
 <GlobeFlag>1</GlobeFlag>
</NetworkConfig>

<NetworkConfig canbeDelete="0" isPreferred="0">
 <ConfigFileName>Umobile Internet</ConfigFileName>
 <UserName></UserName>
 <Password></Password>
 <APN>my3g</APN>
 <AutoGetDNS>1</AutoGetDNS>
 <MainDNS>
 </MainDNS>
 <StandbyDNS>
 </StandbyDNS>
 <PDPAddress>
 </PDPAddress>
 <PDPType>IP</PDPType>
 <AuthType>PAP</AuthType>
</NetworkConfig>
</AllNetworkConfigs>

Hope this helps!

Basically you edit the following:
AutoGetDNS = 0
MainDNS = 8.8.8.8 or your favorite DNS service
StandbyDNS = 8.8.4.4 or your favorite DNS service

izzi_guy
post Oct 26 2011, 10:35 PM

444 posts

QUOTE(dragon360 @ Oct 26 2011, 04:53 PM)
Same happpened to me..at night really slow like siput..i think they are having aome issues..tried to call cs as well but no one answer..dunno why..have you consult their branch and ask them?maybe its helpful..
edwardng
post Oct 26 2011, 10:41 PM

244 posts

QUOTE(baliwesti @ Oct 26 2011, 09:41 PM)
How to change U Mobile DNS (if you're using the dialer that comes with the modem)

1. Go to the U Mobile installation directory (i.e. C:\Program Files (x86)\Umobile Connect Manager)
2. Look for the file NetworkCfg.xml
3. Edit that file to look like this (i'm using Google DNS)

CODE

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<AllNetworkConfigs>
<NetworkConfig isNDIS="0" canbeDelete="0" isPreferred="1">
 <ConfigFileName>Umobile Internet(SYSTEM)</ConfigFileName>
 <UserName/>
 <Password/>
 <APN>my3g</APN>
 <AutoGetDNS>0</AutoGetDNS>
 <MainDNS>8.8.8.8</MainDNS>
 <StandbyDNS>8.8.4.4</StandbyDNS>
 <PDPAddress/>
 <PDPType>IP</PDPType>
 <AuthType>PAP</AuthType>
 <GlobeFlag>1</GlobeFlag>
</NetworkConfig>

<NetworkConfig canbeDelete="0" isPreferred="0">
 <ConfigFileName>Umobile Internet</ConfigFileName>
 <UserName></UserName>
 <Password></Password>
 <APN>my3g</APN>
 <AutoGetDNS>1</AutoGetDNS>
 <MainDNS>
 </MainDNS>
 <StandbyDNS>
 </StandbyDNS>
 <PDPAddress>
 </PDPAddress>
 <PDPType>IP</PDPType>
 <AuthType>PAP</AuthType>
</NetworkConfig>
</AllNetworkConfigs>

Hope this helps!

Basically you edit the following:
AutoGetDNS = 0
MainDNS = 8.8.8.8 or your favorite DNS service
StandbyDNS = 8.8.4.4 or your favorite DNS service
Thanks for your tutorial and it works! thumbup.gif
By the way, anyone suffer internet instability (sometimes can surf sometimes cannot surf) at night time although there are 1-4 bars signals sweat.gif
shirley_andy
post Oct 27 2011, 12:35 AM

VR Hardware Solution Provider
2,631 posts

I wanna ask about the MB Day plan...

I'm currently using U68 postpaid plan and exceeded quota so currently the speed is bloody slow but the 1.5GB booster can't be used because its not available for U68.

But I need a good and stable connection for this coming Friday night around 10pm to Saturday night 1am, can the MB Day plan help me? how is the 1 day plan works?

This post has been edited by shirley_andy: Oct 27 2011, 12:37 AM
shutterdll
post Oct 27 2011, 09:09 PM

255 posts

blink.gif anyone can confirm the 1.5GB booster can't be used because its not available for U68 ?

This post has been edited by shutterdll: Oct 27 2011, 09:10 PM
karheng
post Oct 27 2011, 09:18 PM

934 posts

QUOTE(shutterdll @ Oct 27 2011, 09:09 PM)
blink.gif anyone can confirm the 1.5GB booster can't be used because its not available for U68 ?
i'm on U68 ( prepaid ), i can see purchase booster, RM10/3 days, 1GB.
And ask to confirm.
mean should be no problem to buy.

Maybe yours is postpaid broadband, they offer booster 1.5GB?
No info yet in the website.
shirley_andy
post Oct 27 2011, 10:56 PM

VR Hardware Solution Provider
2,631 posts

i asked about it today at pyramid branch...

it seems that my plan is U68 so when I tried to get the booster i receive error msg, now they are gonna convert my U68 into UB68... its essentially the same thing just my plan a bit older so got compatibility problem..

after a few days i shd be able to get the booster without problem
jieman456
post Oct 27 2011, 11:56 PM

just settle!

This post has been edited by jieman456: Nov 3 2011, 04:27 PM

154 Pages « < 71 72 73 74 75 > » Top

0.0336sec    0.41    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 10:31 PM