QUOTE(David83 @ Jul 27 2011, 09:57 AM)
Gold Visa CCHong Leong Bank - WORST service, VERY BAD experience @ Hong Leong Bank CC
Hong Leong Bank - WORST service, VERY BAD experience @ Hong Leong Bank CC
Jul 27 2011, 09:08 AM
6 posts Joined: Apr 2011 |
Jul 27 2011, 09:20 AM
1,602 posts Joined: May 2006 |
Even if the bank offer you free points to waive the GST & you did not sign any agreement on penalty, the bank cannot stop you from cancelling the cc.
Jul 27 2011, 11:34 AM
175 posts Joined: Jul 2010 |
This is the first time I heard of such bad experience with credit card cancellation.
Just before GST kicked off, I immediately cancelled my HLB Gold without having any issue like your case. Your case is really puzzling. Simple cancellation turned out to be a nightmare for you. Advise you to involve BNM to resolve this once and for all. This post has been edited by milentechie: Jul 27 2011, 11:35 AM |
Jul 27 2011, 11:36 AM
189 posts Joined: Sep 2009 From: Earth |
i just cancel my maybank CC once they charge me RM50 service tax even the card is still new (about 3 months)
then they just waive the RM50 and direct cancel |
Jul 27 2011, 12:59 PM
i guess i'm the unlucky one...
@milentechie: May i know how long have you been using the HLB Gold CC? |
Jul 27 2011, 02:14 PM
414 posts Joined: Jan 2006 |
Last time I used my HLB XISA Gold CC for 7 months and canceled it in March 2011, the process gone smoothly. After I canceled the card I even rewarded some spending rebate (dunno wat promotion was going on at tat time) and they transferred the rebate balance to my MBB savings accounts.
Jul 27 2011, 02:25 PM
152 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
QUOTE(T.a.n.y.a @ Jul 26 2011, 11:25 PM) It has been a nightmare for me as I have been trying to cancel my Hong Leong Bank credit card ever since March 2010 and has been going on for 1 year and 5 months already. I have faxed the form and later cut the credit card into half and later with the original form delivered back to the bank. Since then, I have not received response from Hong Leong Bank on the cancellation of the credit card and yet I am still receiving the monthly statements until June. I am one of the victim tooLater, I called the call center to seek clarifications and few days later I received a call from Ms. Rafidah. She gave me two options; either to hold on to credit card until the following year 24th March 2011 or I would be charged with the penalty fee of RM160. I was shocked as it seemed more like a day light robbery and I was not aware there was such penalty fee in the first place So the day finally arrived and a week earlier, I took leave and went directly to the Hong Leong Bank KL Branch near Petaling Street to cancel the card with the bank face-to-face. This time, I filled up the form in front of the staff and seen the credit card was punched with holes before submitting to them. The following week I received a call from their customer service officer again harassing me with offers despite of declining many times. They began to offer me with a new card giving excuses that the card is not due for cancellation yet (only 7 days more to 24 March 2011 due date) and it will be posted to me soon. I was wondering when will this ever end I'm at wits end. I wonder if anyone has experienced this before. Advise needed from anyone. http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1888861/+660 Bank negara say not under their ruling.Now I dont want to hold anymore credit card...it is ah long (shark loan ) card. Bank just know how to charge and charge. They designed to aim at every single cents out of your pocket. They will silently charge annual fees, this fees and other fees into your bill, hoping you forgot to call them to waive.Cruel world |
Jul 27 2011, 05:34 PM
QUOTE(ck_tonny @ Jul 27 2011, 03:14 PM) Last time I used my HLB XISA Gold CC for 7 months and canceled it in March 2011, the process gone smoothly. After I canceled the card I even rewarded some spending rebate (dunno wat promotion was going on at tat time) and they transferred the rebate balance to my MBB savings accounts. You know, i was using this CC for 8 years already....well i started off with MTV CC then HLB upgraded it to Gold CC.i'm assuming that they didnt want to let me go and giving me a really hard time trying to cancel it....sigh! |
Jul 27 2011, 05:35 PM
1,723 posts Joined: Jun 2007 |
who ask u to pay the GST? if it were me, i will ignore it and lodge a complain to BN. give them all the proof that i already ask them to cancel my card
Jul 27 2011, 08:41 PM
4,094 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: USJ |
did HLB send u cancellation letter?
did u have photocopy of the cancellation form? scan and email to bnmtelelink@bnm.gov.my, enquiry@fmb.org.my and copy the same complaint here |
Jul 27 2011, 09:20 PM
3,395 posts Joined: Dec 2007 From: 서울, South Korea |
TS ... and whoever else is complaining in here.
Can you guys do something instead of whining non-stop about your problems ? I have been watching since TS started and nothing has been done to correct the situation. If I don't see anything being done to rectify the problems after all the suggestions given by the members, I'm closing this thread in 2 days. |
Jul 27 2011, 10:30 PM
8,601 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: KL |
QUOTE(T.a.n.y.a @ Jul 26 2011, 11:25 PM) I initially was offered 15K points to waive the tax for the credit card and that was where the penalty charge comes in if I proceed with the cancellation of the credit card. Now that I have accepted the offer for the additional points, I have no choice and forced to maintain the credit card until next year. May I asked what you did with the balance of the 15K points after deducting GST ? This seems very unfair to me. I do not see the point where I have to keep the card if I do not intend to use it anyway. [/B] When I wanted to cancel my HLB Plat back in 2010 before my anniversary date, HLB called up and offered me 20K points on condition that I keep the card for three years and that the annual fees will be waived. HLB card do not benefit me but they have been waiving my annual fees since the very beginning and I am happy with their service. So accepted their offer. Moreover, at that time, I only needed to use 7K points to offset GST and I had 5K+ points in the account, so I thought I would have enough points to offset GST for the following year and the next. You got a better deal than me, 15K points for keeping the card for a year. And yes, it is only fair that you keep the card for a year since you accepted the offer. QUOTE(T.a.n.y.a @ Jul 26 2011, 11:25 PM) I even voiced out that I would complaint to Bank Negara but she challenged me by saying “you can go ahead!” Well, she is right, it is your prerogative to complain to anyone you like. And you saying she challenged you is not accurate at all since you were the one that accepted HLB offer and then making a U-turn and when things don't go your way you want to complain to BNM. QUOTE(T.a.n.y.a @ Jul 26 2011, 11:25 PM) I did not receive any statements from Hong Leong Bank in the several months. This I have to agree that HLB is in the wrong for charging RM50 GST when you have cancelled the card and did not accept their new offer. By the way, did you call HLB to clarify on this? HLB is kind of slow in updating thier system, Whenever there's an error in my statement, it would take another 2 statements before it is rectified and me calling them at least 2 to 3 times to follow up. QUOTE(hye @ Jul 27 2011, 09:20 PM) TS ... and whoever else is complaining in here. Well, can I suggest that you merge it with another HLB bashing thread below:Can you guys do something instead of whining non-stop about your problems ? I have been watching since TS started and nothing has been done to correct the situation. If I don't see anything being done to rectify the problems after all the suggestions given by the members, I'm closing this thread in 2 days. http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1865452 |
Jul 28 2011, 11:12 AM
QUOTE(Frostlord @ Jul 27 2011, 06:35 PM) who ask u to pay the GST? if it were me, i will ignore it and lodge a complain to BN. give them all the proof that i already ask them to cancel my card I did not pay the GST but HLB offer me points to waived it...Added on July 28, 2011, 11:15 am QUOTE(alexwsk @ Jul 27 2011, 09:41 PM) did HLB send u cancellation letter? Thanks for the link.did u have photocopy of the cancellation form? scan and email to bnmtelelink@bnm.gov.my, enquiry@fmb.org.my and copy the same complaint here So far no cancellation letter from HLB and yes i do have a photocopy of the cancellation form. Added on July 28, 2011, 12:07 pm QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jul 27 2011, 11:30 PM) May I asked what you did with the balance of the 15K points after deducting GST ? This post has been edited by T.a.n.y.a: Jul 28 2011, 12:07 PMI did not do anything with the balance of the 15K points after deducting GST as i recalled i was also having a hard time to ultilized the remaining points in my account to claim HLB rewards so i gave up.... When I wanted to cancel my HLB Plat back in 2010 before my anniversary date, HLB called up and offered me 20K points on condition that I keep the card for three years and that the annual fees will be waived. HLB card do not benefit me but they have been waiving my annual fees since the very beginning and I am happy with their service. So accepted their offer. Moreover, at that time, I only needed to use 7K points to offset GST and I had 5K+ points in the account, so I thought I would have enough points to offset GST for the following year and the next. You got a better deal than me, 15K points for keeping the card for a year. And yes, it is only fair that you keep the card for a year since you accepted the offer. Well, she is right, it is your prerogative to complain to anyone you like. And you saying she challenged you is not accurate at all since you were the one that accepted HLB offer and then making a U-turn and when things don't go your way you want to complain to BNM. She should not be treating customers like this....dont you think the way she reacts is inappropriate and rude?? Yes, i have made the wrong move by accepting the points in the first place, but HLB should at least inform customers upfront about the penalty fees. This I have to agree that HLB is in the wrong for charging RM50 GST when you have cancelled the card and did not accept their new offer. By the way, did you call HLB to clarify on this? HLB is kind of slow in updating thier system, Whenever there's an error in my statement, it would take another 2 statements before it is rectified and me calling them at least 2 to 3 times to follow up. Clarifications with HLB have been done numerous times so far and yet my card is still active and i am really tired dealing with them. Well, can I suggest that you merge it with another HLB bashing thread below: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1865452 |
Jul 29 2011, 10:36 PM
3,395 posts Joined: Dec 2007 From: 서울, South Korea |
Thread merged. All the best to T.a.n.y.a to solve the issues with HLB.
Aug 10 2011, 12:02 PM
515 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Currently in Selangor |
For HLB, you guys try to get the CSR that boleh pakai and be good with them, then they will help.
I got my HLB fortune easily. But most of the CSR give me shoot already... As I understand and remember, their system is not merge together, so ask different CSR different answer. I got my annual fee waive 2X due their system and they cancel flexi payment without me requesting... The HLB staff is already no feeling from scolding 1 la, there bosses scold them like dog already immune to customer scolding or complain d... Better follow up closely, if want to use this card. I use it because flexible to certain service where you do not need to fax, just by call can get done.... |
Aug 11 2011, 12:52 AM
1,216 posts Joined: Mar 2009 From: Cut Throat Land |
HLB and CIMB is the same entity odi.
wonder whether they will merge the 2 in the near future or not. If hold card from both banks, will they take bank one of it not... |
Aug 11 2011, 01:17 AM
25 posts Joined: Jun 2008 |
Aug 11 2011, 01:46 AM
3,065 posts Joined: Mar 2009 From: N.Sembilan |
Aug 11 2011, 08:48 AM
2,388 posts Joined: Sep 2004 |
Aug 11 2011, 12:09 PM
515 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Currently in Selangor |
QUOTE(High-Roller @ Aug 11 2011, 01:17 AM) I apply for PBB petrol rebate 8%, the give me PBB ING card... Straight when the call, I say cancel the card..... Direct Access CIMB, I goin cancel before next GST (April 2012) to be claim whatever points balance... Last useful benefits till end 2009, 2% petrol cash back unlimited, now no more d and no points pump petrol.... Now only have 5% for giant/ tesco and big mart and others(refer to the booklet) Call CSR for 0% flexi payment, answer is depends on management approval eventhough is promotion... Obviously, not want do business d or CSR making the bank no business.... Added on August 11, 2011, 12:15 pm QUOTE(wschoo26 @ Jul 27 2011, 02:25 PM) I am one of the victim too Annual fee every bank will charge 1, u need check statement every time unless u x care the small amount..http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1888861/+660 Bank negara say not under their ruling.Now I dont want to hold anymore credit card...it is ah long (shark loan ) card. Bank just know how to charge and charge. They designed to aim at every single cents out of your pocket. They will silently charge annual fees, this fees and other fees into your bill, hoping you forgot to call them to waive.Cruel world Bro, go to branch cancel la and stop spending on that card.... I go branch fill in form and cut the card not issue also,no matter wat they say, I just say cancel... Some bank need you to return card to case close.... At branch, u wear shorts and t shirt, the staff x layan u properly 1... This post has been edited by NewGUY: Aug 11 2011, 12:15 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0249sec
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 07:28 AM |