HiMedia Media Player, All about HiMedia

arrsoo
post Nov 15 2017, 03:33 PM

600 posts

Dear friend,

Need some guidance, I have a Q10 pro hooking up to my router with a LAN cable while my pc is connected thru wifi 5G, running on unifi 50Mbps. I can access my pc's movie files (mostly BDMV around 45Gb) in my Q10 pro via Media Center. However, when playing them, movies judders and not smooth at all. Is that because the connection is via wifi? Any solution on this? PC in in my study room which is about 15 ft away and LAN cable is not possible. I can always use the external hdd but sometimes just out of convenient sake, trying to short cut it since all is hooked up in the network. Another problem is that I think my external hdd is about to kaput soon and buying a new one is not cheap anymore nowdays.
arrsoo
post Nov 15 2017, 05:03 PM

600 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Nov 15 2017, 03:51 PM)
what router r u using?

using media center LAN, i.e. samba?

i hv a similar set up but 50ft wifi 2.4ghz - can get the smaller files playing; big ones can't do - bit rate too high.

if u hv a good router and all compatible connections, cables, i would thought it should work with 5ghz at 15ft.

if that doesn't work... i hv read people saying NFS works better than samba.

one thing for sure, those using NAS+media center have reported no problems with big files.
sorry not much help. maybe some users with actual setups can assist! biggrin.gif
using TP Link Archer C5 and yes via media center lan. Thanks bro, no prob, hopefully some one might be able to shed some light.
arrsoo
post Nov 16 2017, 05:34 PM

600 posts

QUOTE(gtiwtks @ Nov 16 2017, 02:03 PM)
Anyone having problem with their imprex video flickering problem?

Owned a preown q5pro, notice some dark screen flickering issue when the imprex is turn on and playing video on certain apps such as kodi, rss player.

Do some googling, the solution is turn off imprex completely which im doing so but don't get to enjoy imprex engine. Any other solution.
actually how does this flickering problem look like? i tried to google search for a video but unable to find. Reason I ask is bcos sometime when I am watching movie (BDMV as well as MKV files) using a usd hdd, the screen suddenly turn black with lightning flashes of red or blue or green color in split mili seconds, just flashes very very brief and movie playback back to normal. It was random, means that those flashes happens not at the same timing, sometimes happened and sometime it doesn't. I suspect it could be due to my old usb hdd that was giving me the problem....or maybe it cud be due to this imperex flikering thing?

This post has been edited by arrsoo: Nov 16 2017, 05:46 PM
arrsoo
post Nov 16 2017, 06:34 PM

600 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Nov 16 2017, 06:31 PM)
This one, i think is due to hdmi cable.

Check cable, connections.
tested 2 cables, seems the same
arrsoo
post Nov 16 2017, 06:41 PM

600 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Nov 16 2017, 06:36 PM)
Time to change TV?  brows.gif
LOL, already wanted to changed to 4K TV last time but my eyes cannot take it, I will feel nauseous after staring at it within minutes, dunno why. I just hope that my plasma wont die so fast cry.gif
arrsoo
post Nov 16 2017, 11:24 PM

600 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Nov 16 2017, 07:03 PM)
Ah... that may explain it.

Old plasma works best on old videos. tongue.gif

Seriously, even cheap 4k tvs can't do 4k hdr well.

So, either stay with old or move on with latest...
not really so, those movies that gave me most problem were those old smaller mkv files which were about 10Gb and below, those newer 40Gb+ BDMV files not so much but still affected

QUOTE(voncrane @ Nov 16 2017, 07:05 PM)
Could be the aggressive motion handling, like the soap opera effect (which I detest heavily) or how 3D glasses cause headaches in some people. In which case, you can ask that they switch it out of store mode to movie mode, turn off the extra motion handling and see if its better.
hmm...interesting. What is the technical term for motion handling called? Or if i mention motion handling engine, they should understand?

This post has been edited by arrsoo: Nov 16 2017, 11:25 PM
arrsoo
post Nov 17 2017, 12:42 AM

600 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Nov 16 2017, 11:39 PM)
very easy to find answer...

take the box+hdd to neighbor or fren, plug into his tv, hopefully new, 4k.

ask him too if he likes what he sees. biggrin.gif
lol, perhaps to your place? tongue.gif

btw, since my unifi is 100Mbps now, i tested streaming files from pc to play on himedia thru wifi. seems those 45gb bdmv files still stutters while mkv filve below 20gb runs smoothly. but due to the location of my pc, the unifi download speed is only 85mbps while upload speed is 35mbps, cannot get full speed. Streaming files from pc in my case will hv to depends on my download speed or up load speed? any idea?
arrsoo
post Nov 17 2017, 12:43 AM

600 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Nov 17 2017, 12:39 AM)
I believe it's referred to as "Motion Interpolation".. Which in essence can be described as a feature whereby the TV increases the video's framerate, typically in order to match the TV's upper framerate limit. It's dome to reduce judder effect while making movement in videos appear smoother. Sometimes it's done so well that a soap opera effect is realized. Some people can notice this, others don't and need to have it pointed out to them (cough..spouse..cough). Same way, some love it, others hate it. I hate it as it makes movements look unreal to me.  smile.gif

It goes by different names on different TV brands. They are all essentially the same, just different names for marketing and IP/copyright purposes. These are some of their names:
Samsung TVs......Auto Motion Plus/Motion Rate 240
Sony............Motionflow/Motionflow XR
LG........TruMotion/True Motion

Within the menu, they can be reduced or in most TVs, completely disabled.
great info, thanks a lot man. Hopefully that is really the case

This post has been edited by arrsoo: Nov 17 2017, 12:44 AM
arrsoo
post Nov 17 2017, 10:44 AM

600 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Nov 17 2017, 12:56 AM)
In your case, the streaming speed is actually dependent on the health and speed of the LAN network, not internet speed. You could be using Unifi's 5Mbps plan and still have superior LAN connections. What you are experiencing is a bottleneck caused by either... Router transfer speeds limitations, WiFi (particularly congestion) or the himedia device even the wifi card in your PC. If the router is a capable one, then try both the PC and box connected via ethernet cable directly to the router.
You are welcome.. If that's the case, then fret not.. Easy fix and you can upgrade to your heart's content..  smile.gif
no way I can pull a LAN cable from my router to PC now, too ugly and messy. I am thinking of powerline/homeplug since my router and pc in my studyroom is using the same circuit phase, dunno if that will work

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Nov 17 2017, 01:00 AM)
wireless will still be tough.

u may want to read this... some samba patch to incr the speed... i never tried...

http://www.futeko.com/newforum/index.php?topic=1479.0
thanks, will look into it

arrsoo
post Dec 6 2017, 01:50 PM

600 posts

guys,

gotten my hands into kodi past few days, having the 17.6 now, Quasar working fine except for some slight struddles and unable to get 5.1 to work. My settings are as pictures below, did I missed anything on the 5.1 issue?

arrsoo
post Dec 6 2017, 02:52 PM

600 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Dec 6 2017, 02:07 PM)
looks all good to me.

should get dd5.1 and dd+5.1, transcoding too.

what firmware r u on?

what home theater?

box->hdmi->avr or box->optical->avr?
latest 2.0.6 fw. Using a pioneer vsx923 amp. Connection is box ->hdmi ->avr.

I can get 5.1 using terrarium tv though....funny
arrsoo
post Dec 6 2017, 02:58 PM

600 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Dec 6 2017, 02:56 PM)
revert number of channels to default values.. since you are using pass-through.
okay, will try that tonight.

arrsoo
post Dec 6 2017, 05:15 PM

600 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Dec 6 2017, 04:36 PM)
it should work fine.

of course, u know u can get 5.1 only if the link is dd/dd+/dts51.

those files are typically >2gb, some 4-5gb each for tv shows and 6-10gb for movies.

is yr box q5pro or q10pro?

q5pro with less storage will not be able to do the bigger files unless u set the path to ext hdd.

smaller files are typically aac 2.0.
if still cannot, i suggest u do a clean install of kodi17.6, reinstall quasar n burst.
mine is a q10pro, I shall try again tonight and will snap a picture of the link i tried on to verify just in case I blur2.com...lol.

BTW, another concern using quasar is that movie file will be downloaded and play, do I have to delete the movie file after playing? Or is there any setting where I can set it to auto delete after playing? Certainly would not want it to hog up the storage space
arrsoo
post Dec 8 2017, 11:57 AM

600 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Dec 6 2017, 02:56 PM)
revert number of channels to default values.. since you are using pass-through.
QUOTE(AVFAN @ Dec 6 2017, 04:36 PM)
it should work fine.

of course, u know u can get 5.1 only if the link is dd/dd+/dts51.

those files are typically >2gb, some 4-5gb each for tv shows and 6-10gb for movies.

is yr box q5pro or q10pro?

q5pro with less storage will not be able to do the bigger files on quasar unless u set the path to ext hdd.

smaller files are typically aac 2.0.
if still cannot, i suggest u do a clean install of kodi17.6, reinstall quasar n burst.
QUOTE(GuyM @ Dec 6 2017, 08:21 PM)
This the settings on my Q16
Thanks guys for all your input, I can now get 5.1 in kodi after disabling the "sync playback to display" in video setting

Unfortunately, I still can't solve the video buffering/stuttering issue. Watched some guides in youtube to fix it, seems too complicated to me as it requires some external apps to tweak doh.gif better give up and use Terrarium TV instead whistling.gif Simple and easy...
arrsoo
post Dec 8 2017, 06:44 PM

600 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Dec 8 2017, 02:43 PM)
with your 100 mbps speed, there should be little or no buffering, at least for quasar.

in fact, it should be very smooth for up to 20gb videos if the seeds n peers r adequate.
dun bother with those tips on youtube, they dun work or r out of date, mostly.

try this:

go to kodi, player settings, video, hardware acceleration.

play around with both options (surface and the other) - on or off for either, both... see which setting works best.
ok, noted, I shall try it out. Or cud it be due to TM throttling torrents?

This post has been edited by arrsoo: Dec 8 2017, 06:44 PM
arrsoo
post Dec 8 2017, 07:00 PM

600 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Dec 8 2017, 06:51 PM)
no, not at all.

but... u gotta be mindful about your local issues with ethernet, wifi, lousy routers, lan cables.
hmm....my q10 is connected to archer c5 router using cat6 cable, can get full speed consistently. Terrarium TV non issue at all, only kodi
arrsoo
post Dec 9 2017, 12:44 AM

600 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Dec 8 2017, 08:37 PM)
cat 6 is good. archer, i dunno, am using asus.

i just watched a 10gb video on quasar.

can see the DL speed at almost 6MBps, i.e. close to max that my 50mbps can do.

that means 6MBps x 60 secs x 60 min x 2 hrs = 43gb video.

of course, can't expect that every sec.

realistically... it will be something like 4 x 60 x 60 = 14gb.

which is why i said yr 1000mbps shud breeze on a 20gb 2hr video.
one thing i thought of for u to try on kodi quasar to get dd/dd+5.1...

in the system settings, audio, set it to 2.0 and not 5.1.

that's my setting - i get dd/dd+5.1... DTS/DSTHDMA will be transcoded to DD5.1 as well.
QUOTE(voncrane @ Dec 8 2017, 09:05 PM)
Already told him to do this.. Not sure he has or not.
Bro voncrane, earlier you asked me to change the audio setting to default but there is no default setting there, it starts from 2.0 all the way up, unless the 2.0 is the 'default' setting? Anyway, I maintained the setting at 5.1 as i managed to get 5.1 after disable the 'sync' in video setting. But let me try to set it back to 2.0 to test if it solves the buffering issue smile.gif
will revert after testing
arrsoo
post Dec 9 2017, 02:19 PM

600 posts

voncrane AVFAN

dang! was trying to change audio back to 2.0 to test last night and was greet by another problem out of sudden. Unable to load movie file due to "not enough space available on download path" bangwall.gif

storage full issue? how do I clears them? movie files should be auto flushed every time I shut down right? Already tried to clear cache but still the same problem. Screenshots as per below :

0.0755sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 07:59 PM