140 Pages « < 127 128 129 130 131 > » Bottom

Marimo, Japanese Moss Ball ♥♥♥, Share your ♥ towards this cute algae

SUScute_miao
post Nov 12 2012, 08:57 PM

Look at MY STARS!!!!!!!!!
1,438 posts

QUOTE(Kaisergrendel @ Nov 12 2012, 08:38 PM)
In its basic form, marimo is an algae filament - strands of algae only a few cells wide. Depending on the enviroment, they can become entangled and form any of the shapes you've seen. They're all marimo, but the most famous appearance is the ball shape. "Cebisan" moss (which you should be calling algae), start best as nano marimo, which bond together more strongly the longer they live. I've made a few of these myself. If they fall apart, they're too big; split it up and start over.

What is "brightly K"?
Brighty k is one of the supplementary (nutrient) i used in my planted tank. Its from ADA. so i wonder is there any effect ot it

sillySil
post Nov 13 2012, 06:34 AM

QUOTE(Kaisergrendel @ Nov 11 2012, 08:02 PM)
It's important to understand that marimo aren't single organisms. Each strand lives almost independently from others. If there are enough green (healthy) strands, you should see them pearl. Most of ours tend to do it immediately after a bath. Try rolling it in your hands and squeezing them in fresh water then putting it under strong light. Make sure the light doesn't contain high UV, IE. the sun.
Oh, this is interesting. I didn't know that. Thanks for the tip, I'll try it next time I change water. Though I'm not sure where I should find strong light (yes, am avoiding the sun heheh). Am just keeping her in a jar on my office desk ^^;

By the way I do see some strands floating around in the water, but they tend to land back at the main ball after a while. Do marimo shed "hair"? Just wondering. Because when I massage her during water the previous water change (so much dirt & sediments...), I notice some strands coming off. Not much, just a few individual strands. Is that a good/bad sign?
SUScute_miao
post Nov 13 2012, 09:15 AM

1,438 posts

Hihi,

Need some clarifications from expert in here. I get this info from google. need to verify it.

1. marimo need nutrient? Those i saw some sellers sell those nutrients blue in clour as well in pavillion and facebook.

2. it is advisable to keep nano and giant seperately?

3. ussage of power head filter is better than hanging back filter? why ar??

4. what is the best watt for lightning marimo? n how many hours? some say t5 and pll 6-8 hours also no problem wor...

5. some claim water lousy will prohibits the growth of marimo. how to make the water not lousy wor??

6. no need to water change for marimo? just take n wash it in running water then put back?

7. room light is not sufficient even on for 5-8 hours.

8. dont do fridge spa too often. actually fridge spa, can do daily or not? 5pm - 8am?

9. if i put marimo in fridge from friday (5pm) till monday (8am), will marimo mati? some say will..cz no light.

Please advise my shifus here.
LuQEE
post Nov 13 2012, 12:40 PM

66 posts

^ no offense, lol
but you just made caring marimo sounds soo difficult to me...dah macam planted tank

leeyung
post Nov 13 2012, 12:54 PM

1st LYN Pioneer Genuine Marimo Seller
885 posts

QUOTE(LuQEE @ Nov 13 2012, 12:40 PM)
^ no offense, lol
but you just made caring marimo sounds soo difficult to me...dah macam planted tank

+1 to LuQEE
leeyung
post Nov 13 2012, 01:01 PM

885 posts

Most of your questions are mentioned and answered in this thread bro biggrin.gif Especially they are highlighted in this thread #1979, try to search for it without duplicate the questions biggrin.gif thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by leeyung: Jan 2 2013, 11:42 AM
dniz
post Nov 13 2012, 04:48 PM

17 posts

Hi~

I'm just a new 1 day old Marimo owner.. biggrin.gif My friend gave it to me as a gift. She told me my marimo wasnt really round so she tied it with a thread and told me to let it grow for awhile with the thread to make it round again..

Anyways.. I've noticed some small white spots on my marimo.. Just wanted to ask if anyone knows what are those spots? Is it bad for the marimo or should I do anything with it? >.<

Kaisergrendel
post Nov 13 2012, 08:43 PM

QUOTE(leeyung @ Nov 13 2012, 03:01 PM)
Most of your questions are mentioned and answered in this thread bro biggrin.gif Especially they are highlighted in this thread #1979, try to search for it without duplicate the questions biggrin.gif  thumbup.gif
^^ Agree. Also, didn't I answer a few of those questions, cute miao? Considering I'm one of the few people who's read this thread front to back, and you still don't believe me, I think it's clear the only way for you to be sure is to read it yourself. There's no shortcut. Read as much as you can, take care of your marimos, and make up your own mind based on your own experiences.

On the other hand, should we consider extending the FAQ with some of these tips? Not everyone has the time to sift through the thread, and the FAQ doesn't cover some of the common questions.

Added on November 14, 2012, 9:32 am
QUOTE(sillySil @ Nov 13 2012, 08:34 AM)
By the way I do see some strands floating around in the water, but they tend to land back at the main ball after a while.  Do marimo shed "hair"?  Just wondering.  Because when I massage her during water the previous water change (so much dirt & sediments...), I notice some strands coming off.  Not much, just a few individual strands.  Is that a good/bad sign?
No need to overcomplicate things. If your marimo is green, it's healthy. Have you ever seen a plant that didn't shed leaves?

This post has been edited by Kaisergrendel: Nov 14 2012, 09:32 AM
SUScute_miao
post Nov 16 2012, 04:07 PM

1,438 posts

QUOTE(ElizabethT @ Nov 16 2012, 09:49 AM)
Friend bought me a marimo as my birthday present.

I have been reading the 128 pages of this thread  shocking.gif , and wanted to know more about the lightning.

I know that we cant use UV lights as it will kill the marimo.

Question is, i got this light previously. But i already throw the box away. so i dont know whether this light can be used or not. please advise.

Added on November 16, 2012, 9:50 am
p/s: my tank is 45cm x 30 cm x 33cm
hmm.gif Let the pro to answer you
Azure_Fox
post Nov 16 2012, 04:29 PM

QUOTE(leeyung @ Oct 29 2012, 10:46 AM)
Haha, great to hear that, if you do not have any fishes in the tank/bottle, no problem for using direct tap water, save a lot of cost in long run smile.gif
Haha, betta can sustain chlorine in some cases biggrin.gif Yeah, if you are having Marimo only, tap water more than enough and the results are pretty good smile.gif
Very neutral pH level you have smile.gif ur otto superb cute haha
thank you ^^
I really fallin in love with ottos, they're relly cute, especially when they're eating or swimming hahaha

I decided to separate the marimos, because I bought the second aquarium and put them with my other Bettas smile.gif
Introducing my Female Salamander Halfmoon, I need a name for her, she's really cute
loves those Nano Marimos, sometimes she sat on it wkwkwkw
She loves to swim around the Giant and Super Giant too smile.gif

marimos and Bettas are really good combination smile.gif

*MARIMO UPDATE*

my super Giant almosttt got the "Velvet texture" rclxm9.gif
the touchy feels are realllyyyy softtt!
my Nano Marimos are softer than this now^__^

all Marimos bought from LEEYUNG

This post has been edited by Azure_Fox: Nov 16 2012, 04:54 PM

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
Azure_Fox
post Nov 17 2012, 12:25 AM

QUOTE(ElizabethT @ Nov 17 2012, 12:13 AM)
no one reply me...T.T
hello, u asked about the lamp, right?
well, I can't tell if ur lamp is enough for ur marimo or not
it should be written on the box, the watt metre, Kelvin and Par metre (if not some products have it written on some side of the lamp)
I'm not so good at electronic either, so I can't see if the lamp is right/not through the photos only smile.gif
leeyung
post Nov 17 2012, 10:04 AM

885 posts

QUOTE(Kaisergrendel @ Nov 13 2012, 08:43 PM)
Have you ever seen a plant that didn't shed leaves?
Fake plant LOL! drool.gif Shed leaves pretty normal but most of the owner very worry about this biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by leeyung: Nov 17 2012, 10:04 AM
leeyung
post Nov 17 2012, 10:05 AM

885 posts

This post has been edited by leeyung: Jan 2 2013, 11:41 AM
leeyung
post Nov 17 2012, 10:10 AM

885 posts

QUOTE(Azure_Fox @ Nov 16 2012, 04:29 PM)
thank you ^^
I really fallin in love with ottos, they're relly cute, especially when they're eating or swimming hahaha

I decided to separate the marimos, because I bought the second aquarium and put them with my other Bettas smile.gif
Introducing my Female Salamander Halfmoon, I need a name for her, she's really cute
loves those Nano Marimos, sometimes she sat on it wkwkwkw
She loves to swim around the Giant and Super Giant too smile.gif

marimos and Bettas are really good combination smile.gif

*MARIMO UPDATE*

my super Giant almosttt got the "Velvet texture"  rclxm9.gif
the touchy feels are realllyyyy softtt!
my Nano Marimos are softer than this now^__^

all Marimos bought from LEEYUNG
Yeah, I gonna get some ottos too, cycling my tank haha. The lady is very nice, especially the white lines rounding the fins!

The velvet texture can be seen via the photos, very nice smile.gif thumbup.gif
sillySil
post Nov 17 2012, 01:28 PM

QUOTE(leeyung @ Nov 17 2012, 10:04 AM)
Fake plant LOL! drool.gif Shed leaves pretty normal but most of the owner very worry about this biggrin.gif
Eh... em... hur. Haha. Guess I got overexcited and carried away... oops.gif
Glad to say my marimo's looking better day by day though(yay!).

Am so loving it. Can't wait to get more brows.gif

And btw Azure_Fox, your marimos are so pretty! Such beautiful texture (and so round!)
Azure_Fox
post Nov 17 2012, 05:10 PM

QUOTE(leeyung @ Nov 17 2012, 10:10 AM)
Yeah, I gonna get some ottos too, cycling my tank haha. The lady is very nice, especially the white lines rounding the fins!

The velvet texture can be seen via the photos, very nice smile.gif  thumbup.gif
yes she's really pretty, and really active swimmer too, guess female Betta is really active swimmer sweat.gif , my first time got Female Betta

I Cycling my old tank too, change the gravel to sand, prettier tho..
how long do u usually cycling ur tank? O.O?

yes all my marimos are grow really well wub.gif
but more than that, they're already have a good quality before u send them to me notworthy.gif wink.gif
so achieve those velvet texture doesn't take a really long time, hehehehehe

Added on November 17, 2012, 5:12 pm
QUOTE(sillySil @ Nov 17 2012, 01:28 PM)
Eh... em... hur.  Haha.  Guess I got overexcited and carried away...  oops.gif
Glad to say my marimo's looking better day by day though(yay!). 

Am so loving it. Can't wait to get more brows.gif

And btw Azure_Fox, your marimos are so pretty! Such beautiful texture (and so round!)
thank you^^ just routinely massage them and cleaned them, not everyday but almost everyday, hehehe
routinely put them in the fridge everynight too, or every three days also good smile.gif (before I put them everyday)

This post has been edited by Azure_Fox: Nov 17 2012, 05:12 PM
Azure_Fox
post Nov 17 2012, 09:13 PM

QUOTE(ElizabethT @ Nov 17 2012, 08:43 PM)
notworthy.gif

thanks. my tank is 1.5feet oni. may i know what will happen if there is insufficient light to marimo if i used the light as posted earlier?

may i know if i on my room light + the led light for 8hours...will it be sufficient??

i got one more light but i couldnt determine whether it is white or sun tube.. by aquazonic super pl-compact aquarium lamp 60cm - 55W..ccan it be used??

so sorry for asking so many questions. i read the 129pages n need some clarificstions..i dowan my momo to die.plan to get more to sccomapny my pity momo tongue.gif
marimo is basicaly a low lighting plant...
I light my marimo 8-10 hours a day (read that 4 hours a day already enough too)
just careful don't use too long light, it can cause algae growth to ur aquarium smile.gif

don't use lamp that have UV in it, it kills marimo.

the bigger the watt of ur lamp is all depend on ur tank size smile.gif usually 3 gallon with 2 Watt LED is already enough
Azure_Fox
post Nov 17 2012, 09:43 PM

QUOTE(ElizabethT @ Nov 17 2012, 09:31 PM)
thanx azure..by the way..i dont know how many gallon my tank. i just knw its 50cmx30cmx35cm

so my ciplak led light is sufficient already am i right to use in the tank?

i plan to use the ciplak led n room light. save cost..keke..wht u think? will post my pic asap once evrtything is done.

planning to put some fish. but worry the food waste n fish poo will make my momo dirty. momo easy to get dirt. wht type of ikan is recommended to put in my tank n how many ekor??keke..u are all pakar...really need to get advise frm u. if fish make my momo dirty..theni dont want add fish.

ny the way, i read about diy co2. just wonder will it have any good benefit to momo?
wow, ur tank is Big, around 13 gallon (50 litre), if u have Betta fish, it will be really happy in there smile.gif)

No need CO2 (in my opinion)
because marimo is a slow growth plant, so it doesn't need CO2 injection, when there are too many CO2, algae can growth too

I use LED light too btw wink.gif
my 3 gallon tank=12 litre, and my marimos are pearling smile.gif
(but not enough pearl to make them floating)
maybe because the light beam is too high (my tanks height is aroun 24 cm)
I use HOB filter too, the tank is really clean and the marimo looks pretty smile.gif
next time I'll post my tank photos.

suitable fish, for me is Betta, because their Poo isn't so many (u can easily syphon the poo everyday)
they look pretty too when they swim near marimo smile.gif left a little bit of poo also fine too
because Aquaplant use them as their nutrition, so that they're more healthy.
U can bath ur marimo every 3 days if u're afraid they will be fast to get dirty.
otocinclus is good and cute, but u need to grow a little algae in ur tank, otherwise they're high maintenance, because they prefer natural food to have longer lifespan, and they're school fishes too, need to have them minimum 3.

other fishes, hmm..u can ask Leeyung and anyone that already put many fishes in their tank smile.gif

This post has been edited by Azure_Fox: Nov 17 2012, 09:47 PM
Kaisergrendel
post Nov 17 2012, 11:01 PM

QUOTE(ElizabethT @ Nov 17 2012, 11:31 PM)
so my ciplak led light is sufficient already am i right to use in the tank?

i plan to use the ciplak led n room light. save cost..keke..wht u think? will post my pic asap once evrtything is done.

planning to put some fish. but worry the food waste n fish poo will make my momo dirty. momo easy to get dirt. wht type of ikan is recommended to put in my tank n how many ekor??keke..u are all pakar...really need to get advise frm u. if fish make my momo dirty..theni dont want add fish.

ny the way, i read about diy co2. just wonder will it have any good benefit to momo?
All your questions can really be answered by understanding the marimo themselves. It's better to teach you that than tell you the direct answers to your questions.

Question: "How much light/co2/nutrients do marimo need?"

Answer: Marimo have slow metabolisms and need very little of everything you can provide because they consume it so slowly. Anything besides a little light and tapwater is probably going to be wasted in a tank with only marimo, not because they don't need it, but because it's already IN the water and the marimo takes a long time to use it up. Remember: People have been keeping healthy marimo in nothing but jars of water and window/ceiling light. Leeyung has been saying over and over all you need is a filter to keep the water aerated and clean and a good light source. How bright? Not brighter than the sun, not dimmer than your ceiling light.

Question: "What/how many fish for marimo? Will they make the marimo dirty?"

Fish in your tank means poo. Poo will dissipate into the water get into your marimo, even if you can't see it. If you don't like poo, don't get fish. Unless you're only interested in the appearance of cleanliness...

Asking what type of fish to put with your marimo is the same as asking which fish to put with which fish - As long as they share the same preferences for water conditions and don't attack each other, they should be good to go.

How many - depends on your water volume, type of fish.
Azure_Fox
post Nov 18 2012, 09:40 AM

QUOTE(ElizabethT @ Nov 18 2012, 12:21 AM)
thanks shifu....u really teach me a lot. i will post them up here..btw..i a little bit scared of betta. fighting fish oo.mm..later bite my hand...scared scared
hahaha, even tho they bite you, ur finger wont be hurted..(ur finger won't be fit in their mouth lol)
they're a gentle fish, they might bite u because they think u bring food with ur finger, but instead u felt bitten, u just felt being poked by them smile.gif
2 of my Bettas love to be stroke by my finger wub.gif when I put in my finger in the tank, they move their body stroking themself to my finger, really cute!

anyway
just prepare and learn about any fish that u plan to put with ur marimo, because they're need to be taken care too smile.gif

140 Pages « < 127 128 129 130 131 > » Top

0.0312sec    0.48    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 04:29 AM