125 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Bottom

Need recommendation/advise for my caraudio system, pls use this thread in the future

SUSdothackRAVE
post Jun 11 2008, 02:40 AM

206 posts

Hey guys.

I have a 2005 USDM Mazda RX-8 (so it's left hand drive!) in the USA. I'm a Malaysian currently studying there.

Anyway, for those of you who own an RX-8, you should know that the "premium" Bose sound system from the factory is rather..., weak. You can turn it up and it'll have some kick..., but I'm talking about turning it up till its near maximum.

So I'm thinking I should swap out all the existing Bose speakers for better stuff. I think I have some idea of how to DIY in aftermarket speakers, but I need a good recommendation for brands, series, and stuff...

I don't want these speakers to stick out, so no fancy decorations are required. I also race my car, so I don't wish to tack on extra weight by having a big, fat and heavy subwoofer in the back..., so the new units must have a good bass kick already built in.

Any ideas guys?
ckmoy007
post Jun 11 2008, 02:45 AM

5 Star ICE Noob
865 posts

how about 6" comp set of Boston Acoustics / Diamond Audio at front and 6x9" Rockford Forsgate for rear, plus a 4ch amp, then u can blast anytime. As for amp can take, Alpine PDX 150.4, very powerful and enough for u to blast around. In USA, ICE stuffs r very cheap. smile.gif
SUSdothackRAVE
post Jun 11 2008, 02:50 AM

206 posts

Eh..., I'm not sure about the amp, because I don't know where to put it. If I have to sacrifice trunk space or something..., well, I can't do that. Where do you put yours?

I'll look into the others.
ckmoy007
post Jun 11 2008, 05:11 AM

5 Star ICE Noob
865 posts

mine i put into the back trunk. u can put it under the front seat as alpine pdx is quite small comparatively.
dirsly
post Jun 21 2008, 04:46 PM

Safe Trader
1,426 posts

QUOTE(dothackRAVE @ Jun 11 2008, 03:50 AM)
Eh..., I'm not sure about the amp, because I don't know where to put it. If I have to sacrifice trunk space or something..., well, I can't do that. Where do you put yours?

I'll look into the others.
it realy fit ur underseat area...
QUOTE(ckmoy007 @ Jun 11 2008, 06:11 AM)
mine i put into the back trunk. u can put it under the front seat as alpine pdx is quite small comparatively.
1 of the smallest class d amp...

This post has been edited by dirsly: Jun 21 2008, 04:49 PM
Ultima
post Jul 9 2008, 02:31 PM

KiRiSuTe GoMeN
5,197 posts

sori bro, offtopic here wanna ask something to sifu here sweat.gif

sifu, i got this pioneer HU n with the cd changer at the back.. the problem is, there is one wire which is thick black in color n connecting the HU n the cd changer tht my dad accidentally cut it without knowing tht wire cable cannot b cut or else the HU n the cd changer will not work..

i tried going to acc shop n they said without this wire cable, they cannot do anything unless i find similar one to replace it..

so i wanna ask sifu here, how much is the thick black wire cable? i heard they said can only buy at pioneer factory, n the price they said around rm200-rm300, izzit true?

im kinda desperate to use the HU as i wan to replace with my current persona default HU which is fm reception is like crap sweat.gif
mADmAN
post Jul 9 2008, 02:52 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(Ultima @ Jul 9 2008, 02:31 PM)
sori bro, offtopic here wanna ask something to sifu here sweat.gif

sifu, i got this pioneer HU n with the cd changer at the back.. the problem is, there is one wire which is thick black in color n connecting the HU n the cd changer tht my dad accidentally cut it without knowing tht wire cable cannot b cut or else the HU n the cd changer will not work..

i tried going to acc shop n they said without this wire cable, they cannot do anything unless i find similar one to replace it..

so i wanna ask sifu here, how much is the thick black wire cable? i heard they said can only buy at pioneer factory, n the price they said around rm200-rm300, izzit true?

im kinda desperate to use the HU as i wan to replace with my current persona default HU which is fm reception is like crap sweat.gif
Thats the CD Changer Control cable.

yes the price is around 2-300. and its not easy to find in accesory shops unless theyre used and the previous owner doesnt want it anymore.

i bought one long ago for my ex-sony player + changer and a second hand 1 costs me around 200 already. and thats after 2-3 weeks of searching accesory shops.

imho, if u can find a way to re-connect the cable (if u know how la) then try it first...otherwise, ur gonna have to go hunting.

good luck.
Ultima
post Jul 9 2008, 02:56 PM

KiRiSuTe GoMeN
5,197 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Jul 9 2008, 02:52 PM)
Thats the CD Changer Control cable.

yes the price is around 2-300. and its not easy to find in accesory shops unless theyre used and the previous owner doesnt want it anymore.

i bought one long ago for my ex-sony player + changer and a second hand 1 costs me around 200 already. and thats after 2-3 weeks of searching accesory shops.

imho, if u can find a way to re-connect the cable (if u know how la) then try it first...otherwise, ur gonna have to go hunting.

good luck.
aww its so exp sweat.gif

i bet its hard to find used one unless got ppl offer me sweat.gif

so the used one is around 200, i bet the new one cost double the price?

sheeeesh, my dad should ask me first b4 start cutting everything sweat.gif

so if my HU is pioneer, any CD changer control cable is the same for pioneer brand or any brand also can?
mADmAN
post Jul 9 2008, 03:00 PM

10,530 posts

that i dont know...

mine was a sony player + changer and the cable was also from a sony. although im not sure if the cable was from the same model player.

my guess is u should contact pioneer directly and see if u can obtain the cable from them and of course the price.

in my case i was lucky. the shop just happened to have it lying around. but its something i wouldnt wanna test my luck with again though tongue.gif
Ultima
post Jul 9 2008, 03:02 PM

KiRiSuTe GoMeN
5,197 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Jul 9 2008, 03:00 PM)
that i dont know...

mine was a sony player + changer and the cable was also from a sony. although im not sure if the cable was from the same model player.

my guess is u should contact pioneer directly and see if u can obtain the cable from them and of course the price.

in my case i was lucky. the shop just happened to have it lying around. but its something i wouldnt wanna test my luck with again though tongue.gif
yeah lucky u, coz i know tht thing is precious n its hard to find someone juz selling the cable only sweat.gif

now my HU n cd changer is lying there untouched cry.gif
jimmylim85
post Jul 11 2008, 11:58 PM

iPhone world....
7,823 posts

Does Soundstream Picasso PCC6 component speaker consider as SQL type?

StratOS
post Jul 13 2008, 12:55 AM

Berries~ Mmmm~
20,901 posts

i want to know la.. i wanna upgrade my ICE now.. im sing Rogers Comp for front and MA Audio for rear.. and im using Pioneer DEH-P6850MP..

i plan to add a 4channel amp, 2 channel to tweeter and 2 channel to mid bass.. and let the rear to play as it is tru the HU amp.. ok ka..? can or not?
squareballs
post Jul 13 2008, 11:27 AM

4,331 posts

I'm planning to get the whole set..Anyone please recommend good seller and installer in PJ area..Money not a problem. Thanks
jimmylim85
post Jul 13 2008, 06:46 PM

iPhone world....
7,823 posts

QUOTE(squareballs @ Jul 13 2008, 11:27 AM)
I'm planning to get the whole set..Anyone please recommend good seller and installer in PJ area..Money not a problem. Thanks
Whole set? means component speaker? amp? subwoofer?
bafukie
post Jul 13 2008, 07:36 PM

1,406 posts

money no problem? tats good..... can spare 20k? can recommend u some solid stuff..biggrin.gif
squareballs
post Jul 13 2008, 08:42 PM

4,331 posts

QUOTE(jimmylim85 @ Jul 13 2008, 06:46 PM)
Whole set? means component speaker? amp? subwoofer?
yes everything excluding HU
jimmylim85
post Jul 14 2008, 12:25 AM

iPhone world....
7,823 posts

QUOTE(squareballs @ Jul 13 2008, 08:42 PM)
yes everything excluding HU
Interested to use Soundstream product? you can find me smile.gif
squareballs
post Jul 14 2008, 01:48 PM

4,331 posts

QUOTE(jimmylim85 @ Jul 14 2008, 12:25 AM)
Interested to use Soundstream product? you can find me smile.gif
Where is your shop? The best is can audit..
jimmylim85
post Jul 14 2008, 08:41 PM

iPhone world....
7,823 posts

QUOTE(squareballs @ Jul 14 2008, 01:48 PM)
Where is your shop? The best is can audit..
Im just doing sales, you can go any Soundstream authorised centre for demo.

hushymushy
post Jul 25 2008, 02:02 AM

1,708 posts

QUOTE(squareballs @ Jul 13 2008, 11:27 AM)
Since money not a problem

here's my recommendation:

HU: McIntosh MX5000 with MDA5000 = RM15,000.00
Front components: Alpine F1 3way = RM8500.00
Subs: Seas Reference 12" = RM1800.00
Front amps: Celestra VA210 = RM10,000.00
Sub amp: TRU Hammer = RM7,000.00

Power cables: Monster Cables 0 AWG with gold plated fuses, RM60 per meter. Total about RM300.
Battery: Optima Red Top / Yellow Top. RM1300

Speaker Cables: XLO Ultra 2, RM300 per meter. With this kind of setup, 18meters. RM5400.00
Sub cable: Monster Z1R: RM30 per meter

RCA: XLO Ultra 2, RM300 per meter. With this kind of setup, RM3,000.00

Capacitor: 1F high grade like Mundorf or Brax. RM1200 per unit x 2

Voltage stablizer: Pivot Megaraizin: RM380.00

Total: RM55,080.00

Added on July 25, 2008, 2:05 amprepare about 65k, which includes sound proofing, tuning, scoping and so on.

This post has been edited by hushymushy: Jul 25 2008, 02:05 AM

125 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Top

0.0242sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 06:55 AM