HiMedia Media Player, All about HiMedia

arrsoo
post Nov 17 2017, 10:44 AM

600 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Nov 17 2017, 12:56 AM)
In your case, the streaming speed is actually dependent on the health and speed of the LAN network, not internet speed. You could be using Unifi's 5Mbps plan and still have superior LAN connections. What you are experiencing is a bottleneck caused by either... Router transfer speeds limitations, WiFi (particularly congestion) or the himedia device even the wifi card in your PC. If the router is a capable one, then try both the PC and box connected via ethernet cable directly to the router.
You are welcome.. If that's the case, then fret not.. Easy fix and you can upgrade to your heart's content..  smile.gif
no way I can pull a LAN cable from my router to PC now, too ugly and messy. I am thinking of powerline/homeplug since my router and pc in my studyroom is using the same circuit phase, dunno if that will work

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Nov 17 2017, 01:00 AM)
wireless will still be tough.

u may want to read this... some samba patch to incr the speed... i never tried...

http://www.futeko.com/newforum/index.php?topic=1479.0
thanks, will look into it

AVFAN
post Nov 18 2017, 11:42 AM

24,454 posts

Q10pro... Youtube 4k uhd 60fps...

tried this new androidtv version 2.01.04, good, better than the earlier versions.
https://www.apkmirror.com/apk/google-inc/yo...d-apk-download/

this version is good for 4k 60fps videos.
u can check with stats for nerds.
depending on yr speed, can be either 1440p or 2160p.

read that the voice search function also work if u have compatible mic.
(voice function will surely work on an androidtv firmware.)
the mouse will not work, use the remote.

carpathia
post Nov 18 2017, 01:25 PM

2,619 posts

Hi guys
Just got my new Q10 and it plays blu-ray flawlessly.
Only thing I can't figure out is what app to use to watch hk or Korean dramas ¿
AVFAN
post Nov 18 2017, 02:10 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(carpathia @ Nov 18 2017, 01:25 PM)
Hi guys
Just got my new Q10 and it plays blu-ray flawlessly.
Only thing I  can't figure out is what app to use to watch hk or Korean dramas ¿
Try icdrama with rss player.

My post #3028. smile.gif
carpathia
post Nov 18 2017, 02:29 PM

2,619 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Nov 18 2017, 02:10 PM)
Try icdrama with rss player.

My post #3028. smile.gif
Arigato.

AVFAN
post Nov 19 2017, 12:48 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(carpathia @ Nov 18 2017, 02:29 PM)
Arigato.
here, a bonus for you. biggrin.gif

try this one:
https://www.kewlwatch.com/

all canto hk stuff, chinese subs only.

quality... 360, 480, 576 at best.
carpathia
post Nov 19 2017, 01:12 PM

2,619 posts

Yeah, thanks to AVFAN for recommending me the Q10, really happy with the unit so far. Now, need to upgrade to 4k HDR TV. I also started looking for more BLURAY ISO but my usual sites dont have a lot of seeders...meh
AVFAN
post Nov 19 2017, 01:19 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(carpathia @ Nov 19 2017, 01:12 PM)
Yeah, thanks to AVFAN for recommending me the Q10, really happy with the unit so far. Now, need to upgrade to 4k HDR TV. I also started looking for more BLURAY ISO but my usual sites dont have a lot of seeders...meh
you will be even happier... becos...

with 4k hdr tv, q10pro will be able to output to highest levels... 2160p 60hz, ycbcr 420/444, 10bit, HDR.

autoframe switching will take care of old, new, livetv video types.

all yr old videos will come out better; even astro/hypptv will come out better!

but make sure, if using AVR, your AVR is also 4k hdr compliant.

well... some people still think 4k tv is a waste of time.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Nov 19 2017, 01:31 PM
Ivan_T
post Nov 20 2017, 04:45 PM

133 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Nov 19 2017, 01:19 PM)
you will be even happier... becos...

with 4k hdr tv, q10pro will be able to output to highest levels... 2160p 60hz, ycbcr 420/444, 10bit, HDR.

autoframe switching will take care of old, new, livetv video types.

all yr old videos will come out better; even astro/hypptv will come out better!

but make sure, if using AVR, your AVR is also 4k hdr compliant.
well... some people still think 4k tv is a waste of time.
I have display setting at 2160p 60Hz and trying to set the ycbcr 444 10bit but it is unsupported. Does this mean for 2160p 60hz on ycbcr 444 exceeded the HDMI 2.0 bandwidth limit?

So the best I can set is ycbcr 422. But there is no 8bit or 10bit option for ycbcr 422, so it is by default 8bit/10bit or 12bit?
AVFAN
post Nov 20 2017, 06:03 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(Ivan_T @ Nov 20 2017, 04:45 PM)
I have display setting at 2160p 60Hz and trying to set the ycbcr 444 10bit but it is unsupported. Does this mean for 2160p 60hz on ycbcr 444 exceeded the HDMI 2.0 bandwidth limit?

So the best I can set is ycbcr 422. But there is no 8bit or 10bit option for ycbcr 422, so it is by default 8bit/10bit or 12bit?
Cant explain... dont really know the details. biggrin.gif

Just that 444 is good for static text, pc, gaming, maybe home cameras.

420 is commonly used for movies n tv shows, so nothing lost compared to 422 or 444.

I hv tried many combinations, no noticeable diff between 2160p 60z 420 10bit vs 2160p 24hz 444 10bit.

At least not for my tv n the videos i watch.

I set former and let auto frame switching do the rest.

Ivan_T
post Nov 20 2017, 06:19 PM

133 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Nov 20 2017, 06:03 PM)
Cant explain... dont really know the details. biggrin.gif

Just that 444 is good for static text, pc, gaming, maybe home cameras.

420 is commonly used for movies n tv shows, so nothing lost compared to 422 or 444.

I hv tried many combinations, no noticeable diff between 2160p 60z 420 10bit vs 2160p 24hz 444 10bit.

At least not for my tv n the videos i watch.

I set former and let auto frame switching do the rest.
Right.. I couldn't really see the different as well, it is video anyway as expected and not for PC connection. For all the settings I have tested, HDR is working properly.
AVFAN
post Nov 20 2017, 06:47 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(Ivan_T @ Nov 20 2017, 06:19 PM)
Right.. I couldn't really see the different as well, it is video anyway as expected and not for PC connection. For all the settings I have tested, HDR is working properly.
You reported in another thread some weeks ago that an hdr video came out too dark.

Found the right tv settings yet?
Ivan_T
post Nov 20 2017, 07:06 PM

133 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Nov 20 2017, 06:47 PM)
You reported in another thread some weeks ago that an hdr video came out too dark.

Found the right tv settings yet?
Well, I wouldn't say the video is too dark, just lacking the vividness and the color is dull under HDR mode. I couldn't improve it directly on the TV. But with Q10 Pro, it is easier as I can play around with the PQ settings in the Imprex Engine and I would say it is definitely better. biggrin.gif
AVFAN
post Nov 20 2017, 07:29 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(Ivan_T @ Nov 20 2017, 07:06 PM)
Well, I wouldn't say the video is too dark, just lacking the vividness and the color is dull under HDR mode. I couldn't improve it directly on the TV. But with Q10 Pro, it is easier as I can play around with the PQ settings in the Imprex Engine and I would say it is definitely better.  biggrin.gif
ok, good to know.

and yes, the adj with imprex2 is very handy.

still, my experience has been mixed...

there are some that come out very good, the way they should be.

yet there are some that still come out too dark for my liking using the same settings.

read n read... it does seem to be an issue with the BD makers, their preferences.

but make no mistake - the good stuff is out there! tongue.gif

i expect newer 4k hevc hdr10 videos will not have this problem.
carpathia
post Nov 20 2017, 08:56 PM

2,619 posts

Dumb question but is our Q10 using hdmi 1.4? Need to buy special hdmi cable?
AVFAN
post Nov 20 2017, 09:28 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(carpathia @ Nov 20 2017, 08:56 PM)
Dumb question but is our Q10 using hdmi 1.4? Need to  buy special hdmi cable?
hdmi 2.0a.
the cable that came in the box is good.
if using anther hdmi for avr, get the right one.

HDMI 2.0a was released on April 8, 2015 and added support for High Dynamic Range (HDR) video with static metadata.
carpathia
post Nov 20 2017, 11:05 PM

2,619 posts

i think my problem is my TV. i have a good 4k avr BUT USING OLD 42" toshiba....
carpathia
post Nov 21 2017, 11:23 AM

2,619 posts

Fuck me
Price drop to 580 now.
AVFAN
post Nov 21 2017, 11:28 AM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(carpathia @ Nov 20 2017, 11:05 PM)
of course u need 4k HDR tv to get all the goodies the box can offer.

QUOTE(carpathia @ Nov 21 2017, 11:23 AM)
Fuck me
Price drop to 580 now.
why?

it has always been rm580-600 depending where/whom u buy.

lower price usually = little or no help; DIY firmwares, apps.
Ivan_T
post Nov 21 2017, 11:44 AM

133 posts

QUOTE(carpathia @ Nov 20 2017, 11:05 PM)
There is no need to buy this box for a 1080p LED TV, the cheaper box will do. I have a ~8 years old media player that can provide excellent PQ for 1080p files and support all HD audio of ATMOS, DTS:X & Dolby TrueHD. The only reason for me to get Q10 Pro is for the 4K HDR, just unfortunately Dolby Vision support is missing.

QUOTE(carpathia @ Nov 21 2017, 11:23 AM)
Fuck me
Price drop to 580 now.
Sorry to tell you that I got mine for RM520 from the same seller.

176 Pages « < 155 156 157 158 159 > » Top

0.0367sec    0.74    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 10:28 PM