140 Pages « < 125 126 127 128 129 > » Bottom

Marimo, Japanese Moss Ball ♥♥♥, Share your ♥ towards this cute algae

RainbowVeronica
post Oct 19 2012, 09:21 AM

QUOTE(leeyung @ Oct 18 2012, 02:13 PM)
Marimo breaking apart and Carpet Marimo they are two different thing smile.gif Breaking of Marimo apart can be due to several reasons, use search button in this thread to get your answer as it has been discussed previously smile.gif Whereas Carpet Marimo is naturally in the form at the first place smile.gif Btw, try consult your seller about the issue you are facing, that is the fastest way for you to get the solution as your seller should be the one who know much more better on his/her selling item including species, quality and etc.
oppss sorry noob noob here.. tongue.gif
so the way to cure it is just put in some salt n fridge spa? mind to ask.. sweat.gif
femgoo2005
post Oct 19 2012, 09:59 AM

91 posts

QUOTE(RainbowVeronica @ Oct 19 2012, 09:21 AM)
oppss sorry noob noob here..  tongue.gif
so the way to cure it is just put in some salt n fridge spa? mind to ask..  sweat.gif
Sorry to interupt RainbowVeronica but i think LeeYung was right about the below :

Marimo breaking apart and Carpet Marimo they are two different thing Breaking of Marimo apart can be due to several reasons, use search button in this thread to get your answer as it has been discussed previously Whereas Carpet Marimo is naturally in the form at the first place Btw, try consult your seller about the issue you are facing, that is the fastest way for you to get the solution as your seller should be the one who know much more better on his/her selling item including species, quality and etc.

Kaisergrendel
post Oct 20 2012, 09:49 AM

QUOTE(femgoo2005 @ Oct 19 2012, 11:59 AM)
Sorry to interupt RainbowVeronica but i think LeeYung was right about the below :

Marimo breaking apart and Carpet Marimo they are two different thing  Breaking of Marimo apart can be due to several reasons, use search button in this thread to get your answer as it has been discussed previously  Whereas Carpet Marimo is naturally in the form at the first place  Btw, try consult your seller about the issue you are facing, that is the fastest way for you to get the solution as your seller should be the one who know much more better on his/her selling item including species, quality and etc.
The seller might be able to tell her why her marimo exploded, but once the filaments are broken, I don't think they can reattach themselves. Really, has anyone ever managed to rejoin a split marimo?
femgoo2005
post Oct 20 2012, 10:24 AM

91 posts

QUOTE(Kaisergrendel @ Oct 20 2012, 09:49 AM)
The seller might be able to tell her why her marimo exploded, but once the filaments are broken, I don't think they can reattach themselves. Really, has anyone ever managed to rejoin a split marimo?
I also don't think it can re-attach back. Maybe can manually roll it back use hand and that also kenot guarantee re-attach back. Have to see what the seller say lah, maybe the seller will try to hard sell another round one lah

This post has been edited by femgoo2005: Oct 20 2012, 10:26 AM
RainbowVeronica
post Oct 20 2012, 10:59 AM

QUOTE(femgoo2005 @ Oct 20 2012, 10:24 AM)
I also don't think it can re-attach back. Maybe can manually roll it back use hand and that also kenot guarantee  re-attach back. Have to see what the seller say lah, maybe the seller will try to hard sell another round one lah
cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif
just roll it back and see how...
thanks for d feedback
L3()nZ
post Oct 20 2012, 12:06 PM

31 posts

sharing my marimo haha

femgoo2005
post Oct 20 2012, 11:07 PM

91 posts

QUOTE(RainbowVeronica @ Oct 20 2012, 10:59 AM)
cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif
just roll it back and see how...
thanks for d feedback
Aiyak! dun putus asa so fast lah Rainbow, just ask the seller 1st. Maybe the seller willing to exchange a new one for you leh. Anyway arh... Marimo splitting up doesn't mean dead, it only change into different form but still pretty much alive if its still dark green as long as you maintain clean water.
Kaisergrendel
post Oct 20 2012, 11:23 PM

QUOTE(femgoo2005 @ Oct 21 2012, 01:07 AM)
Marimo splitting up doesn't mean dead, it only change into different form but still pretty much alive if its still dark green as long as you maintain clean water.
That's right, and there's a very good chance you can roll the parts back together into new nanos. If you take care of them, they will grow up to be healthier and stronger than farmed marimos too, with better fur structures.
jsng00
post Oct 22 2012, 08:02 AM

QUOTE(leeyung @ May 18 2011, 04:03 PM)
Put me into the list too!

here are my aquariums with marimos and the fishes
user posted image user posted image

Marimo with Crayfish

Marimos with glass shrimps

LeeYunG's Marimo Video

Giant Marimos and Nano Marimos are going to meet their owners soon! Are you one of the owners?

Hi Can i know how to rear marimo with Shrimps?
Besides that, whats shrimps eat?
RainbowVeronica
post Oct 22 2012, 02:51 PM

when i take out marimo from fridge spa, i found out the water temperature is around 5c, is that too cold for them?
jsng00
post Oct 22 2012, 05:05 PM

QUOTE(jess7 @ Oct 12 2012, 11:50 PM)
here, you can contact leeyung for the marimos u want!
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f=219&t=1563280

and here is my marimos in a new tank with red cherry shrimps smile.gif

hope you have as much fun as i did in rearing these cute little moss balls  biggrin.gif
Hi.. i'm new in here.. i planning to rear marimo ball and shrimp together..
but how to rear marimo and shrimp together? 2week must change water? beside that wat shrimp eat what?
jess7
post Oct 22 2012, 06:41 PM

155 posts

but how to rear marimo and shrimp together? 2week must change water? beside that wat shrimp eat what?

[/quote]

hi there!
welcome to the marimo club rclxms.gif
i am new to shrimp rearing too,
shrimp rearing will take alot more effort in my opinion
and water parameters in your current tank must be stable enough
so that the shrimps will live and SPAWN brows.gif

so far i have set up tank and i need to wait at least a month before putting in the shrimps
every week or so, i will test water parameters
after a month, once everything is okay, then only i will get my shrimps smile.gif
RainbowVeronica
post Oct 22 2012, 10:09 PM

QUOTE(Kaisergrendel @ Oct 20 2012, 11:23 PM)
That's right, and there's a very good chance you can roll the parts back together into new nanos. If you take care of them, they will grow up to be healthier and stronger than farmed marimos too, with better fur structures.
Finally i manage to roll it back.. The last one on d right sweat.gif

This post has been edited by RainbowVeronica: Oct 22 2012, 10:09 PM

Kaisergrendel
post Oct 23 2012, 07:29 PM

QUOTE(RainbowVeronica @ Oct 23 2012, 12:09 AM)
Finally i manage to roll it back.. The last one on d right  sweat.gif
That's good, but you need to be very careful with it from now on. It might take years for the seam to close up :{ And it might just fall apart if you just touch it wrong

Added on October 23, 2012, 7:36 pm
QUOTE(RainbowVeronica @ Oct 22 2012, 04:51 PM)
when i take out marimo from fridge spa, i found out the water temperature is around 5c, is that too cold for them?
Lake Akan ices over in winter, meaning little light and close to freezing temps. I think they're fine xD This is assuming you have Hokkaido marimos, not sure about the other ones.

If anyone is interested in reading about Icelandic marimo: http://www.grapevine.is/Features/ReadArtic...res-Fuzzy-Balls

Added on October 23, 2012, 8:19 pmAdditional reading for Lake Akan Marimo:

http://shrineodreams.wordpress.com/2012/08/11/marimo/

For anyone who hasn't tortured themselves enough: - 75 page thread on Marimo care:

http://www.bettafish.com/showthread.php?t=...=marimo&page=75

This post has been edited by Kaisergrendel: Oct 23 2012, 08:19 PM
jsng00
post Oct 24 2012, 11:35 AM

[quote=jess7,Oct 22 2012, 06:41 PM]

[/quote]

hi there!

so far i have set up tank and i need to wait at least a month before putting in the shrimps
after a month, once everything is okay, then only i will get my shrimps smile.gif

[/quote]

Wow!! that need take time to study on this.. doh.gif
OMG rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
HOpe the fish shop folks can explain to me.. blush.gif
jess7
post Oct 24 2012, 12:04 PM

155 posts

[quote=jsng00,Oct 24 2012, 11:35 AM]
hi there!

[/quote]

Wow!! that need take time to study on this.. doh.gif
OMG rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
HOpe the fish shop folks can explain to me.. blush.gif

[/quote]

hahahaha

i also tot so...
but i think
as long tank is well cycled and ammonia level is 0
the shrimps shud be able to survive biggrin.gif
Azure_Fox
post Oct 25 2012, 01:32 PM

Hello!
long time no visit this forum!!
sharing my Nanos and 1 Giant from Leeyung smile.gif
They all goes well with Corydoras, the fish often clean/sweep the dirt on the marimos..

pink_baby
post Oct 26 2012, 12:21 PM

178 posts

Hi...I'm new here. Just got my nano and giant marimo from leeyung ytd. Would like to ask...other than tap water, can i use those filtered water like diamond water??
Azure_Fox
post Oct 27 2012, 12:54 AM

QUOTE(pink_baby @ Oct 26 2012, 12:21 PM)
Hi...I'm new here. Just got my nano and giant marimo from leeyung ytd. Would like to ask...other than tap water, can i use those filtered water like diamond water??
I think tap water is already okay..
I use usual water (with chlorine)=="
and yes the results is good, my Nanos all so fluffy and the texture is really improve alot..
Kaisergrendel
post Oct 27 2012, 10:02 AM

QUOTE(Azure_Fox @ Oct 27 2012, 02:54 AM)
I use usual water (with chlorine)=="
Wow, isn't that bad for the fish though? xD

140 Pages « < 125 126 127 128 129 > » Top

0.0349sec    0.53    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 01:52 AM