140 Pages « < 115 116 117 118 119 > » Bottom

Marimo, Japanese Moss Ball ♥♥♥, Share your ♥ towards this cute algae

Azure_Fox
post Aug 8 2012, 01:11 AM

QUOTE(meagan3333 @ Aug 7 2012, 08:41 PM)
ewwww... y ur marimo look like very yellowish in the Day 3 photo????? mine marimos all dark green n healthy healthy.... yellowish meaning already sick right???

i read from other site about the grade A and B marimo, they say the facebook seller is a cheapo and money sucker..... the grades are just to cheat beginner marimo owners according to what they say.... guess u gotta be careful when the seller say their marimo are grade A marimo.. RM80 for Nano nehhh.......such a money suckerr seller....... (a facebook seller konon... more like scammer)..... if want get marimo u better buy from our lowyat dai ghor marimo seller leeyung.... sure no regrets.....
yess sad.gif( I think I left the bottle near my window too long!! hiks hiks
how to recover it?? I put my marimo in my fridge all day since this morning.. dunno how long it will go back to green hiks hiks
I put a lil salt also in it... do I must put salt again tomorrow?
femgoo2005
post Aug 8 2012, 06:26 PM

91 posts

QUOTE(Azure_Fox @ Aug 8 2012, 01:11 AM)
yess sad.gif( I think I left the bottle near my window too long!! hiks hiks
how to recover it?? I put my marimo in my fridge all day since this morning.. dunno how long it will go back to green hiks hiks
I put a lil salt also in it... do I must put salt again tomorrow?
Is it posible to ask the seller since they are the only one knows the originality of their Marimo. Anyway the curing is not a one night thing, it may take months. Having Marimo in a small bottle as key chain/ hp strap is not reliable at all in my opinion. The bottle so small, the chances you'll let it expose to sun light, the water contain in the small bottle are so so so little( as in summer it requires water changing more frequent). There are some even find that they smell when they open the container to change its water.
In short, you need to ask the seller if they possible to help you.

Azure_Fox
post Aug 8 2012, 06:44 PM

QUOTE(femgoo2005 @ Aug 8 2012, 06:26 PM)
Is it posible to ask the seller since they are the only one knows the originality of their Marimo. Anyway the curing is not a one night thing, it may take months. Having Marimo in a small bottle as key chain/ hp strap is not reliable at all in my opinion. The bottle so small, the chances you'll let it expose to sun light, the water contain in the small bottle are so so so little( as in summer it requires water changing more frequent). There are some even find that they smell when they open the container to change its water.
In short, you need to ask the seller if they possible to help you.

oh it take months? okay! I try hard to cure this little thing thumbup.gif
today I see my marimo let out some dirt things (outside the marimo, and some is shredded on the bottom of the bottle)
yes I don't put my marimo in a small bottle anymore.. instead I buy bigger bottle and put it in my 20C air-con room
maybe at night I try to put it in a fridge, but I checked my fridge temperature is 12C..is that okay?
femgoo2005
post Aug 8 2012, 08:28 PM

91 posts

QUOTE(Azure_Fox @ Aug 8 2012, 06:44 PM)
oh it take months? okay! I try hard to cure this little thing  thumbup.gif
today I see my marimo let out some dirt things (outside the marimo, and some is shredded on the bottom of the bottle)
yes I don't put my marimo in a small bottle anymore.. instead I buy bigger bottle and put it in my 20C air-con room
maybe at night I try to put it in a fridge, but I checked my fridge temperature is 12C..is that okay?
Aiyoh this Azure_Fox, it is better to ask the person that sell you this Marimo. Later i gv wrong advice then your little one gone habis. You check wif your seller is it ok to keep it 12C. The person selling you sure keep alot of it before selling it to you, then he must've know how a proper temperature should be as i really dunno what kind of marimo you got there, only the seller know him/herself. I am also new here i just gather info by surfing around the net or ask my own seller LeeYung because i bought mine from him.
Hope everything goes well soon for your little one. nod.gif

frozendream
post Aug 8 2012, 08:37 PM

59 posts

as long as it is not in the freezer should be ok. but remember to take it out over nite. i once left my momo in the fridge and forgot about it. when i realised, the whole thing turned brown d. T.T
even though they love chill places, but they oso need light. i guess i accidently left them in cold darkness...
Azure_Fox
post Aug 8 2012, 10:49 PM

QUOTE(frozendream @ Aug 8 2012, 08:37 PM)
as long as it is not in the freezer should be ok. but remember to take it out over nite. i once left my momo in the fridge and forgot about it. when i realised, the whole thing turned brown d. T.T
even though they love chill places, but they oso need light. i guess i accidently left them in cold darkness...
aww.. sad.gif poor momo-chan..so how is momo now? is momo cured yet?
frozendream
post Aug 8 2012, 10:57 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(Azure_Fox @ Aug 8 2012, 10:49 PM)
aww.. sad.gif poor momo-chan..so how is momo now? is momo cured yet?
erm, i thought whole thing turned brown means... died? >.<
Azure_Fox
post Aug 8 2012, 11:07 PM

QUOTE(frozendream @ Aug 8 2012, 10:57 PM)
erm, i thought whole thing turned brown means... died? >.<
shocking.gif I see.. >.<"
I my momo still in yellowish green phase..dunno it can make it or not T_T
meagan3333
post Aug 8 2012, 11:13 PM

QUOTE(Azure_Fox @ Aug 8 2012, 06:44 PM)
oh it take months? okay! I try hard to cure this little thing  thumbup.gif
wow........20C air con room sure good for then. mine also i put at 23C air con room. guess they love the coldness!! hope your yellowish get well soon ya!!

Added on August 8, 2012, 11:20 pm
QUOTE(frozendream @ Aug 8 2012, 08:37 PM)
a bit impossible for the momo to be brown in fridge lehhhhh...... i put mine inside fridge all the time, esp when i going away for few days........ all green green after out of fridge.....

u sure your marimo r real marimo or not???? bcozzz it sounds like your marimo r fake n go brown easily when overnight in fridge..... i read here all say fridge no problem nehhhh... just wondering

This post has been edited by meagan3333: Aug 8 2012, 11:20 PM
ck.chunkeat
post Aug 8 2012, 11:45 PM

Change.
1,327 posts

cz some fridge inside got light eventho you closed the fridge door..while other fridge dun have light once you close the fridge door..

Haiz,my marimo a little brownish on the out side edi...not dark green at all..i thought is normal cz when i got it,its like that edi...
frozendream
post Aug 8 2012, 11:47 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(meagan3333 @ Aug 8 2012, 11:13 PM)
wow........20C air con room sure good for then. mine also i put at 23C air con room. guess they love the coldness!! hope your yellowish get well soon ya!!

Added on August 8, 2012, 11:20 pm
a bit impossible for the momo to be brown in fridge lehhhhh...... i put mine inside fridge all the time, esp when i going away for few days........ all green green after out of fridge.....

u sure your marimo r real marimo or not???? bcozzz it sounds like your marimo r fake n go brown easily when overnight in fridge..... i read here all say fridge no problem nehhhh... just wondering
thanks for your concern. i left it in the fridge and forgotten about it for more than 2 weeks. not overnight.

meagan3333
post Aug 9 2012, 12:13 AM

QUOTE(ck.chunkeat @ Aug 8 2012, 11:45 PM)
cz some fridge inside got light eventho you closed the fridge door..while other fridge dun have light once you close the fridge door..

Haiz,my marimo a little brownish on the out side edi...not dark green at all..i thought is normal cz when i got it,its like that edi...
my one also same when received so i put to wash all of them one by one...... squeeze squeeze a bit.... one by one...... then i put them into seperate small containers with water....... then offff to fridge...... next morning i see the colour super nice lehhhh..... but i continue put for a day... then only i take photo.... u see mine all greeen green as the momo love cold cold.....

your one put near window maybe make them cant recover coz momo scared sunlight lehhhh..... i try my best not to let them near sunlight.......else zzzzzzz.......
Azure_Fox
post Aug 9 2012, 12:18 AM

QUOTE(meagan3333 @ Aug 8 2012, 11:13 PM)

hopefully! pray for me! (20C makes me freezing tho...but for my momo I will do this! XDD)->I use blanket while in the room actualy hahaha...
Is 12C for marimo should be okay yah?

I ever read 12C is the minimum, but since my momo is very small than Nano =.=" I'm afraid the coldness might hurt it.

This post has been edited by Azure_Fox: Aug 9 2012, 12:30 AM
phevos_zkian
post Aug 9 2012, 12:18 AM

A marimo newbies here.. Just bought few marimos from Lee Yung brother. Thanks again here for his neat wrapping and good services!!

Recently i heard about one story that marimo is a symbol of LOVE~ therefore better have it in even numbers... HMMM~~ Im thking to get another Giant marimo to pair it up~ Of course i need to find another bigger home for this giant couples~

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
meagan3333
post Aug 9 2012, 12:21 AM

QUOTE(frozendream @ Aug 8 2012, 11:47 PM)
thanks for your concern. i left it in the fridge and forgotten about it for more than 2 weeks. not overnight.
more than 2 weeks also no problems for real marimo nehhh...... my giants long time ago i went overseas n put in fridge for more than 2 months....... come back also no problem ahhhhh...... now give friend already..... she also keep inside fridge for long time also wont go brown...... hehehehehee..... think your marimo maybe fake one else why go brown in fridge???? i curious only coz i thought only get direct sun will make them brown... so far fridge for me are good for my momos......

Added on August 9, 2012, 12:23 am
QUOTE(phevos_zkian @ Aug 9 2012, 12:18 AM)
A marimo newbies here.. Just bought few marimos from Lee Yung brother. Thanks again here for his neat wrapping and good services!!

Recently i heard about one story that marimo is a symbol of LOVE~ therefore better have it in even numbers... HMMM~~ Im thking to get another Giant marimo to pair it up~ Of course i need to find another bigger home for this giant couples~
wow...... nice photos there leh...... welcome to momo sharing..... hehehehe

This post has been edited by meagan3333: Aug 9 2012, 12:23 AM
Kaisergrendel
post Aug 9 2012, 08:11 PM

Hi all,

I'm a long time fan of Lowyat (the building) and now a proud marimo owner. I've been away from Malaysia for 7 years but I manage to visit that place every time I come back xD

Anyway I just wanted to say thanks for making this thread, it's a great source of knowledge for me (and many others I'm sure), and to introduce my family.

This picture was taken a few days after one of my 2.5cm marimo "died" and fell apart. It endured three weeks in the postal system before arriving here, along with 10 other similar sized marimo that all got squashed and a little browned in the process.

I read everything I could find on the net before handling them, but nothing beats experience biggrin.gif

In the interest of returning them to nice ball shapes, I was a little over-enthusiastic in rolling and squeezing them between my palms. The water came out brown the first 2-3 times, and then tufts of fur. Lots and lots of brown gunk floating around, even immediately after I changed the water and cleaned them.

After that I noticed two of them had "pacman'd" I quarantined and fridge spa'd one of them, but it was too late, it just kept falling apart. So I took the individual pieces and rolled them back together into nanos. They pearled and floated, then landed on top of each other.

Do you think they're trying to get back together?

Added on August 9, 2012, 8:25 pm
Added on August 9, 2012, 8:24 pm
QUOTE(ck.chunkeat @ Aug 6 2012, 06:13 PM)
but from what i observed...the so call photosynthesis after washing is actually not more than the air bubbles trapped inside the marimo.
Im sure that everyone might have squished the marimo abit to wash out the old/dirty water..but then when we do that,theres some space/air in it which forms air bubbles when we put them back into the water..

So,im not sure if they still photosynthesis or not..maybe they do,but the oxygen formed as a result from it is too small for our naked eye to spot them..
Nah. It doesn't explain how my marimo can sink first, with no bubbles visible, then get crusted all over with bubbles, making it float to the top. If the air was inside the marimo in the first place, it would have floated first, then sank, right?

This post has been edited by Kaisergrendel: Aug 9 2012, 08:28 PM

Azure_Fox
post Aug 9 2012, 09:43 PM

is it okay to open marimo a lil bit to see its inside..? O_O"

Added on August 9, 2012, 9:56 pm
QUOTE(Kaisergrendel @ Aug 9 2012, 08:11 PM)
Hi all,

I'm a long time fan of Lowyat (the building) and now a proud marimo owner. I've been away from Malaysia for 7 years but I manage to visit that place every time I come back xD

Anyway I just wanted to say thanks for making this thread, it's a great source of knowledge for me (and many others I'm sure), and to introduce my family.

This picture was taken a few days after one of my 2.5cm marimo "died" and fell apart. It endured three weeks in the postal system before arriving here, along with 10 other similar sized marimo that all got squashed and a little browned in the process.

I read everything I could find on the net before handling them, but nothing beats experience  biggrin.gif

In the interest of returning them to nice ball shapes, I was a little over-enthusiastic in rolling and squeezing them between my palms. The water came out brown the first 2-3 times, and then tufts of fur. Lots and lots of brown gunk floating around, even immediately after I changed the water and cleaned them.

After that I noticed two of them had "pacman'd" I quarantined and fridge spa'd one of them, but it was too late, it just kept falling apart. So I took the individual pieces and rolled them back together into nanos. They pearled and floated, then landed on top of each other.

Do you think they're trying to get back together?

Really cuuutee.. biggrin.gif yeah indeed looks like they're trying to get back together
pretty marimos you have..!

This post has been edited by Azure_Fox: Aug 9 2012, 09:56 PM
Sherry0315
post Aug 9 2012, 09:56 PM

82 posts

QUOTE(Azure_Fox @ Aug 9 2012, 09:43 PM)
is it okay to open marimo a lil bit to see its inside..? O_O"
Go do the frog dont do on your baby mairmo shakehead.gif
ck.chunkeat
post Aug 9 2012, 10:15 PM

Change.
1,327 posts

QUOTE(Kaisergrendel @ Aug 9 2012, 08:11 PM)
Nah. It doesn't explain how my marimo can sink first, with no bubbles visible, then get crusted all over with bubbles, making it float to the top. If the air was inside the marimo in the first place, it would have floated first, then sank, right?
then how come they dont pearl/photosynthesis at all for mine? sad.gif

Anyway,your marimos are looking good. smile.gif
Azure_Fox
post Aug 9 2012, 10:17 PM

QUOTE(Sherry0315 @ Aug 9 2012, 09:56 PM)
Go do the frog dont do on your baby mairmo  shakehead.gif
okay! wink.gif
Is it dangerous? Can make baby marimo die?

140 Pages « < 115 116 117 118 119 > » Top

0.0346sec    0.56    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 10:07 AM