Hong Leong Bank - WORST service, VERY BAD experience @ Hong Leong Bank CC

Gen-X
post May 6 2011, 12:28 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

ken_ng, just cancel the HLB card since you already got Maybankard 2 Cards.

Email your above complain to them.

HLB not very efficient in updating their system, that I 'll agree. The last time I had a problem with them because the stupid CS deducted less points to offset my GST and I was imposed penalty and it took them two months to rectify/update.

But I must add, not all CS the same. Once I call up HLB CS late at night and the girl said to call back as can only report stolen card. I hang up the phone and call back and another CS could attend to my queries.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: May 6 2011, 12:30 AM
Gen-X
post May 26 2011, 11:38 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

I just received a sms from HLB telling me to go to the branch to collect free Starbucks coffee voucher because my children using their HLB Junior Debit Card for iTunes account. click here to read my article on getting your child a HLB Junior Debit Card for iTunes account.

Anyway, I received a "letter" from HLB ("signed" by Yvonne Chia), wow, first time received letter signed by the CEO, haha. It says that EON Bank is now part of HLB. It also said that it will take time before they operate as a Single Bank. So for those not happy with HLB but having EON bank account, well you are supporting HLB now tongue.gif
Gen-X
post Jun 2 2011, 03:05 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(codename_snake @ Jun 2 2011, 02:45 PM)
There is a new card form Hong Leong - Fortune which give 1% cash back on everything. Worth to apply or is there anything else? I primary want to use for my business. Getting 1% cash back is like adding commission, very nice!
go to general thread post#2 and click on my article. After reading it decide if the Essential is better for your case.
Gen-X
post Jun 2 2011, 05:02 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(pocketcctv @ Jun 2 2011, 04:45 PM)
Out of a sudden, got a call from them regarding the Cash-On-Call scheme. Normally what makes them call you ? Any specific criteria ?
I get calls from banks almost every week offering Personal Loan and BT offers.
Gen-X
post Jun 7 2011, 12:45 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(pocketcctv @ Jun 7 2011, 10:49 AM)
Have anyone encountered incidents like a amount of money been frozen or deducted from your savings account and there wasn't any info stated that why is it has been deducted ?

I've tried calling Customer service few times as well as the branch outlet that I opened the account with but no one is manage to assist me on this matter.

What should I do ? Wait for it to be processed ? Its been a week.
It is odd that the branch or CS cannot give you a satisfactory answer. More like they not willing to disclose the reason. I guess you should have the right to know. Write to BNM if they fail to release your funds.

Anyway, collected my free Starbucks voucher from my HLB branch today smile.gif
Gen-X
post Jun 7 2011, 05:43 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(pocketcctv @ Jun 7 2011, 04:35 PM)
Thanks for the feedback. I am quite dissatisfied with the way they speak to me as well. Keep repeating the same statement that the funds are being frozen and deducted and under processing stage. But when asked for what purpose the funds been frozen, they just ignore and said they've got no idea.

Strarbucks voucher ? How to get them ? Any pre-requisites ?smile.gif
being deducted? On whose instruction? You better go find out and why.

As for the Starbucks voucher, it just shows that you don't even read the posts in this thread, hahaha see amy post above.
Gen-X
post Jul 27 2011, 10:30 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(T.a.n.y.a @ Jul 26 2011, 11:25 PM)
I initially was offered 15K points to waive the tax for the credit card and that was where the penalty charge comes in if I proceed with the cancellation of the credit card. Now that I have accepted the offer for the additional points, I have no choice and forced to maintain the credit card until next year.

This seems very unfair to me. I do not see the point where I have to keep the card if I do not intend to use it anyway. [/B]
May I asked what you did with the balance of the 15K points after deducting GST ?

When I wanted to cancel my HLB Plat back in 2010 before my anniversary date, HLB called up and offered me 20K points on condition that I keep the card for three years and that the annual fees will be waived. HLB card do not benefit me but they have been waiving my annual fees since the very beginning and I am happy with their service. So accepted their offer. Moreover, at that time, I only needed to use 7K points to offset GST and I had 5K+ points in the account, so I thought I would have enough points to offset GST for the following year and the next.

You got a better deal than me, 15K points for keeping the card for a year. And yes, it is only fair that you keep the card for a year since you accepted the offer.

I even voiced out that I would complaint to Bank Negara but she challenged me by saying “you can go ahead!”  rclxub.gif Wow! These people working in Hong Leong Bank are really thicked-skin. [/B]
Well, she is right, it is your prerogative to complain to anyone you like. And you saying she challenged you is not accurate at all since you were the one that accepted HLB offer and then making a U-turn and when things don't go your way you want to complain to BNM.

I did not receive any statements from Hong Leong Bank in the several months.  sweat.gif I felt so relief and thought my ordeal and hassle of cancellation of credit card with Hong Leong Bank was finally come to an end. But I was wrong, just last week out of the blue I received a statement from Hong Leong Bank and I was slapped with a charged of RM50 government tax again!!! doh.gif  OMG!!! This is getting really ridiculous. The cycle repeats itself all over again!!  vmad.gif When is this going to end?!?!?!  vmad.gif How can they charged me RM50 government tax as my credit card already cancelled and I am no longer using it anymore??  Isn’t this an unethical practice?
This I have to agree that HLB is in the wrong for charging RM50 GST when you have cancelled the card and did not accept their new offer. By the way, did you call HLB to clarify on this? HLB is kind of slow in updating thier system, Whenever there's an error in my statement, it would take another 2 statements before it is rectified and me calling them at least 2 to 3 times to follow up.

QUOTE(hye @ Jul 27 2011, 09:20 PM)
TS ... and whoever else is complaining in here.
Can you guys do something instead of whining non-stop about your problems ? I have been watching since TS started and nothing has been done to correct the situation.

If I don't see anything being done to rectify the problems after all the suggestions given by the members, I'm closing this thread in 2 days.
Well, can I suggest that you merge it with another HLB bashing thread below:

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1865452
Gen-X
post Aug 11 2011, 01:19 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Aug 11 2011, 12:51 PM)
EON Bank will eventually be renamed Hong Leong Bank. Just a matter of time.
Started already. No more EON Bank Logo at previous EON Bank branches including ATMs. No more EON Bank website. No more EON Bank Credit Cards.

Now HLB offering Visa Signature and Matta cards.

Wonder if my CL for VS now separate or combined with my MC Plat?

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Aug 11 2011, 01:21 PM
Gen-X
post Aug 11 2011, 10:13 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Aug 11 2011, 10:08 PM)
That's what happened to Southern Bank / CIMB credit cards back then. With the exception of the Direct Access brand which were retained.
I called Ex-EON Bank VS CS line this evening because I wanted to redeem my points but can't find the catalogue anymore. The CS informed me that Ex EON Bank system have yet to be integrated into HLB system and as such my CL still separate from my HLB Plat.

Added on August 11, 2011, 10:14 pm
QUOTE(chemistry @ Aug 11 2011, 10:12 PM)
DirectAccess has got a separate card centre which i would rate it EXCELLENT.
However, HLB & EON share the same lousy CS. tongue.gif
Are you sure? You can call CIMB CS and they can attend to DA matters. Also CIMB card centres issue DA cards.

And for your info, as you can see from my post, Ex-EON CS is still separate from HLB.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Aug 11 2011, 10:16 PM
Gen-X
post Aug 13 2011, 05:14 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(tr|n|ty @ Aug 13 2011, 03:01 PM)
went to the bank yesterday. surprisingly, they do not even know they got visa signature . i asked them to check their web, then they tell me will ask their manager about it and call back to me  blink.gif
go to Ex-EON Bank branch
Gen-X
post Sep 7 2011, 06:44 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Sep 6 2011, 07:59 PM)
Well ... my personal take is that credit card business has never been one of HLB's strength. EON was better at this although they could not beat the offers from MBB and CIMB.

Whether anyone here choose to support HLB / EON cc products then up to you. Not happy then just jump over elsewhere and don't let the bank bully you. I am rather speechless reading HLB CS customer retention methods. They'll probably wake up when they lose customers like hell but don't be surprised if they choose to ignore the cc market to concentrate on other segments of their business offerings.
I think HLB cards do appeal to many out there. As we all know many use credit card because they got no cash. And HLB do have one service that other credit cards don't offer. One can apply their so called BT anytime even if one don't have outstanding balance with other banks and the amount will be bank into the CASA - no questions asked and no need fill form, jus call CS. This service is better than Personal Loan if one needs short term funds because the rate is lower and the more you settle the less interest you'll need to pay.
Gen-X
post Sep 10 2011, 09:20 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(joey @ Sep 9 2011, 09:21 AM)
can i pay my eon bank credit card at hong leong bank?
I just received my ex -EON Visa Signature statement with HLB letterhead/log BUT it is written on the statement that payment by cheque shall be made payable to EBB CC and not HLB.
Gen-X
post Oct 16 2011, 11:57 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(tr|n|ty @ Oct 15 2011, 10:47 AM)
HLB declined my visa signature. the reason is that I already have plat card with HLB and they cannot issue me VS as it is not possible for these two cards to share credit limit. They asked me to reduce my plat card limit at branch and will issue VS with credit limit following the amount that I reduced. 

Before that, they asked me to fax them my statements, which I felt a bit weird since I already have credit card with HLB. Well, I just fax to them again thinking perhaps they wanted to update my profile in their system.

It seems even though HLB and EON are merged, they are still under two different management but sharing one credit system. I asked them to help me cancel the plat card and re-issue the VS to me, but they refused by stating they are from different departments, blablabla, and insist me to go the branch.

Instead of solving this matter themselves internally, they prefer to hassle me as their loyal customer for like 5-6 yrs (personal, current, credit card, home loan all with them) to solve the problem myself. In the end, I told the officer "you want you just give, dont want dont give lah. why want to trouble me?" as I found it so troublesome to have me go the bank for this unimportant thing.

It is no surprise that the topic of this thread mentioned "worst service, bad experience".  Previously, I kept telling others that I think HLB is as good as PBB, but now sighhh... rather offended and unhappy by how their system works.  feel to cancel my cc with them and move to other banks since their plat cc has nothing to shout about.
Yah the HLB Plat really useless. Fortunately I have the Ex-EON Bank Visa Signature before the merger. For my case, both cards are treated separately with separate statements and have separate credit limit. My payment by cheque for the HLB VS is still payable to "EBB for". By coincidence, both my VS and Plat have the same credit limit and so far have not been reduced.
Gen-X
post Nov 2 2011, 09:10 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(alexwsk @ Nov 2 2011, 07:39 PM)
scan all the receipts and write a complain to bnm
screw back hlb laugh.gif
he already complain to BNM and was told to wait

no, do not screw HLB, their legal department will then handle the case and it may back fire. Write an appeal letter to Tan Sri personally asking for his "help" telling him his people are bullies and he paid good money for a bad system that does not work properly.....
Gen-X
post Nov 2 2011, 09:35 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ Nov 2 2011, 09:29 PM)
Lol before joining public bank my dad was a customer for hong leong bank. He has the same case as yours, car hire purchase payment were made in time but they still call and ask my dad. Every month my dad will receive a call from them until one day my dad tak boleh tahan go to their branch fck them up down left right and transfer all the fixed deposits to public bank. Should see the branch manager beg people to stay lol.

Well the difference between public bank and Hong leong bank is heaven and hell. You should really shift.
Public Bank sucks too, too many stupid paper work and procedures. If you ask me, HLB gives me better service than PBB.
Gen-X
post Jan 18 2012, 04:58 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Jan 18 2012, 02:11 PM)
I think other banks card promos are anytime better than HLB.
HLB cards, hmmm.... let me see what Promo is good? Answer: none!

Click here to read what I have got to say about their CNY Promo for their HLB Pavilion cardholders.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Jan 18 2012, 04:58 PM
Gen-X
post May 9 2012, 08:42 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

2 days ago I could log in and view my accounts - BUT sometimes error messages show and I just refresh and it would be ok.
Gen-X
post May 11 2012, 12:55 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

I have no problems going to a Ex-Eon Bank to withdraw cash from my Children HLB Savings Account today smile.gif No limit on inter-branch withdrawal. Also, no problems with online today, no more error messages.
Gen-X
post May 11 2012, 05:11 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ May 11 2012, 04:42 PM)
I think you are right. I made a RM1500 cash withdrawal over the counter at HLB branch (not ex EON) yesterday, the counter teller had to yelled to the officer behind the partition to come forward and verified the payment with a swipe of her tag. I thought bank's officers can verify payments remotely at their own terminals ?
At my HLB branch, a HLB officer usually had to go the teller's terminal to verify using his thumb. But yesterday at an Ex-Eon Bank, the teller had to go tell the officer behind a door to over-right (not sure the correct term) and they could do it from their place, i.e. no need to go to counter.

QUOTE(NewGUY @ May 11 2012, 03:50 PM)
Got fren work in there and say, so just share wats goin on inside....

This also left the company after merger due this stupid procedure.....
So your comment is based on hearsay. Furthermore, your friend may be biased and unprofessional to disclose any info regarding his ex-company. But I know for a fact many HLB staff were not happy with their bonus this year AND most left the bank because they opted for the VSS.

haha, I going OT too much not talking about HLB CC.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: May 11 2012, 05:32 PM
Gen-X
post May 13 2012, 09:41 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(NewGUY @ May 12 2012, 11:56 PM)
First, not my comment. I just share here.

2nd, this is wat my fren think and feel, different ppl think different for their own job

3rd, u x not in her shoe.

4th, your fact maybe is the most important fact, mine just maybe not important but is still a fact...

5th, is something tat i say here is right and indirectly u r saying is true...

6th, u r some big shot in HLB who not happy with my comment...

7th, still can be true situation....

8th, this HLB thread
Wah, you got 8 "facts" above, I can't beat that tongue.gif

Bro, don't get me wrong, my reply was not a personal attack against you (please reread it) but I was merely commenting that you confirmed earlier that your comment was based on what you heard from your friend (third party).

You see, outside out kopitiam, when we post something here in LYN, we usually based it on our personal experience/opinion or give a link to some sort of report/ad/promo and best not based on hearsay. I remember a case where LYN was threaten with legal actions because a member reported his bad experience with a particular "seller".

There are instances where I am not happy with HLB too, but it can be resolved if I take the initiative to talk to the right person and follow up and be patient.

0.1960sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 11:53 PM